A taqueria lives on its flat-top. Steak for asada, chorizo, onions and peppers for fajitas, quesadillas, tortillas warmed by the stack: they all go on one wide, hot steel plate that a cook can work from end to end without waiting for a burner. Food trucks and concession stands lean on the same tool for the same reason.
Buying one for a business is different from buying a home griddle. You have to match the fuel to your building or truck, the voltage to your outlets, and the listings to what your health inspector wants to see. This guide sorts the countertop commercial griddles on Amazon by those practical points: gas or electric, natural gas or propane, plate thickness, width and power.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which commercial flat-top to buy
For a taqueria or busy food truck with a gas line and a hood, the best commercial griddle is the Star-Max 36-inch Gas Griddle with Safety Pilot: a one-inch steel plate, three thermostatic zones, a safety pilot on every burner, a propane conversion kit in the box and a two-year warranty. With no gas, pick the Globe 36-inch electric griddle, hard-wired on a 208–240-volt circuit, or the Waring 14-inch if you only have a standard outlet. For a propane truck, the Atosa CookRite 36-inch comes set up for LP.
These are commercial appliances. Gas models need a qualified installer and a hood that meets your local code, and every pick below is sold for commercial use, not home kitchens. If you cook at home, our guide to the best electric griddles covers plug-in models for the house.
Five commercial griddles compared
One pick for each kind of business, with the fuel, size and controls each maker, listing or dealer states. All seven griddles are reviewed in full below.
| Commercial griddle | Best for | Fuel, size and plate | Controls | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Star-Max 36-inch Gas Griddle with Safety PilotBest overall
|
Taquerias, high volume | Gas (NG, LP kit); 36 in; 1 in plate | Thermostatic, safety pilots | View on Amazon |
Globe 36-inch Electric Countertop GriddleBest full-size electric
|
No gas line, full-size plate | Electric 208–240V; 36 in; 1/2 in plate | Thermostatic, 150–480°F | View on Amazon |
Atosa CookRite 36-inch Manual Gas Griddle, PropaneBest for food trucks
|
Food trucks on propane | Propane; 36 in; 3/4 in plate | Manual, three burners | View on Amazon |
| Carts on a wall outlet | Electric 120V; 14 x 16 in | Thermostat to 570°F | View on Amazon | |
VEVOR 22-inch Commercial Electric GriddleBudget pick
|
Weekend stalls, tight budget | Electric 1,600W; 21 x 12 in | Dial, 122–572°F | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Specifications are as stated by each maker, listing or dealer; confirm the exact model, fuel and voltage before you order.

Our picks for the best commercial griddle
We start with gas, because that is what most taquerias and trucks run, then move through electric models from full-size 240-volt units down to plug-in griddles for carts and catering. Each review says what fuel or circuit it needs, how thick the plate is, and one honest reason to skip it.
1. Star-Max 36-inch Gas Griddle with Safety Pilot – A One-Inch Plate That Holds Heat

This is the countertop flat-top we would point a taqueria or a busy food truck to first. Star builds the Star-Max 636TSPF around a one-inch polished steel plate, the thickest plate on this list along with the Adcraft, and a thick plate is what keeps the surface hot when you drop two pounds of cold carne asada on it during a rush.
Underneath are three aluminized steel U-shaped burners, one for every 12 inches of width, rated at 28,300 BTU each for 84,900 BTU in total, according to Star’s specification sheet. Each burner has its own thermostat (150 to 450°F) and its own automatic safety pilot, which shuts the gas off if the pilot goes out. That lets you run one zone hot for searing meat, one medium for onions and peppers, and one low for warming tortillas.
It ships set up for natural gas, and Star includes a field conversion kit for propane in the box, which matters if you are building a trailer or truck on LP. Star lists the unit at about 36 inches wide, 29 inches deep and 15.5 inches high, and it carries UL gas certification, a UL sanitation listing and a two-year parts and labor warranty.
Star states plainly that the griddle is not for residential installation. It needs a qualified gas hookup, a ventilation hood that meets your local code, and a non-combustible counter or stand.
Why we like it
- One-inch polished steel plate (Star)
- Three thermostatic zones, 150–450°F
- Automatic safety pilot on every burner
- Ships natural gas with a propane conversion kit included
- Two-year parts and labor warranty (Star)
Key specifications
| Model | 636TSPF |
|---|---|
| Fuel or power | Natural gas; LP conversion kit included |
| Cooking surface | 36 in wide |
| Plate | 1 in polished steel |
| Heat output | 84,900 BTU (3 × 28,300) |
| Controls | Thermostatic, 150–450°F, safety pilot per burner |
| Listings | UL gas, UL EPH sanitation |
| Warranty | 2 years parts and labor |
Why we recommend it
It suits a kitchen that runs the griddle all service: a taqueria cooking asada, al pastor finished on the plancha, and quesadillas side by side, or a truck that needs a plate that recovers fast between orders. Thermostats mean each zone settles at a set temperature instead of being nudged by hand all night.
Skip it if you cook on electric only or need something you can carry. It is a gas appliance for a professional installation, and it is heavy and wide.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Thick plate for heat recovery
- Thermostat and safety pilot in each zone
- Propane kit in the box
- Two-year warranty
Cons
- Commercial installation only
- Needs a hood and gas line
- Amazon listing gives few details; specs are from Star’s sheet
2. Atosa CookRite 36-inch Manual Gas Griddle, Propane – Built for Trucks on LP

