The back half of a base cabinet is where things go to be forgotten. A pull-out drawer brings that space to you, so you stop kneeling on the floor with a flashlight looking for the big pot. It’s one of the few kitchen upgrades you can do with a drill in an afternoon.
What matters is whether it fits and what it can carry, and the listings aren’t equally honest about either. This guide compares seven slide-out shelves from Rev-A-Shelf, Lynk, VEVOR, HOLDN’ Storage, Mulush, ClosetMaid and Household Essentials, and gives the stated load for each, or says plainly when there isn’t one.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications, makers’ statements and the independent sources we name. We have not used these products ourselves.
Quick verdict: which pull out drawer to buy
Of the best pull out cabinet drawers we compared, the Rev-A-Shelf single-tier basket is our first choice for a wide base cabinet: a known cabinet-hardware brand, fully extending ball-bearing slides, a limited lifetime warranty and clear opening sizes. Choose VEVOR for two tiers, the HOLDN’ bamboo tray for small items, and the Mulush for a soft-close wood drawer.

Five slide out shelves at a glance
The five that cover most cabinets. All seven are reviewed below.
| Pull-out | Shelf size | Stated load | Standout | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20.5 x 22 in | 100 lb slides (distributor, close model) | Limited lifetime warranty | View on Amazon | |
LYNK Professional Pull Out Cabinet Organizer, 20 x 21 InBest low-profile wire
|
20 x 21 in | Not stated | Lifetime limited warranty | View on Amazon |
VEVOR 2-Tier Pull Out Cabinet Organizer, 17 x 21 InBest two-tier
|
17 x 21 in, 2 tiers | 66 lb | Two levels | View on Amazon |
HOLDN’ STORAGE Bamboo Pull Out Cabinet Organizer, 17 x 21 InBest bamboo tray
|
17 x 21 in | 50 lb | Bamboo tray | View on Amazon |
Mulush Soft Close Wood Drawer, 20 x 21 InBest soft-close
|
20 x 21 in | 60 lb | Soft close, solid wood | View on Amazon |
Our picks for the best pull out cabinet drawers
Five of the seven give a figure, and one of those comes from a distributor. HOLDN’ Storage and Mulush appear to sell mainly on Amazon, and we flag it on each. Sizes and loads come from the listings; “Not stated” means we couldn’t find a figure, not that the shelf is weak. No pound rating here has been checked by us.
1. Rev-A-Shelf Single-Tier Pullout Wire Basket, 21-Inch – A Cabinet-Maker Brand in a Wide Size

Rev-A-Shelf is a name you’ll see in custom kitchens, and this single basket is the plain version of what cabinet shops install. It measures 20.5 inches wide by 22 deep and 5.56 high, for base cabinet openings from 20.5 to 23 inches. It’s a heavy-gauge wire basket with a polished chrome finish, running on zinc-plated, ball-bearing slides that extend fully, so the back of the shelf comes all the way out to you.
The Amazon listing doesn’t give a load figure. A Rev-A-Shelf distributor, Wurth Wood Group, lists a 21-inch 5WB single basket with “precision full extension ball bearing slides rated at 100 lb.” Its height differs slightly from this listing, so treat that as a close guide and not a promise for this exact box. Note the mounting: the unit screws to the cabinet floor only, not the sides, and door-mount brackets are sold separately. The seller was Spreetail, a third party, when we checked. A two-tier version from the same line is on our cabinet organizers guide.
Why we like it
- Fully extending ball-bearing slides, per the listing
- Limited lifetime warranty, per the listing
- Comes in many widths; this one fills a wide base cabinet
- Spells out exact opening sizes before you buy
Key specifications
| Model | 5WB1-2122CR-1 |
|---|---|
| Size | 20.5 W x 22 D x 5.56 H in |
| Cabinet opening | 20.5 to 23 in wide, 22 D, 6 H |
| Stated load | 100 lb slides, per a distributor for a close model |
| Material | Heavy-gauge steel wire, chrome |
| Slides | Full-extension ball bearing |
| Mounting | Cabinet floor only |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime |
Why we recommend it
This suits someone with a standard wide base cabinet who wants a known cabinet-hardware brand and a basket deep enough to hold pots.
Skip it if your cabinet is narrower than 20.5 inches, because this size won’t fit; Rev-A-Shelf sells other widths.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Established cabinet-hardware brand
- Lifetime warranty
- Opening sizes clearly stated
Cons
- Load not on the Amazon listing
- Third-party seller
- Wire can tip small items
2. LYNK Professional Pull Out Cabinet Organizer, 20 x 21 In – A Wider Size of Our Cabinet Pick

