Igloo and Coleman are the two names most people think of when they want a hard cooler that does not cost as much as a rotomolded one. Both make classic foam-insulated ice chests, from small lunch-size coolers to 100-quart-plus chests, and both sell wheeled models for the beach and tailgates. Their mainstream models compete head to head on capacity and ice-retention claims.
This guide compares the two brands the way a buyer meets them: what each one makes best, what an independent ice-retention test found for coolers from both, handles, lids and drains, weight, warranty and recalls. Then it gives two picks from each side, all in stock and sold by Amazon.com when we checked.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: Igloo or Coleman?
On ice retention it is close to a tie, so choose by size and design, not brand. In GearLab’s 2026 cooler test, the budget Igloo and Coleman chests all kept food below 40°F for about four to five days: the Coleman Classic Series 65 Wheeled lasted 4.7 days and the Igloo Polar 120 4.6 days. Choose Coleman if you want a mid-size wheeled cooler or a lid that doubles as a seat; its Xtreme and Classic lids are rated to hold 250 pounds. Choose Igloo if you want the widest range of sizes, from small crossbody coolers to 120-quart chests with latches, and check that any 90-quart Igloo roller you already own is not on the 2025 recall list.
Igloo vs Coleman cooler, side by side
| Igloo | Coleman | |
|---|---|---|
| Best known for | A very wide range: Playmate, Polar, Marine, Latitude and MaxCold lines | Xtreme and Classic chests, many with wheels |
| GearLab food-safe days (below 40°F) | Polar 120: 4.6; Marine Ultra 70: 4.2; BMX 25: 4.0 | Classic 65 Wheeled: 4.7; Xtreme 50 Wheeled: 4.1; Classic 52: 4.0 |
| Maker ice claim (our picks) | Not stated on the Polar 120 listing; “advanced ice retention” on the Tag Along Too | Up to 5 days at up to 90°F (Xtreme 50 and Classic 70 listings) |
| Latches (our picks) | Dual snap-fit latches (Polar 120); locking lid with gasket (Tag Along Too) | No latches noted on the listings; GearLab found none on the Xtreme 50 |
| Seat-rated lid | Not stated | Up to 250 lb (both picks) |
| Warranty (our picks) | 1 year (Polar 120 listing) | 1-year limited (both listings) |
| CPSC recalls found | 2025 recalls of 90-qt Flip & Tow rolling coolers (25-136, 25-253) | No cooler recall returned for Coleman |

What each brand makes best
Igloo’s strength is range. Its Amazon listings run from the 11-quart Tag Along Too, a small cooler with a crossbody strap, through the Playmate and Trailmate lines to the 120-quart Polar and 150-quart Marine Ultra chests. If you need an unusual size, Igloo is more likely to make it.
Coleman’s strength is the mid-size chest. The Xtreme 50-quart wheeled cooler and the Classic line are its core models; their listings claim ice for up to 5 days at temperatures as high as 90°F, lids that support up to 250 pounds, and, on the Classic 70, cup holders molded into the lid. Both of our Coleman picks’ listings say made in the USA.
Ice retention: what GearLab measured
The most useful independent evidence we found is GearLab’s “The Best Coolers of 2026”, by Mallory Paige with Austin Palmer and Genaveve Bradshaw (GearLab). GearLab half-filled each cooler with ice, logged the temperature inside, and sealed them in a temperature-controlled room for more than a week. It reports “food safe days” (until the inside passed 40°F) and “cold drink days” (until it passed 50°F).
The results for the two brands overlap almost completely:
- Coleman Classic Series 65 Wheeled: 4.7 food-safe days, 5.1 cold-drink days.
- Igloo Polar 120: 4.6 food-safe days, 5.0 cold-drink days.
- Igloo Marine Ultra 70: 4.2 food-safe days, 4.6 cold-drink days.
- Coleman Xtreme 50 with Wheels: 4.1 food-safe days, 4.6 cold-drink days.
- Igloo BMX 25 and Coleman Classic Series 52: 4.0 food-safe days, 4.4 cold-drink days each.
- Coleman Snap ‘N Go 45, a collapsible model: 2.4 food-safe days, the shortest in the test.
Two lessons follow. First, brand matters less than size and design: bigger chests with more ice held cold longest, and the collapsible model trailed. Second, the makers’ “up to 5 days” claims are close to GearLab’s cold-drink numbers, but food stays below 40°F for less time. For meat, salsa and dairy, plan on about four days in a controlled test, and less in a hot car or in sun. GearLab also notes that “more expensive coolers generally offer better insulation, though there are exceptions”, so a rotomolded cooler is the step up if you need a week of ice.