Atosa sells this griddle in a propane version from the start (model ATMG-36-LP), which is why it is our pick for food trucks and trailers that run on LP tanks. The listing describes three burners with standby pilots, manual controls, a grease drawer, a stainless steel body and adjustable steel legs to level it on an uneven truck counter.
Restaurant-equipment dealers that carry the CookRite line list the plate as 3/4-inch polished steel with a cooking area of about 35.7 x 19.9 inches, and the three burners at 30,000 BTU each for 90,000 BTU in total. They also list cETLus and ETL Sanitation certification. Atosa’s Amazon listing gives a one-year parts and labor warranty.
Manual controls are the simpler, cheaper way to run a griddle: each knob sets the flame, not a temperature, so the cook watches the surface and adjusts. Many taquerias work this way, keeping the back of the plate low for tortillas and the front high for meat. A 3/4-inch plate is thinner than Star’s one-inch plate but still well within what dealers describe as heavy-duty.
Why we like it
- Sold as a propane model, no conversion needed
- Three independently controlled burners
- Standby pilots and a grease drawer
- Adjustable legs for leveling
- cETLus and ETL Sanitation listed (dealers)
Key specifications
| Model | ATMG-36-LP |
|---|---|
| Fuel or power | Liquid propane |
| Cooking surface | About 35.7 x 19.9 in (dealer listings) |
| Plate | 3/4 in polished steel (dealer listings) |
| Heat output | 90,000 BTU (3 × 30,000) |
| Controls | Manual, one valve per burner |
| Listings | cETLus, ETL Sanitation (dealers) |
| Warranty | 1 year parts and labor (listing) |
Why we recommend it
It suits a food truck, trailer or outdoor concession that already runs on propane and wants a full 36-inch flat-top with zones it can set by hand.
Skip it if you want thermostats that hold a set temperature. Manual valves need a cook keeping an eye on the plate, and a natural-gas kitchen should order the NG version instead.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Propane from the factory
- Three zones
- Leveling legs for trucks
- One-year parts and labor
Cons
- Manual controls, no thermostat
- Thinner plate than the Star or Adcraft
- Most specs come from dealers, not the Amazon listing

3. Globe 36-inch Electric Countertop Griddle – Gas-Size Plate on Electric Power

The Globe GEG36 is for a kitchen that wants a full 36-inch flat-top but has electric service rather than gas. It is a big, hard-wired unit: the Amazon listing gives 8,400 watts of heating power, and Globe’s spec sheet lists 208–240 volts single-phase at 6,300 or 8,400 watts, with heating elements every 12 inches.
The cooking surface is a 1/2-inch thick polished steel plate. Globe’s sheet gives a thermostatic range of 150 to 480°F, a splash guard on three sides, a removable stainless catch tray and adjustable stainless steel feet. The listing says the griddle is UL and NSF listed and must be hard-wired, so plan for an electrician.
A half-inch plate is thinner than the one-inch plates on the gas models, so it will dip more when you load it with cold meat, but it also heats up faster. For breakfast, tortas, quesadillas and steady lunch volume, that is a reasonable trade.
Why we like it
- Full 36-inch width on electric
- 1/2-inch polished steel plate
- Thermostatic, 150–480°F (Globe)
- UL and NSF listed (listing)
- Splash guard on three sides
Key specifications
| Model | GEG36 |
|---|---|
| Fuel or power | Electric, 208–240V, 1-phase, hard-wired |
| Cooking surface | 36 in wide |
| Plate | 1/2 in polished steel |
| Heat output | 6,300 W / 8,400 W |
| Controls | Thermostatic, 150–480°F |
| Listings | UL, NSF (listing) |
| Warranty | 1 year parts and labor (Globe) |
Why we recommend it
It suits a café, commissary or school kitchen with no gas line that still wants a full-size flat-top, and an electrician on hand to wire it in.
Skip it if you need to unplug and move it. It has no plug at all, and it draws more current than most small kitchens have spare.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Full-size surface without gas
- Thermostatic zones
- NSF listed
- Splash guard on three sides
Cons
- Must be hard-wired
- Heavy, high current draw
- Thinner plate than the gas picks
4. Waring Commercial 14-inch Electric Countertop Griddle, 120V – NSF Griddle on a Wall Outlet

