A regular knife block has one big flaw: it was built for one particular set. Buy a wider santoku or a cleaver later and it won’t fit, and the slots that do fit are hard to clean. A universal knife block drops the fixed slots and takes whatever you own.
There are several ways to do that: magnets, bristles, inserts that flex, or lots of slots in different widths. Each has its own weak point, and some have been called out by independent testers. This guide covers seven blocks from Schmidt Brothers, Cook N Home, Kuhn Rikon, Kyocera, HexClad, KITCHENDAO and ENOKING, including what each one can’t do.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications, makers’ statements and the independent sources we name. We have not used these products ourselves.
Quick verdict: which universal knife block to buy
For most small to medium sets, the best universal knife block is the Schmidt Brothers Skyline: magnets and slots in a compact walnut block, from a maker whose other blocks America’s Test Kitchen recommended. For a large mixed collection, including a cleaver, buy the Cook N Home Acacia 20-Slot. If you own ceramic knives, which won’t hold on a magnet, choose the Kyocera block.

Five universal knife blocks at a glance
The five that cover most kitchens. All seven blocks are reviewed below.
| Knife block | Style | Holds | Blade limit | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Magnetic and slotted | 6 knives | Not stated | View on Amazon | |
Cook N Home Acacia 20-Slot Universal Knife BlockBest for a big mixed set
|
Multi-width slots | 20 slots | 10.5 in | View on Amazon |
Kuhn Rikon ICED Knife Block, BambooBest under cabinets
|
Removable insert | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Kyocera Stainless Universal Knife BlockBest for a small set
|
Universal slotted insert | 6 to 8 Kyocera knives | Not stated | View on Amazon |
KITCHENDAO XL Stainless Universal Knife BlockBest for shears and steel
|
Double-deck parallel slots | 12 to 15 knives | 8.9 in | View on Amazon |
Our picks for the best universal knife block
1. Schmidt Brothers Skyline Magnetic Knife Block, Walnut – Magnets and Slots in One Small Block

The most useful thing an independent tester has said about this category is that the style of the block matters more than its looks. America’s Test Kitchen reviewed universal knife blocks and recommended several, including Schmidt Brothers’ Midtown as its Best Buy and the Downtown, which it found very stable. The Skyline is a newer block from the same maker and it was not part of that review, so read that as support for the brand and the style and not for this exact block.
Schmidt calls it universal cutlery storage for up to six knives. It combines magnetic panels with slotted storage in a block about 7.5 by 3.75 by 9.5 inches, made from walnut with stainless steel. That small footprint is the reason it leads this list: it fits a counter that won’t take a big block, and a magnet doesn’t care what shape your blades are.
The listing is short. It doesn’t give a blade length limit or care instructions, and we list those as not stated. Check that your longest knife will sit comfortably before you buy. If you own more than six knives, look further down this list.
Why we like it
- Schmidt describes it as universal storage for six knives
- Magnetic panels take a mix of blade shapes
- Small footprint for a counter
- America’s Test Kitchen recommended two other Schmidt blocks
Key specifications
| Model | SBCSLBKAC |
|---|---|
| Material | Walnut and stainless steel |
| Holds | 6 knives |
| Blade limit | Not stated |
| Storage type | Magnetic and slotted |
| Size | 7.5 x 3.75 x 9.5 in |
| Care | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook with a small, mixed set of good knives who wants them out where they can be reached, on a short stretch of counter.
Skip it if you own a large set, or ceramic knives, since a magnet holds steel and capacity stops at six.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Compact
- Real wood
- Maker has independent support on related blocks
Cons
- Only six knives
- Listing gives few details
- This exact block not reviewed by the tester

