Raw chicken, wet masa, chile oil on your fingers: at some point in most cooking sessions your hands are the last thing you want on a faucet handle. A touchless faucet starts the water with a wave, which keeps the handle cleaner and spares you from wiping it down after you’ve finished.
It also adds things a plain faucet doesn’t have, namely batteries, a control box under the sink and a sensor that can misread a wiping cloth. So this guide looks at seven motion-sensor faucets on the questions that decide whether you’ll like one: what powers it, where the sensor is, when it shuts off, and what happens when the batteries die.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which touchless faucet to buy
For most kitchens, the best touchless kitchen faucet is the Delta Lenta Touchless: it turns on with a hand within 4 inches or a tap on the spout, has a 4-minute auto shut-off and runs on AA or C batteries, and Delta cites NSF/ANSI 61 and 372. For a restaurant-style spring spout, get the Kraus KSF-1610. If you want a soap dispenser in the box, choose the Moen Haelyn. For a simple sensor with a low-battery warning, get the American Standard Colony Pro.
If you aren’t sure you want a sensor at all, our main guide to the best kitchen faucet compares lever, touch and touchless models side by side.
Five touchless faucets side by side
One pick for each kind of cook, with the power source and shut-off each maker or listing states. All seven faucets are reviewed below.
| Faucet | Power | Auto shut-off | Lead or NSF statement | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Delta Lenta Touchless Kitchen FaucetBest overall
|
AA or C batteries; optional adapter | 4 min | NSF/ANSI 61 and 372 | View on Amazon |
Kraus KSF-1610 Touchless Spring FaucetBest spring spout
|
4 AA batteries | 3 min | NSF/ANSI 61 and 372 | View on Amazon |
Moen Haelyn MotionSense Wave Faucet With Soap DispenserBest with soap dispenser
|
6 AA batteries; optional AC | Not stated | NSF 61 | View on Amazon |
American Standard Colony Pro Touchless FaucetBest simple sensor
|
4 AA batteries; optional adapter | 4 min | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Delta Trinsic Pro Touchless Spring FaucetBest tall faucet
|
AA or C batteries; optional adapter | 4 min | NSF/ANSI 61 and 372 | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Details are as stated by each maker or listing, and battery life depends on use.
Our picks for the best touchless kitchen faucet
Listed in the order we would look at them. Every faucet has a stated motion sensor and a stated power source, and each pick was in stock when we checked.
1. Delta Lenta Touchless Kitchen Faucet – Wave, Tap or Use the Lever

The Lenta gives you three ways to start the water, which is why it leads. Hold a hand within 4 inches and the sensor turns it on, tap the spout with a wrist and it does the same, and the regular handle still works. If the sensor mode ever bothers you, you aren’t stuck with it.
Delta says the batteries last up to a year with AA or up to 3 years with C, based on typical use, and an optional A/C adapter is sold separately. Touchless mode has an automatic 4-minute shut-off, so a forgotten faucet doesn’t run on. The ShieldSpray mode puts a strong stream inside a contained spray pattern, which Delta says cuts splatter by an average of 90% against a standard spray.
It stands 16-3/4 inches tall with a 20-inch retractable hose, and the deck plate for a 3-hole sink is included on this listing. Delta states it is tested and certified to NSF/ANSI 61, and it cites 372 too. The faucet carries Delta’s lifetime limited warranty, with 5 years on the electronic parts. That shorter term is the honest cost of having electronics.
Why we like it
- Three ways to turn on
- Auto shut-off after 4 minutes
- NSF/ANSI 61 and 372, per Delta
- Deck plate included, per the listing
Key specifications
| Model | 19802TLZ-SP-DST |
|---|---|
| Power (as stated) | AA or C batteries; optional adapter EP102157 |
| How it turns on | Hand within 4 in, tap, or lever |
| Auto shut-off | 4 minutes |
| Overall height | 16-3/4 in |
| Spout style | Pull-down, high arc |
| Lead or NSF statement | NSF/ANSI 61 and 372, per Delta |
| Warranty (per listing or maker) | Lifetime limited; 5 years on electronics |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who wants the touchless mode for messy jobs and doesn’t want to lose the handle or tap options.
Skip it if you want a tall, open spring spout, which the Trinsic Pro and Kraus KSF-1610 below offer.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Flexible controls
- Strong ShieldSpray
- Long battery option with C cells
Cons
- Electronics covered for 5 years, not lifetime
- Control box takes cabinet space
- Hand range is short, so the sensor needs a deliberate move
2. Kraus KSF-1610 Touchless Spring Faucet – Restaurant Spout With a Hand Override

