In a cooking kitchen, the soap pump is touched by the dirtiest hands in the house: hands that have just seasoned raw chicken, rubbed a chile, or packed masa. An automatic soap dispenser takes the pump out of the equation. You hold your hand under the spout, an infrared sensor sees it, and a small motor pushes out a measured dose. Nothing to press, nothing to wipe afterward.
Our guide to the best kitchen soap dispenser covers every type, from press-top pumps to sponge caddies and built-ins. This page goes narrower: only touchless sensor dispensers for hand soap at the kitchen sink, and the choices that matter once you have decided to go touchless. Liquid or foam? Rechargeable or AA batteries? Countertop or wall? Here are the ones worth buying, and how to choose between them.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which automatic hand soap dispenser to buy
For most kitchens, the best hand soap dispenser automatic enough to forget about is the simplehuman Liquid Sensor Pump, 9 oz: a stainless steel, rechargeable pump that lets you choose how much soap you get by how close you hold your hand, with a two-year warranty. If you want more capacity on one charge, choose the EKO Aroma Pro, 13.5 oz. If you would rather swap AA batteries than charge anything, the Secura 18.6 oz holds the most soap of any countertop pick here.
The rest of this page explains why, and which dispenser suits the way your sink works.
Five touchless dispensers compared
Our five standout picks side by side, one for each kind of sink, with the specifications each maker or listing states. All seven dispensers are reviewed in full below.
| Dispenser | Best for | Capacity & soap | Power (per maker) | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
simplehuman Liquid Sensor Pump, 9 ozBest overall
|
Most kitchen sinks | 9 oz, liquid | Rechargeable, up to 3 months a charge | View on Amazon |
EKO Aroma Pro Automatic Soap Dispenser, 13.5 ozMost soap per charge
|
Busy sinks, fewer refills | 13.5 oz, liquid | Rechargeable, up to 6 months a charge | View on Amazon |
Secura SoapGlow Automatic Soap Dispenser, 18.6 ozBest on AA batteries
|
No charging, biggest tank | 18.6 oz, liquid | 4 AA alkaline (not included) | View on Amazon |
| Foaming hand soap | 9 oz, foam only | USB-C rechargeable, up to 3 months | View on Amazon | |
Secura Dual Wall-Mounted Automatic Soap Dispenser, 2 x 17 ozBest wall-mounted
|
Hand and dish soap, off the counter | Two 17 oz chambers, liquid | USB-C rechargeable | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Charge life and capacity are as stated by each maker or listing; real charge life depends on how often the pump runs.

Our picks for the best hand soap dispenser automatic for the kitchen
These seven dispensers cover the real decisions behind a touchless pump: liquid or foam, a built-in battery or AA cells, a countertop pump or a wall unit. We have left out the picks already on our main kitchen soap dispenser guide, including its sponge-caddy combinations; where we pick a different model from the same maker, the review says why. Each review gives the stated capacity, power and settings, and one honest reason to skip it.
1. simplehuman Liquid Sensor Pump, 9 oz – Choose the Dose With Your Hand

simplehuman’s 9-ounce rechargeable liquid pump is the plain, stand-alone version of the sensor pumps on our main soap dispenser guide, which picks simplehuman’s battery-powered pump with a sponge caddy and its foam pump. This one has no caddy, uses liquid soap and charges on a magnetic puck, so it suits a sink where the sponge already has a home.
Its best feature for a kitchen is variable dispense: hold your hand close to the sensor for a little soap, farther away for more. That lets you take a small squirt for a quick rinse and a bigger one after handling raw meat without touching a dial. simplehuman says one charge lasts up to three months, though its own spec table gives four, and the listing describes the body as high-grade stainless steel with an IP67 rating, so it can be rinsed when soap splashes on it. A no-drip spout is meant to stop cleanly between doses.
America’s Test Kitchen recommended an earlier simplehuman 9-ounce rechargeable pump (model ST1043), liking the hand-distance control for messy cooking, but noted that a steel body makes it hard to see how full it is. That still applies here. simplehuman backs this model with a two-year warranty.
Why we like it
- Dose depends on how close your hand is, per simplehuman
- Magnetic charging puck; up to 3 months per charge (listing)
- Stainless steel body, IP67 rated (listing)
- No-drip spout
- Two-year warranty, per simplehuman
Key specifications
| Model | ST1082 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 9 oz |
| Soap type | Liquid |
| Power | Built-in rechargeable battery, magnetic charging puck |
| Charge life | Up to 3 months (listing); 4 months in simplehuman’s spec table |
| Dispense settings | Variable, by hand distance |
| Water resistance | IP67 (listing) |
| Mounting | Countertop |
Why we recommend it
It does the one thing a kitchen needs from a touchless pump, giving the right amount of soap without a touch, and adds a sealed steel body that copes with a wet counter. It suits anyone who wants a dispenser that looks like a fixture and only needs charging a few times a year.
Skip it if you want to see the soap level. The steel body hides it, and at 9 ounces it needs refilling more often than the larger picks below.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Adjustable dose with no buttons
- Rechargeable, no batteries to buy
- Waterproof steel body
- Long warranty
Cons
- Soap level not visible
- Smaller tank than the EKO Pro or Secura
- Charging puck is one more thing to keep track of
2. EKO Aroma Pro Automatic Soap Dispenser, 13.5 oz – Bigger Tank, Longer Charge

