Grilling & Outdoor Cooking

Our Guide to the Best Stainless Gas Grill

Stainless gas grills compared on steel grade, gauge, burners, cooking area, grates and warranty, from 304 built-in heads to freestanding carts.

A stainless steel gas grill built into an outdoor kitchen counter with stainless cabinet doors and drawers beside a house
A stainless steel grill built into a backyard outdoor kitchen.

A restaurant line is stainless for a reason: it takes heat, grease, water and scrubbing every day and still wipes clean. A stainless gas grill promises the same at home, but the word covers a lot of ground. On one grill it means a stainless lid on a painted cart; on another it means 304-grade burners, body and grates that are built to live outside for decades.

This guide picks stainless gas grills by how much of the grill is actually stainless and how clearly the maker says so. It covers built-in heads from Blaze, Napoleon, Lion, Coyote and Summerset, and freestanding carts from Monument and Royal Gourmet, all in stock on Amazon when we checked. For each we give the stainless grade where it is stated, burners, BTU, cooking area, grates and warranty.

Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.

Quick verdict: which stainless gas grill to buy

For an outdoor kitchen, the best stainless gas grill is the Blaze Premium LTE+ 32-Inch: cast 304 stainless burners, a double-lined hood, zone separators and a lifetime warranty that names every stainless part. For heavy stainless grates and a rotisserie in the box, choose the Napoleon Built-In 700 Series; for crowds, the Lion L90000. With no island, the Monument 6+1 is the most stainless freestanding cart we found, and the Royal Gourmet GA5401T is the entry-level pick.

The table compares the five picks we would steer most stainless buyers toward. All seven grills are reviewed in full after it.

Five stainless gas grills side by side

Stainless grade, burners and size for our five standout stainless gas grills, as each maker, retailer or Amazon listing states them.

Grill Best for Stainless Burners & size Buy on Amazon
Most outdoor kitchens 304 stainless; lifetime warranty 4 burners, rear infrared View on Amazon
Stainless grates 9 mm stainless rods; lifetime 66,000 BTU, rotisserie kit View on Amazon
Big cookouts 16-gauge 304 802 sq in main, 5 burners View on Amazon
Patios with no island 304 burners, stainless grates 900 sq in, 6+1 burners View on Amazon
A first stainless grill Stainless lid and body Sear + side burner, 602 sq in View on Amazon

Product images from Amazon. Specifications as stated by each maker, retailer spec sheet or Amazon listing; check the listing before you buy.

Our picks for the best stainless gas grill

The first five are built-in grill heads for an island; the last two are freestanding carts. We found only seven stainless gas grills that were in stock and documented well enough to recommend, so this list stops at seven rather than padding it. Each review says who the grill suits and gives one honest reason to skip it.

1. Blaze Premium LTE+ 32-Inch 4-Burner Propane Grill – 304 Steel and a Lifetime Warranty

Best overallBlaze Premium LTE+ 32-Inch 4-Burner Built-In Propane Gas Grill

Blaze’s Premium LTE+ is a 32-inch built-in grill head that is stainless where it counts: retailer listings describe four commercial-quality cast 304 stainless steel burners of 14,000 BTU each and a cast 304 stainless body, and the Amazon listing describes a double-lined stainless hood that protects the outer layer from heat discoloration. That last detail matters on a stainless grill, because a single-wall hood is what turns gold and blue first.

The cooking surface uses Blaze’s triangle-shaped searing rods, and removable heat zone separators split the firebox so one side can run hot for carne asada while the other stays low for chicken thighs or cebollitas. A rear infrared burner handles rotisserie cooking, and the listing adds illuminated controls, interior lighting, a hood assist and a removable warming rack. One retailer lists 715 square inches of cooking space.

The warranty is the strongest reason to buy it. The listing says Blaze covers the control valves, cooking grids, stainless housing, stainless burners, flame tamers, heat zone separators and all other stainless components against manufacturing defects for life. For the island, the listing gives 32.5 inches wide by 25.75 deep by 21.25 tall, a cutout of 30 5/8 by 21 1/4 by 8 1/2 inches, and a weight of 114 pounds.

