In a restaurant kitchen, knives usually live on magnetic rails or in a roll, not loose in a drawer where the edges knock together and someone reaches in blind. At home the counter block does the same job: it keeps the edge off other metal, keeps the knife you need within reach of the cutting board, and keeps the tips away from small hands. Buying the block separately, rather than the one that came with a set, lets you fit it to the knives you actually use.
There are three kinds of countertop block worth knowing: slotted wooden blocks, universal blocks that take any knife in any order, and magnetic blocks that hold blades on their faces. This guide compares nine of them from 360 Knife Block, Schmidt Brothers, Made In, Wüsthof, Zwilling, Shun and KITCHENDAO, using the specifications each maker or listing states and the published findings of America’s Test Kitchen, which we cite.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which knife block to buy
For most kitchens, the best knife block is a magnetic one, and our pick is The 360KB from 360 Knife Block: a weighted, rotating six-sided block that holds blades up to 10 inches, fits under standard upper cabinets, and was recommended by America’s Test Kitchen. If you have a big collection and a long counter, the two-sided Schmidt Brothers Downtown Magnetic Knife Block holds 16 to 18 knives. If you want a classic slotted block for a German set, choose the Wüsthof 15-Slot Beechwood Knife Block.
Below, the five standouts side by side, then all nine blocks in full.
Five knife blocks compared
Our five standout picks, one for each kind of kitchen, with the specifications each maker or listing states. All nine are reviewed in full below.
| Knife block | Best for | Type and capacity | Max blade | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
360 Knife Block The 360KB, WalnutBest overall
|
Any knives, under upper cabinets | Rotating magnetic, 12+ knives | 10 in | View on Amazon |
Schmidt Brothers Black Downtown Magnetic Knife BlockBest for big collections
|
Large collections, long counters | Two-sided magnetic, 16–18 knives | Not stated (9.5 in tall) | View on Amazon |
Wüsthof 15-Slot Beechwood Knife BlockBest slotted
|
A full German knife set | Slotted, 15 slots | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Shun Slimline 6-Slot Bamboo Knife BlockBest slim block
|
A few good knives, tight counter | Slotted, 4 knives plus steel and shears | Up to 10 in (retailer) | View on Amazon |
KITCHENDAO XL Acacia Universal Knife BlockBudget universal
|
Mixed knives on a budget | Universal slots, up to 16 knives | 8.6 in | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Capacities and blade lengths are as stated by each maker, listing or named retailer; check the listing before you buy.
Our picks for the best knife block
These nine blocks cover the three countertop types: magnetic blocks that hold any knife on their faces, slotted wooden blocks sized for a set, and a universal slotted block for mixed knives. All are sold empty. If you would rather keep the counter clear and store knives in a drawer, see our guide to the best knife block drawer; if you are still deciding between a block and a wall strip, read knife block vs magnet.
1. 360 Knife Block The 360KB, Walnut – Rotating, Weighted and Slot-Free

The 360KB is a six-sided magnetic block on a rotating base. Each side is 10 inches tall and 4 inches wide, loaded with two rows of rare-earth magnets, and the listing says it holds 10-inch blades and up to three knives per side, for a capacity of 12 or more. It is the shortest block in the 360 Knife Block range, sized to fit under upper cabinets that typically sit 18 inches above the counter.
America’s Test Kitchen’s universal knife block review named the larger 360KnifeBlock Classic its winner and recommended this shorter 360KB, noting that it was the heaviest block in its lineup. The listing puts the weight at 11 pounds and says the block is weighted on purpose so it will not tip and you can pull a knife out with one hand. ATK’s testers preferred magnetic blocks with evenly distributed magnets, which let you place knives anywhere.
Because there are no slots, there is nothing to trap crumbs or moisture: 360 Knife Block describes the slot-free design as easy to clean. The block is handmade in Washington State and carries a lifetime guarantee from the maker. The Classic that won ATK’s review was low on stock on Amazon when we checked, which is why the 360KB leads this list.
Why we like it
- Recommended by America’s Test Kitchen
- Rotates, so every side is in reach
- Holds 10-inch blades, 12 or more knives
- Weighted at 11 lb, per the listing, so it does not tip
- Handmade in Washington, lifetime guarantee
Key specifications
| Model | The 360KB (small), walnut |
|---|---|
| Type | Rotating six-sided magnetic block |
| Capacity/slots | 12+ knives, about 3 per side |
| Max blade length | 10 in |
| Material | Walnut, rare-earth magnets |
| Cleaning | Slot-free faces, wipe clean |
| Dimensions | 10 in tall, 7 in footprint; 11 lb |
Why we recommend it
It suits any kitchen with mixed knives, from a 3-inch paring knife to a 10-inch chef’s knife, and anyone who wants a block that fits under the cabinets and turns to put the right knife in front of them.
Skip it if you own a 12-inch slicer; ATK found that its longest knife stuck out of even the taller Classic, so the shorter 360KB is no better for very long blades.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Takes any knife shape
- Heavy and stable
- No slots to clean
Cons
- One of the most expensive blocks here
- Not for blades over 10 in
- Heavy to move for wiping the counter
2. Schmidt Brothers Black Downtown Magnetic Knife Block – Two Sides, 16 to 18 Knives

