Small Kitchen Appliances

Before You Buy the Best Bread Maker Gluten Free Bakers Can Trust

Seven bread makers with a gluten-free setting the maker names in writing, from Zojirushi to budget picks, plus celiac advice on shared pans.

A pale, square sandwich loaf with two slices cut and a knife on a white board
A pale sandwich loaf with two slices cut.

Mexican cooking is built on corn, so a lot of what comes out of a Mexican kitchen is naturally free of wheat. Sandwich bread is a different story. If you or someone at home eats gluten-free, a good loaf for tortas, toast or a breakfast sandwich usually means buying expensive bread or baking your own. A bread machine makes the second option much easier, as long as it has a gluten-free program you can rely on.

This guide narrows our main bread machine guide to that one question. Every machine here has a gluten-free setting that its maker names in writing; we did not include any machine where we had to guess. To give you real choices beyond the main guide, we picked different machines here, and where one is closely related to a main-guide pick, we say why.

Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.

Quick verdict: which gluten-free bread maker to buy

For most gluten-free households, the Zojirushi Virtuoso Plus with Ceramic Nonstick (BB-PPC20) is the bread maker to buy. Zojirushi lists a dedicated Gluten Free course, three Homemade memory settings for your own knead, rise and bake times, dual kneading blades and heaters on both the bottom and the lid, and a pan free of PFAS on every surface that touches food. For one or two people, the Zojirushi Maestro bakes 1-pound loaves and has the same Gluten Free course. On a budget, the Elite Gourmet 2 Lb Bread Maker lists a gluten-free preset and a ceramic pan.

A note before you buy: a gluten-free setting controls timing and temperature. It does not make a shared machine safe for someone with celiac disease. We cover that below, with what the Celiac Disease Foundation says.

Five gluten-free bread makers side by side

Our five standout picks, one for each kind of baker, with the specifications each maker or listing states. All seven machines are reviewed in full below.

Bread maker Best for Loaf size Gluten-free setting (per maker) Buy on Amazon
Most gluten-free households 2 lb, rectangular Gluten Free course + 3 custom memories View on Amazon
One or two gluten-free eaters 1 lb Gluten Free course + 3 custom memories View on Amazon
Larger loaves, mix-ins 2.2 to 3.3 lb Gluten-free program + homemade setting View on Amazon
Tuning your own recipes 1, 1.5 or 2 lb Gluten Free menu + 4 custom menus View on Amazon
Trying gluten-free baking cheaply 1, 1.5 or 2 lb Gluten-free one-touch program View on Amazon

Product images from Amazon. Programs are as stated by each maker or listing; check the listing before you buy.

Our picks for the best bread maker gluten free bakers can rely on

These seven machines all name a gluten-free program in writing. They range from Japanese machines with custom memory settings to budget models from Elite Gourmet, Amazon Basics and Neretva. Each pick explains who it suits, what the maker states, and one honest reason to skip it.

A brown loaf of bread with several slices cut, resting on a wooden board
A loaf of bread sliced on a wooden board.

1. Zojirushi Virtuoso Plus Ceramic Nonstick – Gluten Free Course, PFAS-Free Pan

Best overallZojirushi BB-PPC20BA Home Bakery Virtuoso Plus Breadmaker

This is the one closely related machine on the page, and it is here on purpose. Our main bread machine guide recommends the Zojirushi Virtuoso Plus BB-PDC20, which America’s Test Kitchen rates Highly Recommended for its golden crusts from a heater in the lid. The BB-PPC20 is Zojirushi’s version of the same Virtuoso Plus with a ceramic nonstick pan, and the main guide only mentions it in passing. For a gluten-free buyer it is the better pick, because Zojirushi states that every area that touches food is free of PFAS (including PTFE and PFOA) and BPA.

Zojirushi lists a dedicated Gluten Free course among its 15 menu settings, alongside White, Whole Wheat, Multigrain, Vegan, Dough, Cake, Jam and a Sourdough Starter course. Three Homemade memory settings let you set your own knead, rise and bake times, which is useful when a favorite gluten-free recipe calls for a different schedule than the preset.

It bakes a traditional rectangular 2-pound loaf, the shape that slices well for tortas and sandwiches. Dual kneading blades mix the dough, and heaters on the bottom and the lid promote even baking and browning, according to Zojirushi. There is a large viewing window, a 13-hour delay timer, and measuring cups, a spoon and a recipe book in the box.

