Small Kitchen Appliances

Blade, Bowl and Motor: The Best Food Processor for Dough

Which food processors suit kneading: the bowl size to look for, dough blade or metal blade, stated motors and warranties, and when a mixer is better.

A hand pressing a round of dough on a floured wooden board
Kneading by hand takes time; a food processor shortens the job to minutes.

A food processor can turn flour and water into elastic dough in minutes, which is why it appeals to anyone who makes pizza, flour tortillas or sandwich bread on a weeknight. It also asks a lot of a motor, and the wrong bowl size makes the job harder.

This guide looks only at dough: the bowl, the blade, the stated motor and the warranty behind it. For slicing, shredding and salsa, our main food processor guide is the better place to start.

Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications, makers’ statements and the independent sources we name. We have not used these machines ourselves.

Quick verdict: which food processor to buy for dough

For most kitchens, the best food processor for dough is the Cuisinart Pro Custom 11-Cup: its bowl is in the size range America’s Test Kitchen recommends for kneading, its 625-watt motor is stated, and the motor has a 5-year warranty. If you want a button that times the knead, look at the Ninja PrecisionPro. If you are buying for decades, the Breville Sous Chef 12 has an induction motor with a 30-year limited warranty.

Floured hands pressing a rolling pin across a smooth round of dough
Once the dough is kneaded, it still needs resting and shaping by hand.

Five dough machines side by side

Five of the eight, one for each kind of baker. All eight are reviewed below, with figures from the maker or the listing.

Food processor Bowl Power Dough tool Buy on Amazon
11 cups 625 watts Chopping, mixing and dough blade View on Amazon
Breville BFP710BSS Sous Chef 12 Cup Food Processor

Breville Sous Chef 12-Cup Food ProcessorLongest motor cover at this size
12 cups Induction; watts not stated Dough blade plus S-blade View on Amazon
9 cups 1000 peak watts Dough blade and preset View on Amazon
7 cups 600 watts Chopping, mixing and dough blade View on Amazon
16 cups 1100 watts Dough blade per UK retailer View on Amazon

Our picks for the best food processor for dough

1. Cuisinart Pro Custom 11-Cup Food Processor – The Right Bowl and a Stated Motor

Best overallCuisinart Food Processor

This is the machine we would start with for dough because the two things that matter line up. The 11-cup bowl sits at the low end of the 11 to 14 cups America’s Test Kitchen suggests for kneading, and the 625-watt motor is named on the listing rather than left to guesswork.

Cuisinart lists a single chopping, mixing and dough blade in the box, so there is no second tool to store. The controls are plain: on, and off/pulse. That suits dough, which needs a steady run and a stop rather than a menu of programs.

Why we like it

  • Bowl size falls inside the range America’s Test Kitchen recommends for dough
  • Motor stated at 625 watts
  • One blade listed for chopping, mixing and dough
  • Full 5-year motor warranty on top of a 3-year limited warranty

Key specifications

Model DLC-8SY
Work bowl 11 cups
Power 625 watts
Dough tool Chopping, mixing and dough blade
Controls On and off/pulse
Dimensions Not stated on the listing
Warranty 5 years on motor, 3 years limited

Why we recommend it

It suits a cook making pizza, flour tortilla or sandwich-loaf dough every week who also wants a real slicing and shredding machine. The same model in a chrome finish appears on our salsa blender page; we repeat it here in white because it is the best match for the bowl range this page is built on.

Skip it if you want a machine with presets, or you bake big enriched batches and would rather use a stand mixer.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Bowl in the recommended range
  • Long motor cover
  • Simple controls for a dough run

Cons

  • Listing gives no flour limit, so check the booklet
  • Extra discs and accessories are sold separately

Check price on Amazon

2. KitchenAid 13-Cup Food Processor – Both Blades Stored in the Bowl

Best for trying both bladesKitchenAid 13-Cup Food Processor

America’s Test Kitchen says the regular metal blade forms and kneads dough better than the dough blades many machines include. This KitchenAid lets you compare, since the listing names both a multi-purpose blade and a dough blade, and they live in a caddy inside the bowl.

KitchenAid says the machine will knead and mix doughs, and the 13-cup bowl is well inside the recommended range. The listing does not give motor wattage, which is a real gap on a page about hard work for a motor.