Why we like it

  • Cast 304 stainless burners (retailer listings)
  • Double-lined stainless hood
  • Heat zone separators for two-zone cooking
  • Lifetime warranty on stainless parts and valves (listing)

Key specifications

Model BLZ-4LTE3-LP
Type Built-in grill head
Stainless grade 304 (retailer listings)
Burners 4 cast stainless, plus rear infrared
BTU 56,000 main (4 x 14,000)
Cooking area About 715 sq in (retailer)
Grates Triangle searing rods
Warranty Lifetime (listing)

Why we recommend it

It suits an outdoor kitchen that wants a stainless grill built to stay outside for years, from a maker that spells out what its lifetime warranty covers, with real zone control for a Mexican-style mixed grill.

Skip it if you have no island to build it into; it is a grill head, made to drop into a counter.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 304 stainless burners and body
  • Clear lifetime warranty
  • Zone separators and rear burner

Cons

  • Needs an island
  • Rear burner BTU not stated
  • Propane only; natural gas is a separate model

Check price on Amazon

2. Napoleon Built-In 700 Series 32-Inch Propane Grill – Thick Stainless Grids, Rotisserie Included

Best gratesNapoleon Built-In 700 Series 32" Propane Grill with Infrared Rear Burner

Napoleon’s Built-In 700 Series is the grill to look at if the grates are what you care about. The listing describes 9 mm (0.354-inch) stainless steel cooking grids with a wave shape that, the listing says, spreads heat evenly, keeps small food from falling through and leaves strong sear marks, and it calls them virtually maintenance free. Thick stainless rods do not need seasoning or a coating, so there is nothing to chip off.

Four stainless main burners and an infrared rear burner add up to 66,000 BTU, according to the listing, over a main grilling area of 29.5 by 18 inches; Napoleon’s page gives 786 square inches in total. A commercial-grade rotisserie kit comes in the box, which makes this the simplest way here to spit-roast a whole chicken or a pork shoulder for tacos al pastor-style slicing.

Installation details are generous: integrated trim, longer electrical wiring, an extra-long flex line and a 2-inch tolerance on the cutout, according to the listing. Ignition is battery-free and lights each burner with a jet of flame. The listing’s warranty field reads lifetime bumper to bumper, and Napoleon’s own page lists a lifetime limited warranty.

Why we like it

  • 9 mm stainless wave grids (listing)
  • Infrared rear burner with rotisserie kit included
  • 2-inch cutout tolerance eases installation
  • Lifetime warranty (listing and Napoleon)

Key specifications

Model BIG32RBPSS-1
Type Built-in grill head
Stainless grade Not stated in the listing
Burners 4 stainless, plus infrared rear
BTU 66,000 total
Cooking area 29.5 x 18 in main; 786 sq in total (Napoleon)
Grates 9 mm stainless wave rods
Warranty Lifetime (listing); lifetime limited (Napoleon)

Why we recommend it

Choose it if you want stainless grates that will never need re-coating and a rotisserie ready on day one, in a head that is forgiving to install.

Skip it if you want the stainless grade spelled out; the listing does not name it, while Blaze, Lion and Coyote do.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Heavy stainless grids
  • Rotisserie kit in the box
  • Installer-friendly

Cons

  • Steel grade not stated
  • Needs an island
  • Rear burner BTU not broken out

Check price on Amazon

A stainless steel gas grill on a cart standing on a mat on a covered front porch
A stainless steel gas grill on a covered porch.

3. Lion L90000 40-Inch 5-Burner Propane Grill – 16-Gauge 304 and 802 Square Inches

Best for big cookoutsLion L90000 40-Inch Built-in Propane Gas Grill with Rear Infrared Burner

For a crowd, Lion’s L90000 is the biggest grill here. The listing gives 802 square inches of main grilling area on a 40-inch head, built from commercial-grade 16-gauge 304 stainless steel, the heaviest gauge any listing in this guide states. Retailers list 1,030 square inches in total with the warming rack.

Retailer specifications give five cast 304 stainless steel main burners at 75,000 BTU in all, plus a 15,000 BTU infrared rotisserie burner, and stainless steel cooking grates. The listing includes a geared rotisserie motor, a smoker box and interior lighting, so you can run a spit, add wood smoke and cook after dark without buying extras.