Why we like it

  • Dedicated Gluten Free course, per Zojirushi.
  • Three Homemade memories for custom knead, rise and bake times.
  • Ceramic nonstick pan, free of PFAS and BPA on food-contact areas.
  • Dual blades and a lid heater, the design ATK rated Highly Recommended on the BB-PDC20.

Key specifications

Model BB-PPC20BA
Loaf size 2 lb, rectangular
Gluten-free setting Gluten Free course
Programs 15 menu settings, incl. 3 Homemade memories
Kneading paddles Two
Pan coating Ceramic nonstick, PFAS- and BPA-free
Delay timer 13 hours
Warranty Not stated in listing

Why we recommend it

It suits a household that bakes gluten-free bread every week and wants a full-size, sandwich-shaped loaf with room to fine-tune the program.

Skip it if counter space is tight: it is a large machine built around a 2-pound loaf, and ATK found the Virtuoso Plus control panel harder to use than simpler machines.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Named gluten-free course plus custom memories.
  • Even baking from two heaters.
  • PFAS-free ceramic pan.

Cons

  • Large footprint.
  • ATK found the panel harder to use (on the BB-PDC20).
  • No independent review of this ceramic version.

Check price on Amazon

2. Zojirushi Home Bakery Maestro – Small Loaves, Same Gluten Free Course

Best smallZojirushi BB-SSC10WZ Home Bakery Maestro Breadmaker

If only one person in the house eats gluten-free bread, a 2-pound loaf can be more than they finish while it is fresh. The Maestro bakes a 1-pound loaf. Zojirushi lists 15 course selections, including Gluten Free, Multigrain, Whole Wheat, Quick Whole Wheat, Salt Free, Sugar Free and Vegan, plus bread and pizza dough, pasta dough, cake and jam.

Like the bigger Zojirushi, it has three Homemade memory settings for your own knead, rise and bake times. It also adds something the Virtuoso Plus lacks: an automatic add dispenser that releases nuts and other ingredients at the right point, and which Zojirushi says is removable and washable. If your recipe calls for seeds, the dispenser adds them for you.

The baking pan and kneading blade have a nonstick coating, and Zojirushi says every surface that touches food is BPA free. A quick course bakes a loaf in 2 hours and 20 minutes, and the delay timer runs to 13 hours. A full-color book with 50 recipes is included.

Why we like it

  • Gluten Free course in a compact 1-pound machine.
  • Three Homemade memory settings.
  • Removable, washable automatic add dispenser.

Key specifications

Model BB-SSC10WZ
Loaf size 1 lb
Gluten-free setting Gluten Free course
Programs 15 courses, incl. 3 Homemade memories
Kneading paddles One
Pan coating Nonstick (type not stated), BPA free
Delay timer 13 hours
Warranty Not stated in listing

Why we recommend it

It suits a single gluten-free eater or a couple who want fresh small loaves often rather than a big loaf that goes stale.

Skip it if you feed a family: 1 pound is one small loaf, and you would be baking every other day.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Right-sized for one or two people.
  • Add dispenser for seeds and nuts.
  • Custom memory settings.

Cons

  • Small loaves only.
  • Pan coating type not stated.
  • Not covered by ATK’s review.

Check price on Amazon

3. Neretva 3.3 LB 15-in-1 Bread Maker – Big Loaves and a Fruit and Nut Dispenser

Best for big loavesNeretva 3.3LB &15-in-1 Bread Maker Dual Heaters with Auto Nut Dispenser

This is the machine for a larger household. Neretva’s listing gives loaf sizes of 2.2, 2.76 and 3.3 pounds, the biggest on this page, and names gluten-free among its 15 programs, along with basic, quick, French, sweet, whole wheat, sugarless, cake, dough, jam, yogurt and a homemade setting.

A detachable fruit and nut dispenser adds seeds, nuts or dried fruit automatically during the cycle, the listing says, so you do not have to wait for the beep. Like Neretva’s smaller 20-in-1 further down, it has heaters at the top and the bottom of the pan, which the maker says promote even baking, plus a ceramic-coated nonstick pan, two kneading paddles, three crust colors, a 15-hour delay timer and an hour of keep warm.

The listing gives the power as 850 watts in one place and 800 watts in another, and says the motor runs below 40 decibels. Neretva does not state a warranty in the listing, and we found no independent review of this model, so treat the listing as the only source.