Why we like it

  • Multi-purpose blade and dough blade both included
  • 13-cup bowl
  • Blades and discs store in the bowl
  • Latched lid and twist-free bowl

Key specifications

Model KFP1318ER
Work bowl 13 cups
Power Not stated on the listing
Dough tool Dough blade plus multi-purpose blade
Controls Not stated on the listing
Dimensions Not stated on the listing
Warranty 1 year

Why we recommend it

It suits a home that wants a large bowl and tidy storage. The same model in silver is on our main guide; we repeat it in red, as a separate listing, because it is the one large machine here that plainly includes both blades on the listing.

Skip it if you want the motor rating in writing before you buy, or a warranty longer than one year.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Both blade types
  • Large bowl
  • Storage caddy

Cons

  • Motor wattage not stated
  • One-year warranty

Check price on Amazon

3. Breville Sous Chef 12-Cup Food Processor – Induction Motor, 30-Year Cover

Longest motor cover at this sizeBreville BFP710BSS Sous Chef 12 Cup Food Processor

Long dough runs are where a motor earns its warranty. Breville lists a brushless induction motor with a direct drive and high torque, backed by a 30-year limited motor warranty and a 2-year product warranty.

The dough blade and S-blade are both listed, along with an adjustable slicer and reversible shredder. Breville does not give the wattage here, and this listing gives no flour limit, so the case for it rests on the motor type and warranty rather than a stated dough capacity.

Why we like it

  • Brushless induction motor stated
  • 30-year limited motor warranty
  • Dough blade and S-blade both included
  • Onboard storage caddy

Key specifications

Model BFP710
Work bowl 12 cups
Power Induction motor; watts not stated
Dough tool Dough blade plus S-blade
Controls Power, stop/play, pulse
Dimensions Not stated on the listing
Warranty 2 years product, 30 years limited motor

Why we recommend it

It suits someone buying once for the long haul, and it is a smaller alternative to the 16-cup Sous Chef on our main guide.

Skip it if you do not want to pay for slicing precision you may not use on a dough-first machine.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Strong warranty
  • 12-cup bowl
  • Tidy storage

Cons

  • Wattage not stated
  • No flour limit on the listing

Check price on Amazon

4. Ninja PrecisionPro 9-Cup Food Processor and Dough Mixer – A Dough Button and a Dough Blade

Best dough presetNinja PrecisionPro Food Processor & Dough Mixer

Ninja puts dough in the product name here. It has a dough blade, a 1000-peak-watt motor and four Auto-iQ presets, one of them for dough, so you do not have to judge when to stop the first few times.

The trade-off is the bowl. Nine cups is below the size America’s Test Kitchen recommends for kneading, so think pizza balls and single loaves. This is also a 2026 release by its listing date, so it has less of a track record than the older machines here.

Why we like it

  • Dough preset
  • Dough blade named in the box contents
  • Listed dimensions make cabinet planning easy
  • BPA-free, dishwasher-safe parts

Key specifications

Model BZ601
Work bowl 9 cups
Power 1000 peak watts
Dough tool Dough blade plus chopping blade
Controls 4 Auto-iQ presets
Dimensions 8.07 x 7.87 x 16.02 in
Warranty Not stated on the listing

Why we recommend it

It suits a newer baker who wants the machine to time the knead, and whose batches are one or two pizzas at a time.

Skip it if you bake double batches, since the bowl is under the recommended range.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • One-touch dough
  • Named dough blade
  • Stated height for cabinets

Cons

  • Small bowl for big dough
  • Peak watts are not running watts
  • New model

Check price on Amazon

A long store aisle lined with countertop kitchen appliances
Compare the motor and warranty before the size of the box.

5. Ninja Professional XL 12-Cup Food Processor – Bigger Bowl, Same Preset Idea

Best preset for bigger batchesNinja Professional XL Food Processor

If the preset idea appeals but nine cups will not do, this 12-cup Ninja moves into the recommended bowl range. Ninja lists a 1200-peak-watt motor and four Auto-iQ programs that include mixing dough.

One caution: the listing we read describes evenly mixed dough and a dough program, but it does not itemize the blades. Check the box contents on the listing before you buy if a separate dough blade matters to you.