Five burners give you room for the full taquería spread: steak and chorizo over high heat, chicken at medium, peppers and onions at low, and one burner off for warming tortillas. The listing gives the head as 40 by 24.25 by 21.5 inches, a cutout of 38.5 by 21.5 by 9.625 inches and a weight of 200 pounds. It does not state the warranty.

Why we like it

  • 16-gauge 304 stainless (listing)
  • 802 sq in main grilling area
  • Rear infrared burner and rotisserie motor included
  • Smoker box and interior lights included

Key specifications

Model L90000 (L90814)
Type Built-in grill head
Stainless grade 304, 16-gauge (listing)
Burners 5 cast stainless, plus infrared rear
BTU 75,000 main; 15,000 rear (retailers)
Cooking area 802 sq in main; 1,030 total (retailers)
Grates Stainless steel (retailers)
Warranty Not stated in the listing

Why we recommend it

It suits a household that feeds twenty at a time and has the island space for a 40-inch head, and wants rotisserie and smoke without extra purchases.

Skip it if you want the warranty in writing first; the listing leaves it out, so ask the seller or Lion.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Largest cooking area here
  • Heavy-gauge 304
  • Accessories included

Cons

  • Warranty not on the listing
  • 200 lb, needs a solid island
  • Too big for small patios

Check price on Amazon

4. Coyote S-Series 30-Inch 3-Burner Propane Grill – Infrared Sear Burner in a Smaller Island

Best for searingCoyote S-Series Propane Gas Grill

Coyote’s S-Series 30-inch puts an infrared sear burner into a compact built-in head. The listing describes two Coyote Infinity burners, one RapidSear infrared burner and an infrared rear rotisserie burner, up to 70,000 BTU in all, with the rear burner rated at up to 15,000 BTU. Infrared puts out intense radiant heat, which is what you want for a fast, dark crust on thin arrachera or skirt steak.

Construction is 18-gauge 304 stainless steel with a double-walled canopy and a continuously hand-welded grill box with seamless edges, and the cooking surface is 304 stainless, according to the listing. It gives 700 square inches of cooking surface; Coyote’s own spec sheet gives 665, so plan on the smaller figure.

Extras include a smoker box, a rotisserie, orange LED-lit knobs and halogen grill lights. The listing gives the size as 30 inches wide by 25.5 deep by 23 tall, and Coyote’s spec sheet gives a cutout of 27 by 20.5 by 10.25 inches. The Amazon listing does not state the warranty.

Why we like it

  • RapidSear infrared burner for fast crusts (listing)
  • 18-gauge 304 stainless, hand-welded box
  • Rear rotisserie burner and smoker box
  • Fits a 30-inch island

Key specifications

Model C2SL30LP
Type Built-in grill head
Stainless grade 304, 18-gauge (listing)
Burners 2 Infinity + infrared sear + infrared rear
BTU Up to 70,000 total
Cooking area 700 sq in (listing); 665 (Coyote sheet)
Grates 304 stainless (listing)
Warranty Not stated in the listing

Why we recommend it

Choose it for a smaller outdoor kitchen where searing matters most: steak, chops, and charred chiles and onions for salsa.

Skip it if you cook for big groups; two standard burners plus a sear burner is less flexible than four full zones.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Dedicated infrared sear zone
  • 304 stainless throughout
  • Compact 30-inch width

Cons

  • Warranty not on the listing
  • Only two standard burners
  • Cooking-area figures differ

Check price on Amazon

5. Summerset Sizzler 32-Inch 4-Burner Propane Grill – Lifetime Coverage in Grade 443

Simplest built-inSummerset Sizzler 32-in 4 Burner Built-In Propane Gas Grill - SZR32L

Summerset’s Sizzler is the plainest built-in here, and the one that names a different steel. The listing describes #443 stainless construction for the body, assisted hood and cooking grates, where most premium heads use 304. Grade 443 is a nickel-free ferritic stainless; 304 carries nickel. We do not rank one over the other here, but the grade is named, which lets you compare like with like.