The Downtown is a wide, two-sided magnetic block: magnets are embedded in the wood so knives sit in any order on either face, and clear acrylic shields cover the faces to protect the wood from cuts and wear. Schmidt Brothers gives the size as 14.5 inches wide, 3.5 inches deep and 9.5 inches high, and the listing says it holds 16 to 18 knives.
America’s Test Kitchen recommended the Downtown block (it tested the acacia version) as roomy, heavy and stable, with one complaint: the acrylic guard makes knives a little harder to slide in and the block harder to clean. That is the trade-off for a shield that keeps blades from scratching the wood.
This black version is described in its listing as ebony-stained red oak, although one bullet in the same listing mentions acacia; retailers including Crate and Barrel list it as red oak veneer with stainless steel and acrylic. Schmidt Brothers says to leave at least 6 inches of clearance above the block so knives come out easily, and backs it with a lifetime warranty against defects.
Why we like it
- Recommended by America’s Test Kitchen (acacia version)
- Holds 16 to 18 knives in any order
- Two magnetic faces in a slim 3.5-inch depth
- Lifetime warranty against defects
Key specifications
| Model | SBCDTBBL3 |
|---|---|
| Type | Two-sided magnetic block with acrylic shields |
| Capacity/slots | 16–18 knives |
| Max blade length | Not stated |
| Material | Ebony-stained red oak, acrylic, steel |
| Cleaning | Wipe; shields make cleaning harder (ATK) |
| Dimensions | 14.5 x 3.5 x 9.5 in (W x D x H) |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you have a large collection, including steak knives, and a long run of counter against a backsplash. Its narrow depth takes less counter front-to-back than most slotted blocks.
Skip it if you want the easiest block to clean; ATK found the acrylic guards got in the way, and the maker does not state a maximum blade length.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Large capacity
- Stable, per ATK
- Shields protect the wood
Cons
- Shields slow insertion and cleaning
- Wide, at 14.5 in
- Listing contradicts itself on wood
3. Made In Knife Block, Italian Beechwood – Compact Magnetic Block, Made in Italy

Made In’s block is a narrow, double-sided magnetic block in Italian beechwood, handmade in northern Italy by a family workshop with more than 60 years of experience, according to the listing. It measures 11.3 inches long, 4.5 inches wide and 10.88 inches high, and the listing says each side takes one of Made In’s 4-piece knife sets, or most other blades thanks to its universal design.
America’s Test Kitchen recommended it, describing a double-sided block that stayed stable on its rubber feet despite its light weight. That is the main advantage over the heavier blocks above: it is easy to lift and move when you wipe down the counter, while still holding knives on open faces rather than in slots.
The listing does not state a maximum blade length or an exact capacity beyond the two sets. Made In’s own product page describes magnets on both sides and non-slip rubber feet. Wipe the faces with a damp cloth and let the knives dry before you put them back.
Why we like it
- Recommended by America’s Test Kitchen
- Double-sided magnetic, in a 4.5-inch-wide footprint
- Italian beechwood, made in Italy
- Non-slip rubber feet
Key specifications
| Model | ACC-KB-CNTR |
|---|---|
| Type | Double-sided magnetic block |
| Capacity/slots | A 4-piece set per side (about 8 knives) |
| Max blade length | Not stated |
| Material | Italian beechwood, magnets |
| Cleaning | Open faces, wipe clean |
| Dimensions | 11.3 x 4.5 x 10.88 in (L x W x H) |
Why we recommend it
It suits a kitchen with six to eight good knives and limited counter depth, and anyone who wants a magnetic block that is light enough to move easily.
Skip it if you have a big collection or very long knives; the capacity is modest and Made In does not give a maximum blade length.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Light and easy to move
- Stable on rubber feet, per ATK
- Made in Italy
Cons
- Modest capacity
- No stated blade limit
- Does not rotate