Why we like it

  • Gluten-free program named in the listing.
  • Loaf sizes up to 3.3 pounds.
  • Automatic fruit and nut dispenser.
  • Top and bottom heaters, per the maker.

Key specifications

Model PE9806U
Loaf size 2.2, 2.76 or 3.3 lb
Gluten-free setting Gluten-free program
Programs 15, including homemade
Kneading paddles Two
Pan coating Ceramic nonstick
Delay timer 15 hours
Warranty Not stated in listing

Why we recommend it

It suits a family that eats a lot of gluten-free bread and wants big loaves with seeds or dried fruit added automatically.

Skip it if you bake for one or two: the smallest loaf is 2.2 pounds, and there is no independent review of how this model handles gluten-free dough.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Largest loaf size on this page.
  • Mix-ins added automatically.
  • Dual heaters and two paddles.

Cons

  • No small loaf option.
  • Warranty not stated.
  • No independent review found.

Check price on Amazon

4. KitchenArm 29-in-1 Smart Bread Machine – Program Every Cycle Yourself

Most programmableKITCHENARM 29-in-1 SMART Bread Machine with Gluten Free Setting 2LB 1.5LB 1LB Bread Maker Machine with Homemade Cycle - Stainless Steel Breadmaker with Recipes Whole Wheat Bread Making Machine

Gluten-free recipes are often written around a particular flour blend, and some bakers end up wanting full control. KitchenArm’s 29-in-1 is the most programmable machine here. The listing names a Gluten Free menu among 21 bread menus, and its Home Made menu lets you create up to four personalized menus, set the time of each cycle (knead, rest, rise, bake), set your own fermentation and baking temperatures, and adjust a cycle while the program is running.

KitchenArm says the machine remembers your last menu, loaf size and crust color, so a recipe you bake every week becomes a one-press job. It bakes 1, 1.5 or 2-pound loaves with three crust colors, has a 15-hour delay timer and a one-hour keep warm, and recovers from a power interruption of up to 15 minutes. Alarms tell you when to add nuts and when to remove the paddle.

The pan is a Teflon-coated nonstick pan, according to the listing, so it is not the choice for anyone avoiding PTFE. KitchenArm gives a two-year product warranty, longer than most machines here, and the recipe book has 77 recipes.

Why we like it

  • Gluten Free menu plus four fully custom menus.
  • Custom fermentation and baking temperatures.
  • Remembers your settings for one-press baking.
  • Two-year product warranty.

Key specifications

Model 85203
Loaf size 1, 1.5 or 2 lb
Gluten-free setting Gluten Free menu
Programs 29 menus, incl. Home Made (4 custom)
Kneading paddles Not stated in listing
Pan coating Teflon (PTFE) nonstick
Delay timer 15 hours
Warranty 2 years

Why we recommend it

It suits a baker who likes to experiment with gluten-free flour blends and wants to set each stage of the program rather than accept a preset.

Skip it if you want a simple machine: 29 menus and cycle-level programming are more than many people will use.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Deepest customization on this page.
  • Longer warranty than most.
  • Three loaf sizes.

Cons

  • PTFE-coated pan.
  • No independent review found.
  • Lots of menus to learn.

Check price on Amazon

The cut end of a light brown loaf showing an open crumb, on a dark board dusted with flour
The cut face of a loaf, showing its crumb.

5. Elite Gourmet 2 Lb Bread Maker – Gluten-Free Preset on a Budget

Budget pickElite Gourmet 2 Lb Automatic Bread Maker

If you are not sure gluten-free baking at home will stick, a budget machine is a sensible first step. Elite Gourmet’s EBM8103B lists 19 one-touch programs, and gluten-free is the first one it names, along with white, wheat, rye, French, sweet, quick bread, pizza dough, cake and jam.

It bakes 1, 1.5 or 2-pound loaves, and the listing title gives three adjustable crust shades. A 15-hour delay timer and a 60-minute keep warm function let you wake up to bread. The pan is Elite Gourmet’s Ceralast ceramic pan, per the listing title, and a recipe book is included.

America’s Test Kitchen tested a different Elite Gourmet machine and rated it Recommended with Reservations, saying it “wasn’t very consistent” though it liked “the airy and fluffy crumb of the good loaves.” The EBM8103B itself has no independent review we could find, so treat that as a guide to the brand rather than a verdict on this model.

Why we like it

  • Gluten-free preset named first in the listing.
  • Ceramic pan, per the listing title.
  • Three loaf sizes and a 15-hour delay timer.

