Bakeware & Baking Tools

Countertop, Wall or Rolling: The Best Sheet Pan Rack

Countertop, wall-mounted or rolling: the best sheet pan rack for home bakers and caterers, with pan size, slot count and spacing for each.

Braided loaves lined up on sheet trays stacked in two bakery racks
Sheet trays stacked in racks keep a whole bake in one footprint.

Once you bake more than one sheet pan at a time, the problem stops being the oven and starts being the counter. Two trays of conchas come out, the next two go in, and suddenly there is nowhere to put anything. A sheet pan rack, the aluminum frame bakeries call a bun pan rack or speed rack, solves that by stacking pans on slides a few inches apart so air can move around them while they cool, rise or wait their turn.

This guide is for home bakers who have outgrown the countertop and for small caterers who move trays between a kitchen and an event. It covers the racks themselves, from a 24-inch countertop frame to a 70-inch rolling rack, and it is built around three numbers every listing should give you: the pan size the slides are set for, how many slots there are, and how far apart they sit.

Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for in a sheet pan rack, the makers’ and listings’ own specifications, and published spec sheets, which we cite.

Quick verdict: which sheet pan rack to buy

For most serious home bakers and small caterers, the best sheet pan rack is the Winco 10-tier aluminum rack: it is half height at about 39 inches, rolls on four casters, holds ten full-size or twenty half-size pans on 3-inch spacing, and the listing says it is NSF listed. If floor space is the limit, the Channel TT307 sits on a counter and holds seven half sheets, and the Channel AWM-5 goes on the wall. Caterers who fill a van should look at the full-height Channel 401A, which takes twenty full-size or forty half-size pans.

The rest of this page explains which of these fits your kitchen, and what to measure before you order.

Five sheet pan racks at a glance

Five standout racks side by side, one for each kind of kitchen, with the specifications each maker or listing states. All eight racks are reviewed in full below.

Rack Best for Pans and spacing Footprint Buy on Amazon
Home bakers with floor space, small caterers 10 full or 20 half, 3-inch spacing 21 x 26.5 x 39 inches, on casters View on Amazon
Home bakers with no spare floor 7 half sheets, 3-inch spacing 15.5 x 18 x 24 inches View on Amazon
Small kitchens, keeping the counter clear 5 half sheets, 3-inch spacing 20.5 x 13 x 18 inches, on the wall View on Amazon
Cakes, bread, pans with height 6 pans, 4-inch spacing 20.5 x 26 x 32 inches, on casters View on Amazon
Big batches, event prep 20 full or 40 half, 3-inch spacing 20.5 x 26 x 70.25 inches, on casters View on Amazon

Product images from Amazon. Capacities, spacing and certifications are as stated by each maker or listing; check the listing before you buy.

Our picks for the best sheet pan rack

These eight racks run from a frame that sits on a counter to a rack taller than most people. All are aluminum and all come from foodservice equipment makers, because that is where these racks are designed and built; the few home-branded racks we found were either sold under names we could not trace to a maker or were really pan-and-grid sets. Each pick lists the same eight specifications, so you can compare pan size, slot count and spacing at a glance.

1. Winco 10-Tier Aluminum Sheet Pan Rack – Half Height, Rolls Where You Need It

Best overallWinco Pan Rack

The rack most home bakers picture when they say “speed rack,” cut to half height. Winco’s ALRK-10 has ten pairs of slides on 3-inch spacing, and restaurant suppliers list it for ten full-size 18 x 26-inch pans or twenty half-size 18 x 13-inch pans, two per tier. That is enough for a full day of cookies, a Christmas run of tamales on sheet trays, or a catering order of roasted vegetables waiting to be packed.

At about 39 inches tall, it is close to counter height, so it can roll beside a work surface and act as a landing spot for trays coming out of the oven. The listing gives the assembled size as 21 by 26.5 inches by 39 inches high, a 400-pound capacity and four 5-inch swivel casters. Retailers note that it ships unassembled, so plan for a screwdriver and twenty minutes.

