A flat-top griddle is the closest thing to a restaurant plancha you can put on a patio. It is where fajita steak and peppers sizzle side by side, where smash tacos get their crust, where a stack of tortillas warms in seconds and quesadillas for twelve come off in one round. Blackstone made the outdoor propane griddle a backyard staple, and it now sells more than a dozen of them, from a 17-inch tabletop to a stainless outdoor kitchen with an oven drawer.
This guide sorts Blackstone’s lineup on Amazon by who it suits. For each griddle we list the cooking surface, burners and heat output, hood, portability, weight and warranty as Blackstone or the Amazon listing states them, and we write “Not stated” where neither gives a figure. Blackstone often does not publish BTU numbers, and we say so rather than guess.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which Blackstone griddle to buy
For most households, the best Blackstone griddle is the Original 36-inch Griddle with Hood: 768 square inches over four independent zones, push-button ignition and a hood to protect the plate. For a smaller patio, the 28-inch XL with Hood keeps three zones in a lighter cart. The Original 28-inch Omnivore is the budget pick, the 22-inch Tabletop is the one for tailgates, and the E-Series 22-inch Electric is for cooks without propane.
The table compares the five picks we would steer most people toward, one for each kind of cook. All nine griddles are reviewed in full after it.
Five Blackstone griddles side by side
Size, burners and hood for our five standout picks, as Blackstone or the Amazon listing states them.
| Blackstone griddle | Best for | Surface & burners | Hood & weight | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Blackstone Original 36-inch Griddle with HoodBest overall
|
Cooking for a crowd | 768 sq in; 4 burners | Built-in hood; 135 lb | View on Amazon |
Blackstone 28-inch XL Omnivore Griddle with HoodBest mid-size
|
Families of four to six | 3 heat zones | Built-in hood; 110 lb | View on Amazon |
Blackstone Original 28-inch Omnivore GriddleBudget pick
|
A first full-size flat top | 517 sq in; 34,000 BTU | No hood; cart | View on Amazon |
Blackstone 22-inch Tabletop GriddleBest tabletop
|
Tailgates and camping | 361 sq in; 2 burners | Tabletop; no hood | View on Amazon |
Blackstone E-Series 22-inch Electric GriddleBest electric
|
Apartments, no propane | 312 sq in; 1,600 W | Glass hood; 30.8 lb | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Specifications as stated by Blackstone or the Amazon listing; check the listing before you buy.
Our picks for the best Blackstone griddle
These nine cover Blackstone’s real choices: 36, 28, 22, 20 and 17 inches; open carts, hoods and cabinets; steel plates that need seasoning and coated plates that do not; propane and electric. Four of them also appear in our general griddle guides, and we note how they compare.
1. Blackstone Original 36-inch Griddle with Hood – Four Zones Under One Hood

If you want one Blackstone and you have the patio for it, this is the one. The 36-inch Original with Hood (model 2322) puts an Omnivore griddle plate with built-in wind guards over four independently controlled burners, and the listing gives 768 square inches of cooking surface, enough for 30 burgers at once. For a Mexican cookout that means fajita steak on the hottest zone, peppers and onions next to it, a row of tortillas warming on a low zone and quesadillas at the end, all at the same time.
Ignition is an electric push button. Two folding side shelves and an extendable shelf give prep space, and Blackstone’s BAR accessory rail and hooks keep spatulas and squeeze bottles close. Grease goes to the back through Blackstone’s rear grease management system into a cup. The built-in hood protects the plate between cooks, which matters for a seasoned steel surface that rusts if it sits wet.
Blackstone lists it at 64.5 inches wide and 135 pounds, on caster wheels, with a one-year manufacturer’s warranty. Neither Blackstone’s page nor the listing gives a BTU figure. It is also the top pick in our guide to the best outdoor griddle, which compares it with flat tops from Camp Chef, Royal Gourmet and others.
Why we like it
- 768 sq in over four independent zones
- Built-in hood
- Push-button ignition
- Rear grease management
- Folding and extendable side shelves
Key specifications
| Model | 2322 |
|---|---|
| Cooking surface | 768 sq in, 36-inch Omnivore plate |
| Burners/BTU | 4 burners; BTU not stated |
| Hood/lid | Built-in hood |
| Portability | Cart on caster wheels |
| Weight | 135 lb (Blackstone) |
| Warranty | 1 year |
| Best for | Cooking for a crowd at home |
Why we recommend it
It suits families and hosts who cook fajitas, smash tacos and breakfast for six or more and want the plate covered between uses.
Skip it if you have a small balcony or plan to travel with it. It is a full-size cart.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Four heat zones
- Hood included
- Room for 30 burgers
Cons
- Large and heavy
- BTU not stated
- One-year warranty
2. Blackstone 28-inch XL Omnivore Griddle with Hood – Three Zones on a Smaller Cart