The listing describes 12,000 BTU stainless steel tube burners in a four-burner head and a flame tamer system that spreads heat and keeps drippings off the burners. AJ Madison’s listing for the same model gives 696 square inches of cooking area and a rear infrared burner. The cutout is 30 5/8 inches wide by 20 3/4 deep by 8 tall, according to the listing.

Summerset offers a limited lifetime warranty on construction, workmanship and materials for its outdoor kitchen components, labor not included, according to the listing; read the manual for the full terms. The Amazon brand field names the seller, BBQ Island Grills, but the grill is Summerset’s SZR32L.

Why we like it

  • Grade named: #443 stainless (listing)
  • Flame tamers keep burners clean
  • Limited lifetime warranty (listing)
  • Standard 32-inch cutout

Key specifications

Model SZR32L
Type Built-in grill head
Stainless grade 443 (listing)
Burners 4 stainless tube, plus rear infrared (AJ Madison)
BTU 12,000 per burner (listing)
Cooking area 696 sq in (AJ Madison)
Grates 443 stainless (listing)
Warranty Limited lifetime, labor not included

Why we recommend it

It suits an island build that wants four burners, stainless grates and a lifetime warranty without the extras of the Blaze or Napoleon.

Skip it if you specifically want 304 stainless; this head is 443.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Long warranty
  • Stainless grates
  • Simple and standard-size

Cons

  • 443, not 304
  • Total BTU not stated
  • Sold under a dealer’s brand name

Check price on Amazon

A man in a red t-shirt with his hand on the lid handle of a stainless steel gas grill with four control knobs
A man at a stainless steel gas grill.

6. Monument 6+1 Burner Stainless Cabinet Grill with Rotisserie Kit – Stainless Grates on a Freestanding Cabinet

Best freestandingMonument Grills 77352 6+1 Burner Stainless Steel Cabinet Style Propane Gas Grill with Knob Controls

If you do not have an island, Monument’s 77352 is the most stainless freestanding grill we found in stock. It is a cabinet-style propane grill with six main 304 stainless steel burners and a side burner, 84,000 BTU in all, stainless steel cooking grates and stainless flame tamers, according to the listing.

The cooking area is the largest of any cart here: 634 square inches of primary grate plus a 266-square-inch warming rack, 900 in total. Six burners mean six heat zones across the grate, and the side burner takes a pot of frijoles or a pan of rice. A rotisserie kit with a 120-volt motor, spit rod and two forks is included.

Be clear about what is stainless. The listing names 304 for the burners and calls the grates and flame tamers stainless, but it does not state the grade of the body; one retailer lists cold-rolled sheet and enamel plate among the materials. Monument gives a 2-year warranty on the grill, 8 years on the stainless burners and 1 year on electrical parts for orders from August 20, 2024. The listing gives the size as 61.8 by 19.1 by 45.9 inches.

Why we like it

  • Six 304 stainless main burners (listing)
  • Stainless cooking grates and flame tamers
  • 900 sq in total cooking area
  • Rotisserie kit included

Key specifications

Model 77352
Type Freestanding cabinet
Stainless grade 304 burners; body grade not stated
Burners 6 main, plus side burner
BTU 84,000 total
Cooking area 634 sq in primary; 900 total
Grates Stainless steel
Warranty 2 years; burners 8 years

Why we recommend it

It suits a family that cooks for a crowd on a patio and wants a stainless-look cart with stainless grates and a rotisserie, without building anything.

Skip it if you want a long whole-grill warranty; two years is short next to the built-ins above.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Largest cart cooking area here
  • Rotisserie in the box
  • Side burner

Cons

  • Short overall warranty
  • Body grade not stated
  • Over 5 feet wide with shelves

Check price on Amazon

7. Royal Gourmet GA5401T 5-Burner Propane Grill with Side Burner – Sear Burner on a Stainless Cart

Best entry-levelRoyal Gourmet GA5401T 5-Burner BBQ Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Royal Gourmet’s GA5401T is the most affordable kind of stainless grill: a stainless cart with four 10,000 BTU main burners, a 12,000 BTU sear burner and a 9,000 BTU side burner, 61,000 BTU in all, according to the listing. The sear burner is the useful part, a hotter strip of the grate for steak while the rest cooks chicken and vegetables.