This is a wider size of the Lynk shelf on our cabinet organizers guide, which picks the 14-inch. We list it here because that page doesn’t cover wide cabinets, and a 20-inch shelf holds a stockpot and a stack of skillets side by side. Lynk says its Proglide ball-bearing glides run beneath the drawer rather than on the sides, with reinforced cross bars to resist sagging.
It’s a chrome-finished wire shelf with a lifetime limited warranty from Lynk, and the company says its alignment guide means no measuring and an install in minutes. What it doesn’t give, on the listing or on the pages we could read at Lynk, is a pound rating. It says only that it supports “the heaviest weight” and works “under extreme loads,” which is marketing talk. The seller was Lynk itself when we checked.
Why we like it
- Glides under the shelf, per Lynk
- Reinforced cross bars, per Lynk
- Lifetime limited warranty from Lynk
- Sold directly by Lynk when we checked
Key specifications
| Model | 402021 |
|---|---|
| Size | 20 W x 21 D in; height not stated |
| Cabinet opening | Not stated |
| Stated load | Not stated |
| Material | Chrome-finish metal wire |
| Slides | Ball bearing, under the shelf |
| Mounting | Not stated; alignment guide |
| Warranty | Lifetime limited |
Why we recommend it
A good fit for a wide cabinet if you trust the brand’s reputation and don’t need a printed pound figure.
Skip it if you need a stated load before loading cast iron onto it, because Lynk doesn’t publish one here.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Direct from the maker
- Lifetime limited warranty
- Under-shelf glides
Cons
- No pound rating stated
- Cabinet opening not stated
3. VEVOR 2-Tier Pull Out Cabinet Organizer, 17 x 21 In – Two Levels at a Stated 66 Pounds

If you want two levels in one cabinet, this gets you there with a figure attached. VEVOR says the carbon steel wire basket holds up to 66 pounds, and it’s chrome plated and runs on what the listing calls industrial-grade ball-bearing slides. The unit measures 16.97 wide, 21.22 deep and 15.08 inches high.
VEVOR says the recommended installation space is 18.15 by 22.4 by 19.02 inches, which is more clearance than the unit’s own size suggests, so measure with care. The listing also says it’s designed to work around plumbing pipes. VEVOR is a large discount equipment brand with a mixed product range, so we’d treat the claims as the maker’s and inspect it on arrival. The listing doesn’t say whether the 66 pounds is per tier or for the whole unit. Amazon was the seller when we checked.
Why we like it
- Stated 66 lb capacity
- Two levels of storage
- Ball-bearing slides, per the listing
- Recommended install space is given
Key specifications
| Model | LX-C9275 |
|---|---|
| Size | 16.97 W x 21.22 D x 15.08 H in |
| Cabinet opening | 18.15 W x 22.4 D x 19.02 H in, recommended |
| Stated load | 66 lb; per tier or total not stated |
| Material | Chrome-plated carbon steel |
| Slides | Ball bearing |
| Mounting | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
Choose this for a tall base cabinet with room for two levels of cookware or pantry goods.
Skip it if your cabinet has a center post or a shelf you can’t remove, since the unit needs 19 inches of height.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Load figure stated
- Two tiers
- Sold by Amazon when we checked
Cons
- Per-tier or total not stated
- No warranty stated
- Needs tall clearance
4. HOLDN’ STORAGE Bamboo Pull Out Cabinet Organizer, 17 x 21 In – Solid Tray for Small Things