The 28-inch XL (model 2403) is the size most households actually need. It has three independently controlled heat zones, according to the listing, which is one more than Blackstone’s other 28-inch griddles, so you can run a hot zone for carne asada, a medium zone for onions and a low zone for tortillas.
Blackstone lists capacity at 25 burgers and the cart at 59.25 inches wide and 110 pounds, about five inches narrower and 25 pounds lighter than the Original 36. It has a built-in hood, electric ignition, dual side shelves with tool hooks, a magnetic toolbar and a paper towel holder, plus the rear grease management system. It rolls on two fixed casters.
Our guide to the best outdoor griddle picks the older 28-inch Omnivore with Hood (model 1883), which has two zones and counter-height shelves; the XL is Blackstone’s newer three-zone version. Neither gives a BTU figure. Warranty is one year.
Why we like it
- Three independent heat zones
- Built-in hood
- Magnetic toolbar and tool hooks
- 110 lb, 59.25 in wide (Blackstone)
Key specifications
| Model | 2403B |
|---|---|
| Cooking surface | 28-inch XL Omnivore plate (25-burger capacity, Blackstone) |
| Burners/BTU | 3 zones; BTU not stated |
| Hood/lid | Built-in hood |
| Portability | Cart on two fixed casters |
| Weight | 110 lb (Blackstone) |
| Warranty | 1 year |
| Best for | Families of four to six |
Why we recommend it
It suits a family patio where a 36-inch griddle would crowd the space, but two zones would feel limiting.
Skip it if you cook for large parties often. The 36-inch models hold about 20 percent more.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Three zones in a 28-inch size
- Hood and electric ignition
- Lighter than the 36s
Cons
- BTU not stated
- Cooking area in square inches not stated

3. Blackstone Original 28-inch Omnivore Griddle – Two Burners, Simple Cart

The 28-inch Original (model 1517) is the plainest full-size Blackstone: a 517-square-inch Omnivore plate over two burners on a simple cart with a bottom shelf, two side shelves, a side handle and two caster wheels. Blackstone’s page calls it a 34,000 BTU griddle, one of the few Blackstone models with a stated heat output.
Two zones are enough for most Mexican flat-top cooking: meat on the hot side, vegetables and tortillas on the cooler side. The listing names quesadillas and steak among the things it handles, and it has the same rear grease management as the more expensive models.
There is no hood. Buy a cover, or Blackstone’s separate 28-inch hood, to keep the steel dry. Weight is not stated in the listing, and the warranty is one year limited.
Why we like it
- 517 sq in Omnivore plate
- 34,000 BTU over two burners (Blackstone)
- Bottom shelf and two side shelves
- Rear grease management
Key specifications
| Model | 1517 |
|---|---|
| Cooking surface | 517 sq in, 28-inch Omnivore plate |
| Burners/BTU | 2 burners, 34,000 BTU (Blackstone) |
| Hood/lid | None (cover or hood sold separately) |
| Portability | Cart on two casters |
| Weight | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1-year limited |
| Best for | A first full-size flat top |
Why we recommend it
It suits a first griddle for a small family, or anyone who wants a full-size flat top without paying for a hood and extras.
Skip it if you leave the griddle uncovered outside. With no hood, the plate needs a cover to stay rust-free.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Stated BTU
- Simple and roomy
- Lower cost of entry
Cons
- No hood
- Two zones only
- Weight not stated
4. Blackstone Iron Forged 36-inch Griddle with Cabinet – Hides the Propane Tank