2. Cook N Home Acacia 20-Slot Universal Knife Block – Slots for Almost Everything

A universal block doesn’t have to mean bristles or magnets. Cook N Home’s approach is slots in many widths, from 0.87 to 3.35 inches, on a 20-slot block that the maker says takes chef’s knives, steak knives, long knives and a cleaver. Slots run deep enough for knives and tools up to 10.5 inches, the longest limit on this page.
The wide slots are what set it apart from a fixed set’s block. If you have a cleaver or a wide santoku, a normal block often won’t take it. This one is made for that, and it will also hold shears and a sharpening steel. The block measures 10.8 by 9.2 by 4.8 inches, so give it some counter space.
We cover the bamboo version of this block in our value knife block guide. This is the acacia listing, and we kept it because it is a different wood and the clearest slotted universal block we could find from a named maker. Cook N Home says to keep the block dry and put knives in only when completely dry, and it offers a one-year replacement warranty.
Why we like it
- 20 slots in widths from 0.87 to 3.35 inches
- Knives and tools up to 10.5 inches
- Takes a cleaver, per the maker
- One-year replacement warranty
Key specifications
| Model | 02660 |
|---|---|
| Material | Acacia wood |
| Holds | 20 slots |
| Blade limit | 10.5 in |
| Storage type | Multi-width slots |
| Size | 10.8 x 9.2 x 4.8 in |
| Care | Keep dry; dry knives first |
| Warranty | 1 year replacement |
Why we recommend it
It suits someone with a large, mismatched collection, especially one that includes a cleaver or a wide knife.
Skip it if counter space is tight, since this is one of the larger blocks here.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Largest capacity
- Longest stated blade limit
- Clear warranty
Cons
- Big footprint
- Slots can’t be washed the way a removable insert can
- Slots mean blades still slide past wood
3. Kuhn Rikon ICED Knife Block, Bamboo – A Tilted Block for Under Cabinets

Kuhn Rikon designed this block with a slight tilt so it fits under kitchen cabinets while keeping handles within reach. It has bamboo side panels and clear front and back panels, so you can see which blade is which, and a removable plastic top insert that the maker says keeps the block clean.
Kuhn Rikon says it lets you store your preferred knives without being locked into a fixed set, which is the whole point of a universal block. The listing doesn’t give a capacity or a blade limit, and that’s a real gap, so check the current listing or ask the seller if you own very long knives.
One caution about this family of designs. America’s Test Kitchen did not recommend Kuhn Rikon’s Vision block, calling it dangerously top-heavy when loaded. That was a different block, and it’s why we left the Vision off this page. The ICED wasn’t in that review, and its tilt and footprint may behave differently, but load it gradually and keep the heaviest knives low until you know how it sits.
Why we like it
- A slight tilt to fit under cabinets
- Clear panels show the blades
- Removable top insert for cleaning
- Not tied to a fixed knife set, per Kuhn Rikon
Key specifications
| Model | 26751 |
|---|---|
| Material | Bamboo, clear panels, plastic insert |
| Holds | Not stated |
| Blade limit | Not stated |
| Storage type | Removable insert |
| Size | Not stated |
| Care | Remove insert to clean |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a kitchen with low upper cabinets where a tall block won’t fit under the overhang.
Skip it if you want a stated capacity and blade limit, because this listing gives neither.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Fits under cabinets by design
- See-through panels
- Cleanable insert
Cons
- Capacity not stated
- Blade limit not stated
- No independent review of this model that we could read
4. Kyocera Stainless Universal Knife Block – A Small Round Block for Few Knives

Kyocera is best known for ceramic knives, and this round block was designed around them, though the listing’s title says it fits ceramic or metal knives. The stainless body has a black band and a universal slotted top that the maker says takes many kinds of blades.
It holds six to eight Kyocera knives by the maker’s count, in a block about 8.8 by 4.3 inches. Since a ceramic knife won’t stay on a magnet, it’s a practical choice if you own some. The top lifts out for cleaning inside, which is a clear plus over a fixed wooden slot.
We cover a black round Kyocera block in our value guide. This is the stainless version under a different listing, and we include it because it’s the only ceramic-friendly choice here. It’s a small block, so don’t expect it to take a whole set of long knives.
Why we like it
- Designed with ceramic knives in mind
- Removable slotted top for cleaning
- Small round footprint
- Sold by Kyocera on the listing we checked
Key specifications
| Model | KB-U-SS |
|---|---|
| Material | Stainless steel |
| Holds | 6 to 8 Kyocera knives |
| Blade limit | Not stated |
| Storage type | Universal slotted insert |
| Size | 8.8 x 4.3 in |
| Care | Removable top for cleaning |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a small kitchen, or anyone with ceramic knives who can’t use a magnetic block.
Skip it if you own a long bread or slicing knife, because the block is short and no blade limit is stated.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Ceramic-friendly
- Easy to clean inside
- Small footprint
Cons
- Limited capacity
- Blade limit not stated
- No independent review we could read
5. HexClad 13-Inch Magnetic Knife Block, Walnut – A Taller Magnet for Long Blades