Three-inch spacing suits sheet cookies, rolls, pan dulce and anything else that stays low. It is tight for a layer cake in a pan, which is where the Channel 431A or the New Age 1334S further down comes in.

Why we like it

  • Ten tiers on 3-inch spacing, per the listing
  • Holds full-size or two half-size pans per tier, per restaurant suppliers
  • 400-pound capacity and four 5-inch swivel casters, per the listing
  • The listing says it is NSF listed

Key specifications

Model ALRK-10
Pan size 18 x 26-inch full or 18 x 13-inch half (two per tier)
Pan capacity 10 full or 20 half
Slot spacing 3 inches
Loading End load
Dimensions 21 x 26.5 x 39 inches
Mobility Four 5-inch swivel casters
NSF / made in NSF listed (per listing) / Not stated

Why we recommend it

It suits a home baker with a garage, pantry or corner to park it in, and a small caterer who wants to roll trays from oven to door. It is the most useful size for the most people: big enough for a real batch, low enough to work beside.

Skip it if you do not have about 21 by 27 inches of floor to give up; a countertop or wall rack is the better fit.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Twenty half sheets in one footprint
  • Rolls on casters
  • Counter-adjacent height

Cons

  • Ships unassembled
  • Three-inch spacing is tight for tall bakes
  • Country of manufacture not stated

Check price on Amazon

2. Channel TT307 Half-Size Countertop Bun Pan Rack – Seven Half Sheets on a Counter

Best countertopChannel TT307 Bun Pan Rack

The rack for a home baker who bakes half sheets and has no floor to spare. The TT307 is a small aluminum frame with no wheels: 15.5 inches wide, 18 inches deep and 24 inches tall according to the listing, with seven pairs of slides set 3 inches apart for 13 x 18-inch half sheet pans. Restaurant kitchens use racks like this on a prep table or inside a reach-in, and at home it sits at the back of a counter or on a sturdy shelf.

Seven pans is roughly what two ovens produce in a long afternoon, and it means a whole batch of cookies can cool without taking over the kitchen. Because it is end loading, pans slide in from the short side, so the narrow face can point toward you on a deep counter.

Channel’s listing says it is made in the USA and NSF listed, and it weighs about 12 pounds, so it is easy to lift onto a counter and put away. Check your pans first: most home half sheets, including the Nordic Ware pans on our best baking sheets page, are made to the 18 x 13-inch standard, but some cookie sheets are not.

Why we like it

  • Seven half-sheet slides on 3-inch spacing, per the listing
  • Small footprint of 15.5 x 18 inches
  • Made in the USA and NSF listed, per the listing
  • About 12 pounds, per the listing

Key specifications

Model TT307
Pan size 13 x 18-inch half sheet
Pan capacity 7 half
Slot spacing 3 inches
Loading End load
Dimensions 15.5 x 18 x 24 inches
Mobility None; countertop or shelf
NSF / made in NSF / USA (per listing)

Why we recommend it

It suits the home baker who wants a real bakery rack without giving up floor space, and a caterer who needs a cooling station on a folding table at an event.

Skip it if you bake on full-size 18 x 26-inch pans; this rack only takes half sheets.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Fits on a counter or shelf
  • Light enough to move
  • Made in the USA, per the listing

Cons

  • Half sheets only
  • Seven pans is the limit
  • Takes up about 24 inches of height under cabinets

Check price on Amazon

3. Channel AWM-5 Wall-Mounted Bun Pan Rack – Five Half Sheets Off the Counter

Best wall-mountedChannel AWM-5 Bun Pan Rack

When there is neither floor nor counter to spare, the wall is what is left. The AWM-5 bolts to a wall and holds five 13 x 18-inch half sheet pans on 3-inch spacing, according to Channel’s listing, in a frame 20.5 inches wide, 13 inches deep and 18 inches tall.

It is side loading, so pans slide in from the long edge, which is the natural way to set a tray down when the rack is at chest height beside an oven. Channel’s listing says it is made in the USA, and restaurant suppliers list it as NSF listed. A manufacturer spec sheet hosted by a retailer gives the height as 17 inches in a later revision, so leave an inch of slack if you are fitting it under a shelf.