The Iron Forged 36 (model 2309) has the same 768-square-inch, four-zone Omnivore griddle as the Original 36, but it sits on an enclosed cabinet instead of an open cart. Blackstone describes a propane storage cabinet, so the tank lives out of sight and out of the weather, and a reinforced X-brace hood over the plate.
An extendable side shelf, dual folding side shelves and the BAR accessory system give the same prep space as the Original. The listing says the Omnivore plate is designed to recover heat faster, use less fuel to hold high heat and resist warping, and the patented rear grease system sends grease to a cup at the back.
Choose it over the Original 36 for looks and storage, not for cooking: the plate and burner count are the same. Neither Blackstone nor the listing states a BTU figure, and the warranty is one year.
Why we like it
- 768 sq in, four independent burners
- Enclosed cabinet for the propane tank
- Reinforced X-brace hood
- Extendable side shelf and BAR system
Key specifications
| Model | 2309 |
|---|---|
| Cooking surface | 768 sq in, 36-inch Omnivore plate |
| Burners/BTU | 4 burners; BTU not stated |
| Hood/lid | Reinforced X-brace hood |
| Portability | Cabinet cart |
| Weight | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1 year |
| Best for | A permanent patio setup |
Why we recommend it
It suits a patio griddle that stays put, where a hidden tank and a closed cabinet keep the setup tidy.
Skip it if you only care about cooking. The Original 36 has the same plate and burners.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Hidden tank storage
- Same four-zone plate as the Original
- Sturdy hood
Cons
- Weight not stated
- Costs more for the same cook surface
- One-year warranty
5. Blackstone Select 36-inch Griddle Airfryer Combo – Griddle Plus Convection Drawer

The Select 36 (model 6006) is Blackstone’s outdoor-kitchen griddle: a 36-inch Omnivore plate on a 304 stainless steel cart with a built-in convection oven drawer. Blackstone calls it an air fryer combo; the drawer heats to 500°F and is run from a touchscreen. For a taco night, that is a place to crisp papas or roast jalapeños while the griddle handles the meat and tortillas.
Blackstone’s page lists electric auto ignition, lift-and-lock side tables that give 1,500 square inches of prep space, an extra-large storage drawer and six accessory hangers. It gives the size as 72 inches wide and the weight as 247 pounds.
The Amazon listing is thin: it does not state the burner count, BTU or cooking area, and the brand title on Amazon is just “Select 36″ Griddle Airfryer Combo.” Blackstone’s own page confirms the model and gives a griddle capacity the same as its 36-inch Original (30 burgers). Blackstone’s 36-inch and 28-inch steel-cart airfryer combos were showing very low stock when we checked.
Why we like it
- Convection oven drawer to 500°F
- 304 stainless steel build
- 1,500 sq in of prep space (Blackstone)
- Electric auto ignition
Key specifications
| Model | 6006 |
|---|---|
| Cooking surface | 36-inch Omnivore plate (30-burger capacity, Blackstone) |
| Burners/BTU | Not stated |
| Hood/lid | Not stated |
| Portability | Cart, 247 lb |
| Weight | 247 lb (Blackstone) |
| Warranty | 1 year (Blackstone) |
| Best for | An outdoor kitchen with an oven |
Why we recommend it
It suits someone building an outdoor kitchen who wants a griddle, an oven drawer and storage in one stainless unit.
Skip it if you want burner and BTU figures in writing before you buy; the listing gives neither.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Griddle and oven in one
- Stainless cart
- Huge prep space
Cons
- Very heavy
- Sparse Amazon listing
- Expensive class