A magnetic block is universal by nature: any steel knife goes on, regardless of blade shape, and the edge never slides through a slot. HexClad’s version is a free-standing 13-inch slab of walnut on a padded stainless base, and it’s the tall magnetic choice on this page for anyone with longer knives.
HexClad says the block keeps knives from dulling the way a wooden slot can and that the padded base stays put. It also suggests the block can serve as a bookend, which at least shows how narrow it is. Knives are sold separately. The listing doesn’t state a magnet strength, a capacity or a care method, so judge those from the photos and your own set.
America’s Test Kitchen’s review does help here in general. It praised stable blocks and marked down others as tippy or top-heavy, so a stable base is what to watch for. HexClad’s block wasn’t in the review we read, so we can’t say how it would do.
Why we like it
- Tall enough at 13 inches for longer knives
- Padded stainless base, per the maker
- Walnut body
- Any steel blade shape works on a magnet
Key specifications
| Model | KWKB13-WN |
|---|---|
| Material | Walnut, stainless base |
| Holds | Not stated |
| Blade limit | 13-in block |
| Storage type | Magnetic |
| Size | 13 in tall |
| Care | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits someone with a set of good steel knives, including a long one, who wants them on show.
Skip it if you have children around who can reach the counter, because open magnetic blades are within easy reach.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Takes long blades
- Displays your knives
- Doesn’t use slots
Cons
- Blades are exposed
- Doesn’t hold ceramic knives
- Capacity not stated

6. KITCHENDAO XL Stainless Universal Knife Block – Fits Shears and a Steel Too

KITCHENDAO is an Amazon-first brand, so we keep it low on the list and avoid leaning on broad claims. Its details are at least specific: a double-deck insert with parallel slots, room for 12 to 15 knives depending on size, blades up to 8.9 inches, plus a slot for shears and one for a sharpening rod.
The top insert detaches, and only that top insert is listed as dishwasher safe. That’s the clear practical benefit over a fixed block, since crumbs and dust do get into a knife holder. Anti-slip feet are meant to hold it steady as you draw a knife.
The stainless barrel is a different block from the XL acacia in our main knife block guide. We found no independent review of this model. And given what America’s Test Kitchen found on a tall loaded block from another maker, keep an eye on how this one sits when it’s full.
Why we like it
- Stated capacity of 12 to 15 knives
- A slot each for shears and a sharpening rod
- Dishwasher-safe top insert
- Blades up to 8.9 inches
Key specifications
| Model | 7539794001 |
|---|---|
| Material | Stainless steel |
| Holds | 12 to 15 knives, plus shears and rod |
| Blade limit | 8.9 in |
| Storage type | Double-deck parallel slots |
| Size | Not stated |
| Care | Top insert dishwasher safe |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who wants everything, shears and steel included, in one block they can take apart and wash.
Skip it if you have a very long slicer, since the stated limit is under nine inches.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Good stated capacity
- Washable insert
- Holds shears and a rod
Cons
- Amazon-first brand
- No independent review we could read
- Not for knives over 8.9 inches
7. ENOKING 2-Tier Acacia Universal Knife Block – Bristles You Can Lift Out

