Nugget ice, the soft, chewable pellets you get at some drive-ins and soda fountains, is made by pressing ice flakes together. It packs around a drink, chills it quickly and crunches at the bottom of the glass, which is why it goes so well with horchata, agua de jamaica or an iced coffee.
The machines that make it are more involved than bullet-ice makers, and the best-known ones are not cheap. This guide looks at the entry tier: the smallest or simplest nugget machine from each of eight makers, from GE Profile, Frigidaire, Chefman, Kenmore and Avalon, plus three Amazon-first brands, Euhomy, Silonn and Antarctic Star. We explain what you give up compared with the machines in our main guide, so you can judge value without guessing.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: the nugget machine that gives the most for less
The best value nugget ice maker for most homes is the Frigidaire Compact Nugget Ice Maker: up to 33 pounds a day, a 3-pound bin and a one-year warranty from a mainstream appliance brand. If you want GE’s Opal ice and app at the lowest step of that line, choose the GE Profile Opal Mini. For one or two people, the Iceman by Chefman machine is small and self-cleaning.
For the full-size machines, including the GE Profile Opal 2.0 Ultra, see our guide to the best nugget ice maker. If you only need ice now and then, a set of good trays may be enough; our guide to ice cube trays covers those.
Five budget nugget machines side by side
Our five standout picks, one for each kind of kitchen, with the output, bin and water setup each maker states. All eight are reviewed in full below.
| Nugget ice maker | Best for | Daily output and bin | Water and extras | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Frigidaire Compact Nugget Ice MakerBest value overall
|
Most ice on hand from a big brand | Up to 33 lb a day; 3 lb bin | Fill reservoir; 1-year warranty | View on Amazon |
GE Profile Opal MiniEntry-level Opal
|
Opal ice on a smaller budget | 34 to 36 lb a day; 2 lb bin | Top fill; Wi-Fi app | View on Amazon |
Iceman by Chefman Nugget Ice MakerBest small machine
|
One or two people | Up to 26 lb a day | 1.5 L tank; self-clean | View on Amazon |
Kenmore Front-Load Nugget Ice MakerBest under cabinets
|
Counters under wall cabinets | Up to 40 lb a day; 2.2 lb | Front drawer; self-clean | View on Amazon |
Avalon Nugget Ice MakerBiggest ice drawer
|
Ice ready for guests | Up to 38 lb a day; 5.5 lb drawer | 1-gallon side tank | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Output is each maker’s stated maximum, which drops in a warm room. Check the listing before you buy.
Our picks for the best value nugget ice maker
None of these machines needs a water line. You fill a tank, the machine freezes and presses the ice, and melt water from the bin runs back to be frozen again. That means the bin keeps ice cold for a while but does not freeze it, a point America’s Test Kitchen makes about every countertop machine it reviewed.
1. Frigidaire Compact Nugget Ice Maker – A 3-Pound Bin From a Known Maker

Frigidaire’s compact nugget machine is the smaller, simpler sibling of the Frigidaire Gallery in our main guide. The listing gives model EFIC228AMZ, up to 33 pounds of nugget ice a day and a first batch within about 15 minutes. That is less than the Gallery’s 44 pounds, but the bin still holds 3 pounds at a time, which is more than several larger-output machines on this page.
There is no water hookup: you fill the reservoir, plug it in, and melt water from the bin runs back into the reservoir to become new ice. Frigidaire says plainly that the machine makes ice but does not store it, and that you should move ice to the freezer if you want to keep it. The listing does not mention a self-cleaning cycle or give the reservoir size, so check the manual for the cleaning routine before you buy.
What earns it the top spot on a value page is the combination: a big appliance name with service behind it, a one-year warranty on the listing and a bin large enough to fill a pitcher. We found no CPSC recall for any Frigidaire countertop ice maker; the Frigidaire ice recalls in the database are for refrigerator ice makers and ice buckets.
Why we like it
- 3-pound bin, per the listing
- Up to 33 pounds a day
- No water line needed
- 1-year warranty on the listing
Key specifications
| Model | Frigidaire EFIC228AMZ |
|---|---|
| Daily output | Up to 33 lb |
| First ice | Within about 15 minutes |
| Bin | 3 lb |
| Water tank | Fill by hand; size not stated |
| Controls | Not stated |
| Self-clean | Not stated on the listing |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want the most ice on hand for the money from a mainstream appliance brand.
Skip it if a one-button cleaning cycle matters to you; the listing does not mention one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Large bin for its size
- Familiar brand and service
- Simple setup
Cons
- Cleaning cycle not stated
- Slower first batch than some
- Tank size not stated
2. GE Profile Opal Mini – The Entry Point to GE’s Opal Line