6. Blackstone 22-inch Tabletop Griddle – Two Zones for the Tailgate

The 22-inch tabletop (model 1666) is the Blackstone to take to a tailgate, campsite or beach parking lot. The listing gives 361 square inches of rolled steel cooking surface, room for 14 burgers, 10 pancakes or 60 hot dogs, over two independently controlled H-shaped burners. That is enough for smash tacos for a group: smash the meat on the hot side, warm and griddle the tortillas on the other.
It has a stainless steel faceplate, a powder-coated steel body and Blackstone’s rear grease management. The listing does not state a BTU figure or weight; Blackstone’s 22-inch travel bundle (model 2427) lists 24,000 BTU for its two H-burners, but that is a different model number, so we do not apply it here.
This model has no hood. Blackstone’s 22-inch with a hood (model 1813) and the 22-inch with Flexfold legs (model 2350) are both reviewed in our guide to the best portable outdoor griddle. Warranty is one year.
Why we like it
- 361 sq in, room for 14 burgers
- Two independent H-burners
- Stainless faceplate
- Rear grease management
Key specifications
| Model | 1666 |
|---|---|
| Cooking surface | 361 sq in, 22-inch rolled steel |
| Burners/BTU | 2 H-burners; BTU not stated |
| Hood/lid | None |
| Portability | Tabletop |
| Weight | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1 year |
| Best for | Tailgates and camping |
Why we recommend it
It suits tailgaters and campers who want a real two-zone flat top that fits on a folding table.
Skip it if you want a lid for travel. The 22-inch with hood (model 1813) protects the plate on the road.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Two zones in a portable size
- Big for a tabletop
- Stainless front
Cons
- No hood
- BTU and weight not stated
7. Blackstone Original 17-inch Omnivore Tabletop Griddle – The Smallest Steel Blackstone

The 17-inch (model 1971) is the smallest steel-plate Blackstone. The listing gives 267 square inches of cooking space, enough for two to four people, over a single H-style burner with push-and-turn piezo ignition. It fits a picnic table, a truck bed or a small apartment patio where grills are allowed.
It sits on non-slip feet, has a stainless front plate and a powder-coated steel body, and uses the same rear grease management as the big griddles. One burner means one heat zone, so cook in stages: meat first, then push it to the edge and do onions and tortillas in the middle.
It is also a pick in our guide to the best portable outdoor griddle. The listing does not state BTU, weight or a hood; it has none. Warranty is one year limited.
Why we like it
- 267 sq in for two to four people
- Piezo ignition
- Non-slip feet
- Rear grease management
Key specifications
| Model | 1971 |
|---|---|
| Cooking surface | 267 sq in, 17-inch Omnivore plate |
| Burners/BTU | 1 H-burner; BTU not stated |
| Hood/lid | None |
| Portability | Tabletop |
| Weight | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1-year limited |
| Best for | Couples and small camps |
Why we recommend it
It suits couples, small campsites and anyone who wants a flat top for breakfast tacos and quesadillas without a big footprint.
Skip it if you cook for a group. One zone and 267 square inches mean cooking in rounds.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Smallest steel Blackstone
- Simple to run
- Packs small
Cons
- One heat zone
- No hood
8. Blackstone 20 x 14-inch Camping Griddle – Packs Like a Briefcase

The 20-inch camping griddle (model 2363) is a different idea from the steel tabletops: a ceramic titanium-coated, non-stick plate inside a briefcase-style case with latches and a carry handle. Blackstone lists it at 21 by 7.25 by 16.75 inches and 26 pounds, with dual heat zones, a latching hood and adjustable leveling feet for uneven campsites and beaches.
The coated plate needs no seasoning and releases eggs and tortillas easily, but it is not compatible with metal utensils or Blackstone’s orange scrub pads, according to the listing, so pack silicone or wood tools. A stowaway rear grease cup keeps the mess contained, and it can run off a Propane-Chain setup with an adapter hose sold separately.
The listing does not state BTU or a cooking area in square inches. Warranty is one year limited.
Why we like it
- Briefcase design with latches, 26 lb (Blackstone)
- Non-stick coated plate, no seasoning
- Dual heat zones
- Adjustable leveling feet
Key specifications
| Model | 2363 |
|---|---|
| Cooking surface | 20 x 14-inch coated plate |
| Burners/BTU | Dual zones; BTU not stated |
| Hood/lid | Latching hood |
| Portability | Briefcase, carry handle |
| Weight | 26 lb (Blackstone) |
| Warranty | 1-year limited |
| Best for | Campsites and beaches |
Why we recommend it
It suits campers who want a flat top that closes up clean and levels on rough ground, and who prefer a non-stick plate to seasoning steel.
Skip it if you cook with metal spatulas. The coating is not compatible with them.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Closes and latches
- Leveling feet
- No seasoning
Cons
- No metal utensils
- Coating can wear over time
- BTU not stated
9. Blackstone E-Series 22-inch Electric Griddle – No Propane, Two Zones

