The traditional cake pop is a labor of love. You bake a cake, crumble it, mix in frosting, roll each ball by hand, chill it, then dip it. A cake pop maker skips the crumbling. You fill a tray of round cavities with batter, close the lid, and get a dozen small spheres in minutes, ready for sticks and candy coating.
The result is a little different: more like a small round sponge cake than the dense, fudgy ball you get from the crumb method. That suits a birthday party with children very well. This guide looks at electric machines first, then the oven pan and silicone mold options for people who don’t want another appliance. Once the pops are done, our cake stand guide can help with the table. Capacity, power and what is in the box come from each maker or Amazon listing.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which cake pop machine to buy
For most families, the best cake pop maker is the Babycakes Cake Pop Maker, 12-Pop: it bakes 12 pops of 1.25 inches at once, with a decorating stand that doubles as a cooling rack, a dipping fork and 50 sticks in the box. If you want a machine that stores upright with no extras, choose the Holstein Housewares 12-Count Cake Pop Maker. If you would like cupcakes and mini donuts too, the Babycakes 3-in-1 has removable plates.
Five picks are compared below, and all seven are reviewed in full after the table.

Five cake pop makers side by side
Who each one suits, how it bakes and what it holds, as each maker or listing states.
| Maker | Best for | Type | Capacity | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Babycakes Cake Pop Maker, 12-PopBest overall
|
Parties, everything in the box | Electric | 12 pops, 1.25 in | View on Amazon |
Holstein Housewares 12-Count Cake Pop MakerBest for small kitchens
|
Small kitchens | Electric, stores upright | 12 pops | View on Amazon |
Babycakes 3-in-1 Cake Pop, Cupcake and Donut MakerBest multi-use
|
Cupcakes and donuts as well | Electric, removable plates | 12 pops, 7 cupcakes, 7 donuts | View on Amazon |
Zenker Cake Pop Pan Set, 24 PopsBest oven pan
|
No extra appliance | Oven pan | 24 pops | View on Amazon |
Tosnail Silicone Cake Pop Molds, 2-PackBest silicone mold
|
Low-commitment baking | Silicone mold, 2-pack | 20 cavities each, 1.5 in | View on Amazon |
Our picks for the best cake pop maker
The first six are countertop machines, which work like a small waffle iron with round wells. The last two go in your oven.
1. Babycakes Cake Pop Maker, 12-Pop – All the Extras in One Box

This is the machine most people picture, and it comes with nearly everything you need beyond the batter and the coating. It bakes 12 pops of 1.25 inches at once under a latching lid, and the box includes a decorating stand that doubles as a cooling rack, a dipping fork tool and 50 six-inch sticks.
Cake Journal’s Kristen compared it against the Brentwood TS-254 and two other machines, and came away recommending it. She also gives the most useful warning: the wells are hard to fill exactly. She found the piping bag suggested in the instructions messy and preferred a 1-tablespoon scoop, and she reports slightly uneven size and color, which coating hides.
It has a power light, non-skid feet and a nonstick surface. The warranty field reads 1 year limited. A third-party seller, Pattern Direct, fulfills this listing.
Why we like it
- 12 pops at once, per the listing
- Stand, dipping fork and 50 sticks included
- Recommended in Cake Journal’s comparison
- Latching handle and non-skid feet
Key specifications
| Model | CP-12 |
|---|---|
| Type | Electric |
| Capacity | 12 |
| Pop size | 1.25 in |
| Power | Not stated |
| In the box | Stand, fork, 50 sticks |
| Cleaning | Nonstick surface |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
It suits a family baking for birthdays and school events, who want to do it all from one box.
Skip it if you lack the space for the stand and extras, or you already own sticks and a rack.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Complete kit
- Named independent review
- Simple to use
Cons
- Wells are hard to fill evenly
- Removable plates not stated
- Third-party seller
2. Holstein Housewares 12-Count Cake Pop Maker – Stores Upright in a Small Kitchen