Most food carts, coffee bars and small concession stands only have regular 120-volt outlets. Waring’s WGR140 is built for exactly that: the listing gives 120 volts, 15 amps and 1,800 watts, with UL approval and NSF certification. Waring’s parts sheet and dealer listings put the cooking surface at 14 x 16 inches.
The body is stainless steel with extra-tall steel splash guards and a tapered front end, and an 11-inch grease tray pulls out fully for emptying. Dealers list a thermostat that goes up to 570°F.
Fourteen inches wide is room for about two burrito-size tortillas or four to six smaller ones at a time, which is enough for a cart doing quesadillas and breakfast tacos, but not for a full grill line. One dealer lists this model as discontinued, though it was in stock on Amazon when we checked.
Why we like it
- Runs on a standard 120V, 15A outlet
- UL approved and NSF certified (listing)
- Extra-tall splash guards
- Fully removable 11-inch grease tray
- One-year limited warranty
Key specifications
| Model | WGR140 |
|---|---|
| Fuel or power | Electric, 120V, 15A, 1,800W |
| Cooking surface | 14 x 16 in (Waring parts sheet, dealers) |
| Plate | Not stated |
| Heat output | 1,800 W |
| Controls | Adjustable thermostat to 570°F (dealers) |
| Listings | UL, NSF (listing) |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cart, kiosk or coffee bar that needs an inspected, NSF-listed flat-top without rewiring anything, and cooks a few items at a time.
Skip it if you need more than about two large tortillas at once. At 1,800 watts it also cannot recover as fast as the 240-volt and gas models.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Plugs into a standard outlet
- UL and NSF
- Compact countertop size
- Tall splash guards
Cons
- Small surface
- Uses the full 15-amp circuit
- One dealer lists it as discontinued

5. Cadco 24-inch Electric Countertop Griddle, 120V – Light Enough to Carry to an Event

Cadco’s CG-5FB is the lightest-duty griddle on this list, and that is why it is here. Dealers list it at about 25 pounds, 24-1/2 inches wide overall, on a standard 120-volt plug at 1,500 watts, with a 21 x 12-inch nonstick cooking surface. Cadco markets it for kiosks, food trucks, buffets and concessions.
A capillary thermostat controls the heat, with dealers listing a top temperature of 450°F. A removable stainless backsplash and a front-access grease tray make it easy to clean between events, and non-skid feet keep it in place on a folding table. The listing gives a one-year limited warranty, and dealers list a UL listing; we did not find an NSF listing for it.
Treat it as a medium-duty tool. One dealer passes on Cadco’s guidance that it should not be run more than four to five hours a day, so it fits a catering job, a church fundraiser or a taco-bar buffet station better than an all-day grill line.
Why we like it
- About 25 lb: one person can carry it
- 120V, 1,500W plug
- 21 x 12-inch nonstick surface
- Removable backsplash and front grease tray
- Non-skid feet
Key specifications
| Model | CG-5FB |
|---|---|
| Fuel or power | Electric, 120V, 1,500W |
| Cooking surface | 21 x 12 in (dealers) |
| Plate | Nonstick coated (material not stated consistently) |
| Heat output | 1,500 W |
| Controls | Capillary thermostat, to 450°F (dealers) |
| Listings | UL (dealers); NSF not found |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
It suits caterers and pop-ups who load the griddle into a car, set it on a table, and cook for a few hours at a time.
Skip it if you need all-day service or a health department that requires NSF-listed equipment. This is a light-duty unit.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Portable weight
- Standard plug
- Nonstick surface
- Easy-clean trays
Cons
- Not for all-day use
- NSF listing not found
- Lower top temperature than the steel-plate models
6. Adcraft Black Diamond 48-inch Thermostatic Gas Griddle – Four Zones for a Full Line