Key specifications

Model EBM8103B
Loaf size 1, 1.5 or 2 lb
Gluten-free setting Gluten-free one-touch program
Programs 19
Kneading paddles Not stated in listing
Pan coating Ceralast ceramic
Delay timer 15 hours
Warranty Not stated in listing

Why we recommend it

It suits someone trying gluten-free bread at home for the first time who wants a full-size machine without a big outlay.

Skip it if consistency matters most: ATK found a related Elite Gourmet model inconsistent, and there is no custom program for adjusting a recipe.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Low cost for a 2-pound machine.
  • Ceramic pan.
  • Keep warm and long delay timer.

Cons

  • No custom program listed.
  • Warranty not stated.
  • Brand’s tested model was inconsistent, per ATK.

Check price on Amazon

6. Amazon Basics Programmable Bread Maker – The Simplest Start

Simplest controlsAmazon Basics Programmable Bread Maker

Amazon Basics keeps things plain. The listing describes a 550-watt machine for loaves of up to 2 pounds, with 14 settings for breads, doughs, gluten-free options and jams, three crust colors (light, medium and dark), and programmable controls with an LCD display.

An ExpressBake setting bakes bread in under 90 minutes, which is useful on days you are baking regular bread for the rest of the household. The pan is nonstick; the listing does not say what the coating is.

The listing is thin. It does not state loaf-size choices beyond the 2-pound maximum, the number of paddles, a delay timer or a warranty, so check the product page or manual before you buy if any of those matter. It is here for its named gluten-free option and simple controls, not because it does anything special.

Why we like it

  • Gluten-free options named in the listing.
  • ExpressBake under 90 minutes for regular loaves.
  • Simple programmable controls with an LCD.

Key specifications

Model BM1349-UL-W
Loaf size Up to 2 lb
Gluten-free setting Gluten-free options (listing)
Programs 14 settings
Kneading paddles Not stated in listing
Pan coating Nonstick (type not stated)
Delay timer Not stated in listing
Warranty Not stated in listing

Why we recommend it

It suits someone who wants the fewest buttons between them and a gluten-free loaf, and who does not need custom programs.

Skip it if you want details before you buy: the listing leaves out the timer, paddles and warranty.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Plain, simple controls.
  • Fast ExpressBake setting.
  • Three crust colors.

Cons

  • Sparse listing details.
  • No custom program listed.
  • Lower wattage than most machines here.

Check price on Amazon

7. Neretva 20-in-1 Bread Maker – Top and Bottom Heaters, Ceramic Pan

Best dual-heater budgetNeretva 20-in-1 2LB Bread Maker Metal Bread Machine with Dual Heater

Neretva’s 20-in-1 brings a feature usually found on pricier machines: heaters at both the top and the bottom of the loaf pan, which the maker says promote even baking. The listing names gluten-free among its 20 programs, along with basic, quick, French, whole wheat, sweet, cake, dough, jam and a homemade setting.

It bakes 1.65 or 2-pound loaves with three crust colors, has a 15-hour delay timer, an hour of automatic keep warm, and 15-minute power interruption recovery. The pan is ceramic-coated nonstick, and the box includes two kneading paddles, a paddle removal hook, measuring cup and spoons, and a heat-resistant glove. The machine runs at 550 watts with a metal body.

One quirk to know: the listing notes that the buttons lock automatically once a program starts, and you hold START/PAUSE/STOP for three seconds to unlock them. Neretva does not state a warranty in the listing, and we found no independent review.

Why we like it

  • Gluten-free program named in the listing.
  • Top and bottom heaters, per the maker.
  • Ceramic pan and two paddles included.

Key specifications

Model PE8866GR
Loaf size 1.65 or 2 lb
Gluten-free setting Gluten-free program
Programs 20, incl. homemade
Kneading paddles Two included
Pan coating Ceramic nonstick
Delay timer 15 hours
Warranty Not stated in listing

Why we recommend it

It suits a budget buyer who wants a ceramic pan and top-and-bottom heating without paying Zojirushi prices.

Skip it if you want a known warranty: Neretva states none in the listing, and we found no independent review.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Dual heaters at a budget level.
  • Ceramic pan.
  • Useful accessories in the box.

Cons

  • No warranty stated.
  • Button lock adds a step.
  • Lower wattage.

Check price on Amazon

Choosing a bread machine for gluten-free loaves

Every machine on this page has a gluten-free setting, so the choice comes down to how you bake and who you bake for.