This Kraus has the look of a pre-rinse faucet from a commercial kitchen: an open-coil spout that stands 18-3/4 inches tall. The spout height is 6-1/4 inches and the reach is 8-5/8 inches, per the listing, so measure against your tallest pot. The two-function sprayer switches between an aerated stream and a stronger spray.
The most useful details are about what happens when the power fails. Kraus says it runs on four included AA batteries with no hardwiring, the sensor works during power outages, and a coin-slot switch on the control box lets you run the faucet manually if the batteries die. A built-in timer stops the water after 3 minutes.
Kraus lists cUPC certification and NSF/ANSI 61 and 372 certified by IAPMO, the clearest statement here. It has a side sensor to help prevent accidental activation. Bear in mind that an open coil gathers grease in a working kitchen and needs regular wiping, and it needs height clearance under a cabinet.
Why we like it
- Four AA batteries included, per Kraus
- Coin-slot switch for manual operation
- NSF/ANSI 61 and 372 certified by IAPMO
- Side sensor limits false starts
Key specifications
| Model | KSF-1610SFS |
|---|---|
| Power (as stated) | 4 AA batteries included |
| How it turns on | Side motion sensor or lever |
| Auto shut-off | 3 minutes |
| Overall height | 18-3/4 in |
| Spout style | Open-coil pull-down |
| Lead or NSF statement | cUPC; NSF/ANSI 61 and 372, per Kraus |
| Warranty (per listing or maker) | Limited lifetime |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who likes a commercial-style faucet and wants a clear plan for what happens when the batteries run out.
Skip it if you have low cabinets or a window above the sink, because it is tall.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Works with no outlet
- Manual override
- Clear certification statement
Cons
- Open coil collects grease
- Tall profile
- Short 6-1/4-inch spout height

3. Moen Haelyn MotionSense Wave Faucet With Soap Dispenser – One Sensor and Soap in the Box

Moen’s MotionSense Wave has independent support. Bob Vila’s installed review named another Moen with it, the Arbor, best overall, describing a single sensor on the left of its base and listing batteries as the drawback, with the AC adapter sold separately. The Arbor is on our Moen faucet guide, so here we cover the Haelyn, a different Moen with the same sensor name.
It runs on six included AA batteries, or optional AC power. Moen says the Power Clean spray gives 50% more spray power than its pull-down and pull-out faucets without it, and the Reflex system handles the hose return and docking. The soap dispenser is in the title, so you don’t have to buy one separately.
Moen states that every residential kitchen and bath faucet complies with the Federal Safe Drinking Water Act and NSF 61, and it gives 5 years on digital parts with a limited lifetime warranty on the trim. This listing is the Spot Resist Stainless finish and is sold by a third-party seller, so check the return terms and the shut-off behavior, which this listing doesn’t state.
Why we like it
- MotionSense Wave single sensor
- Six AA batteries included
- Power Clean spray, per Moen
- NSF 61 compliance stated by Moen
Key specifications
| Model | 87627EWSRS |
|---|---|
| Power (as stated) | 6 AA batteries included; optional AC |
| How it turns on | Single motion sensor or lever |
| Auto shut-off | Not stated |
| Overall height | Not stated |
| Spout style | Pull-down |
| Lead or NSF statement | NSF 61 and Safe Drinking Water Act, per Moen |
| Warranty (per listing or maker) | Limited lifetime trim; 5 years on digital parts |
Why we recommend it
It suits a kitchen that wants one neat setup: sensor, faucet and soap dispenser from one maker.
Skip it if you want it sold directly by Amazon, because this listing comes from a third-party seller.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Soap dispenser included in the title
- Moen’s sensor system
- Optional AC power
Cons
- Six batteries to replace
- Third-party seller
- Height and shut-off not stated on the listing
4. American Standard Colony Pro Touchless Faucet – A Low-Battery Reminder and a Sensor Off Switch

