A bread machine mixes, kneads, proofs and bakes in one pan, and the cheapest models from established makers do that with the same basic parts as the expensive ones: a motor, a heating element, a timer and a nonstick pan. What the machines at the top of the range add is better kneading, more even browning and parts built to last a decade. For a kitchen that wants fresh sandwich bread, pizza dough or a soft loaf for tortas, the entry tier is often enough.
This guide covers the entry tier of each maker’s range: West Bend, Amazon’s own brand, Elite Gourmet, Rosewill, Sunbeam and two brands sold mainly on Amazon, KBS and Neretva. We do not list prices, because they change by the week. Instead we compare what each machine gives you, what you give up next to the picks in our guide to the best bread machine, and how long each maker stands behind it.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which value bread machine to buy
For the best bread maker value, the West Bend Hi-Rise gives you a horizontal, loaf-shaped pan with two kneading blades, the same layout as the top pick in our main guide, plus a gluten-free setting and a one-year warranty. For the simplest start, choose the Amazon Basics 2 lb Bread Maker. For a ceramic pan the maker says is PFAS free, choose the Elite Gourmet Touch-Screen.
Five value bread machines at a glance
Our five standout picks, one for each kind of buyer, with the loaf size and warranty each maker or listing states. All seven bread machines are reviewed in full below.
| Bread machine | Best for | Loaf size | Warranty | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
West Bend Hi-Rise Bread MakerBest overall value
|
Sandwich loaves for a family | 2 to 3 lb, horizontal | 1 year | View on Amazon |
Amazon Basics 2 lb Bread MakerSimplest start
|
First-time bakers | Up to 2 lb | Not stated on listing | View on Amazon |
Elite Gourmet 2 Lb Touch-Screen Bread MakerBest pan coating
|
A PFAS-free ceramic pan | 1 to 2 lb | Not stated on listing | View on Amazon |
Rosewill 25-in-1 Bread MakerMost programs
|
Trying many kinds of bread | Up to 2 lb | 1 year (listing) | View on Amazon |
Sunbeam Programmable Bread MakerEasiest parts
|
Keeping one machine for years | Up to 2 lb | Not stated on listing | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Loaf size and warranty are as stated by each maker or listing; check the listing before you buy.
What you give up at the entry tier
The machines at the top of our main guide, from Zojirushi, Cuisinart and Panasonic, add sturdier kneading, a fruit and nut dispenser, heaters in the lid and long service records. Hamilton Beach’s and Cuisinart’s entry machines are already in that guide, which is why they are not repeated here. The machines on this page keep the core job and trim the rest.
Kneading. Most entry machines have one paddle in a tall pan, which can leave flour in the corners and a hole in the bottom of the loaf. The West Bend and Neretva come with two paddles; the West Bend uses both at once.
Even browning. A single heater under the pan can leave the top pale. The Rosewill and Neretva add a heater at the top, which is the main reason they are here.
Build and noise. Lighter machines can walk across the counter while kneading stiff dough. Keep them away from the edge, and on a level surface.
Shorter warranties. One year is typical, and several listings do not state a warranty at all. That makes parts availability, the next section, more important.

Our picks for the best bread maker value
Every machine here is a maker’s basic bread machine, and none is the same listing as a pick in our main bread machine guide or our gluten-free bread maker guide. Two are a different color of a machine in the gluten-free guide, and we say why in each review. All seven were listed as in stock, not low in stock, when we checked.
1. West Bend Hi-Rise Bread Maker – A Horizontal Pan and Two Paddles