Mounting is the part to plan. Retailers note that hardware is not included, and the spec sheet says to choose fasteners for the wall material. Five loaded sheet pans are a real load, so mount it into studs or masonry rather than drywall alone. Once it is up, it doubles as storage for empty pans between bakes, much like the cabinet racks on our baking pan organizer page, but with air around each pan.

Why we like it

  • Uses wall space instead of counter or floor
  • Five half-sheet slides on 3-inch spacing, per the listing
  • Side loading, so trays go in from the long edge
  • Made in the USA, per the listing

Key specifications

Model AWM-5
Pan size 13 x 18-inch half sheet
Pan capacity 5 half
Slot spacing 3 inches
Loading Side load
Dimensions 20.5 x 13 x 18 inches
Mobility Wall mounted; hardware not included (per retailers)
NSF / made in NSF (per retailers) / USA (per listing)

Why we recommend it

It suits apartment bakers and small catering kitchens where every surface is already working. Mounted beside the oven, it is a cooling station that never needs to be put away.

Skip it if you rent and cannot drill into the wall, or if you need more than five pans at once.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Takes no counter or floor space
  • Doubles as pan storage
  • Made in the USA, per the listing

Cons

  • Needs drilling and your own hardware
  • Five pans only, half size only
  • Listed height varies by an inch between sources

Check price on Amazon

Croissants on trays in a pair of metal bakery racks behind a counter
Trays slide into the rack as they come out of the oven, with air between each one.

4. Advance Tabco PR10-3K Half-Height Pan Rack – Light Frame, 500-Pound Rating

Highest load ratingAdvance Tabco PR10-3K Rack

The closest rival to the Winco, and the one to compare it with. Advance Tabco’s spec sheet lists the PR10-3K as a front-load rack for ten full-size or twenty half-size pans on 3-inch shelf spacing, 20-1/4 by 26 inches and 38-1/4 inches high, with a 500-pound capacity and heavy-duty 5-inch stem-bolted swivel casters.

The frame is a welded ladder of 1-inch square aluminum tubing on each side, joined by six cylindrical cross bars, and the pans ride on 1-1/2-inch ribbed aluminum angles, according to the spec sheet. It ships knocked down, which is what the K in the model number stands for, and the spec sheet gives an approximate weight of 14 pounds, so it is easy to carry in and assemble.

In daily use it does the same job as the Winco: a counter-height rolling rack for a run of sheet pans. The differences are on paper: a higher stated load rating, and a spec sheet that spells out the construction. Restaurant suppliers list it as NSF listed, though the Amazon listing itself says little, so read the spec sheet before you order.

Why we like it

  • 500-pound capacity, per Advance Tabco’s spec sheet
  • Ten full or twenty half pans on 3-inch spacing
  • About 14 pounds, so easy to move and store
  • Construction details published by the maker

Key specifications

Model PR10-3K
Pan size 18 x 26-inch full or 18 x 13-inch half
Pan capacity 10 full or 20 half
Slot spacing 3 inches
Loading Front load (per maker)
Dimensions 20.25 x 26 x 38.25 inches
Mobility Four 5-inch stem swivel casters
NSF / made in NSF (per retailers) / Not stated

Why we recommend it

It suits the same buyer as the Winco, especially a caterer who loads heavy hotel-pan-style trays of roasted meat or rice and wants the higher rating on paper.

Skip it if you want a rack with the details printed on the Amazon page; this listing is sparse, and you will be relying on the maker’s spec sheet.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Highest stated capacity of the half-height racks here
  • Light and knock-down
  • Clear maker spec sheet

Cons

  • Thin Amazon listing
  • Needs assembly
  • Three-inch spacing only

Check price on Amazon

5. Channel 431A Under-Counter Bun Pan Rack – Four Inches Between Pans

Best for tall bakesChannel 431A Bun Pan Rack

Three inches between slides is fine for cookies but not for a cake in its pan, a tray of bolillos that rose higher than planned, or a sheet pan with a cooling grid on it. The 431A trades capacity for headroom: six pairs of slides on 4-inch spacing, in a 32-inch-tall frame that rolls under a standard counter, according to Channel’s listing.