The Colony Pro doesn’t try to do much beyond the basics. Wave within 2 inches of the infrared sensor and the water runs. A 4-minute automatic shut-off prevents overflow, and you can disable the sensor while you clean, which solves one of the common annoyances with this type of faucet.
It runs on four included AA batteries with a built-in low-battery reminder, or on an optional AC adapter sold separately. The Re-Trax system handles the hose return and docking, a ceramic disc valve is there for drip-free use, and the forward-rotating handle won’t hit a backsplash. The deck plate covers single, 2-hole and 3-hole setups.
The 2-inch range is short compared with Delta’s 4 inches, so you have to come closer, but it also makes accidental starts less likely. This listing doesn’t include a lead-free or NSF statement, so check American Standard’s spec sheet if that matters to you. It does list a limited lifetime warranty.
Why we like it
- Sensor can be disabled for cleaning
- Low-battery reminder
- 4-minute auto shut-off
- Fits 1, 2 or 3 holes with the deck plate
Key specifications
| Model | 7077380.075 |
|---|---|
| Power (as stated) | 4 AA batteries included; optional AC adapter |
| How it turns on | Infrared sensor within 2 in, or lever |
| Auto shut-off | 4 minutes |
| Overall height | Not stated |
| Spout style | Pull-down, high arc |
| Lead or NSF statement | Not stated on the listing |
| Warranty (per listing or maker) | Limited lifetime |
Why we recommend it
It suits someone who wants a touchless faucet that stays simple, particularly a person who wipes the sink often and doesn’t want it spraying back.
Skip it if you need a stated lead-free or NSF line on the listing before you buy; the Delta and Kraus picks give one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Sensor off switch
- Low-battery reminder
- Forward handle clears a backsplash
Cons
- Short 2-inch range
- No lead or NSF statement on the listing
- Height not stated on the listing
5. Delta Trinsic Pro Touchless Spring Faucet – Magnetic Dock on a Tall Spring

If you want Delta’s controls on a commercial-style faucet, the Trinsic Pro stands 20-7/16 inches tall, the tallest here, with a spring spout and a 20-inch retractable hose. You can wave within 4 inches, tap the spout with a wrist or forearm, or use the handle. This listing is Champagne Bronze, so it is a design choice as well as a practical one.
A MagnaTite magnet snaps the spray head back into place, and a TempSense LED changes color with water temperature. Delta says the batteries last up to a year with AA or up to 3 years with C, based on typical use, with an optional A/C adapter sold separately. The flow rate is 1.8 gpm at 60 psi, and touchless mode shuts off after 4 minutes.
Delta states it is certified to NSF/ANSI 61 and 372, and electronic parts have a 5-year limited warranty. The deck plate for a 3-hole sink is a separate purchase, so check your sink first. And at this height, a low cabinet or a window can be a real problem.
Why we like it
- Tallest faucet here at 20-7/16 inches
- MagnaTite magnetic docking
- TempSense LED
- NSF/ANSI 61 and 372, per Delta
Key specifications
| Model | 9659TL-CZ-DST |
|---|---|
| Power (as stated) | AA or C batteries; optional adapter EP102157 |
| How it turns on | Hand within 4 in, tap, or lever |
| Auto shut-off | 4 minutes |
| Overall height | 20-7/16 in |
| Spout style | Spring pull-down |
| Lead or NSF statement | NSF/ANSI 61 and 372, per Delta |
| Warranty (per listing or maker) | 5 years on electronics |
Why we recommend it
It suits a large sink and an open wall, with a cook who fills big pots and wants a spray head that stays docked.
Skip it if you have under 21 inches of clearance, or you need a deck plate included.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Big clearance under the spout
- Secure magnetic dock
- Three ways to turn on
Cons
- Very tall
- Deck plate sold separately
- Gold finish won’t suit every kitchen