EKO, a maker of sensor trash cans, makes the Aroma Pro as a larger version of its 9-ounce touchless pump. It holds 400 milliliters (13.5 ounces), which EKO says is 50 percent more than its earlier model, and the listing claims up to six months of use per charge from a magnetic charging port. Fewer refills and fewer charges suit a sink that sees a lot of handwashing.
The sensor picks up a hand within about three inches and dispenses in 0.2 seconds, according to EKO, and there are four volume settings, so you can set a larger dose if you also use it for dish soap. A clear window shows the soap level, which the steel simplehuman lacks, and a wider opening with a touch-open lid makes refilling less messy.
EKO gives it an IPX7 water-resistance rating, so splashes from the tap are not a problem. The listing does not state a warranty term, and it does not say whether thick soaps flow well, so start with a standard liquid hand soap.
Why we like it
- 400 mL (13.5 oz) tank
- Up to six months per charge, per the listing
- Four dispense volumes
- Clear window shows the soap level
- IPX7 water-resistance rating
Key specifications
| Model | EK6088L-MT-400ML |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 13.5 oz (400 mL) |
| Soap type | Liquid hand or dish soap |
| Power | Built-in rechargeable battery, magnetic charging port |
| Charge life | Up to 6 months (listing) |
| Dispense settings | 4 volume settings |
| Water resistance | IPX7 |
| Mounting | Countertop |
Why we recommend it
For a family kitchen where the sink is in use all day, the larger tank and long stated charge life mean less upkeep than any other countertop rechargeable here.
Skip it if you want a proven warranty. EKO’s listing does not give a term, where simplehuman states two years.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Large tank for a rechargeable
- Longest stated charge life
- Visible soap level
Cons
- Warranty not stated
- Thick-soap performance not stated
- Taller than a 9 oz pump
3. Secura SoapGlow Automatic Soap Dispenser, 18.6 oz – AA Power and a Handwashing Timer

Our main soap dispenser guide picks Secura’s 17-ounce dispenser, the model America’s Test Kitchen rated highest. This is a different, newer Secura: a 550-milliliter (18.6-ounce) clear acrylic tank, the largest of any countertop dispenser here, with a built-in timer. We include it for buyers who specifically want AA batteries rather than a charging cable, and who want to see the soap level at a glance.
The timer is the unusual part. After each dispense, a color-changing LED runs a 25-second countdown to guide a full handwash. The CDC advises scrubbing hands for at least 20 seconds, and to wash after touching raw meat, poultry, seafood or eggs, so a visible timer is a practical nudge at a kitchen sink.
It runs on four AA alkaline batteries, not included, and Secura recommends alkaline over rechargeable cells for stable operation. There are three output levels, one button for power and a cleaning mode, and a gear pump that Secura says works better in the cold than peristaltic pumps. The listing recommends standard liquid soap; thick or lotion-style soaps may not flow evenly.
Why we like it
- 550 mL (18.6 oz) clear tank
- 25-second LED handwashing countdown
- Runs on four AA batteries; nothing to charge
- Three output levels and a cleaning mode
Key specifications
| Model | X4D2 (ASD-550BL-X4) |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 18.6 oz (550 mL) |
| Soap type | Standard liquid soap; thick soaps may flow unevenly |
| Power | 4 AA alkaline batteries (not included) |
| Charge life | Not stated |
| Dispense settings | 3 output levels |
| Water resistance | Not stated |
| Mounting | Countertop |
Why we recommend it
It suits a household that would rather swap batteries every so often than remember a charging cable, and one with children who need a reminder to keep scrubbing.
Skip it if you use thick dish soap. Secura itself says thicker formulas may affect the flow, and it gives no water-resistance rating.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Largest countertop tank here
- Visible soap level
- Built-in handwashing timer
Cons
- Batteries not included
- Not suited to thick soaps
- No stated water-resistance rating

