In a working kitchen the trash lid gets touched by everything. Chicken hands, masa hands, hands that were holding a chile a minute ago. That is the honest case for a touchless can: you drop in the scraps without touching the lid, and you do not need to wash up first or balance on one foot.
This guide covers seven motion sensor cans from iTouchless, EKO, Ninestars and BestOffice. Every pick states its capacity and power source, because batteries are the part that decides whether you still like the can a year from now. If you are open to a step pedal, start with our guide to the best kitchen trash can.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications, maker statements and named reviews where we could read them.
Quick verdict: which touchless can to buy
The best touchless trash can for most kitchens is the iTouchless 13-Gallon Sensor Can With Pet Lock. It takes ordinary tall kitchen bags, runs on four D batteries with up to 18 months claimed by the maker, and a mechanical lock keeps pets out. If you sort recycling, the EKO 16-Gallon Dual Compartment Sensor Can keeps trash and recycling under one lid.
Need more room? The iTouchless 24-Gallon comes with an AC adapter so it does not depend on batteries. For a plain plastic body, there is the BestOffice 13-Gallon, though it rests on its listing alone. If a sensor is more than you want to spend on, our guide to cheap kitchen trash cans covers simpler lids.
Five touchless trash cans compared
Five of the seven picks, one for each kind of kitchen. Capacity and power are from the maker or the listing.
| Trash can | Best for | Capacity | Power | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
iTouchless 13-Gallon Sensor Can With Pet LockBest overall
|
Most kitchens, ordinary bags | 13 gal / 50 L | 4 D batteries; AC adapter optional | View on Amazon |
EKO Mirage-T 13.2-Gallon Sensor CanBest rectangular can
|
Tight spots, flat sides | 13.2 gal / 50 L | AA alkaline batteries | View on Amazon |
iTouchless 24-Gallon Sensor Can With AC AdapterBest for big households
|
Large families, big cooking days | 24 gal / 91 L | AC adapter included; 4 D optional | View on Amazon |
EKO 21-Gallon Sensor Can With Stay-Open ButtonBest stay-open button
|
A lid that stays up while you clear | 21 gal / 80 L | 4 AA batteries | View on Amazon |
BestOffice 13-Gallon Plastic Sensor CanBest plastic body
|
Plastic body, ordinary bags | 13 gal / 50 L | 4 C batteries | View on Amazon |
Battery life figures are maker claims and depend on how often the lid opens.
Our picks for the best touchless trash can
They run from a 12-gallon can up to a 24-gallon bin. The order reflects how well each suits a home kitchen, going by the stated facts and what we could read about it. None of them was used in our kitchen.
1. iTouchless 13-Gallon Sensor Can With Pet Lock – Ordinary Bags, Long Battery Life

For most kitchens this is where we would start. It holds 13 gallons, the size of a standard tall kitchen bag, and iTouchless says it fits those bags, so you are not tied to a custom liner. A retainer ring holds the bag and hides the overhang, and there is no inner bucket taking up room.
Power is the other reason. It runs on four D batteries, and iTouchless claims up to 18 months from a set. That is a maker’s figure, so your count will depend on how often the lid opens, but D cells are the largest battery size on this page. You can also buy an AC adapter separately if the can sits near an outlet. A mechanical lock holds the lid shut against dogs and toddlers, and a carbon filter is included for odor.
Bob Vila’s team used an earlier iTouchless 13-gallon sensor can in a home kitchen and listed “no hesitancy in the motion-sensing technology” as a plus. They also reported it ran on both alkaline and rechargeable D cells. That review was last updated in 2023 and this gunmetal listing is newer, so treat it as a read on the line, not this exact can. A standard iTouchless 13-gallon listing is on our general kitchen trash can guide; we chose this taller one here because the 27.3-inch height means less bending, and because that guide already covers the other.
Why we like it
- Takes ordinary tall kitchen bags, per iTouchless
- Up to 18 months on 4 D batteries, the maker claims
- Mechanical lock against pets and small children
- 27.3 inches tall, so less reaching down
Key specifications
| Model | DZT13PGY |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 13 gal / 50 L |
| Shape | Tall; height 27.3 in |
| Body | Stainless steel, gunmetal gray |
| Power | 4 D batteries; AC adapter sold separately |
| Opening | Infrared sensor, lid lock |
| Bags | Standard tall kitchen bags, retainer ring |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a family kitchen that goes through a bag every few days and wants to keep buying bags at the grocery store.
Skip it if you want a lid that stays open on request. This listing does not describe either one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- No custom liners
- Large batteries
- Pet and child lock
Cons
- Listing does not say batteries are included
- Carbon filter is another part to think about over time