The listing gives the size as 20.5 inches wide, 26 inches deep and 32 inches high, with 5-inch swivel non-marking casters and a frame of 6063-T5 aluminum. Restaurant suppliers list it for six 18 x 26-inch full-size pans, and one lists twelve half-size pans at two per shelf. Suppliers also list it as NSF certified and made in the USA.

Under a counter or a stainless table, it turns dead space into a cooling rack. For a home baker who has a work table in the garage or a small bakery business run from home, that is the most useful place for it.

Why we like it

  • Four-inch spacing clears taller bakes, per the listing
  • 32 inches tall, sized to roll under a counter
  • Non-marking 5-inch swivel casters, per the listing
  • NSF and made in the USA, per restaurant suppliers

Key specifications

Model 431A
Pan size 18 x 26-inch full (two half sheets per shelf, per one supplier)
Pan capacity 6 full
Slot spacing 4 inches
Loading End load (some suppliers say front load)
Dimensions 20.5 x 26 x 32 inches
Mobility Four 5-inch swivel non-marking casters
NSF / made in NSF / USA (per suppliers)

Why we recommend it

It suits bakers whose trays are not flat: cakes in pans, rising bread, sheet pans topped with a cooling grid. It is also the rack for anyone who wants it out of sight under a table.

Skip it if you mostly bake cookies; you give up four tiers for headroom you will not use.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Extra inch between pans
  • Fits under a counter
  • Rolls on non-marking casters

Cons

  • Only six tiers
  • Half-sheet capacity listed by one supplier only
  • Loading direction described differently by suppliers

Check price on Amazon

6. Channel 401A Full-Height Bun Pan Rack – Forty Half Sheets for Event Days

Best for caterersChannel 401A Bun Pan Rack

This is the full bakery speed rack: twenty pairs of slides on 3-inch spacing in an all-welded aluminum frame 70.25 inches tall. Channel’s listing says it takes twenty 18 x 26-inch full-size pans or forty 13 x 18-inch half-size pans, and it rolls on 5-inch swivel plate casters.

All-welded matters here. A rack this tall that ships knocked down depends on its bolts staying tight, while a welded frame arrives as one piece. That also means it arrives large, so check your doorways before you order. Restaurant suppliers list the 401A as NSF certified and made in the USA; note that its knock-down sibling, the 401AKD, is listed by one supplier as made in China, so the suffix matters.

For a caterer, forty half sheets is the difference between baking in waves and baking once. Trays come out of the oven, go straight into the rack, and the whole rack rolls to the packing table. For a home baker it is likely too much rack, and a half-height model does the job.

Why we like it

  • Twenty full or forty half pans, per the listing
  • All-welded aluminum frame, per the listing
  • 5-inch swivel plate casters, per the listing
  • NSF and made in the USA, per restaurant suppliers

Key specifications

Model 401A
Pan size 18 x 26-inch full or 13 x 18-inch half
Pan capacity 20 full or 40 half
Slot spacing 3 inches
Loading End load
Dimensions 20.5 x 26 x 70.25 inches
Mobility Four 5-inch swivel plate casters
NSF / made in NSF / USA (per suppliers)

Why we recommend it

It suits caterers, market bakers and anyone baking for a crowd who wants every tray in one place, rolling.

Skip it if you cannot get a 70-inch welded frame through your doors, or if you would rarely fill more than ten slots.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Largest capacity here, tied with the New Star
  • Welded, not bolted
  • Made in the USA, per suppliers

Cons

  • Arrives fully assembled and large
  • More rack than most homes need
  • Three-inch spacing only

Check price on Amazon

Trays of pastries on a tall wire rack beside a bakery window, with an aluminum pan rack behind
A tall rack holds a full run of trays in a narrow space.