4. EKO Automatic Foaming Soap Dispenser, 9 oz – Touchless Foam That Rinses Fast

Foam soap comes out already lathered, which many people find quicker to spread and rinse when they are washing their hands a dozen times while cooking. This EKO pump is built only for foam: the listing says it works with foaming hand soap, foam dish soap, shampoo and body wash, and not with regular liquid soap.
It holds 9 fluid ounces, picks up a hand within about three inches and dispenses in 0.2 seconds, according to EKO. Three settings control the amount, and a pop-up lid makes refilling easy. It charges through a USB-C port, and EKO says one charge lasts up to three months.
EKO describes it as water resistant for wet environments but does not give an IP rating, unlike the EKO Aroma Pro. A self-cleaning mode runs the pump to clear it, which helps foaming pumps that can clog if soap dries in them.
Why we like it
- Dispenses ready-made foam
- USB-C charging, up to 3 months per charge (EKO)
- Three dose settings
- Self-cleaning mode
Key specifications
| Model | EK6088F-MT |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 9 fl oz |
| Soap type | Foaming soap only |
| Power | Built-in rechargeable battery, USB-C |
| Charge life | Up to 3 months (EKO) |
| Dispense settings | 3 settings |
| Water resistance | Water resistant; no IP rating stated |
| Mounting | Countertop |
Why we recommend it
If your household already buys foaming hand soap, a pump built for foam is the right match, and this is a rechargeable one from an identifiable maker.
Skip it if you want to use regular liquid soap or dish soap. It is foam only, so you must buy foaming refills or dilute your own.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Lathered foam with no rubbing
- Rechargeable by USB-C
- Self-cleaning cycle
Cons
- Foam soap only
- No stated IP rating
- 9 oz tank
5. Secura Dual Wall-Mounted Automatic Soap Dispenser, 2 x 17 oz – Hand Soap and Dish Soap, Off the Counter

This Secura unit mounts on the wall above or beside the sink and has two separate 500-milliliter chambers, each with its own sensor. In a kitchen, that means hand soap on one side and dish soap on the other, both touchless and neither taking up counter space. Each side has three output levels, set by tapping a button, and clear windows show both soap levels.
It is rechargeable through a USB-C cable (no wall adapter included), with a red light that warns when the battery is low. Secura gives it an IPX5 rating. It comes with both an adhesive mount for smooth surfaces such as tile and a screw bracket for textured walls, so you can avoid drilling into a backsplash if the surface allows it. A double tap runs a 20-second cleaning cycle to clear residue and help prevent clogs.
A wall unit is a bigger commitment than a countertop pump: it needs a clear patch of wall within easy reach of the tap, and you lift it off its bracket to charge it. But for a small counter crowded with a dish rack and a sponge, it frees real space.
Why we like it
- Two separate 500 mL chambers
- Per-side output control
- Adhesive or screw mounting included
- USB-C rechargeable with low-battery light
- IPX5 rated
Key specifications
| Model | ASD-500WM-2LQ |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 2 x 17 fl oz (500 mL) |
| Soap type | Liquid (hand soap, dish detergent) |
| Power | Built-in rechargeable battery, USB-C cable |
| Charge life | Not stated |
| Dispense settings | 3 levels per side |
| Water resistance | IPX5 |
| Mounting | Wall, adhesive or screws |
Why we recommend it
It is the only pick that handles hand soap and dish soap touchlessly in one unit, and it clears the counter around a busy sink.
Skip it if you rent or have no clear wall by the sink. It has to be mounted, and the adhesive only suits smooth surfaces.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Two soaps in one unit
- Frees counter space
- Large total capacity
Cons
- Needs wall mounting
- No charging adapter included
- Charge life not stated
6. GOJO TFX Touch-Free Foam Soap Dispenser – The Commercial Wall Unit