Lids, latches, handles and drains
This is where you notice the difference between budget coolers. Apart from the collapsible Snap ‘N Go, none of the Igloo or Coleman coolers GearLab tested had a lid seal, and none could be locked. The Coleman Xtreme 50 had a “light lid, no seal or latches”, was “hard to open”, and had a “flimsy handle”. The Igloo Polar 120 had a “finicky lid and latches” and “leaks if tipped sideways”. The Coleman Classic 65’s handles “squished and gave out” under load.
Each brand’s listings point to different strengths. Igloo’s Polar 120 has dual snap-fit latches, a threaded drain plug that takes a garden hose, a stain- and odor-resistant liner and swing-up handles with tie-down loops. Coleman’s Xtreme 50 has a telescoping handle and wheels, a leak-resistant drain, and a lid rated for 250 pounds. The Classic 70 has swing-up handles, a 250-pound lid and cup holders.
Weight and size
Budget foam coolers are light when empty, and that is one of their real advantages over rotomolded ones. GearLab weighed the Coleman Xtreme 50 at 12.5 pounds empty and the Igloo Polar 120 at 18 pounds empty, but the Polar weighed 168.7 pounds fully loaded and “requires two people to haul”. Buy the smallest cooler that holds what you need: a half-empty cooler warms faster, and a giant one is hard to move. That is general camping sense, not a test result.
Warranty and recalls
The Coleman Xtreme 50 and Classic 70 listings both state a 1-year limited warranty, and the Igloo Polar 120 listing states a 1-year manufacturer warranty. We could not reach either maker’s website when we checked (Coleman returned an access error and Igloo a rate limit), so we could not read the full warranty terms there.
In February 2025, Igloo recalled about 1.06 million 90-quart Flip & Tow rolling coolers made before January 2024, because “the tow handle can pinch consumers’ fingertips against the cooler, posing fingertip amputation and crushing hazards” (recall 25-136) (CPSC). In May 2025 the recall was expanded by about 130,000 more U.S. units, including Latitude and MaxCold Latitude 90-quart rollers (recall 25-253) (CPSC). The remedy is a free replacement handle from Igloo. Neither of our Igloo picks is a 90-quart roller. The CPSC database lists other, older Igloo recalls too, so check any Igloo you own by model number. A search of the database for Coleman returned recalls of other Coleman products, such as cots, lanterns and grills, but no cooler.
Choose Igloo if… / Choose Coleman if…
Choose Igloo if…
- You need a very large chest (100 quarts and up) with latches and a hose-ready drain.
- You want a small crossbody cooler for drinks.
- You like having many sizes and colors to choose from.
Choose Coleman if…
- You want a 50- to 70-quart cooler with wheels or a seat-rated lid.
- You want a cooler assembled in the USA.
- You want a lighter mid-size chest for tailgates and the beach.