The Hi-Rise (model 47413, gray) is West Bend’s bread machine, and it borrows the layout that makes the top pick in our main guide work: a horizontal, loaf-shaped pan with two kneading blades. The result is a loaf that looks like sandwich bread from a bakery rather than the tall, square block most machines bake.
It bakes 2, 2.5 or 3 pound loaves, the biggest on this page, and West Bend says the dual blades knead the dough more thoroughly for a lighter taste and higher rise. There are 12 settings, among them Basic, Wheat, French, Sweet, Dough and Gluten-Free, plus light, medium and dark crust.
A delay timer runs up to 13 hours, so you can load it at night and wake to bread. The manual includes recipes for garlic bread, bagel and pasta dough, and low-carb and gluten-free loaves. The box adds a measuring cup and spoon and a tool for pulling out the blades. West Bend states a one-year warranty; the listing does not give the power rating.
Why we like it
- Horizontal loaf pan with two kneading blades
- Loaves up to 3 pounds
- Gluten-Free and Dough settings
- 13-hour delay timer
Key specifications
| Model | West Bend 47413 |
|---|---|
| Loaf sizes | 2, 2.5 and 3 lb |
| Power | Not stated |
| Programs | 12 settings, 3 crusts |
| Pan | Horizontal nonstick |
| Paddles | 2 knead blades |
| Delay timer | Up to 13 hours |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
It suits a family that eats a lot of sandwich bread and wants a normal-shaped loaf without paying for the machines at the top of our main guide.
Skip it if you live alone; a 2-pound minimum loaf is a lot of bread before it goes stale.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Bakery-shaped loaf
- Largest capacity here
- Two blades knead evenly
Cons
- Bulky on the counter
- Power not stated
- No fruit and nut dispenser
2. Amazon Basics 2 lb Bread Maker – The Simplest Start, in Black

This is Amazon’s own brand of bread machine (model BM1349-UL-B, black). Our gluten-free bread maker guide reviews the same machine in white; we include the black listing here because it is the plainest entry point on Amazon and is sold as a separate listing, so pick the color that suits your kitchen.
It has a 550-watt motor and heater and bakes up to a 2-pound loaf. There are 14 settings for breads, doughs, gluten-free loaves and jam, with light, medium and dark crust. The ExpressBake setting bakes a loaf in under 90 minutes, according to the listing, for days when you forget to start it early.
The controls are buttons with an LCD display. The listing gives the size as 11.6 by 8.8 by 11.4 inches, compact for a 2-pound machine. It does not state a delay timer, the number of paddles or a warranty, so check the box or Amazon’s product support page before you rely on any of those.
Why we like it
- ExpressBake loaf in under 90 minutes
- 14 settings, gluten-free included
- Compact for a 2-pound machine
- Three crust shades
Key specifications
| Model | Amazon Basics BM1349-UL-B |
|---|---|
| Loaf sizes | Up to 2 lb |
| Power | 550 W |
| Programs | 14 settings, 3 crusts |
| Pan | Nonstick |
| Paddles | Not stated |
| Delay timer | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a first-time bread baker who wants to find out whether a bread machine earns its counter space.
Skip it if you want a delay timer you can count on; the listing does not mention one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Quick-bake setting
- Small footprint
- Simple controls
Cons
- Warranty not stated on the listing
- Few details on the pan and paddle
- Lower power than most machines here
3. Elite Gourmet 2 Lb Touch-Screen Bread Maker – PFAS-Free Ceramic Pan, 19 Presets

Elite Gourmet makes budget kitchen appliances, and the EBM8224MM is its stainless steel, touch-screen bread maker. It is a different model from the Elite Gourmet button machine in our gluten-free guide, with a glass top and capacitive touch controls.
The pan is Elite Gourmet’s Ceralast ceramic coating, which the maker says is PFAS free. It bakes 1, 1.5 or 2 pound loaves, and the 19 presets run from basic white bread to rye and potato bread, pizza dough, yogurt and cake.
A 15-hour delay timer and a 60-minute keep-warm cycle cover overnight and late-dinner bread. Elite Gourmet points out that a bread machine frees the oven and keeps the kitchen cooler, which counts for something in a Houston summer. The listing does not give the power, the number of paddles or a warranty.
Why we like it
- Ceramic pan the maker says is PFAS free
- 19 presets, including pizza dough
- 15-hour delay and 60-minute keep warm
- Stainless body with glass top
Key specifications
| Model | Elite Gourmet EBM8224MM |
|---|---|
| Loaf sizes | 1, 1.5 and 2 lb |
| Power | Not stated |
| Programs | 19 presets |
| Pan | Ceralast ceramic, PFAS free (maker) |
| Paddles | Not stated |
| Delay timer | Up to 15 hours |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who wants a ceramic pan and a modern touch panel at the entry tier.
Skip it if you prefer physical buttons; touch panels are harder to use with floury fingers.
Pros and cons
Pros
- PFAS-free ceramic pan, per the maker
- Long delay timer
- Many presets
Cons
- Warranty and power not stated on the listing
- Touch controls
- Ceramic coatings need gentle care
4. Rosewill 25-in-1 Bread Maker – Top and Bottom Heaters, 25 Programs