GOJO makes touch-free soap and sanitizer dispensers for commercial washrooms, and the TFX is one of its wall-mounted foam units. It is a different kind of product from the countertop pumps above: you do not pour soap into it. Instead it takes sealed 1,200-milliliter GOJO TFX refills, which you swap when one runs out.
That has advantages. A 1,200-milliliter refill lasts far longer than any countertop tank, the sealed bags mean no topping up and no soap left sitting in an open reservoir, and a sight window shows when the refill is low. GOJO lists five compatible foam refills, including its green certified foam hand cleaner, and the empty bottle can go in plastic recycling once the pump is removed. The dispenser takes three C alkaline batteries, not included, and the listing says it is ADA compliant.
The trade-off is that you are tied to GOJO’s refills, and the unit looks institutional. It suits a home with a large household, a garage or outdoor kitchen sink, or anyone who wants the same setup they see in a working kitchen.
Why we like it
- Takes sealed 1,200 mL refills
- Sight window shows refill level
- Runs on three C batteries
- ADA compliant, per the listing
- Three-year guarantee (listing)
Key specifications
| Model | 2730-12 (black) |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 1,200 mL GOJO TFX refills |
| Soap type | GOJO TFX foam refills only |
| Power | 3 C alkaline batteries (not included) |
| Charge life | Battery life not stated |
| Dispense settings | Fixed dose |
| Water resistance | Not stated |
| Mounting | Wall |
Why we recommend it
For heavy use, nothing else here comes close on capacity, and sealed refills are simpler to manage than refilling a tank. It is a commercial dispenser, made for steady use.
Skip it if you want to choose your own soap. It only takes GOJO TFX refills, which are sold separately.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Very large refills
- Sealed, no-pour refilling
- Three-year guarantee (listing)
Cons
- Proprietary refills only
- Institutional look
- No dose adjustment stated

7. Newise Automatic Soap Dispenser, 9 oz – Three Fixed Doses, Counted in Pumps per Charge

Newise’s touchless liquid soap pump is a 9-ounce clear tank in a brushed stainless steel and ABS body. It is a straightforward alternative to the simplehuman for anyone who prefers a set dose to a hand-distance one.
Newise is unusually specific about its settings. A tap switches between three dispense times: low (0.2 seconds), medium (0.4) and high (0.75). The 1,500 mAh battery delivers up to 2,500 dispenses per charge and recharges in about 3.5 hours over the included USB cable, according to the listing. The sensor works from 0 to 6 centimeters and responds in 0.2 seconds.
It is rated IPX5 and has a self-cleaning mode, started with a double press, to clear residue from the pump. Newise says it handles hand soap, dish detergent and hand sanitizer. The listing gives no warranty term.
Why we like it
- Three stated dose times: 0.2, 0.4, 0.75 seconds
- Up to 2,500 dispenses per charge (listing)
- Clear 9 oz tank shows the level
- IPX5 rated with a self-cleaning mode
Key specifications
| Model | Not stated (listed as ZYQ) |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 9 oz |
| Soap type | Liquid hand soap, dish detergent, sanitizer |
| Power | 1,500 mAh rechargeable, USB cable |
| Charge life | Up to 2,500 dispenses (listing) |
| Dispense settings | 3 fixed doses |
| Water resistance | IPX5 |
| Mounting | Countertop |
Why we recommend it
It suits anyone who wants a rechargeable pump with a visible tank and clear, stated settings, without paying for a premium steel name.
Skip it if a long warranty matters to you. Newise’s listing does not state one, and it publishes less about the product than simplehuman or EKO.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Clear, specific dose settings
- Visible soap level
- Stated battery capacity and recharge time
Cons
- No warranty stated
- No real model number published
- Small tank
How to choose an automatic soap dispenser for the kitchen sink
Five decisions narrow the field quickly. Looks come last; the soap you buy and how you want to power the pump come first.
1. Liquid or foam
A liquid pump takes ordinary hand soap and, in most cases, dish soap. A foam pump only works with foaming soap; the EKO foaming pump says so outright. Pick the type that matches the refills you already buy, because putting liquid soap in a foam pump, or the reverse, is the most common way to end up with a pump that sputters or clogs.
2. Rechargeable or AA batteries
A built-in battery (simplehuman, both EKOs, Newise, Secura dual) means no batteries to buy, but you have to keep the charger and remember to use it every few months. AA or C batteries (Secura 18.6 oz, GOJO) mean no cable at the sink and a quick swap when they run out. If outlets near your sink are scarce, batteries are often the easier choice.
3. How thick your soap is
Sensor pumps push soap through a small nozzle, and thick soaps flow less evenly. Secura says so for its SoapGlow, and America’s Test Kitchen found thicker soap could drip slowly through a narrow simplehuman opening. If you like a thick dish soap, choose a pump with adjustable volume, or keep dish soap in a separate pump.
4. Capacity and refilling
A 9-ounce pump needs topping up more often in a busy kitchen than a 13.5- or 18.6-ounce one. A clear tank or window tells you when to refill before it runs dry mid-wash; a steel body does not.
5. Countertop or wall
Countertop pumps move easily and need no installation. Wall units, like the Secura dual or the GOJO, free up counter space and keep soap off a wet counter, but need a clear surface near the tap. Whichever you pick, make sure the spout reaches comfortably over the sink so drips land in the basin.