Wire shelves let small things tip over. A solid tray solves that, and this one is bamboo on heavy-gauge metal rails, 17 inches wide and 21 deep, for a cabinet at least 18.25 inches wide. The listing states a 50-pound capacity, a full-extension slide, and a lifetime limited warranty, and says installing it takes simple screws and no special tools.
HOLDN’ Storage looks like a brand sold mainly on Amazon, so its warranty is only as good as its seller, and we’d keep the paperwork. Spices, cans and bottles of oil sit better on a solid tray than they do on wire, which makes this a good pantry-cabinet shelf. Bamboo and water don’t mix for long, so we’d be careful putting it under a sink, even though the listing suggests that use. The seller was the brand’s own storefront when we checked.
Why we like it
- Stated 50 lb capacity
- Solid bamboo tray keeps small items upright
- Lifetime limited warranty stated
- Full-extension slide, per the listing
Key specifications
| Model | 5003 |
|---|---|
| Size | 17 W x 21 D in |
| Cabinet opening | 18.25 W x 21 D in |
| Stated load | 50 lb |
| Material | Bamboo tray, metal rails |
| Slides | Full extension |
| Mounting | Screws, hardware included |
| Warranty | Lifetime limited |
Why we recommend it
This suits cans, spices and small jars that fall through or tip on wire, in a mid-size cabinet.
Skip it if you plan to load it with heavy cast iron, because a stated 50 pounds is lower than others here.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Solid surface
- Load stated
- Warranty stated
Cons
- Thinner brand history
- Lower load than others here
- Bamboo near water needs care
5. Mulush Soft Close Wood Drawer, 20 x 21 In – A Real Drawer That Closes Quietly

Most of this page is wire on rails. This one is built more like a drawer: 5/8-inch knotless solid wood, 3 inches high, on full-extension soft-close slides. The listing says those slides support 60 pounds, and that the drawer ships assembled. You can mount it from the bottom in a cabinet wider than 20.5 inches, or from the sides in a cabinet exactly 20 inches wide.
Mulush is another brand that seems to sell mainly on Amazon, so there’s little independent record to go on. Measuring is the whole game with a fixed-size drawer. The listing tells you to measure the narrowest point of the opening and to use the smaller of the two side depths, and that’s solid advice for any pull-out. Inner width is 17.7 inches, so the usable tray is narrower than the outside number. The seller was Mulush when we checked.
Why we like it
- Soft-close, full-extension slides, per the listing
- Stated 60 lb on the slides
- 5/8-inch solid wood, per the listing
- Bottom or side mounting
Key specifications
| Model | MU-CT-20-US |
|---|---|
| Size | 20 W x 21 D x 3 H in; inner width 17.7 in |
| Cabinet opening | Over 20.5 W for bottom mount; 20 W for side mount; over 21.5 D |
| Stated load | 60 lb on slides |
| Material | Knotless solid wood |
| Slides | Full extension, soft close |
| Mounting | Bottom or side |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
Buy this if you want a cabinet to feel like it has real drawers, and you’re willing to measure twice.
Skip it if your opening is not close to these sizes, since a fixed drawer can’t flex.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Soft close
- Solid wood
- Two mounting options
Cons
- Thinner brand history
- No warranty stated
- Inner width is noticeably smaller
6. ClosetMaid Pull Out Cabinet Organizer, 14 Inch – Simple Steel for a Narrow Base

ClosetMaid is a familiar name in closet and storage shelving, and this is a modest add-on drawer for a base cabinet with a 15-inch or wider opening. Assembled, it measures about 5.25 inches high, 13.5 wide and 20 deep. It’s built from epoxy-coated steel in a nickel finish, not chrome-plated wire, and all hardware comes in the box.
It uses what the listing calls an easy glide system, without saying whether that means ball bearings. It calls the drawer heavy duty but gives no pound figure, so treat it as a shelf for pots, pans and supplies and not as a place for your heaviest pieces. Our under-sink organizer guide is the better place to look if plumbing is in your way. Amazon was the seller when we checked.
Why we like it
- Fits a 15-inch or wider opening
- Epoxy-coated steel, per the listing
- All hardware included
- Sold by Amazon when we checked
Key specifications
| Model | 3087 |
|---|---|
| Size | 13.5 W x 20 D x 5.25 H in |
| Cabinet opening | 15 in or wider |
| Stated load | Not stated |
| Material | Epoxy-coated steel |
| Slides | Easy glide; type not stated |
| Mounting | Base cabinet; hardware included |
| Warranty | Parts for defects, per the listing |
Why we recommend it
This is the straightforward choice for a narrow base cabinet from a well-known shelving brand.
Skip it if you need a stated load, because ClosetMaid’s listing doesn’t give one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Known brand
- Clear minimum opening
- Coated steel
Cons
- No pound rating
- Slide type not stated
7. Household Essentials Glidez 2-Tier Sliding Organizer, 5 Inch – A Tall Slim Slide for Gaps