Our picks on each side of the Igloo vs Coleman choice
Two Igloo and two Coleman coolers, all in stock and sold by Amazon.com when we checked. Two are models that appear on our other cooler guides in different listings; we explain why below. Neither maker’s website loaded for us, so the details come from each maker’s own listings on Amazon, plus GearLab’s test where it covered the model.
1. Igloo Polar 120 Qt Cooler – Big Capacity, Tested Ice Retention

The Polar 120 is Igloo’s big chest: 120 quarts, room for 188 cans, Ultratherm insulation, swing-up handles with tie-down loops and dual snap-fit latches, according to the listing. It has a threaded drain plug that connects to a garden hose, a stain- and odor-resistant liner, and UV inhibitors in the lid.
GearLab measured 4.6 food-safe days and 5.0 cold-drink days, among the best budget results in its test. Its downsides were a “finicky lid and latches”, leaks when tipped on its side, and a loaded weight of 168.7 pounds that takes two people to carry.
This model also appears, in another listing, on our best value cooler guide. We include this gray listing because it is the Igloo that GearLab measured, and it is the best-documented large Igloo for this comparison.
Why we like it
- 4.6 food-safe days in GearLab’s test.
- 120 quarts, 188 cans.
- Hose-ready drain plug.
- 1-year manufacturer warranty, per the listing.
Key specifications
| Model | 00050442 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 120 qt (188 cans) |
| Insulation | Ultratherm |
| Ice claim | Not stated in the listing (GearLab: 4.6 food-safe days) |
| Latches | Dual snap-fit |
| Wheels | No |
| Drain | Threaded, hose-ready |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
Choose it for big family trips, fishing or a party where you need a lot of ice and drinks in one chest.
Skip it if you have to carry it alone when it is full; GearLab says it takes two people.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Strong budget ice retention (GearLab).
- Huge capacity.
- Light for its size when empty (GearLab).
Cons
- Leaks if tipped on its side (GearLab).
- Finicky lid and latches (GearLab).
- No wheels.
2. Igloo Tag Along Too 11 Qt Cooler – A Small Cooler You Wear

The Tag Along Too is a small 11-quart Igloo that holds 14 cans and carries on an extra-long woven strap, over a shoulder or as a crossbody. Its listing describes MaxCold insulation in the body and lid, a lid that locks at each side with an interior gasket to stop spills, and room to stand sports drinks and bottles upright.
It is a personal cooler for a soccer game, a beach walk or lunch on a job site. The gasket and side locks also address the leak complaints GearLab had about budget chests. No independent test of this model was read, and Igloo’s listing gives no ice-retention figure, so treat it as a day cooler.
Why we like it
- Hands-free crossbody strap.
- Gasketed lid that locks at each side.
- Holds bottles upright.
Key specifications
| Model | 00032973 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 11 qt (14 cans) |
| Insulation | MaxCold, body and lid |
| Ice claim | Not stated in the listing |
| Latches | Locks at each side, gasketed lid |
| Wheels | No |
| Drain | Not stated in the listing |
| Warranty | Limited warranty against defects (listing) |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want drinks and a lunch for one or two people, carried hands free.
Skip it for camping or multi-day trips; it is a day cooler.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Easy to carry.
- Spill-resistant lid.
- Sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing.
Cons
- Small capacity.
- No ice-retention figure or independent test found.
3. Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler – Light, Rolling and Seat-Rated