Rosewill is better known for computer accessories than kitchen appliances, but its 25-in-1 bread maker (model RHBM-25001GR, gray) lists more programs than any other machine on this page: 25, including Gluten-Free, Cake, Yogurt and Jam, with three crust colors.
It has heaters at both the top and the bottom of the baking chamber, rated at 700 watts in total, which Rosewill says gives more even, all-round baking. Most entry machines heat from below only. It bakes three loaf sizes up to 2 pounds.
The nonstick pan is PFAS and BPA free, according to the listing, and the body is metal. A 15-hour delay timer, one hour of keep warm and a 40-minute power recovery mean a short outage overnight will not ruin the loaf. Rosewill gives motor noise as under 50 dB and states a one-year warranty.
Why we like it
- Top and bottom heaters
- 25 programs
- 40-minute power recovery
- One-year warranty on the listing
Key specifications
| Model | Rosewill RHBM-25001GR |
|---|---|
| Loaf sizes | 3 sizes, up to 2 lb |
| Power | 700 W |
| Programs | 25 programs, 3 crusts |
| Pan | Nonstick, PFAS and BPA free (listing) |
| Paddles | Not stated |
| Delay timer | Up to 15 hours |
| Warranty | 1 year (listing) |
Why we recommend it
It suits a baker who wants to try many kinds of bread and cake and likes the idea of heat from two sides.
Skip it if you want a maker with a long record in kitchen appliances; Rosewill is better known for computer gear.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Most programs here
- Dual heaters
- Longest power recovery stated
Cons
- Paddle details not stated
- Short record in kitchen appliances
- 25 programs can be overwhelming

5. Sunbeam Programmable Bread Maker – A Long-Running Model With Easy-to-Find Parts

The Sunbeam 5891 (white) is one of the longest-running bread machines on Amazon. That matters more than it sounds: when we searched Amazon, replacement drive belts and kneading paddles for the 5891 were listed from several sellers, so a worn belt or paddle does not mean a new machine.
It bakes up to a 2-pound loaf and has 12 baking functions, including an Express Bake cycle. A 13-hour delay lets you set it the night before. The controls are push buttons with an LED display, and the nonstick pan lifts out for washing.
The listing is short. It does not state the power, the loaf sizes below 2 pounds, the number of paddles or a warranty. The box includes an instruction book with bread recipes. Treat it as a plain, proven machine rather than a feature list.
Why we like it
- Spare belts and paddles easy to find on Amazon
- Express Bake cycle
- 13-hour delay timer
- Simple push buttons
Key specifications
| Model | Sunbeam 5891 (005891-000-000) |
|---|---|
| Loaf sizes | Up to 2 lb |
| Power | Not stated |
| Programs | 12 functions |
| Pan | Nonstick, removable |
| Paddles | Not stated |
| Delay timer | Up to 13 hours |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a practical baker who wants a machine they can keep running for years with cheap spare parts.
Skip it if you want a gluten-free setting; the listing does not name one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Parts widely available
- Delay timer
- Straightforward controls
Cons
- Sparse listing details
- No gluten-free program listed
- Warranty not stated
6. KBS 20-in-1 Bread Maker – Set Every Step Yourself