A gluten-free setting the maker names in writing

This is the first filter. Some listings mention gluten-free bread in a recipe or a photo without a dedicated program. We included only machines whose maker or listing names a gluten-free course, menu or program.

Custom programs

A gluten-free recipe may call for different times than a machine’s preset. Machines with custom memories, like the two Zojirushis (three each) and the KitchenArm (four, with temperature control), let you save a schedule that works.

A mound of flour on a wooden table beside a brown bowl, an egg and a mug holding pieces of butter
Flour, an egg and a bowl set out for mixing.

Loaf size and how fast you eat it

A 1-pound machine suits one or two people; 2 pounds suits a family. If you bake more than you eat in a few days, slice and freeze it, or keep it in a bread box for the short term. Weighing ingredients on a kitchen scale for baking makes any recipe easier to repeat than measuring by the cup.

Pan coating

Pans differ. Zojirushi’s BB-PPC20 has a ceramic nonstick pan free of PFAS, Elite Gourmet and Neretva list ceramic pans, and KitchenArm states a Teflon pan. If coatings matter to you, check the listing; we only repeat what each maker states.

Shared kitchens and celiac disease

A gluten-free program does not remove gluten from a pan that has baked wheat bread. The Celiac Disease Foundation’s baking advice is to bake gluten-free items first and cover them before bringing out the wheat flour, and to use parchment, foil or liners if you do not have dedicated gluten-free baking pans. It also advises washing pots, pans and utensils with soap and water after each use, and following your own celiac care team’s guidance. A bread machine pan is a baking pan, so a household with celiac disease should ask its care team whether a dedicated machine, or at least a dedicated pan, is right for them.

How we picked these seven machines

We started from the machines our main bread machine guide did not already recommend and kept only those whose maker or Amazon listing names a gluten-free setting. We checked each one with Amazon’s product data for stock, model numbers and stated programs, read Zojirushi’s own product pages, and used America’s Test Kitchen’s bread machine review where it covered the same or related machines. ATK’s review lists gluten-free cycles but does not report gluten-free results, so we do not claim any machine bakes better gluten-free bread than another.

We left out machines that were not in stock, unbranded listings, and machines where gluten-free appeared only in a photo or recipe. We also checked the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall database for every brand here and found no bread maker recalls for Zojirushi, KitchenArm, Elite Gourmet, Amazon Basics or Neretva; the bread maker recalls we found were for Lidl’s Silvercrest (2020) and West Bend (1995), neither on this page. We have not used these machines ourselves.

Gluten-free bread machine questions, answered

What is the best bread machine for gluten free bread?

For most households, the Zojirushi Virtuoso Plus with ceramic nonstick (BB-PPC20): a named Gluten Free course, three custom memories, two heaters and a PFAS-free pan. For one or two people, the Zojirushi Maestro.

Do I need a gluten-free setting, or can I use the regular cycle?

A gluten-free program runs the maker’s own preset timings for gluten-free bread. If your machine has custom programs, you can also set a recipe’s own times. We recommend buying a machine with a named gluten-free setting so you are not guessing.

Is a bread machine safe for someone with celiac disease?

The machine’s program does not decide that; cross-contact does. Follow the Celiac Disease Foundation’s advice above and your care team’s guidance, and consider dedicated equipment if wheat bread is also baked at home.

Can I bake regular bread in the same machine?

Every machine here bakes regular bread too. If anyone at home has celiac disease, though, sharing the pan is the question to ask your care team about.

Are corn tortillas gluten-free?

Corn tortillas are made from masa, water and lime, and corn contains no gluten, as our guide to eating gluten-free at a Mexican restaurant explains, though cross-contact in a kitchen is a separate question. See also corn vs flour tortillas.

Three seeded whole grain tin loaves in a row on a white cloth
Three seeded tin loaves on a white cloth.

Our final pick for gluten-free bread at home

Buy the Zojirushi Virtuoso Plus with ceramic nonstick if you bake gluten-free bread often and want a full-size loaf with room to tune the program. Choose the Zojirushi Maestro for small loaves, the Neretva 3.3 LB for the biggest loaves and mix-ins, the KitchenArm for full control, the Elite Gourmet on a budget, the Amazon Basics for the simplest controls, and the Neretva 20-in-1 for dual heaters at a low price.

And when you want a meal that starts with corn rather than bread, see our menu or call to order, and ask us about ingredients when you do.

Call Menu Directions