The E-Series 22-inch (model 8001) is the Blackstone for people who cannot use propane: apartment dwellers, indoor cooks and anyone with an outlet but no tank. It plugs into a standard 120-volt outlet and draws 1,600 watts across two independently controlled heat zones, set with an EZ-Touch dial and read on an LCD display.
The listing gives 312 square inches of ceramic titanium-coated cooking area, and Blackstone lists the unit at 30.8 pounds. The glass hood rotates and lifts off, so you can cook teppanyaki style with it removed, and the rear grease management works like the gas models. Like other coated plates, it is not compatible with metal utensils.
Electric heat will not match a propane griddle for searing a big batch, but for quesadillas, breakfast tacos and warming tortillas it is a practical choice. Warranty is one year.
Why we like it
- Runs on 120 V, 1,600 W
- Two heat zones with LCD display
- Rotate-and-remove glass hood
- 312 sq in coated plate
Key specifications
| Model | 8001 |
|---|---|
| Cooking surface | 312 sq in, ceramic titanium coated |
| Burners/BTU | Electric, 1,600 W, 2 zones |
| Hood/lid | Removable glass hood |
| Portability | Tabletop, needs an outlet |
| Weight | 30.8 lb (Blackstone) |
| Warranty | 1 year |
| Best for | Apartments and indoor use |
Why we recommend it
It suits apartment cooks and anyone who wants a Blackstone-style flat top without a propane tank.
Skip it if you want to sear for a crowd outdoors. 1,600 watts is gentler than propane burners.
Pros and cons
Pros
- No propane needed
- Two zones
- Hood removes
Cons
- Less heat than gas
- No metal utensils
- Needs an outlet
How to choose the right Blackstone size and model
Every Blackstone does the same basic job: a flat steel or coated plate over gas burners or electric elements. Five things decide which one fits your cooking.
1. Size: 36, 28, 22 or 17 inches
Blackstone’s own capacity figures are a good guide: 30 burgers on a 36-inch, 25 on the 28-inch XL, and the 22-inch tabletop listing gives 14. For fajitas for a family of four, a 28-inch is plenty; for a party where meat, vegetables and tortillas all need room at once, a 36-inch saves you cooking in rounds.
2. Number of heat zones
Each burner is a heat zone. Two zones handle the basic split of meat and tortillas; three or four let you hold a sear zone, a medium zone for onions and peppers and a warming zone. The 36-inch models have four, the 28-inch XL three, most tabletops two, and the 17-inch one.