6. Kraus KSF-2830 Touchless Pull-Down Faucet – High Arc, Side Sensor, Coin-Slot Backup

This is the more conventional Kraus, with a high-arc spout rather than an open coil. It stands 16-5/8 inches tall, with a spout height of 8-3/4 inches and a reach of 9 inches, which gives you a good deal more room under the spout than the KSF-1610 despite the lower overall height. It is listed at a 1.8 gpm flow rate.
The sensor sits on the side of the faucet to help prevent false activation. Four AA batteries are included, and the listing says the sensor works during power outages, with a coin-slot switch for manual use if the batteries die. A built-in timer stops the flow after 3 minutes, and the handle rotates 90 degrees forward to fit tighter spaces.
This listing is in Spot Free Antique Champagne Bronze, and Kraus notes that gold finishes can look different depending on the light. It doesn’t state a warranty or a lead-free or NSF certification, so ask Kraus before you buy if those are deciding points. A two-function sprayer handles stream and spray.
Why we like it
- More room under the spout than the KSF-1610
- Side sensor, per the listing
- Works in a power outage, per the listing
- Single-hole install with four AA batteries included
Key specifications
| Model | KSF-2830SFACB |
|---|---|
| Power (as stated) | 4 AA batteries included |
| How it turns on | Side motion sensor or lever |
| Auto shut-off | 3 minutes |
| Overall height | 16-5/8 in |
| Spout style | Pull-down, high arc |
| Lead or NSF statement | Not stated on the listing |
| Warranty (per listing or maker) | Not stated on the listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a kitchen with a window or low cabinet above the sink, where a spring spout would be too tall.
Skip it if you want stainless, as this listing is the bronze finish.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Generous spout height for its size
- Manual backup
- No hardwiring
Cons
- Warranty and NSF not on the listing
- Bronze finish only on this listing
- Color varies with light, per Kraus
7. Delta Renaldi Touchless Kitchen Faucet – A Finish That Fights Hard Water

The Renaldi is worth a look if you live with hard water. Delta’s Lumicoat finish is described as wiping clean easily, repelling liquids and being guaranteed to resist mineral buildup and hard-water stains, and the Touch-Clean spray holes let you rub away lime with a finger. This listing is in Lumicoat Champagne Bronze.
Controls work the same way as on the other Delta picks: a hand within 4 inches, a tap on the spout or the handle, plus a TempSense LED that changes color with temperature and a 4-minute automatic shut-off. It stands 17 inches tall with a 20-inch retractable hose. Delta cites NSF/ANSI 61 and 372.
Delta says the batteries last up to a year with AA or up to 3 years with C, or you can use the optional A/C adapter, sold separately, which plugs into a non-switched outlet under the sink. The escutcheon for a 3-hole sink is sold separately too. Electronic parts get 5 years, the same as the other Deltas here.
Why we like it
- Lumicoat finish resists mineral buildup, per Delta
- Touch-Clean spray holes
- TempSense LED
- NSF/ANSI 61 and 372, per Delta
Key specifications
| Model | 9184TL-CZ-PR-DST |
|---|---|
| Power (as stated) | AA or C batteries; optional adapter EP102157 |
| How it turns on | Hand within 4 in, tap, or lever |
| Auto shut-off | 4 minutes |
| Overall height | 17 in |
| Spout style | Pull-down |
| Lead or NSF statement | NSF/ANSI 61 and 372, per Delta |
| Warranty (per listing or maker) | Lifetime limited; 5 years on electronics |
Why we recommend it
It suits a home with hard water where faucets go chalky fast, and where a warm metal finish fits the room.
Skip it if you need the mounting plate in the box for a 3-hole sink, since it is an extra.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Finish aimed at mineral stains
- Three ways to turn on
- Moderate height
Cons
- Escutcheon sold separately
- Only this finish on this listing
- Gold-toned finish won’t suit every kitchen
How to choose a motion-sensor faucet
Plan for the power source
Most of these run on AA batteries, and the Deltas can also take C cells, which Delta says last up to 3 years against 1 year for AA, based on typical use. An AC adapter removes the battery chore but needs an outlet under the sink, and Bob Vila’s review notes that the Kohler Crue needs one too. Before you buy, look under your sink and see where a control box and battery pack would go.
Check what happens when the batteries die
This matters more than the sensor range. The Kraus listings describe a coin-slot switch for manual use. Others rely on the regular handle, so ask the maker whether the handle works with dead batteries. The American Standard adds a low-battery reminder, which spares you the surprise.