2. EKO 16-Gallon Dual Compartment Sensor Can – Trash and Recycling Under One Lid

This is the one to look at if your recycling lives in a second bin you keep tripping over. It splits 16 gallons into two 8-gallon color-coded plastic buckets with carry handles, one for trash and one for recycling, under a single motion sensor lid.
EKO says the lid opens in 0.2 seconds and closes after 5 seconds, and a stay-open button holds it up for as long as 20 minutes, which is useful on a tamale day, when husks and masa scraps keep going in for an hour. It runs on four AA alkaline batteries for up to eight months, per EKO, and EKO says not to use rechargeables.
It measures 17.32 inches wide, 11.6 deep and 26.89 tall, and 36.1 tall with the lid open, so check the height under a cabinet. EKO says it fits its Code K bags and includes some to start. Eight gallons a side is much less than a 13-gallon can, so a busy kitchen will empty it more often.
Why we like it
- Two 8-gallon buckets, trash and recycling
- Stay-open button, up to 20 minutes
- Color-coded buckets with handles
- Soft-close lid, per EKO
Key specifications
| Model | EK9578-30L+30L-MBS |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 16 gal, two 8-gal buckets |
| Shape | Rectangular; 17.32 x 11.6 x 26.89 in |
| Body | Stainless steel, matte black |
| Power | 4 AA alkaline, up to 8 months, per EKO |
| Opening | Motion sensor, stay-open button |
| Bags | EKO Code K, per EKO |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a kitchen that sorts recycling and has room for one can rather than two.
Skip it if you fill a big bag every day; each side holds only 8 gallons.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Sorts trash and recycling in one can
- Stay-open function
- Quiet soft close, per EKO
Cons
- Small 8-gallon sides
- EKO recommends its own bags
- No rechargeable batteries, per EKO
3. EKO Mirage-T 13.2-Gallon Sensor Can – Flat Sides, Any Kitchen Bag

If you are fitting a can between a counter and a wall, rectangular sides waste less floor than an oval. The Mirage-T is a 13.2-gallon rectangular can with a matte black fingerprint-resistant finish in this listing, and EKO says a set of AA alkaline batteries can last up to eight months. The listing does not say how many.
The Gadgeteer’s Julie Strietelmeier reviewed the Mirage-T after a few weeks of using it in her office, with a sample EKO provided, so it is not a kitchen report. She noted that a lift-out ring secures the bag and that you can use nearly any kitchen-size bag. She also wished for a battery level indicator, and her article gives both two and four as the number of AA cells, so check the battery door before you shop for them. Batteries are not included.
This Old House named an EKO 13.2-gallon sensor can its best medium-sized can, in a roundup built on research and customer review summaries instead of a trial. It reported that some buyers praised the responsive sensor, and that others had complaints about the sensor and about support. We take that to mean check your return window, as you should with any motorized lid.
Why we like it
- Rectangular shape for tight spots
- Up to 8 months on AA batteries, EKO claims
- Lift-out ring holds an ordinary bag, per The Gadgeteer
- Fingerprint-resistant finish, per the listing
Key specifications
| Model | EK9278TP-50L-MBS |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 13.2 gal / 50 L |
| Shape | Rectangular |
| Body | Stainless steel, matte black |
| Power | AA alkaline batteries, count not on the listing |
| Opening | Motion sensor |
| Bags | Kitchen-size bags with a lift-out ring, per The Gadgeteer |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a narrow kitchen where a flat-sided can tucks in better and you would like to keep using ordinary bags.
Skip it if you want a battery indicator, since at least one reviewer missed having one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Good shape for tight spaces
- Uses ordinary bags
- Clean finish
Cons
- Listing does not state the battery count
- No battery level indicator, per The Gadgeteer
- Mixed buyer reports on an EKO sensor, per This Old House

4. Ninestars 13.2-Gallon Original Sensor Can – A Long-Running Plain Design

Ninestars calls this its original sensor can, and it is a plain, steel 13.2-gallon design that takes any standard bag or Ninestars’ own. A removable ring holds the bag in place so it does not hang over the sides. It needs four D batteries, not included, and the listing recommends alkaline.
That alkaline note is worth taking seriously. Bob Vila’s team named a Ninestars motion sensor can its best touchless pick, and wrote that “alkalines work just fine, rechargeables do not.” They also said the sensor “easily gets confused”, though a push button opened the lid. They did not say that was this exact model, and that review dates from 2023, so read it as a note on the brand. The listing itself describes a delay in the sensing, meant to keep the lid from opening when pets or children walk past.
One thing to check when you buy: the listing’s text mentions a two-year warranty, while its warranty field says one year. We would go by whatever comes in the box. Ninestars also has a rectangular can on our general guide and an oval can on our odor control guide, if you want a different body.
Why we like it
- Takes any standard bag, per the listing
- Ring keeps the bag from overhanging
- Water-resistant sensor, per the listing
- Delayed sensing to reduce accidental openings
Key specifications
| Model | DZT-50-6 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 13.2 gal / 50 L |
| Shape | Not stated |
| Body | Stainless steel base |
| Power | 4 D batteries, not included |
| Opening | Infrared motion sensor |
| Bags | Standard bags or Ninestars liners |
| Warranty | Listing says 1 year in one place, 2 years in another |
Why we recommend it
It suits someone who wants the basic idea done simply: wave, drop, walk away, with grocery-store bags.
Skip it if you plan to run it on rechargeable batteries. Reports point toward alkaline cells for this brand.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Ordinary bags
- Simple design
- Large batteries
Cons
- Warranty wording conflicts on the listing
- A reviewer of a Ninestars can found the sensor easily confused
5. iTouchless 24-Gallon Sensor Can With AC Adapter – Big Capacity, Plugs Into the Wall