If your griddle is the main cooking surface for the whole menu, width matters more than anything. Adcraft’s Black Diamond BDCTG-48T gives you 48 inches, with four U-shaped stainless steel burners at 30,000 BTU each for 120,000 BTU in total, according to the listing.
Each burner has its own thermostat and its own standing pilot, so you can set four zones: a hot one for meat, one for vegetables, one for tortillas and one to hold finished food. The listing describes a one-inch polished steel plate made for long hours at high heat, though one dealer lists 3/4-inch, so check the spec sheet if plate thickness decides it for you.
It ships for natural gas, and dealers list it as convertible to propane with the orifices included. The listing is clear that Adcraft does not cover parts or labor for residential installation; dealers list a one-year parts and labor warranty for commercial use.
Why we like it
- 48 inches of cooking surface
- Four thermostatic zones
- Standing pilot on each burner
- 120,000 BTU total (listing)
- Convertible to LP, orifices included (dealers)
Key specifications
| Model | BDCTG-48T |
|---|---|
| Fuel or power | Natural gas; LP orifices included (dealers) |
| Cooking surface | 48 in wide (about 47.75 x 22 in per dealer) |
| Plate | 1 in polished steel (listing; one dealer says 3/4 in) |
| Heat output | 120,000 BTU (4 × 30,000) |
| Controls | Thermostatic, about 200–450°F (dealers) |
| Listings | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1 year parts and labor, commercial only (dealers) |
Why we recommend it
It suits a taqueria or diner where the flat-top is the main station for asada, fajita meat, eggs and tortillas, and a 48-inch hood is already in place.
Skip it if your hood or counter is shorter than four feet, or you cook in a truck. It is the largest and heaviest griddle here.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Very large surface
- Four independent thermostats
- Thick plate
- Convertible to propane
Cons
- Needs a large hood and gas supply
- Certifications not stated in the listing
- No warranty for residential use
7. VEVOR 22-inch Commercial Electric Griddle – Low-Cost Start for a Market Stall

VEVOR sells mostly through Amazon and its own site, and this 22-inch griddle is the low-cost way to try a weekend stall before buying a full commercial unit. The listing gives 1,600 watts, a 21 x 12-inch cooking area and a 10 mm (0.4-inch) iron cooking plate in a stainless steel body.
The temperature dial runs from 122 to 572°F. Grease drains through an enlarged hole into a removable oil box, and the box includes two scrapers and brushes. The listing names restaurants, snack bars and roadside stalls as the intended use.
What the listing does not give is just as important: we did not find a UL, ETL or NSF listing or a stated warranty in it, and it does not state the voltage. Many health departments require NSF or equivalent sanitation listing for commercial food service, so check with yours before you plan to sell food cooked on it.
Why we like it
- 10 mm iron plate
- 21 x 12-inch cooking area
- Wide 122–572°F range
- Removable oil box
- Scrapers and brushes included
Key specifications
| Model | Commercial Electric Griddle, 22-inch |
|---|---|
| Fuel or power | Electric, 1,600W (voltage not stated) |
| Cooking surface | 21 x 12 in |
| Plate | 10 mm iron |
| Heat output | 1,600 W |
| Controls | Dial, 122–572°F |
| Listings | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a home cook running occasional pop-ups, or a stall testing demand, where a lower spend matters more than inspection-ready listings.
Skip it if you need NSF or UL listing for your permit, or a stated warranty. Buy one of the Waring or Cadco models instead.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Low cost of entry
- Thick iron plate for the price
- Wide temperature range
- Accessories included
Cons
- No certification stated
- No warranty stated
- Amazon-first brand
How to choose a commercial griddle
Start with what your space can supply, then pick the size and plate for your menu. A griddle that does not match your gas, power or permit is the most expensive mistake on this list.
1. Gas or electric
Gas heats a thick plate fast and is cheaper to run where gas is available, which is why most taquerias and trucks use it. It also needs a gas line or tanks, a licensed installer and, in nearly every jurisdiction, a hood. Electric griddles avoid the gas line and are easier to place, but full-size units need 208–240-volt service and some must be hard-wired. Only small models like the Waring 14-inch and Cadco run on a regular 120-volt outlet.
2. Natural gas or propane
A building usually has natural gas (NG); a food truck or trailer usually runs on propane (LP). The two need different orifices, so a griddle must be built or converted for the gas you have. Star ships the 636TSPF on natural gas with an LP kit in the box, dealers list Adcraft’s Black Diamond as convertible with orifices included, and Atosa sells separate NG and LP versions. Have a qualified technician do any conversion.
3. Plate thickness
A thicker steel plate holds more heat, so the surface does not drop much when you load it with cold meat, and it recovers faster between orders. One-inch plates (Star, Adcraft) are heavy-duty; 3/4-inch (Atosa) and 1/2-inch (Globe) heat up faster and still serve a steady lunch rush; thin coated plates suit light, intermittent use.
4. Width and zones
Gas griddles usually have one burner per 12 inches, and each burner is a zone. A 24-inch griddle gives you two zones, a 36-inch three, a 48-inch four. For a taco menu, three zones is the comfortable minimum: meat, vegetables and tortillas. Measure your hood before you buy; the griddle has to sit fully under it.
5. Manual or thermostatic controls
Manual valves set flame height; the plate’s temperature depends on how much food is on it. Thermostats hold a set temperature, which helps consistency when several cooks share the station. Thermostatic models cost more but forgive a busy line.
6. Listings and your permit
Health departments commonly ask for commercial cooking equipment with a sanitation listing such as NSF or ETL Sanitation, and gas appliances need a safety certification such as UL or CSA. We note each listing only where the maker, listing or a dealer states it. Ask your inspector before you buy, not after.