4. Wüsthof 15-Slot Beechwood Knife Block – Sized Slots for a Full Set

This is the traditional angled block, in natural beechwood, made to hold a full set. Wüsthof lists the slots exactly: one 2.25-inch slot for a large chef’s knife, two 2-inch slots for chef’s and Asian-style knives, three 1.5-inch slots for bread and task knives, seven 1-inch slots for steak or paring knives, plus a shears slot and a honing steel slot. The block measures 10.5 inches long, 4.5 inches wide and 8.5 inches high.
Sized slots hold each blade upright and apart, and the angled face makes the handles easy to grab. Non-skid feet stop it sliding. Because the slots are cut for blade widths rather than particular brands, most Western knives will fit, but Wüsthof does not state a maximum blade length, so check that your longest knife will not bottom out.
Wüsthof’s care advice is short and worth following with any wooden block: wipe it with a damp, lint-free cloth, and only put knives away completely dry so moisture does not build up in the wood. The grain and color vary from block to block.
Why we like it
- Fifteen slots in five sizes, plus steel and shears
- Angled face for easy reach
- Non-skid feet
- Natural beechwood
Key specifications
| Model | 2099601501 |
|---|---|
| Type | Angled slotted block |
| Capacity/slots | 15 slots: 13 knives, shears, steel |
| Max blade length | Not stated |
| Material | Beechwood |
| Cleaning | Wipe with a damp cloth; insert knives dry |
| Dimensions | 10.5 x 4.5 x 8.5 in (L x W x H) |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you own, or are building, a German set with steak knives, and you want each knife in its own place.
Skip it if you want to clean inside the slots; you cannot get into them, which is the main hygiene argument for magnetic blocks.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Room for a full set
- Slot sizes published
- Compact for 15 slots
Cons
- Slots cannot be cleaned inside
- No stated blade limit
- Fixed slot sizes
5. Zwilling 20-Slot Super Knife Block, Hardwood – Room for Everything

If your collection has outgrown its block, this is the big one. The listing describes slots running from small ones for steak knives up to large slots that take 8-inch cleavers, and Zwilling’s own page lists room for eight steak knives, shears and a steel among them. Zwilling gives the size as 9.25 inches long, 5.51 inches wide and 10.51 inches high, and lists the wood as ash.
The listing says the hardwood wipes clean and that rubber feet stop the block slipping. One detail to know before you count your knives: the listing’s title says 20 slots, its size field says 19, and one of Zwilling’s own pages calls it a 19-slot block, so plan on 19 if every slot matters.
Zwilling lists a lifetime warranty. At 10.5 inches tall it is one of the taller blocks here, so check the gap under your upper cabinets, remembering you need room to lift the longest knife out.
Why we like it
- The most slots on this list
- Large slots for 8-inch cleavers
- Rubber feet
- Lifetime warranty (listing)
Key specifications
| Model | 35101-901 |
|---|---|
| Type | Slotted block |
| Capacity/slots | 19 or 20 slots (sources differ) |
| Max blade length | Not stated; cleaver slots take 8-inch cleavers |
| Material | Ash hardwood |
| Cleaning | Wipe clean |
| Dimensions | 9.25 x 5.51 x 10.51 in (L x W x H) |
Why we recommend it
It suits cooks with a large set, a cleaver and a full row of steak knives who want everything in one place on the counter.
Skip it if you only use three or four knives; a block this size takes counter space for slots you will never fill.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Huge capacity
- Takes cleavers
- Lifetime warranty
Cons
- Slot count unclear
- Tall, at 10.5 in
- Slots cannot be cleaned inside
6. Shun 8-Slot Angled Knife Block – Slots Sized for Japanese Blades