3. Hood or no hood
A hood protects the plate from rain and debris between cooks, which matters because seasoned steel rusts if it stays wet. It also lets you cover food to melt cheese on quesadillas and smash tacos. Models without a hood, like the 28-inch Original and 22-inch tabletop, need a cover.
4. Seasoned steel or coated plate
Blackstone’s steel Omnivore plates need seasoning and oiling but take metal spatulas, scrapers and high heat. The coated plates on the camping griddle and E-Series are non-stick from the start, but Blackstone says they are not compatible with metal utensils. Restaurant flat tops are steel, and for smashing and scraping, steel is the better surface.
5. Propane, natural gas or electric
Most Blackstones run on propane. Blackstone sells natural gas versions of some 36-inch models on its own site, and the E-Series runs on a household outlet. Pick the fuel you can actually use where you cook.
Blackstone griddle reviews: what to know before buying
We read Blackstone’s product pages and the Amazon listings for each model rather than relying on star counts. A few things stand out across the lineup. Blackstone’s standard warranty is one year on most outdoor cooking equipment, according to the listings, which is shorter than many gas grills. BTU figures are missing for most current models, so compare by burner count and Blackstone’s capacity numbers instead. And steel plates need care: Blackstone’s advice is to season the plate, then clean with minimal water and finish with a thin layer of oil.
We also searched the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall database for Blackstone griddles and found no recall listed for Blackstone or its maker, North Atlantic Imports. Recalls change, so check cpsc.gov with your model number.
Propane and fire safety on a flat top
A griddle is an outdoor gas appliance. The U.S. Fire Administration’s outdoor fire safety guidance says to use propane grills only outside, because indoor use can cause a fire or carbon monoxide poisoning, to keep them well away from siding and deck railings and out from under eaves and overhanging branches, and not to store or use a grill on a porch or balcony. The Consumer Product Safety Commission’s pre-grilling safety check says to inspect hoses for cracking, brittleness, holes and leaks, and to test connections with soapy water: bubbles mean a leak. If tightening does not stop it, close the gas and have the unit repaired by a qualified professional.
Grease is the other hazard on a flat top. Empty the rear grease cup after every cook and keep the channel clear, so hot fat has somewhere to go besides the burners.

How we chose these nine Blackstone griddles
We started from what a restaurant kitchen asks of a flat top: even heat across separate zones, enough room to cook meat, vegetables and tortillas together, a grease system that keeps up and a plate that survives scraping. We then went through Blackstone’s griddles sold on Amazon in the United States, kept only listings that showed in stock when we checked, and confirmed each specification on Blackstone’s own product page or the Amazon listing, writing “Not stated” where neither gave a figure. We left out models that were showing very low stock or back-ordered when we checked, including Blackstone’s 36-inch and 28-inch steel-cart airfryer combos and the 12-inch camping griddle with side burner. We have not cooked on these griddles for this guide, and we did not consult outside equipment reviews for it.
Blackstone griddle questions, answered
What is the best Blackstone griddle on the market?
For most people, the Original 36-inch with Hood: four zones, 768 square inches and a hood. The Iron Forged 36 has the same plate in a cabinet, and the Select 36 adds a stainless cart and an oven drawer.
Which Blackstone griddle is the best to buy for a small family?
The 28-inch XL with Hood if you want a cart with three zones; the 22-inch Tabletop if you want something you can also take to a tailgate.
Is a 28-inch or 36-inch Blackstone better?
A 36-inch fits about 30 burgers, a 28-inch XL about 25, according to Blackstone. Choose the 36 if you regularly cook for more than six; choose the 28 for a smaller patio and less propane to heat it.
Can you cook fajitas and tortillas on a Blackstone?
Yes, it is one of the best uses for it. Run the meat on the hottest zone, peppers and onions next to it, and warm corn or flour tortillas on a low zone for a few seconds a side. Our guide on how to eat fajitas covers building them at the table.
Do Blackstone griddles need seasoning?
The steel Omnivore plates do. The ceramic titanium-coated plates on the E-Series and camping griddle do not, but they need non-metal utensils.
What do I need besides the griddle?
Two good spatulas, a scraper, squeeze bottles for oil and water, a cover if your model has no hood, and propane. Our guide to the best outdoor griddle accessories covers the tools.
Our final pick from the Blackstone lineup
Buy the Original 36-inch Griddle with Hood if you cook for a crowd and have the space. Choose the 28-inch XL for a smaller patio, the 28-inch Original to save money, the 22-inch Tabletop for tailgates, the camping griddle to pack small, and the E-Series if propane is not an option. If you want to compare Blackstone with Camp Chef, Royal Gourmet and other brands, see our guides to the best outdoor griddle and the best portable outdoor griddle.
More grill guides: portable grills, indoor/outdoor electric grills.
Keeping it out of the weather? See our guide to the best griddle covers.
For what goes on the griddle, start with what barbacoa is and how to serve it in tacos. Or let us do the cooking: see the menu or call to order.