KBS is a brand sold mainly on Amazon, and the MBF-014A (creamy white and stainless) is a lower-power model than the KBS Pro in our main guide. Its draw is the custom program: you can set the time for each of six stages, from autolyse and first rise through degassing, shaping and the last rise, then save it for one-touch use.
It has 20 menus, among them French, Gluten-Free, Dough, Yogurt and a Polish bread setting, with three crust colors and three loaf sizes up to 2.2 pounds. The 650-watt motor changes speed for different doughs, according to KBS, and the pan is ceramic-coated with a stainless steel paddle.
A 15-hour delay timer, an hour of keep warm and 15 minutes of power-loss memory round it out. The box adds a heat-resistant glove, a measuring cup and spoon and a paddle hook. The listing promises a reply from KBS support within 12 hours but does not state a warranty term.
Why we like it
- Custom program with six adjustable stages
- Stainless steel paddle
- Ceramic-coated pan
- Loaves up to 2.2 pounds
Key specifications
| Model | KBS MBF-014A |
|---|---|
| Loaf sizes | 1, 1.5 and 2.2 lb |
| Power | 650 W |
| Programs | 20 menus, 3 crusts, custom |
| Pan | Ceramic-coated |
| Paddles | 1 stainless steel |
| Delay timer | Up to 15 hours |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a baker who wants to control proofing times, for sourdough-style or enriched doughs, without buying a premium machine.
Skip it if you want the backing of a long-established appliance maker; KBS is sold mainly online.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Fine control over every stage
- Stainless paddle
- Generous accessory kit
Cons
- Amazon-first brand
- Warranty term not stated
- Listing copy is heavy on claims
7. Neretva 20-in-1 Bread Maker – Dual Heaters and a Quiet Motor

Neretva is the second brand on this page sold mainly on Amazon. Our gluten-free guide reviews this machine in green; this is the silver listing of the same 20-in-1 model (PE8866SU), included because it is Neretva’s entry machine and sold separately, so you can choose the finish.
It has 20 programs, including Basic, Quick, French, Whole-Wheat, Gluten-Free, Corn and Pizza Dough, and bakes 1.65 or 2 pound loaves. Heaters sit at the top and bottom of the pan, and the listing gives 550 watts. Neretva says the motor runs below 40 dB, the lowest noise figure stated on this page, which matters if the machine runs overnight.
The pan is ceramic-coated, and the box includes two kneading paddles, a hook, measuring cup and spoon and a heat-resistant glove. There is a 15-hour delay, an hour of keep warm and 15 minutes of power-loss recovery. One quirk from the listing: the buttons lock once a program starts, and you hold Start for three seconds to unlock them. No warranty term is stated.
Why we like it
- Top and bottom heaters
- Under 40 dB motor noise, per Neretva
- Two paddles in the box
- 15-hour delay timer
Key specifications
| Model | Neretva PE8866SU |
|---|---|
| Loaf sizes | 1.65 and 2 lb |
| Power | 550 W |
| Programs | 20 programs, 3 crusts |
| Pan | Ceramic-coated |
| Paddles | 2 included |
| Delay timer | Up to 15 hours |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a household that bakes overnight and wants a quiet machine with heat from two sides.
Skip it if you want a 1-pound loaf; the smallest size is 1.65 pounds.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Quiet by the stated figure
- Dual heaters
- Spare paddle included
Cons
- Amazon-first brand
- Warranty not stated
- Button lock takes getting used to
How to judge bread machine value
Parts you can replace. Bread machines wear out in predictable places: the drive belt, the kneading paddle and the seal under the pan. Before you buy, search for the model number plus “paddle” or “belt”. The Sunbeam 5891 is the clearest example here, with spare belts and paddles listed by several sellers. A machine you can repair for the price of a belt is better value than a cheaper one you have to replace.
Warranty. West Bend and Rosewill state one year. Where a listing says nothing, check the box or the maker’s site, and keep the receipt.
Loaf size and shape. A 2-pound loaf is plenty for a family of four for a couple of days. A horizontal pan, like the West Bend’s, gives slices that fit a toaster; a tall pan gives square slices.
The settings you will use. Most people use Basic, Dough and perhaps Quick. A gluten-free setting matters only if you bake without wheat; more on that in our gluten-free guide. A long list of programs is less important than a good Dough cycle.
Delay timer and power recovery. If you want bread at breakfast, look for a 13- to 15-hour timer. Power recovery, from 15 minutes on the KBS and Neretva to 40 minutes on the Rosewill, saves a loaf if the lights flicker overnight.