How we chose these seven griddles
We looked for countertop flat-top griddles from established food-service makers (Star, Waring Commercial, Atosa, Globe, Cadco and Adcraft) that were in stock on Amazon when we checked, and added one Amazon-first budget model, clearly labeled. Several well-known models were left out because Amazon showed them only on back-order or in short supply, including Vollrath’s Cayenne electric griddles, Winco’s griddles and most Star electric models. We also left out griddles with enameled or ceramic-coated plates unless the maker states the coating is lead-free. We took specifications from the makers’ spec sheets, the Amazon listings and established restaurant-equipment dealers, and say which is which. We have not cooked on these griddles, and we do not state prices because they change. We checked the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall listings for these brands and did not find a recall of any griddle on this page.
Commercial griddle questions, answered
What is the best commercial griddle for a food truck?
A propane model sized to your hood, usually 24 or 36 inches. The Atosa CookRite 36-inch comes built for LP, and the Star-Max 636TSPF can be converted with the kit Star includes. Check your truck’s propane system and your local fire code with your builder.
Is a griddle the same as a plancha?
Nearly. Both are flat steel plates heated from below. In Spain and France a plancha usually runs hotter and is used for searing; in Mexican kitchens the word plancha is often used for the flat-top itself.
Can I use a commercial griddle at home?
Not the gas models. Star, Adcraft and Atosa sell these for commercial installation, and Adcraft’s listing says its warranty does not cover residential use. Commercial gas griddles also need clearances and ventilation that home kitchens rarely have. For the house, see our outdoor griddle guide or the electric griddles linked above.
What thickness should a commercial griddle plate be?
For a busy line, 3/4 inch to 1 inch of steel. Half an inch works for moderate volume. Thin coated plates suit occasional use and catering.
How do you clean a commercial flat-top?
Scrape the plate while it is still warm, push debris into the grease trough, and empty the tray. Follow the maker’s instructions for deeper cleaning: bare steel is usually re-oiled after cleaning, while enameled and nonstick plates need gentler tools.
Our final pick for a taqueria flat-top
Choose the Star-Max 36-inch gas griddle if you have a hood and a gas line and want a plate that holds heat through a rush. Go with the Atosa CookRite for a propane truck, the Adcraft Black Diamond if you need a full four-foot line, and the Globe or Waring electric griddles where gas is not an option. Whatever you choose, confirm fuel, voltage and listings with your installer and inspector first.
A griddle is one station in a commercial kitchen. Our guides to the best commercial oven and the best commercial deep fryer cover the equipment that usually sits beside it, and how to eat fajitas explains the sizzling plates that come off a flat-top.
And if you would rather someone else worked the flat-top tonight, see the menu or call to order.