Holstein’s machine also makes 12 at once, but the pitch is different. It is compact, stores upright with a cord wrap and looks tidy in a small kitchen, with a stainless steel upper. The listing names apartments and dorms, and it is the one to choose if counter and cupboard space are your problem.
It has preheat and ready-to-cook indicator lights, which take some guesswork out of the first batch. The nonstick coating is described as PFOA-free, and the listing suggests savory uses too, including mac and cheese pops and falafel, along with brownie bites and donut holes.
The listing does not mention sticks or a stand, so plan to buy sticks separately. Amazon itself sells it, and the warranty field reads 1 year.
Why we like it
- Stores upright with a cord wrap
- Preheat and ready-to-cook lights
- PFOA-free nonstick coating, per the listing
- Sold by Amazon
Key specifications
| Model | HH-09037023R |
|---|---|
| Type | Electric |
| Capacity | 12 |
| Pop size | Not stated |
| Power | Not stated |
| In the box | Not stated |
| Cleaning | Nonstick surface |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
It suits a small household or dorm where one more appliance has to earn its shelf and stay out of the way.
Skip it if you want a kit with sticks and a stand in the box.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Compact storage
- Two indicator lights
- Sweet and savory uses named
Cons
- No accessories stated
- Pop size not stated
- Removable plates not stated
3. Babycakes 3-in-1 Cake Pop, Cupcake and Donut Maker – Three Plates for Three Treats

If cake pops would be a passing phase, a machine that also makes cupcakes and mini donuts is easier to justify. This Babycakes model swaps between plates: up to 12 cake pops, 7 cupcakes with liners, or 7 mini donuts.
The plates also answer the biggest cleaning problem with these machines. They come out and are dishwasher safe, according to the listing. There is a cord wrap, an easy-lift latching handle and a recipe booklet.
Sticks and a stand are not listed in the box. If you want a pan for baked donuts rather than a machine, see our donut pan guide. A third-party seller, Pattern Direct, fulfills this one too, and the warranty is 1 year limited.
Why we like it
- Bakes pops, cupcakes and mini donuts
- Removable, dishwasher-safe nonstick plates
- Recipe booklet included
- Cord wrap for storage
Key specifications
| Model | MT-6 |
|---|---|
| Type | Electric, removable plates |
| Capacity | 12 pops, 7 cupcakes or 7 donuts |
| Pop size | Not stated |
| Power | Not stated |
| In the box | Plates, recipe booklet |
| Cleaning | Dishwasher-safe plates |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
It suits a family that bakes for fun and wants one small appliance to cover several treats.
Skip it if you only want cake pops, because the 12-pop machine is the simpler buy and includes sticks.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Three uses
- Plates go in the dishwasher
- Good for a varied party table
Cons
- Plates to store
- No sticks stated
- Third-party seller
4. Brentwood TS-254 Cake Pop Maker – 750 Watts and a Stated Bake Time

Brentwood is the one machine here that gives a clear wattage and time: 750 watts, and 12 cake pops in about 4 minutes, according to the maker. Most other listings say only that it takes minutes. If you are making several rounds, a known time helps.
It has power and preheat indicator lights, cool-touch handles and non-stick plates, and it comes with recipes for vanilla and lemon cake pops, cinnamon sugar donut holes and pancake bites. Cake Journal’s comparison includes this machine alongside the Babycakes.
Sticks are not listed. A third-party seller, Diddly Deals, fulfills this listing, so check the terms and the warranty route, which the listing gives as 1 year.
Why we like it
- 750 watts, the only stated wattage here
- 12 pops in about 4 minutes, per the maker
- Recipes for pops, donut holes and pancake bites
- Power and preheat lights
Key specifications
| Model | TS-254 |
|---|---|
| Type | Electric |
| Capacity | 12 |
| Pop size | Not stated |
| Power | 750 W |
| In the box | Recipes |
| Cleaning | Nonstick surface |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
It suits someone who wants a plain machine with stated specifications and plans to do many rounds for a crowd.
Skip it if you want a complete kit or a seller you know, since sticks aren’t listed and a small third-party shop fulfills it.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Stated wattage and bake time
- Cool-touch handles
- Named recipes included
Cons
- No sticks listed
- Third-party seller
- Removable plates not stated
5. Baker’s Friend Cake Pop Maker Set – Bigger Pops With a Stand and Sticks