Think about false starts
A sensor can’t always tell a wave from a wipe. Bob Vila’s review of the Moen Brantford reports that it can’t distinguish a deliberate wave from someone wiping the sink, and sometimes soaks the user’s arm. Side sensors like Kraus’s are meant to reduce that, and the Colony Pro lets you disable the sensor while you clean. Bob Vila also warns that a sensor that is too sensitive can be triggered by slight motion and waste water.
Touch and touchless aren’t the same
Touch faucets turn on when you tap them, usually with a wrist. Touchless faucets respond without contact. The Delta picks here do both, which covers more situations. If you only want the wrist tap, see our Delta faucet guide, which includes Touch2O models without a sensor.
Measure the spout
Overall height decides whether the faucet clears your cabinet or window, and spout height decides whether your biggest pot fits underneath. These numbers vary a lot: the Kraus KSF-1610 is 18-3/4 inches tall with a 6-1/4-inch spout height, and the shorter KSF-2830 has 8-3/4 inches under its spout.
Read the lead statement, and install with care
Federal law sets what “lead free” means for faucets, and makers commonly cite NSF/ANSI 61 and 372. We quote what each maker says and write “Not stated” when a listing is silent, as on the Colony Pro and KSF-2830. If your shut-off valves are old or your local code requires it, hire a licensed plumber.

How we chose these seven touchless faucets
We looked for kitchen faucets with a stated motion sensor and a stated power source, from established makers, in stock on Amazon as a New offer when we checked. Details come from the Amazon listings and from Delta’s and Kraus’s product pages, read directly. Good touchless faucets are on our other guides, including the Moen Adler in our main faucet guide, the Moen Arbor and Essie in our Moen guide and the Delta Essa in our Delta guide, and we didn’t repeat them. Most Kohler and Pfister touchless listings were low in stock when we checked, so we left them out. We also left out an American Standard Aspirations listing because its product page doesn’t state its power source.
The independent review we read is Bob Vila’s touchless faucet guide, whose writers say they installed each faucet and used them for 12 weeks. We have not used these products ourselves. A brand search of the CPSC recall database found no kitchen faucet recalls for Delta, Moen, Kraus or American Standard when we checked.
Touchless faucet questions, answered
Does a motion sensor kitchen faucet work without power?
Most battery models work when the house power is out, since they don’t use it. Kraus says this directly about its sensor. If the batteries die, Kraus provides a coin-slot switch for manual operation. For other models, ask the maker about the handle.
How long do the batteries last?
It depends on use. Delta says up to 1 year with AA and up to 3 years with C, based on typical use. Other makers on this page don’t state a figure in what we read.
Do touchless faucets turn on by accident?
They can. Reviews report arms getting soaked when someone wipes the sink. Short sensor ranges and side-mounted sensors help, and some models let you switch the sensor off for cleaning.
Do I need an outlet under the sink?
Not for the seven picks here, which all run on batteries. Delta, Moen and American Standard offer optional AC power. Some touchless faucets from other makers do need an outlet, so check before you buy.
Is a touchless faucet more hygienic?
It means less handle contact, which keeps the faucet cleaner during messy jobs. It doesn’t replace washing your hands properly, so follow normal food safety practice when handling raw meat.
Our final pick for messy hands
For most kitchens, the Delta Lenta Touchless is where we would start, because it gives you a sensor, a tap and a lever, and states its NSF certifications. For a commercial look with a clear backup plan, take the Kraus KSF-1610, and for a straightforward sensor with a low-battery reminder, the American Standard Colony Pro.
Pair your faucet with a clean sink setup using our kitchen soap dispenser guide, and see our main kitchen faucet guide if you want to compare other types. Or skip the dishes and call to order at (346) 546-8283.