Japanese knives are thinner and often taller at the heel than German ones, and Shun cuts its blocks to suit. This angled block in dark-stained hardwood has one 2.5-inch slot, two 2.3-inch slots, one 1.8-inch slot and two 1.3-inch slots, plus places for a honing steel and kitchen shears, according to the listing.
Cutlery and More, a Shun retailer, gives the block as 13 by 3-1/8 by 9.75 inches and lists the slot limits: the widest slot takes a knife up to 9 inches, the smallest up to 7 inches, and the steel slot a rod up to 10 inches. That covers an 8-inch chef’s knife or gyuto, a santoku or nakiri, a utility knife and a paring knife, which is the core of most Japanese collections.
Wipe it with a damp cloth and only put knives in dry.
Why we like it
- Slot widths published by Shun
- Takes knives up to 9 inches, per Cutlery and More
- Places for a honing steel and shears
- Slim, 3-1/8 inches deep
Key specifications
| Model | DM0839 |
|---|---|
| Type | Angled slotted block |
| Capacity/slots | 8: six knives, steel, shears |
| Max blade length | 9 in (retailer) |
| Material | Dark-stained hardwood |
| Cleaning | Wipe clean; insert knives dry |
| Dimensions | 13 x 3-1/8 x 9.75 in (retailer) |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you own Shun or other Japanese knives and want a block whose slots are sized for them; see our guide to the best Japanese knife if you are building that collection.
Skip it if your longest knife is a 10-inch chef’s knife or a long slicer; the widest slot takes 9 inches, according to the retailer.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Sized for Japanese blades
- Steel and shears slots
- Slim profile
Cons
- 9-inch blade limit
- Only six knife slots
- Dimensions from a retailer, not Shun

7. Shun Slimline 6-Slot Bamboo Knife Block – Four Knives in a Narrow Footprint

If you reach for the same few knives every day, this block is built around that. The listing gives two 1.3-inch slots and two 2.1-inch slots, plus a honing steel slot and a shears slot. Cutlery and More lists it at 9.5 by 3 by 8 inches, with slot limits from 10 inches in the front row down to 7.5 inches at the back.
It is made from bamboo, which the listing describes as naturally hard, easy to clean and stain-resistant. At 3 inches wide it fits beside a stove or at the end of a counter where a full-size block would be in the way, and it suits a starter kit: a chef’s knife, a santoku or utility knife, a bread knife and a paring knife.
As with any slotted block, dry knives fully before they go back in, and wipe the outside down when you clean the counter.
Why we like it
- Only 3 inches wide
- Front slots take knives up to 10 inches (retailer)
- Honing steel and shears slots
- Bamboo, easy to wipe clean
Key specifications
| Model | DM0845 |
|---|---|
| Type | Slotted block |
| Capacity/slots | 6: four knives, steel, shears |
| Max blade length | 10 in front row, 7.5 in back (retailer) |
| Material | Bamboo |
| Cleaning | Wipe clean; insert knives dry |
| Dimensions | 9.5 x 3 x 8 in (retailer) |
Why we recommend it
It suits small kitchens and cooks who own a handful of good knives and want them visible without giving up counter space.
Skip it if you have more than four knives, or steak knives to store as well.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Very narrow footprint
- Takes long blades up front
- Bamboo resists stains, per Shun
Cons
- Four knife slots only
- Back slots are short
- Slots cannot be cleaned inside
8. Wüsthof 6-Slot Studio Knife Block, Acacia – A Small Block for a Starter Set