What a bread machine is good for in a Mexican kitchen
The Dough cycle is the most useful setting for Mexican baking. It mixes, kneads and gives the first rise, then you shape the dough by hand and bake it in the oven. That works for soft rolls for tortas, for an enriched dough for conchas and other pan dulce, and for pizza dough on a Friday night. The machine does the tiring part; the oven gives the crust.
A machine loaf is also a fine base for molletes: split, spread with refried beans, topped with cheese and toasted, with pico de gallo on top. Keep the loaf in a box from our guide to the best bread box and slice it with a knife from our guide to the best bread knife, so a soft crumb is not crushed.

How we picked these seven bread machines
We searched Amazon for the entry bread machines of established makers: Hamilton Beach, Cuisinart, Oster, West Bend, Sunbeam, Elite Gourmet, Panasonic, Breville, Rosewill and Amazon’s own brand, plus KBS and Neretva. We kept only models listed as in stock, not low in stock, limited brands sold mainly on Amazon to two, and allowed at most two color variants of picks from our other bread machine guides. The Oster ExpressBake, Hamilton Beach’s other machines and the Panasonic were listed as low in stock, Breville’s machine was not available, and the Hamilton Beach and Cuisinart entry machines are already in our main guide.
We checked each brand against the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall database. The only bread machine recall we found for these brands was a 1995 West Bend repair program for Automatic Bread and Dough Makers made between June 1994 and April 1995, which does not cover today’s Hi-Rise. We found no bread machine recall for the other brands. Specifications come from each Amazon listing; where a figure is missing, we say “Not stated.” We have not used these machines ourselves, and we do not list prices, so “value” here means each maker’s entry tier and what it includes.
Budget bread machine questions, answered
What is the best bread machine on a budget?
For most families, the West Bend Hi-Rise, for its horizontal pan, two blades and one-year warranty. For the simplest start, the Amazon Basics 2 lb Bread Maker.
What is the best bread machine under 100, 150 or 200 dollars?
Prices change too often for a price band to stay accurate, so we compare what each tier includes instead. Every pick here is a maker’s entry model; click through to see today’s price.
Is an affordable bread machine worth it?
Yes, if you bake at least once a week or use the Dough cycle often. An entry machine bakes a good everyday loaf. What you give up is even browning, a dispenser and the long life of the machines in our main guide.
Which value bread machine has a gluten-free setting?
The West Bend, Amazon Basics, Rosewill, KBS and Neretva all list one. For machines chosen for gluten-free baking, see our gluten-free bread maker guide.
What size bread machine should I buy?
A 2-pound machine suits most households. Choose the West Bend for loaves up to 3 pounds, or a machine with a 1-pound setting, like the Elite Gourmet or KBS, if you live alone.
Our final pick for bread on a small budget
Buy the West Bend Hi-Rise for a bakery-shaped loaf from an established maker, or the Amazon Basics for the simplest start. Choose the Elite Gourmet for a ceramic pan, the Rosewill for the most programs and heat from two sides, and the Sunbeam if you want a machine you can keep running with spare parts. For machines with dispensers, heated lids and longer records, see our main guide to the best bread machine.
Fresh bread and a bowl of soup make a good weeknight. When you would rather someone else cooked, see our menu or call to order.