Anyone who has hosted a tamalada knows how fast husks fill a regular can. This one holds 24 gallons, nearly double the usual size, and it comes with an AC adapter, so a heavy-use spot near an outlet need never see a dead battery. iTouchless says it will also run on four D batteries, not included, if you want to move it.
It measures 17.5 by 12.4 by 33 inches, so it is tall, and the oval shape is designed to sit flush against a wall. A built-in ring holds the bag, and air vents are there to stop the suction that makes a full bag hard to lift out. That matters more than it sounds with a bag this size, and a full one will be heavy, so do not overfill it. iTouchless also offers text reminders for replacing the carbon filter.
Check the fit before you commit, and buy a bag that matches. This is not a 13-gallon can, so your usual kitchen bags will not do. The listing leans toward commercial spaces, but it also names homes and kitchens, and the size is a reasonable choice for a big household that cooks a lot. Our search found no independent review of this model.
Why we like it
- AC adapter is in the box, per the listing
- 24 gallons, nearly twice a standard can
- Air vents help a full bag lift out
- Can also run on 4 D batteries
Key specifications
| Model | ITOS24BAC |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 24 gal / 91 L |
| Shape | Oval, 17.5 x 12.4 x 33 in |
| Body | Stainless steel |
| Power | AC adapter included; 4 D batteries optional, not included |
| Opening | Infrared sensor |
| Bags | Bags sized for this can, retainer ring |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a big family, or a home cook who batch-cooks for events and has the floor space.
Skip it if you empty the can daily anyway, since a smaller bag is easier to carry to the curb.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Plugs in, so no battery changes
- Very large capacity
- No inner bucket
Cons
- Needs larger bags
- Tall footprint
- A full bag is heavy

6. EKO 21-Gallon Sensor Can With Stay-Open Button – Press Once, Lid Stays Up

For a big can that still runs on small batteries, this EKO holds 21 gallons, or 80 liters, and takes four AA alkaline cells, which EKO says last up to eight months. A button holds the lid open, which helps when you are clearing a whole counter into the bin. The lid is meant to close gently and quietly, and the listing describes a fingerprint-resistant steel exterior and a bucket-free interior.
The listing does not state the shape, dimensions or warranty, so measure your spot and check the product page before ordering. It also needs a bag sized for 21 gallons, so it will not run on ordinary kitchen bags.
One piece of history: in 2015 the CPSC announced a recall of an older EKO 80-liter sensor can, model EK9288BMT-80L, sold only at Costco, because a plastic collar could come loose and expose a sharp edge. This listing shows a different model number, 9578-80L-MMT. If you own or are offered an older EKO 80-liter can, check the label under the lid.
Why we like it
- 21 gallons on AA batteries
- Stay-open button for long jobs
- Soft-closing lid, per the listing
- Bucket-free interior
Key specifications
| Model | 9578-80L-MMT |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 21 gal / 80 L |
| Shape | Not stated |
| Body | Stainless steel |
| Power | 4 AA alkaline batteries |
| Opening | Motion sensor, stay-open button |
| Bags | Bags sized for 21 gallons; bucket-free interior |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a large kitchen that wants a press-to-hold lid and does not want to run a cord across the floor.
Skip it if you need a plug-in option. The listing mentions batteries only.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Large capacity
- Stay-open function
- Quiet close, per the listing
Cons
- Sparse listing on size and warranty
- Needs larger bags
7. BestOffice 13-Gallon Plastic Sensor Can – A Plastic Body, Standard Bags