Wüsthof’s Studio block is the small sibling of the 15-slot block, in acacia. Wüsthof lists six slots: one 2.25-inch slot for a large chef’s knife, one 2-inch slot for a chef’s or Asian-style knife, one 1.75-inch slot for an all-purpose knife, two 1-inch slots for steak or paring knives, and a slot for kitchen shears. It measures 10.5 inches long, 3.25 inches wide and 9 inches high.
That layout fits the knives a home cook actually needs: a chef’s knife for onions and chiles, a santoku or nakiri, a utility knife for tomatoes and limes, a paring knife and shears. Acacia has a darker, more varied grain than beech. The listing’s care note is simply “wipe clean”, and the block does not include knives.
One small inconsistency: the Amazon listing gives the model as 7249-5, while Wüsthof’s own block-builder page lists the 6-slot acacia Studio block under a different item number. The size and slot layout match.
Why we like it
- Six slots sized for a starter set
- Slim, 3.25 inches wide
- Acacia wood
- Shears slot included
Key specifications
| Model | 7249-5 (listing) |
|---|---|
| Type | Slotted block |
| Capacity/slots | 6: five knives, shears |
| Max blade length | Not stated |
| Material | Acacia |
| Cleaning | Wipe clean |
| Dimensions | 10.5 x 3.25 x 9 in (L x W x H) |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you are buying knives one at a time and want a block that will hold the first five without looking empty.
Skip it if you need a honing steel slot; this block has a slot for shears but not for a steel.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Right size for a starter set
- Slim footprint
- Slot sizes published
Cons
- No honing steel slot
- Model numbers differ between sources
- No stated blade limit
9. KITCHENDAO XL Acacia Universal Knife Block – Mixed Knives on a Budget

A universal block takes knives of any brand and shape in any order, which is useful when your knives came from different places. This KITCHENDAO block does it with two decks of parallel acacia slots that keep the edges apart, plus spaces for kitchen shears and a sharpening rod. The listing says it holds up to 16 knives, depending on size, and any knife up to 8.6 inches.
Ventilation openings in the base let the slots dry out, and anti-slip feet keep the block in place, according to the listing. That airflow matters: a slotted universal block cannot be washed inside, so the knives need to go in dry.
Two honest caveats. The listing gives no dimensions or warranty beyond a customer-service promise, and America’s Test Kitchen found that non-magnetic universal blocks were less durable than magnetic ones, noting that wooden grids chipped with extended use. It is a budget answer, not a lifetime one.
Why we like it
- Takes mixed knives in any order
- Up to 16 knives, depending on size
- Slots for shears and a sharpening rod
- Ventilated base and anti-slip feet
Key specifications
| Model | KD20316 |
|---|---|
| Type | Universal slotted block, two decks |
| Capacity/slots | Up to 16 knives, plus shears and rod |
| Max blade length | 8.6 in |
| Material | Acacia |
| Cleaning | Ventilated base; insert knives dry |
| Dimensions | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a kitchen with a mix of knives from different brands and an 8-inch chef’s knife as the longest blade, on a tight budget.
Skip it if you own a 10-inch chef’s knife or bread knife; the listing caps blades at 8.6 inches.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Fits mixed brands
- Large capacity for the price
- Ventilated base
Cons
- 8.6-inch blade limit
- No dimensions or warranty stated
- Wooden grids can chip, per ATK
Slotted, universal or magnetic: the three kinds of block
Slotted wooden blocks are the familiar kind: a slot for each knife, sized for a set. They are stable, inexpensive for what they hold and keep each blade separate. Their weakness is the slot itself, which you cannot clean inside, and which only fits the blade widths it was cut for.
Universal blocks take any knife in any slot. Some use parallel wooden slats, like the KITCHENDAO; others use a bundle of plastic rods or bristles. America’s Test Kitchen tested universal blocks and found the non-magnetic ones less durable: “Plastic bristles shed and bent out of shape, plastic folds got nicked easily, and wooden grids chipped with extended use.” It did not recommend the bristle blocks it tested, from Bodum and Kapoosh, citing bristles that bent and nicked and nooks that made the blocks hard to wash. That is why no bristle block made this list.
Magnetic blocks hold blades on the face of the block. ATK’s testers “had a distinct preference for magnetic blocks”, which hold knives more firmly and keep blades from scraping each other, and they preferred models with evenly distributed magnets so knives could go anywhere. They are easier to wipe clean, but they cost more and need some weight or grip to stay stable when you pull a heavy knife off.