The listing gives 476 square inches of primary grilling surface and a 126-square-inch warming rack, 602 in total, under a double-layer stainless steel lid. The cooking grates are porcelain-enameled cast iron, according to Home Depot’s and Overstock’s listings, so you get cast iron’s heat retention rather than stainless rods. The side burner has a lid that doubles as prep space.

This is a good example of what stainless means at the lower end. Home Depot lists the body as stainless steel, but no listing names the grade, and Royal Gourmet gives a one-year limited warranty on all parts. Treat it as a well-equipped patio grill with a stainless finish, not an outdoor-kitchen heirloom, and keep it covered between cooks.

Why we like it

  • 12,000 BTU sear burner (listing)
  • Side burner with a lid
  • Double-layer stainless lid
  • 602 sq in total cooking area

Key specifications

Model GA5401T
Type Freestanding cart
Stainless grade Not stated
Burners 4 main, plus sear and side
BTU 61,000 total
Cooking area 476 sq in primary; 602 total
Grates Porcelain-enameled cast iron (retailers)
Warranty 1-year limited, all parts

Why we recommend it

It suits a first stainless grill for a patio, where you want a sear zone and a side burner and do not need a built-in.

Skip it if you want long-term coverage; one year is the shortest warranty here.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Sear and side burners
  • Cast iron grates hold heat
  • Stainless lid and body

Cons

  • One-year warranty
  • Steel grade not named
  • Grates need care to avoid rust

Check price on Amazon

What stainless means on a gas grill

Stainless steel is a family of alloys, and grills use several. The two named in this guide are 304, a nickel-bearing grade with more than 8 percent nickel, and 443, a nickel-free ferritic grade with about 21 percent chromium. The Blaze, Lion, Coyote and Monument burners are listed as 304; the Summerset is 443. We do not rank the grades against each other here; the point is that a maker who names the grade is telling you something a maker who just says stainless is not.

Ask three questions of any stainless grill. Which parts are stainless: the lid only, the lid and control panel, or the burners, firebox, body and grates as well? What grade and gauge is it, if the maker says? And what does the warranty cover, and for how long? A long warranty on stainless burners and housing, as on the Blaze, is the clearest sign a maker expects the steel to last.

Close-up of curved stainless steel rods on a grill grate
Curved stainless steel grill rods, close up.

How to choose a stainless gas grill

1. Built-in or freestanding

Built-in heads, the first five picks, drop into a masonry or steel island and are where the heaviest stainless construction lives. Freestanding carts roll and need no construction, but in stock on Amazon they are mostly stainless-finished rather than all-stainless. If you are not building an island, the Monument or Royal Gourmet carts, or the stainless Nexgrill in our best gas grill guide, are the realistic options.

2. Gauge and build

Lower gauge numbers mean thicker steel: Lion’s 16-gauge is heavier than Coyote’s 18-gauge. Look also for a double-lined or double-walled hood, as on the Blaze, Coyote and Royal Gourmet lids, which keeps the outer skin cooler and slows heat discoloration, and for a welded rather than bolted firebox.

3. Grates

Heavy stainless rods, like the Napoleon’s 9 mm wave grids and Blaze’s triangle rods, need no coating and scrub clean with a brush. Porcelain-enameled cast iron, on the Royal Gourmet, holds more heat but can chip and rust if neglected. Our best gas grill brush guide covers bristle-free tools that suit both.

4. Burners and zones

Count burners before BTU. Four or five zones let you sear, cook, hold and warm at once, which is how a taquería runs steak, chicken, vegetables and tortillas together. An infrared sear burner, as on the Coyote, gives the hardest crust; a rear infrared burner, on the Blaze, Napoleon, Lion and Coyote, is for spit roasting.

5. Fuel

Every grill here is the propane version. Most of these makers sell natural gas versions as separate models with different valves and orifices; buy the version that matches your supply rather than converting, and have a licensed gas fitter connect a natural gas line.

6. Care

Stainless still needs looking after outdoors. Clean grates while warm, empty the grease tray, wipe the outside with a stainless cleaner along the grain, and keep the grill covered between cooks. Our best gas grill cover picks include covers sized for 32-inch heads and full carts.