Why we like it

  • 12-cup bowl
  • Dough program among four presets
  • 1200-peak-watt motor stated
  • XL feed chute with a 3-part pusher

Key specifications

Model NF701
Work bowl 12 cups
Power 1200 peak watts
Dough tool Dough program; blade not itemized on the listing
Controls 4 Auto-iQ programs
Dimensions Not stated on the listing
Warranty 1 year limited

Why we recommend it

It suits a family cook who wants presets and bigger batches, with the shredding disc as a bonus.

Skip it if you want the longest motor warranty, or would rather control the knead yourself.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Bowl in the recommended range
  • Presets take out the guesswork
  • Large feed chute

Cons

  • Blades not itemized on the listing
  • One-year warranty

Check price on Amazon

6. Cuisinart Pro Classic 7-Cup Food Processor – Small Bowl, Serious Dough Claim

Best for small batchesCuisinart 7-Cup Pro Classic Food Processor

Small does not always mean weak. Cuisinart rates this 7-cup machine at 600 watts, only a little under the 11-cup Pro Custom, and says it runs quietly even when kneading batch after batch of thick dough. Treat that as the maker’s claim, since we have not read independent results for it.

The bowl is the limit. Seven cups is well below the range America’s Test Kitchen recommends, so keep this for a single pizza, a small flour tortilla batch or pastry.

Why we like it

  • 600-watt motor in a small body
  • Chopping, mixing and dough blade listed
  • Full 5-year motor warranty
  • Maker names dough kneading directly

Key specifications

Model DLC-10SYP1
Work bowl 7 cups
Power 600 watts
Dough tool Chopping, mixing and dough blade
Controls On and off/pulse
Dimensions Not stated on the listing
Warranty 5 years on motor, 3 years limited

Why we recommend it

It suits one or two people with limited counter space who still make dough, and who want the same long motor cover as the bigger Cuisinart.

Skip it if you regularly make more than one loaf or a few pizzas at once.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Strong motor for the size
  • Long motor warranty
  • Simple controls

Cons

  • Small bowl
  • Dough claim is the maker’s own

Check price on Amazon

7. Magimix Compact 5200 XL Food Processor – French-Built, With Three Bowls

Biggest bowl hereMagimix Compact 5200 XL Chrome 1100 Watt Food Processor with Recipe Book

This is the biggest machine here, listed at 16 cups and 1100 watts with an induction motor, three bowls and a 30-year motor warranty. It is made in France and has just three buttons: stop, auto and pulse. Note that this listing’s model field reads 4200XL while the title says 5200 XL, so confirm the model on the page before you buy.

The Amazon listing does not mention a dough blade. The UK retailer John Lewis lists one in the box for the 5200XL, and gives its size as about 17.5 x 8.3 x 10.2 inches and its weight as 11 kg. That is the UK version, so check the US contents.

Why we like it

  • 1100-watt induction motor stated
  • 30-year motor warranty, 3 years on the rest
  • Three bowls for big and small jobs
  • Three-button controls

Key specifications

Model 5200 XL (listing field reads 4200XL)
Work bowl 16 cups
Power 1100 watts
Dough tool Dough blade on UK retailer listing; not on Amazon listing
Controls Stop, auto, pulse
Dimensions About 17.5 x 8.3 x 10.2 in (UK retailer)
Warranty 3 years, plus 30 years on motor

Why we recommend it

It suits a serious baker with a permanent spot on the counter. The smaller 4200 XL is on our main guide. This one is sold by NutriMill, not Amazon.

Skip it if you need to move the machine often; at the UK retailer’s stated weight, this is not one to lift in and out of a cabinet.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Largest bowl and strongest plain wattage here
  • Very long motor warranty
  • Three bowls

Cons

  • Heavy
  • Third-party seller
  • Listing model field is inconsistent

Check price on Amazon

8. GE 12-Cup Food Processor – Big Bowl and a Full Accessory Kit

Most accessoriesGE Food Processor

GE offers a 12-cup bowl, a dough blade, a mini chopping bowl and a stack of discs in one box, with suction feet to hold it down on the counter. The title names kneading dough.

The caution is power. At 550 watts this is the lowest stated motor here, driving a large bowl, and the warranty is one year. We would use it for lighter batches and watch for strain with stiff doughs rather than filling the bowl.