This is the classic slotless idea: a box of plastic bristles that you push any knife into. ENOKING is another Amazon-first brand and the last pick here. It earns a place because its limits are stated clearly, and because the bristles lift out for cleaning, which is the big advantage of this design over wood slots.
ENOKING says blades should be under 3 millimeters thick, less than 3.9 inches wide and up to 8.5 inches long. Note that a heavy cleaver or a thick German chef’s knife may not meet the 3-millimeter limit, so measure first. It has two tiers, with the front section working as a steak knife holder.
Now the honest part about bristles in general. America’s Test Kitchen found the bristles on other blocks shed and nicked easily, or got bent out of shape, naming a Kapoosh and a Bodum. It did not review this one, but that’s the risk of the style. Expect to replace or clean the bristles over time, and don’t assume they will last forever.
Why we like it
- Stated blade limits on thickness, width and length
- Removable bristles for cleaning
- Two tiers, with a steak knife section
- Acacia body
Key specifications
| Model | MXPPD02 |
|---|---|
| Material | Acacia wood, plastic bristles |
| Holds | Not stated |
| Blade limit | 8.5 in long, 3 mm thick, 3.9 in wide |
| Storage type | Removable bristles |
| Size | Not stated |
| Care | Remove bristles to clean |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook with mostly thin blades who wants to push knives in anywhere without choosing a slot.
Skip it if your knives are thick, or you want a design that has held up in independent checks.
Pros and cons
Pros
- No slots to fit
- Clear blade limits
- Bristles lift out
Cons
- Bristle style has known wear problems
- Amazon-first brand
- Capacity not stated
What to look for in a slotless knife block
Know the four styles
Magnetic blocks hold steel on a flat panel and don’t touch the edge much. Bristle blocks let you push a knife in anywhere. Insert blocks use a flexible or parallel-slot top that lifts out. Multi-slot blocks are ordinary wood with many slot widths. If you are still deciding between these, our knife block vs magnet guide sets out the basic trade-off.
Stability comes first
America’s Test Kitchen’s review keeps returning to this, praising stable blocks and marking down others as tippy or top-heavy. A block with knives in it carries its weight high up. Look for a wide base and non-slip feet, and load it evenly. This matters more than the wood.
Check your longest and widest knives
Limits vary: 8.5 inches on the ENOKING, 8.9 on the KITCHENDAO and 10.5 on the Cook N Home. Several others state no limit at all. Measure your longest blade from the heel to the tip, and the width of your widest knife, before you order.
Think about cleaning
Crumbs and dust end up in any block. A removable insert or lift-out bristles can be washed, and a fixed wooden slot can’t be cleaned as well. Always put knives away clean and dry.
Match the style to your knife material
A magnet only holds steel, so ceramic knives need an insert, slot or bristle block. Very thin Japanese blades can also suffer in a tight slot, so read the blade limits. If you have the wall space, our magnetic knife strip guide covers another way of solving the same problem.

How we narrowed down these seven knife blocks
We started from Amazon listings for blocks sold without knives, in stock and sold new, and we kept the ones that a maker or listing describes as universal, slotless or flexible, plus a plain magnetic block because magnets accept any steel shape. Several well-known options, including blocks from Kapoosh, Zwilling and Zassenhaus, were showing low stock, and we didn’t count those.
Our main independent source is America’s Test Kitchen’s review of universal knife blocks. It named the 360KnifeBlock Classic as its winner and the Schmidt Brothers Midtown as its Best Buy, and it did not recommend the Kuhn Rikon Vision, calling it dangerously top-heavy. That’s why the Vision isn’t here. None of the seven blocks here appears in that review, so we’ve said where we are relying on the maker’s other blocks or the style in general. For a full-size block from that review, the 360 Knife Block and the Schmidt Downtown are in our main knife block guide.
Two picks are Amazon-first brands, kept to the bottom of the list. The Cook N Home and Kyocera are different listings of blocks in our value knife block guide, kept for the reasons given on each. We looked up each brand in CPSC’s recall database and found no recall touching these blocks; a search for Kyocera turned up only old phone battery recalls from its wireless business. We have not used these blocks and we state no prices.
Universal knife block questions, answered
What is a universal knife block?
It’s a block made to hold knives of different shapes and sizes rather than one fitted set. It might use magnets, bristles, a flexible insert or many slot widths.
Does a slotless knife block dull knives?
Makers of magnetic blocks and bristle blocks say their designs protect the edge. That’s their claim, and how you put the knife in matters as well. Slide it in carefully, and don’t drag the edge across a magnet or a slot.
Are bristle knife blocks hard to keep clean?
They can be taken apart, which helps. The trouble is more about wear. America’s Test Kitchen found bristles on a Kapoosh and a Bodum block shed, nicked or bent easily. Check them from time to time and replace them if the maker sells new ones.
Can ceramic knives go on a magnetic block?
No, ceramic doesn’t hold on a magnet. Use an insert or slot block such as the Kyocera.
How many knives will a universal block hold?
It ranges from six on the Skyline to 20 slots on the Cook N Home. A block that holds fewer knives is often easier to live with, since few home cooks reach for more than a handful.

Our final pick for the counter
For most kitchens, the Schmidt Brothers Skyline is the sensible start, and the Cook N Home takes over if you have a big mismatched collection. If you are buying blades too, our knife set guide can help you choose those. And when you’d rather not sharpen or slice anything tonight, Julia’s is on Highway 6 in Houston: call to order.