7. New Star Foodservice 20-Tier Aluminum Sheet Pan Rack – Full Height, Ships Flat

Best knock-down full heightNew Star Foodservice 36527 Aluminum Sheet Pan Rack

The full-height option for buyers whose doorways or stairs rule out a welded frame. New Star’s 36527 holds twenty full-size or forty half-size sheet pans on 3-inch spacing, ships unassembled, and stands 69 inches tall on a 26 by 20-inch footprint, according to the listing.

The listing is more specific about load than most: up to 75 pounds per pair of slides and 350 pounds in total. That is plenty for baked goods; it is a number to respect if you load it with trays of raw meat for a big cook. It is end loading, rolls on swivel casters, and has wheels with brakes, which help when you are sliding heavy pans in and out.

The listing does not state NSF certification or where it is made, so if either matters for a licensed kitchen, the Channel 401A is the better documented choice.

Why we like it

  • Twenty full or forty half pans, per the listing
  • Ships unassembled, for tight entries
  • 75 pounds per pair of slides, 350 pounds total, per the listing
  • Brake wheels, per the listing

Key specifications

Model 36527
Pan size 18 x 26-inch full or 18 x 13-inch half
Pan capacity 20 full or 40 half
Slot spacing 3 inches
Loading End load
Dimensions 26 x 20 x 69 inches
Mobility Swivel casters with brakes
NSF / made in Not stated / Not stated

Why we recommend it

It suits caterers and home bakers who want full-height capacity but need it to arrive in a box they can carry through a narrow door.

Skip it if your health department or commissary needs NSF-listed equipment; the listing does not say.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Full capacity in a flat box
  • Clear per-slide load rating
  • Brakes on the wheels

Cons

  • NSF status not stated
  • Assembly required
  • Country of manufacture not stated

Check price on Amazon

8. New Age 1334S Side-Load Bun Pan Rack – Six Inches for Cakes and Bread

Most headroomFull BUN PAN Rack

The rack with the most space between pans here: ten pairs of slides on 6-inch spacing in a full-height frame. That is room for layer cakes in their pans, tall loaves on sheet trays, or covered trays of food for an event. The Amazon listing for this New Age rack is very thin, so the details here come from restaurant suppliers.

WebstaurantStore lists the 1334S as all-welded 6063-T5 extruded aluminum, 28-3/8 inches wide, 19 inches deep and 69-3/4 inches tall, on four 5-inch heavy-duty platform casters, NSF certified and made in America. A New Age spec sheet lists a five-year guarantee against defects and a lifetime guarantee against rust and corrosion.

There is one conflict to settle before buying. WebstaurantStore says it takes 18 x 26, 13 x 18 and 14 x 18-inch pans, while a New Age catalog says its side-loading racks take only 18 x 26-inch pans. If you bake on half sheets, ask the seller or New Age before ordering.

Why we like it

  • Six-inch spacing, the most headroom here
  • All-welded aluminum, per WebstaurantStore
  • Lifetime guarantee against rust and corrosion, per a New Age spec sheet
  • NSF certified, per WebstaurantStore

Key specifications

Model 1334S
Pan size 18 x 26-inch full (half-sheet fit disputed between sources)
Pan capacity 10 full
Slot spacing 6 inches
Loading Side load
Dimensions 28.375 x 19 x 69.75 inches
Mobility Four 5-inch platform casters
NSF / made in NSF / USA (per WebstaurantStore)

Why we recommend it

It suits cake bakers and caterers who move tall or covered trays, where 3-inch spacing would crush the food.

Skip it if you mostly bake on half sheets; the pan-size question and the low tier count make the Winco or Channel 401A a better buy.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Room for tall bakes
  • Welded aluminum frame
  • Long rust guarantee, per New Age

Cons

  • Very thin Amazon listing
  • Half-sheet fit unclear
  • Wide 28-inch frame for side loading

Check price on Amazon

How to choose a sheet pan rack for a home or catering kitchen

A rack is a simple object, which is why the listing details matter so much. These are the five things a working kitchen checks first.