Not every cabinet has room for a wide shelf, and a slim one can use a gap a wider drawer would waste. This Glidez is only 5 inches wide, but 21 long and 17.5 high, with two tiers of chrome-plated steel. The listing suggests cans, dry goods and cleaning supplies, and gives a maximum weight capacity of 33 pounds.
That’s far below a wide base-cabinet shelf, and it should be: a narrow unit carries a tall load on a slim base. Keep heavy things on the bottom tier. The listing says it fits most standard cabinetry or shelving but doesn’t describe the mounting or the slides in detail, so check the instructions when it arrives. Amazon was the seller when we checked.
Why we like it
- Stated 33 lb maximum
- Only 5 inches wide
- Two tiers
- Chrome-plated steel, per the listing
Key specifications
| Model | C20521-1 |
|---|---|
| Size | 5 W x 21 L x 17.5 H in |
| Cabinet opening | Not stated; fits most standard cabinetry, per the listing |
| Stated load | 33 lb |
| Material | Chrome-plated steel |
| Slides | Not stated |
| Mounting | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
This is for a narrow gap, or for keeping cans and oils at hand in a corner of a deeper cabinet.
Skip it if you need to hold pots and pans, since it’s meant for slim goods.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Fits narrow gaps
- Load stated
- Sold by Amazon when we checked
Cons
- Low capacity
- Slide and mounting details not stated

How to choose a pull out drawer
Measure the opening, not the cabinet. The number that matters is the narrowest point of the door opening, including hinges, door stops and any face-frame lip. Mulush tells buyers to measure the narrowest width and the smaller of the two side depths, and Rev-A-Shelf says to check hinge clearance. A shelf that’s a quarter inch too wide doesn’t go in at all.
Read the load figure carefully. A number on the box can mean the slides, the shelf or each tier. Rev-A-Shelf’s distributor figure and the Mulush figure both describe the slides, and VEVOR doesn’t say if its 66 pounds is per tier. Cast iron is heavy, so load the back of the shelf lightly and keep the heaviest pieces low. Pull slowly at first and see how it behaves.

Choose how you want to mount it. Floor mounting is the most common way to go, and it’s what Rev-A-Shelf specifies on this basket. Side mounting, like the Mulush option, needs a cabinet of an exact width. Either way you’re putting screws into the cabinet, which is worth checking first if you rent.
Wire or solid. Wire is lighter and easier to wipe, but small jars can tip. A wood or bamboo tray holds small items better and looks finished, but it won’t enjoy a leak under a sink.
Think about what’s in the way. Center posts, plumbing and a hinge that swings into the opening can each rule out a shelf. VEVOR says its design works around plumbing; our under-sink organizer guide goes further on that problem.

How we chose these seven pull-outs
We compared in-stock pull-out shelves on Amazon and read each listing for size, cabinet opening, load, material, slides, mounting and warranty, and checked who sold each one. Rev-A-Shelf’s own site couldn’t be opened, and Lynk’s pages gave no load figure. One search for independent reviews returned retailer listings, not reviews, so the picks rest on listings and makers’ statements. Rev-A-Shelf’s load figure comes from one distributor’s page for a close model. We have not installed these ourselves.
Pull out drawer questions, answered
How much weight can a pull out cabinet shelf hold?
It varies widely here, and a few makers give no figure. Stated numbers on this page run from 33 pounds for the slim Glidez, through 50 and 60 and 66, to 100 pounds on slides for a close Rev-A-Shelf model.
Do slide out shelves need drilling?
The picks here mount with screws. Rev-A-Shelf says floor mount only, and HOLDN’ and ClosetMaid include hardware. Some adhesive no-drill models exist, but we left those out because we couldn’t find a maker we trusted with a stated load.
What size pull out drawer do I need?
Measure the narrowest part of the opening, and buy for that. Rev-A-Shelf’s 21-inch basket needs at least 20.5 inches wide by 22 deep and 6 high. ClosetMaid’s needs 15 inches wide. Add room for hinges.
Do I need soft close?
Not for function. It stops a heavy shelf from banging shut, and Mulush is the only pick here that states it. Everything else here relies on plain slides.
Are pull out drawers worth it in a small kitchen?
Often more so than in a big one, since you use the back of the cabinet you already own. You do lose some height and width to the rails, so a small cabinet may give up a little capacity for that access.

Our final pick for the base cabinet
Start with the Rev-A-Shelf basket in the width that fits your opening, and go to the others only for a specific reason: two tiers, a solid tray, soft close or a narrow gap. For the rest of the cabinet, see our cabinet organizers guide, our cookware organizer guide and our lazy Susan guide for corners. And when the pots stay in the cabinet tonight, Julia’s is on Highway 6 in Houston: call to order.