Baker’s Friend makes its 12 pops bigger: 1.6 inches stated, against 1.25 inches for the Babycakes. That means more cake per stick, and the title says it comes with a cake pop stand, sticks and a fork tool, so it competes directly with the Babycakes kit.
The nonstick surfaces are described as PFOA-free, and the listing says any batter works, including cake or brownie mix. Larger balls can be heavier on the stick, so give them a good dip of coating at the base of the stick and let it set before you stand them up.
This is an Amazon-first brand, and the listing does not state a power rating or a warranty term. We found no independent review we could rely on. Its own storefront, Baker’s Friend USA, sells it.
Why we like it
- 12 pops at a stated 1.6 inches
- Stand, sticks and fork tool, per the title
- PFOA-free nonstick, per the listing
- Works with boxed mixes
Key specifications
| Model | BF-CPM01 |
|---|---|
| Type | Electric |
| Capacity | 12 |
| Pop size | 1.6 in |
| Power | Not stated |
| In the box | Stand, sticks, fork tool |
| Cleaning | Nonstick surface |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits someone who wants a full kit and likes a more generous pop than the Babycakes makes.
Skip it if you want a warranty term in writing, because the listing doesn’t state one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Larger stated pop size
- Accessories in the set
- Sold by the brand’s own storefront
Cons
- Amazon-first brand
- No wattage or warranty stated
- Larger pops are heavier on the stick
6. Zenker Cake Pop Pan Set, 24 Pops – An Oven Pan With No Machine

If you already have an oven, you can skip the appliance. This two-part Zenker pan set is for 24 cake pops at once, twice what any machine here makes, so it does well for a big party. It measures 15.16 by 10.43 by 0.79 inches.
The listing is short: high quality non-stick coating, with the material given as stainless steel, and a 1-year warranty. No pop size, temperature or care line is stated. We would hand wash it to look after the coating.
Amazon Germany sells this listing, so check how long it will take to arrive and how returns work. A Nordic Ware donut hole and cake pop pan also exists, but stock was low when we looked, so we did not count it.
Why we like it
- 24 pops at once, the most on this page
- No appliance needed
- Non-stick coating, per the listing
- 1-year warranty in the listing
Key specifications
| Model | 7424 |
|---|---|
| Type | Oven pan |
| Capacity | 24 |
| Pop size | Not stated |
| Power | Your oven |
| In the box | Pan set |
| Cleaning | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
It suits a baker who wants a big batch from a tool that stores flat, and doesn’t mind a slower bake than a machine.
Skip it if you need it soon, as the seller is Amazon Germany and shipping may take longer.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Largest batch
- No counter space needed
- Stores flat
Cons
- Sparse listing
- Seller is Amazon Germany
- Oven time and care not stated
7. Tosnail Silicone Cake Pop Molds, 2-Pack – A Low-Commitment Way to Start

Silicone molds are the lowest-commitment way to try this. Tosnail’s are 9 by 7 by 2 inches, with 20 cavities of 1.5 inches each. The listing calls it a pack of two molds, four pieces in total, which suggests each mold has a top and a bottom half.
They are made from food-grade silicone that the listing calls free of BPA, PVC and phthalates, safe to 450 degrees Fahrenheit, and freezer and dishwasher safe. Silicone is floppy when filled, so set it on a sheet pan before filling and move the pan, not the mold.
The listing also suggests hard candy and lollipops. Expect more time in the oven than a machine takes. Tosnail is the second Amazon-first brand on the page, and it sells this listing itself.
Why we like it
- 20 cavities at 1.5 inches, per the listing
- Rated to 450 degrees Fahrenheit
- Dishwasher and freezer safe
- Also listed for hard candy
Key specifications
| Model | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Type | Silicone mold |
| Capacity | 20 per mold, 2 molds |
| Pop size | 1.5 in |
| Power | Your oven |
| In the box | 2 molds, 4 pieces |
| Cleaning | Dishwasher safe |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits someone curious about cake pops who wants to try them for little outlay and without another machine.
Skip it if you want quick results, as a machine is the much faster way to do this.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Stores in any drawer
- Big batch
- Also makes candy
Cons
- Amazon-first brand
- Needs a sheet pan under it
- Slower than a machine
How to choose a cake pop maker
1. Machine, pan or mold
A machine is the fastest, and it heats from both sides without turning on the oven, which means a lot in a Houston summer. An oven pan or mold makes bigger batches and stores flat, but it takes longer and asks you to work out your own timing. If you make these several times a year, buy a machine. If it is for one birthday, a mold or pan is enough.
2. Batch size and rounds
Most machines make 12 at a time, which sounds small until you remember each round takes only minutes. For a class of 25, plan on three rounds, plus time to cool and dip. The 24-pop Zenker pan does a full batch at once in the oven. Think about the total time, not just the number on the box.