Why we like it

  • Dough blade named among nine accessories
  • 12-cup bowl with measurement markings
  • Suction feet
  • Mini bowl for small jobs

Key specifications

Model G8P1AASSPSS
Work bowl 12 cups
Power 550 watts
Dough tool Dough blade
Controls High, low, pulse
Dimensions Not stated on the listing
Warranty 1 year limited

Why we recommend it

It suits an occasional baker who wants one box to cover slicing, shredding, chopping and the odd pizza dough.

Skip it if you make stiff or whole-grain dough often; pick one of the stronger or longer-warrantied motors above.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Lots included
  • Recommended bowl size
  • Stays put on suction feet

Cons

  • Lowest stated wattage here
  • One-year warranty

Check price on Amazon

What decides whether a processor can handle dough

Start with the bowl

America’s Test Kitchen says the best size for making and kneading dough holds 11 to 14 cups. A smaller bowl can still do it, but make smaller batches. Bowl capacity is not a dough limit: most listings here give no flour figure, so read the booklet that comes with your machine and follow its limit.

Metal blade or dough blade

Makers include dough blades, but America’s Test Kitchen says the regular metal blade is far better at forming and kneading dough quickly. That is why we do not treat a separate dough blade as the deciding feature. If your machine has both, try the metal blade first on a small batch, unless your booklet says otherwise.

Keep the dough cool

A processor kneads with friction, and America’s Test Kitchen warns that the heat can kill yeast and stunt rise and flavor. It advises chilled or iced liquid. It also warns against over-kneading enriched doughs, since the heat softens butter too much.

Read the motor claims carefully

Running watts and peak watts are not the same, so a peak figure does not compare directly with a plain wattage. Some machines here do not state watts on the listing at all. Induction motors, as Breville and Magimix list, and long motor warranties tell you more about how long the maker expects the machine to last.

Check any older Cuisinart

In 2016, CPSC announced a recall of riveted blades in Cuisinart food processors sold from July 1996 through December 2015, with model numbers beginning with prefixes that include DLC-8, DLC-10 and DFP-14. Only blades with four rivets are included. If you buy secondhand or inherit one, check the blade and contact Cuisinart for the free replacement. CPSC also lists a 2011 recall of a GE 14-cup processor, model 169203, which is not the GE on this page.

A cook kneading dough in a wide metal bowl with cloths nearby
A wide bowl gives dough room to move.

How we picked these eight dough machines

We started from the kneading advice in America’s Test Kitchen’s guide, then read each Amazon listing for bowl size, motor and any stated dough tool. All picks were in stock with a new lead offer when written, and we searched the CPSC recall database by brand. We have not used these machines. The kneading guide is the one independent source on dough we could read, so individual picks rest on listing and maker details. Where a listing is silent, the spec says so.

America’s Test Kitchen’s own favorite for kneading is the Cuisinart Custom 14 Cup. It is already reviewed on our main food processor guide, so we point you there rather than repeat it. Two picks here are repeated models in a different finish, as explained in their write-ups.

Dough questions, answered

What size food processor do I need for dough?

America’s Test Kitchen recommends one that holds 11 to 14 cups. Smaller machines work for small batches.

Is a dough blade necessary?

Not according to America’s Test Kitchen, which says the regular metal blade does the job better than the plastic dough blades many machines include. Follow your own booklet if it says otherwise.

Why does my processor dough feel warm?

Friction. America’s Test Kitchen advises chilled or iced liquid for this reason, since too much heat can harm the yeast.

Can a food processor make flour tortilla dough?

It is a short, simple dough and a sensible job for a processor. You still need to rest, divide and roll or press it; see our guide to the best tortilla press for flour tortillas.

Should I buy a stand mixer instead?

If you bake big or enriched doughs often, probably. Our stand mixer guide for bread covers that route, and a bread machine is the hands-off option. A processor makes more sense if you want one machine for chopping and shredding too.

Will kneading dough void the warranty?

The listings here do not say. Stay within the flour limit in your booklet and stop if the motor labors or the base gets hot.

Black and white photo of two pairs of hands shaping dough in a bowl
Smaller batches are easier to handle, by hand or by machine.

Our final pick for dough

Buy the Cuisinart Pro Custom 11-Cup if you want the safest all-round choice, and choose by bowl size first if your batches are bigger or smaller. For the rest of a tortilla night, our tortilla making tools guide covers presses, comals and warmers. If you would rather leave the dough to someone else, call Julia’s to order at (346) 546-8283.

Call Menu Directions