1. Pan size the slides are set for

Commercial racks are built around the full sheet (18 x 26 inches) and the half sheet (18 x 13 inches). A full-size rack takes one full sheet or two half sheets side by side on each pair of slides; a half-size rack such as the Channel TT307 takes only half sheets. Quarter sheets are too narrow to bridge the slides on either, so set them on a half sheet. Measure your own pans, rim to rim, before you buy: many home “cookie sheets” are not standard sizes.

2. Slot count and spacing

Three-inch spacing is the bakery standard and fits cookies, rolls and anything flat. Four inches, like the Channel 431A, clears a cooling grid or a modest rise; six inches, like the New Age 1334S, clears cakes in pans. More space means fewer tiers in the same height, so match spacing to what you actually bake.

A baker setting a tray of small pastries on a steel table in front of pan racks
Flat bakes need only a few inches between slots.

3. Where it will live

Countertop racks are about 24 inches tall, under-counter racks about 32, half-height racks about 39 and full-height racks about 70. Measure the floor, the height under any shelves, and every doorway between the box and the kitchen. Welded racks arrive in one piece; knock-down racks come flat and need assembly.

4. Loading direction

End-load racks take pans from the short side and are narrower; side-load racks take pans from the long side and are wider. Side loading is easier at chest height and on the wall; end loading suits aisles and tight kitchens.

5. Certifications and load ratings

If you bake for sale, your local health department may ask for NSF-listed equipment. Only trust NSF status where the maker or listing states it, and note that several racks here say nothing. Load ratings matter for caterers stacking heavy trays of meat or rice more than for bakers.

Rows of buns and rolls on sheet trays in a bakery display case
Standard sheet trays fit standard racks, shelves and cases.

How we chose these eight racks

We started from the brands restaurant kitchens buy from, including Winco, Vollrath, New Age, Regency, Advance Tabco, Thunder Group, Channel and Nordic Ware, and checked what each sells on Amazon US with the Amazon product API. Only racks listed as in stock made the cut. Vollrath’s “sheet pan rack” on Amazon turned out to be a dishwashing rack, Nordic Ware sells pans with grids rather than racks, and the Thunder Group and Regency racks we found were either not in stock or not listed, so none of those appear. We left out racks sold under names we could not tie to a maker. Specifications come from the Amazon listings, the makers’ spec sheets and established restaurant suppliers, named on each pick; where they disagree, we say so. We did not use these racks ourselves, and we do not quote prices, which change. We also checked the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall site and found no recalls for these racks.

We kept this page to racks. If you are still choosing the pans, start with the best baking sheets or a matched baking sheet set; if you need a wire grid to set inside a pan, see the best cooling rack.

Sheet pan rack questions, answered

What is the best sheet pan and rack setup for a home baker?

Standard 18 x 13-inch aluminum half sheets and a rack set for half sheets. The Channel TT307 on a counter or the Winco 10-tier on the floor will hold them, and the pans recommended on our best baking sheets page are sized to that standard.

Is a sheet pan with a rack the same as a sheet pan rack?

No. A “sheet pan with rack” usually means a pan sold with a wire grid that sits inside it, which our cooling rack guide covers. A sheet pan rack is the frame that holds many pans at once on slides.

Will a half-size rack hold full sheet pans?

No. Half-size racks are 13 to 15.5 inches wide inside and only take 13 x 18-inch pans. Full-size racks take either size.

Can I put a sheet pan rack in the oven?

Not these. They are for cooling, storage and transport. Oven racks for rack ovens are a different product.

How much space should be between slots?

Three inches for cookies and flat bakes, four for anything with height, six for cakes in pans or covered trays.

The rack we’d roll in on baking day

Buy the Winco 10-tier rack if you have the floor for it: it rolls, it holds twenty half sheets, and it sits at a useful height. Choose the Channel TT307 for a counter or the Channel AWM-5 for a wall if space is tight, and the Channel 401A if you are a caterer with an event to fill. Whatever you choose, check the pan size, the spacing and the doorways before you order.

A rack is only half the setup. See the best baking sheets for pans that fit it, and the best baking pan organizer for storing them in a cabinet.

And if you would rather someone else did the baking and cooking tonight, see the menu or call to order.

Call Menu Directions