3. Pop size
Babycakes states 1.25 inches, Tosnail 1.5 and Baker’s Friend 1.6. Small pops hold on a stick more easily and are quicker to coat, while larger ones feel more generous. Whichever you pick, fill the wells consistently. Cake Journal’s Kristen found a 1-tablespoon scoop cleaner than the piping bag the instructions suggest.
4. What is in the box
Sticks are cheap, but a stand or rack is what you notice missing when you have a dozen wet pops in your hand. The Babycakes 12-pop and Baker’s Friend sets include one. If your machine doesn’t, stand them in a block of foam or a cooling rack, and see our decorating stand guide for more ideas on working with finished treats.
5. Cleaning and coatings
Plates that don’t come out must be wiped down once the machine is cool and unplugged. Removable plates, like those on the 3-in-1, are far easier. Follow each maker’s manual, avoid metal tools on nonstick, and don’t immerse the base of an electric machine. Holstein and Baker’s Friend describe their coating as PFOA-free, and other listings here don’t state what the coating is.
6. The coating you dip in
This is where cake pops go right or wrong. Chill the pops, dip the stick in melted coating first and push it in, then let that set before dipping the whole ball. Thin, warm coating gives the smoothest finish. A candy thermometer helps if you are working with real chocolate instead of candy melts.
How we picked these seven makers
We looked for machines, pans and molds sold for cake pops on Amazon in the United States, in stock when we checked, not running low in the case of machines, and from identifiable makers, with at most two Amazon-first brands. Capacity, size and care come from the makers’ Amazon listings. We searched for independent reviews and could read Cake Journal’s comparison, which we cite; other owner reviews we saw were either blocked or too old to rely on, and retail pages we set aside. Picks other than the Babycakes 12-pop rest on the listing and maker details.
We left out the Wilton pops pan and the SugarWhisk machine because they were not in stock, the Nordic Ware pan because stock was low, and many nearly identical silicone kits. We have not baked in these ourselves. A search of the CPSC recall database listed no recall for these products; older Select Brands recalls cover different appliances.

Cake pop maker questions, answered
Are cake pop molds as good as a machine?
They do the same basic job more slowly. Silicone cake pop molds and oven pans make larger batches and store flat. A machine makes each round in minutes, and heats from both sides without your oven. For an occasional party, molds are fine. For regular baking, most people will prefer the machine’s speed.
What batter works in a cake pop maker?
Baker’s Friend names cake and brownie mix, Brentwood includes recipes for vanilla and lemon pops, and Holstein also suggests savory batters. A thicker batter tends to hold its round shape better. Start with the recipe in the manual, since the bake time depends on your machine.
How long do cake pops take in a cake pop maker?
Brentwood states about 4 minutes for 12 pops, and other listings just say minutes. Preheat fully, using the indicator light, and don’t open the lid too soon. Your first batch tells you more than any listing can.
Do cake pops from a machine taste like the traditional kind?
Not exactly. A machine bakes a small round of plain cake, while the traditional method mixes crumbled cake with frosting into a denser ball. Coating and decoration work the same on both. Choose based on what you like: a lighter bite or a richer one.
How do you keep cake pops on the stick?
Cool them first. Dip the end of the stick in melted coating, push it about halfway in and let it set before coating the whole pop. Larger pops are heavier, so tap off excess coating gently, and stand them upright to dry.

Our final pick for a party table
Buy the Babycakes 12-pop if you want everything in one box, and the Holstein if space is short. Choose the 3-in-1 if you like the idea of cupcakes and donuts as well, and the Zenker pan or Tosnail molds if you would rather not own another machine. When they are ready, our cake stand guide will help you set them out, and our donut pan guide is a good next step for a baked treat.
And if you would rather skip the baking tonight, see the menu or call to order.