The Xtreme 50 is Coleman’s best-known wheeled cooler. Its listing claims ice for up to 5 days at temperatures as high as 90°F from a double-wall insulated lid and body, room for 84 cans, all-terrain wheels with a retractable telescoping handle, a leak-resistant drain and a lid that supports up to 250 pounds. It says the cooler is assembled in the USA, and it gives a 1-year limited warranty.
GearLab measured 4.1 food-safe days and 4.6 cold-drink days. It praised the cooler as lightweight (12.5 pounds empty), easy to lift and portable, but found it “hard to open”, with a “flimsy handle”, “no seal or latches”, and “not watertight”.
This model also appears, in a blue listing, on our best coolers guide. We include the black listing here because it is the Coleman wheeled cooler GearLab measured, and it sets the bar for a budget roller.
Why we like it
- Wheels and a telescoping handle.
- Lid supports up to 250 lb, per the listing.
- Light when empty (GearLab).
- Assembled in the USA, per the listing.
Key specifications
| Model | 3000005145 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 50 qt (84 cans) |
| Insulation | Double-wall insulated lid and body |
| Ice claim | Up to 5 days at up to 90°F (GearLab: 4.1 food-safe days) |
| Latches | None (GearLab) |
| Wheels | Yes, with telescoping handle |
| Drain | Leak-resistant drain |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
Choose it for tailgates, beach days and weekend camping where you want to roll the cooler.
Skip it if you need a sealed, latching lid; GearLab found it has neither.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Easy to move.
- Seat-rated lid.
- Sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing.
Cons
- Flimsy handle and hard to open (GearLab).
- No seal or latches (GearLab).
4. Coleman Classic 70-Quart Cooler – A Bigger Chest Without Wheels

The Classic 70 is a larger Coleman chest for families and longer weekends. Its listing claims ice for up to 5 days at temperatures as high as 90°F from an insulated lid and body, room for 100 cans, swing-up handles, a lid that supports up to 250 pounds, cup holders that fit up to a 30-ounce tumbler, a stain-resistant liner, a recessed lip that makes it easier to open, and a built-in ruler. The listing says made in the USA and gives a 1-year limited warranty.
GearLab did not test the 70-quart Classic. It tested two of its siblings: the Classic Series 52 (4.0 food-safe days) and the Classic Series 65 Wheeled (4.7 days, the best budget result in its test). Expect the 70 to land in the same range, but that is our estimate from its siblings, not a measurement.
Why we like it
- 70 quarts, 100 cans.
- Seat-rated lid with cup holders.
- Recessed lip for easier opening.
- Made in the USA, per the listing.
Key specifications
| Model | 3000006575 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 70 qt (100 cans) |
| Insulation | Insulated lid and body |
| Ice claim | Up to 5 days at up to 90°F (not independently tested) |
| Latches | Not stated in the listing |
| Wheels | No |
| Drain | Not stated in the listing |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want more room than the Xtreme 50 and can carry the cooler with two hands or two people.
Skip it if you need wheels or latches.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Large capacity in a familiar design.
- Seat-rated lid.
- Sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing.
Cons
- No independent test of this size.
- No wheels.

Igloo and Coleman cooler questions, answered
Is Igloo or Coleman better?
Neither clearly. In GearLab’s test, the best Coleman (Classic 65 Wheeled, 4.7 food-safe days) and the best Igloo (Polar 120, 4.6 days) were almost identical. Choose by size, wheels, latches and lid.
Do Igloo and Coleman coolers really keep ice for 5 days?
Close to it for cold drinks, less for food. GearLab measured about 4 to 5 days before the inside of the best budget chests passed 40°F, in a controlled room, not hot sun.
Was there an Igloo cooler recall?
Yes. In 2025 Igloo recalled more than a million 90-quart Flip & Tow rolling coolers made before January 2024 because the tow handle could pinch fingertips (CPSC recalls 25-136 and 25-253). Owners can get a free replacement handle from Igloo.
Has Coleman recalled a cooler?
A search of the CPSC recall database for Coleman returned no cooler recalls, only other Coleman products such as cots, lanterns and grills.
Is a rotomolded cooler worth it instead?
If you need ice for a week or a cooler that latches, seals and survives rough use, often yes. GearLab found that pricier coolers generally insulate better, though not always. See our best YETI cooler guide for that route.
Our last word on Igloo and Coleman
Buy the Coleman Xtreme 50 if you want a light rolling cooler with a seat-rated lid. Buy the Igloo Polar 120 if you need a lot of space and latches. For more models from both brands and others, start with our guide to the best coolers, or see our best Igloo cooler and best cooler with wheels guides.
And if you would rather skip the cooking for your next cookout, see the menu or call to order.