Three steaks with grill marks searing on a gas grill, with the stainless control knobs visible at the edge
Steaks searing on a gas grill beside its control knobs.

Recall checks for these grills

We searched the Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall listings for every brand here and found no recall that covers any model in this guide. The only grill recall we found among these brands was Royal Gourmet’s 2020 recall of Patio 2-Burner propane grills, models GG2004, GG2005 and GG2006, sold on Wayfair, whose regulator hose could melt; that does not cover the GA5401T. We found no CPSC grill recall for Blaze, Napoleon, Lion, Coyote, Summerset or Monument. Check cpsc.gov/Recalls with your grill’s model number after you buy.

For safe use, the Consumer Product Safety Commission’s grilling safety guidance says to check hoses for cracks, brittleness, holes and leaks, test connections with a soapy solution, and use gas grills only outdoors in a well-ventilated area. The U.S. Fire Administration’s outdoor fire safety page adds: keep the grill well away from siding, deck railings, eaves and branches, keep a 3-foot safe zone around it, open a gas grill’s lid before lighting, and never walk away from a lit grill.

How we chose these seven grills

We started from what a restaurant kitchen asks of a stainless station, heavy steel that cleans up, separate heat zones and parts that last, then searched Amazon US for stainless gas grills and kept only listings showing as in stock when we checked. We favored grills whose maker or listing names the stainless grade, the gauge or a long warranty on stainless parts. Specifications come from the Amazon listings, Napoleon’s product page, Coyote’s spec sheet and named retailer listings (BBQGuys, AJ Madison, Home Depot and others) where the Amazon listing was silent; each is marked in the specifications.

Stainless freestanding grills from Weber (Genesis S-415, Spirit S-425C), Napoleon (Rogue PRO-S), Broil King (Regal S) and Bull showed low stock, unavailable or lead-time listings, so we left them out. We also left out a Kenmore stainless cart whose listing gave too few specifications to compare, unbranded stainless grills, and portable stainless grills, which our best small gas grill guide covers. We have not cooked on these grills for this guide.

Stainless gas grill questions, answered

What is the best stainless steel gas grill?

Among grills in stock when we checked, the Blaze Premium LTE+ 32-Inch, for its 304 stainless burners and body, double-lined hood and lifetime warranty on stainless parts. For a freestanding stainless steel gas grill, the Monument 6+1.

Is 304 stainless better than 443 on a grill?

They are different alloys: 304 contains nickel and 443 is a nickel-free ferritic grade. We have not compared them on grills ourselves, so we do not rank them; buy from a maker that names the grade and backs it with a long warranty, as Summerset does with its 443 Sizzler.

Does a stainless steel gas grill rust?

Stainless resists rust but is not immune, especially near salt air or pool chemicals, and lower-cost grills often pair stainless panels with painted or plain steel parts. Keep it clean and covered, and read the warranty to see which parts are covered against rust-through.

What is the best gas grill in stainless steel for a patio without an island?

A freestanding cabinet grill such as the Monument 6+1, with 304 stainless burners and stainless grates, or the Royal Gourmet GA5401T for a smaller budget. Built-in heads need an island or a separately sold cart.

Do stainless grates need seasoning?

No. Stainless rod grates like the Napoleon’s and Blaze’s have no coating to season or chip; preheat, brush them clean and oil the food rather than the grate. Porcelain-enameled cast iron grates, like the Royal Gourmet’s, also need no seasoning but should be kept dry.

Our stainless gas grill picks, in short

Buy the Blaze Premium LTE+ for an outdoor kitchen built to last, the Napoleon 700 Series for heavy stainless grates and a rotisserie, the Lion L90000 for crowds, and the Coyote S-Series if searing comes first. With no island, the Monument 6+1 is the most stainless cart we found and the Royal Gourmet GA5401T the place to start. Whatever you buy, ask which parts are stainless and what the warranty covers.

For propane and natural gas grills of every finish, see our best gas grill guide, and for lower-priced carts, the best cheap gas grill picks. Or let us handle the grilling: see the menu or call to order.

Call Menu Directions