How to choose a knife block for your counter
1. Count the knives you actually use
Many cooks reach for the same three to five knives every day. Buy a block sized for those, with a little room to grow, rather than one with twenty slots that sit empty. Our guide to the best knife set covers which knives belong in a working kit.
2. Measure your longest blade
Check the longest knife you own, usually a chef’s knife or bread knife, against the block’s stated maximum. Where a maker does not state one, compare the blade to the block’s height.
3. Measure the space under your cabinets
Upper cabinets typically sit about 18 inches above the counter, according to 360 Knife Block. Add the block’s height to your longest blade to make sure you can lift the knife out; Schmidt Brothers suggests at least 6 inches of clearance above its Downtown block.
4. Stability
America’s Test Kitchen found that heavier blocks sat more securely and were less prone to tipping, and that non-slip bases helped. If you have a heavy cleaver or chef’s knife, avoid very light blocks.
5. Cleaning
Slots cannot be cleaned inside, so always put knives away clean and completely dry. Magnetic faces wipe down; bristle inserts can be pulled out and washed but, in ATK’s testing, bent and shed.
How we chose these nine knife blocks
We started from what a working kitchen wants from knife storage: blades kept apart so edges stay sharp, the right knife within reach of the cutting board, stable footing when you pull a heavy knife out, and a surface that can be kept clean. We then narrowed the field to countertop blocks sold empty on Amazon in the United States and in stock when we checked, from makers who publish their specifications, or with specifications on the brand’s own listing or a named retailer (each review says which). We covered the three types, slotted, universal and magnetic, in sizes from a 3-inch-wide block for four knives to a 19- or 20-slot block. For how the types perform, we used America’s Test Kitchen’s review of universal knife blocks and say so wherever we quote it. We left out the bristle blocks ATK did not recommend, Kapoosh blocks that were out of stock, the 360KnifeBlock Classic and Wüsthof and Zwilling magnetic blocks that were low on stock, in-drawer blocks (covered in their own guide), and listings from sellers with no identifiable maker. We have not used these products ourselves; where we describe how a block performs, we say whose findings those are.

Knife block questions, answered
What is the best knife block for a home kitchen?
A magnetic block suits most home kitchens because it takes any knife and wipes clean. The 360KB from 360 Knife Block is our pick: weighted, rotating, rated for 10-inch blades and recommended by America’s Test Kitchen.
Do knife blocks dull knives?
A knife block does not dull a knife by itself, but dragging the edge along the bottom of a slot can. Slide knives in and out with the spine against the slot rather than the edge, or choose a magnetic block, where the blade sits flat on the face.
Are universal knife blocks worth it?
Magnetic universal blocks are, in America’s Test Kitchen’s testing. Bristle and plastic-rod universal blocks were less durable: the bristles shed and bent, and they were hard to wash by hand.
Which knife block brands are worth buying?
For magnetic blocks, 360 Knife Block, Schmidt Brothers and Made In all had blocks recommended by America’s Test Kitchen. For slotted blocks, Wüsthof, Zwilling and Shun publish their slot sizes, which makes it easy to check your knives will fit.
Is a knife block or a magnetic strip better?
A block keeps knives on the counter and needs no drilling; a wall strip saves counter space. Our comparison of knife block vs magnet goes through edges, cleaning and safety side by side.
Our pick for the counter by the cutting board
Buy The 360KB if you want one block that takes any knife, turns to put the right one in reach and fits under the cabinets. Choose the Schmidt Brothers Downtown for a big collection, the Made In block for a light, compact magnetic option, and the Wüsthof 15-slot or Zwilling block if you prefer a classic slotted block for a full set. For a few Japanese knives, the Shun blocks are sized for them. Whatever you choose, put knives away clean and dry, and keep the block next to the board where you prep.
Want the knives included? See our guide to the best knife block sets.
On a budget? See our guide to the best value knife blocks.
Related guide: Best universal knife block.
A good block protects the edge, but it does not keep it sharp; our guide to the best knife sharpener covers that, and the best chef knife is the one knife every block should hold. And if you would rather someone else did the chopping tonight, see the menu or call to order.