How we chose these seven touchless pumps
We started from what a cooking kitchen needs from a soap pump: a sensor that responds quickly and does not fire on its own, a dose you can adjust, a body that copes with water and grease, and a tank you can refill without fuss. We then limited the field to touchless sensor dispensers sold on Amazon in the United States, in stock when we checked, from makers we could identify: simplehuman, EKO, Secura, GOJO and Newise. We left out the many lookalike pumps from sellers that publish nothing of their own, built-in deck dispensers from Kohler and Moen (only scarce stock when we checked), and every product already picked on our main kitchen soap dispenser guide, along with sponge-caddy combinations. Specifications come from each maker’s website where available (simplehuman, GOJO) and otherwise from the brand’s own Amazon listing; each review says which. For independent findings we used the automatic hand soap dispenser review from America’s Test Kitchen, which tested an earlier simplehuman model and Secura’s 17-ounce pump, not the exact models here. We did not use Consumer Reports ratings. We also checked the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall listings for these brands and found no soap dispenser recall. We have not used these dispensers ourselves.
Automatic soap dispenser questions, answered
What do automatic hand soap dispenser reviews look for?
The useful ones look at how reliably the sensor fires (and whether it fires when it should not), how cleanly soap releases without strings or drips, how easy the tank is to fill, and battery life. America’s Test Kitchen used those criteria in its review, and they are the right ones for a kitchen sink.
Is there a Consumer Reports rating for the best automatic hand soap dispenser?
We did not draw on Consumer Reports for this guide, so we cannot tell you how it ranks these models. Our picks are based on maker specifications, the brand listings and America’s Test Kitchen’s published review, which we cite.
Can you put dish soap in an automatic hand soap dispenser?
In a liquid pump, usually yes. EKO, Newise and the Secura dual unit list dish soap or dish detergent as compatible. Thick dish soap may flow unevenly, so use a higher volume setting, and never put liquid soap in a foam-only pump.
How long do rechargeable soap dispensers last on a charge?
Makers state up to three months for the simplehuman and EKO foaming pumps, up to six months for the EKO Aroma Pro, and up to 2,500 dispenses for the Newise. How often you wash your hands decides the real figure, and a kitchen sink sees more use than a bathroom.
Do automatic soap dispensers help with food safety?
The soap does the work, not the pump. The CDC advises washing hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, and washing after touching raw meat, poultry, seafood or eggs (CDC: About Handwashing). A touchless pump simply means you do not have to touch the pump with those hands.
Our pick for a touchless kitchen sink
Buy the simplehuman 9-ounce Liquid Sensor Pump if you want a dispenser that looks like a fixture and lets you choose the dose with your hand. Choose the EKO Aroma Pro for a larger tank and a longer charge, the Secura SoapGlow if you would rather use AA batteries, and the EKO foaming pump if your household uses foam soap. If counter space is the problem, the Secura dual wall unit handles hand soap and dish soap in one.
For press-top pumps, sponge caddies and built-in dispensers, see our full guide to the best kitchen soap dispenser. Rounding out the sink, our guides to the best dish towels, the best dish drying mat and the best kitchen faucet cover the rest. And if you would rather skip the dishes tonight, see the menu or call to order.