Thin steel can dent, and a plastic body is a fair alternative in a busy spot. This is a 13-gallon oval can in black PP plastic, about 16 by 11 by 24 inches, which the listing says fits standard 13-gallon bags. It runs on four C batteries, not included, and BestOffice claims more than 40,000 openings from a set.
This is an Amazon-first brand and the evidence is thin: the listing, and nothing else we could read. Our search turned up only retail and affiliate pages for it, not an independent review. It is on this page because it is the one plastic can among these picks, and that is a real choice for some kitchens.
We cannot speak to how the sensor or the lid hold up over years, and the listing gives no warranty. Keep your packaging until you know the sensor behaves in your space. The listing recommends alkaline batteries, and its odor advice is plain enough: keep the lid closed.
Why we like it
- Plastic body in place of steel
- Fits standard 13-gallon bags, per the listing
- Over 40,000 openings claimed per battery set
- Slim oval, 11 inches wide
Key specifications
| Model | TC-2461R |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 13 gal / 50 L |
| Shape | Oval, 16 x 11 x 24 in |
| Body | PP plastic, black |
| Power | 4 C batteries, not included |
| Opening | Automatic sensor |
| Bags | Standard 13-gallon bags |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a kitchen or laundry room where a plain plastic can makes more sense than brushed steel.
Skip it if you want a maker with a stated warranty or a track record. Choose iTouchless instead.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Won’t dent the way thin steel can
- Ordinary bags
- Slim footprint
Cons
- Rests on the listing alone
- C batteries are less common in many homes
- No warranty stated
How to choose a touchless can for a cooking kitchen
A sensor can is a small motor with a sensor attached. These are the things that decide how it fits your kitchen:
- Power first. D cells offer the longest claimed life here, but many kitchen drawers do not hold them. AA cells are easy to find. A plug-in adapter ends the question, if you have an outlet where the can stands. Rechargeables are hit or miss: Bob Vila’s team saw them work in one can and not in another, and several listings ask for alkaline.
- Capacity. Thirteen gallons is the size of a normal tall kitchen bag and suits most families. Twenty-one or 24 gallons means fewer trips, but a heavier bag and a bag size you may not find in every store aisle.
- Bags. Ordinary bags are easy to find. Custom liners fit better and look tidier, but they tie you to one maker. Add that into the cost of the can over the years.
- Shape and height. Measure the gap, then measure the height with the lid open, especially under a counter overhang or a wall cabinet. A rectangle saves floor in a narrow spot, and an oval can sit against a wall with less depth.
- Sensor position. A sensor needs some clear space. If foot traffic passes close by, or a cabinet door swings near it, expect some false openings until you find the right spot.
- Manual backup. Batteries die mid-dinner. Check for a button or a way to lift the lid by hand, and for a stay-open option if you do long prep sessions.

How we chose these seven cans
We counted in-stock sensor cans from identifiable makers on Amazon first, then read the listings for capacity, power and bag type. We dropped any can whose touchless function we could not confirm, or that repeated another pick with only a color change. We then read the maker pages we could open.
We looked at three outside sources. Bob Vila’s kitchen trash can review scored cans in home kitchens and was last updated in 2023. This Old House’s touchless roundup, updated in June 2026, rests on research and summaries of buyer comments rather than a trial. The Gadgeteer’s review of the EKO Mirage-T was based on office use of a sample from EKO. None of these reviewers looked at all seven cans, and we did not use any of them ourselves.
We also searched the CPSC recall database by brand. The only sensor-can recall we found was the 2015 EKO model described in the EKO pick.
Touchless can questions, answered
What batteries does a motion sensor kitchen trash can use?
It depends on the can. On this page, iTouchless and Ninestars use four D cells, BestOffice uses four C cells, and EKO uses AA cells. Check the listing before you buy, since batteries are often not included.
How long do the batteries last?
Makers claim anywhere from about eight months to 18 months on the cans here. Your count will depend on how often the lid opens, the room and the battery quality.
Can I use rechargeable batteries?
Sometimes. Bob Vila’s team reported that an iTouchless can worked with rechargeable D cells and a Ninestars can did not. Follow what your can’s maker says, and expect alkaline to be the safe choice.
Do touchless cans take regular trash bags?
Many do. The iTouchless, Ninestars and BestOffice 13-gallon cans say they take standard bags, and The Gadgeteer found the EKO Mirage-T worked with nearly any kitchen-size bag. Our guide to trash bags covers the options.
Why does my sensor can open by itself?
Usually because something moves within the sensor’s reach, such as a person passing, a pet or a nearby cabinet door. Try moving it a little further from foot traffic. Several listings describe delays or adaptive sensing that aim to reduce this, but buyer reports show it can still happen.
Are touchless cans noisy?
They make a small motor sound as the lid moves. EKO describes a quiet close. The others here do not give a decibel figure.
Our final word on touchless cans
Choose the power source you can live with, then the bag system, and only then the finish. For most homes that points to the iTouchless 13-gallon, a can that takes ordinary bags and, by its maker’s figures, will not need new batteries often. If odor is your main complaint, see our guide to odor control. A big batch of tamales will test any bin you buy.
And if you would rather let someone else cook tonight, see the menu or call to order.