The Opal Mini is GE Profile’s smallest and simplest Opal. It also appears in our main nugget guide; we list it here in Moonstone Blue (model P4NM20KZMO) because it is the most affordable way into the Opal family, and the colour version was in stock when we checked. It is the only pick on this page that repeats a machine from the main guide.
According to GE’s listing, it makes a first batch in 5 minutes or less and about 1.5 pounds an hour. The listing gives the daily figure two ways, 36 pounds in the title and 34 pounds in the description, so plan on the lower number. The removable bin holds 2 pounds and fills all the way automatically. You pour water into a top-fill station, which is easier than sliding out a reservoir.
What you give up against the larger Opal 2.0 Ultra is the side tank and the water filter. What you keep is GE’s Wi-Fi and SmartHQ app, a front drain tube, a drain-and-dry system that clears water from the internals between cycles, and six descaler packets in the box. At 8.6 inches wide, it fits a narrow stretch of counter.
Why we like it
- First batch in 5 minutes or less
- Top-fill water station
- Drain-and-dry system between cycles
- Six descaler packets included
Key specifications
| Model | GE Profile Opal Mini P4NM20KZMO |
|---|---|
| Daily output | 34 to 36 lb (listing gives both) |
| First ice | 5 minutes or less |
| Bin | 2 lb, removable |
| Water tank | Top-fill reservoir; size not stated |
| Controls | Touch panel; Wi-Fi app |
| Self-clean | Descaling routine with included packets |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want GE’s Opal ice and app without paying for the full-size machine.
Skip it if you serve a crowd; a 2-pound bin empties fast.
Pros and cons
Pros
- GE’s nugget design in a small body
- Easy top fill
- Maintenance alerts in the app
Cons
- Small bin
- No side tank or filter
- Output stated two ways

3. Iceman by Chefman Nugget Ice Maker – Small, Simple and Self-Cleaning

Chefman sells its ice machines under the Iceman name, and this is the smallest nugget model we found from the line. The listing (model RJ56-NUG-13-BLACK) gives up to 26 pounds a day, with a batch frozen every 6 to 8 minutes, and a 1.5-liter water reservoir.
Controls are basic: LED lights tell you when the bin is full or the water is low, and there is a programmable self-clean that rinses the internal parts. A window in the lid lets you watch the ice build, and the removable basket and scoop make it easy to carry ice to the freezer or the patio. Chefman lists it as cETL approved, 145 watts at 120 volts, with a one-year assurance from Iceman.
Twenty-six pounds a day is the low end for nugget machines, so this one suits a couple or a small household that wants chewable ice with iced coffee or a glass of agua fresca, not a party. Bin capacity is not stated on the listing.
Why we like it
- Self-clean cycle on a small machine
- 1.5-liter reservoir
- Lid window to watch the ice
- cETL listed, per Chefman
Key specifications
| Model | Iceman by Chefman RJ56-NUG-13-BLACK |
|---|---|
| Daily output | Up to 26 lb |
| First ice | Every 6 to 8 minutes |
| Bin | Removable basket; size not stated |
| Water tank | 1.5 L |
| Controls | Buttons with LED lights |
| Self-clean | Yes, programmable |
| Warranty | 1-year assurance from Iceman |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want nugget ice for one or two people from a known small-appliance brand.
Skip it if you entertain; it has the lowest output here.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Compact and simple
- Self-cleaning
- Clear status lights
Cons
- Lowest daily output
- Bin size not stated
4. Kenmore Front-Load Nugget Ice Maker – Front Drawer Fits Under Cabinets

The Amazon listing for Kenmore’s countertop nugget machine names Koolatron as the brand behind it. Its design solves a common counter problem: the water tank and the ice both come out of the front, so you don’t need to lift a lid, and the maker says you can use and keep it below upper cabinets.
The listing (model KKIMNF-40SS) gives up to 40 pounds a day, a first serving in 6 to 10 minutes and room for 2.2 pounds of ice at a time. Touch controls handle ice making and a one-touch self-clean, LED lights show when ice is ready or the tank needs water, and there is a bottom drain and a dishwasher-safe scoop. The outside is stainless steel.
This is not the smallest machine here, but it is the one with the most daily output for a front-loading design on this page. The listing does not give a warranty, so check the warranty terms with the seller.
Why we like it
- Front-access water and ice drawer
- Up to 40 pounds a day
- One-touch self-clean
- Bottom drain for emptying
Key specifications
| Model | Kenmore KKIMNF-40SS |
|---|---|
| Daily output | Up to 40 lb |
| First ice | 6 to 10 minutes |
| Bin | 2.2 lb |
| Water tank | Front drawer; size not stated |
| Controls | Touch controls with LED lights |
| Self-clean | Yes, one touch |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if your ice maker has to sit under wall cabinets where a lift-up lid won’t open.
Skip it if you want warranty terms spelled out on the listing; they are not.
Pros and cons
Pros
- No lid to lift
- High output for the type
- Self-clean and drain
Cons
- Warranty not stated
- Tank size not stated
5. Avalon Nugget Ice Maker – Big Drawer and a Gallon Side Tank

Avalon’s nugget machine (model A-ICE) borrows the side-tank idea from GE’s larger Opal without the app. According to the listing, it makes up to 38 pounds a day and its storage drawer holds 5.5 pounds of ice at a time, the largest stated store of ice on this page.
The 1-gallon side tank can sit on either side of the machine, which helps on a crowded counter. Controls are an LED panel with one-click operation, and there is an automated self-cleaning cycle for the internals.
The listing does not give first-ice time, dimensions or warranty terms, so you are buying on fewer published facts than with the GE or Frigidaire. For a household that wants plenty of ice on hand and fewer refills, though, the drawer and tank make it the most generous design here.
Why we like it
- 5.5-pound storage drawer, per the listing
- 1-gallon side tank, either side
- Self-cleaning cycle
- No app to set up
Key specifications
| Model | Avalon A-ICE |
|---|---|
| Daily output | Up to 38 lb |
| First ice | Not stated |
| Bin | 5.5 lb drawer |
| Water tank | 1-gallon side tank |
| Controls | LED panel, one click |
| Self-clean | Yes, automated |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want lots of ice ready and fewer trips to the sink.
Skip it if you want dimensions and warranty details before buying; the listing leaves them out.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Largest stated ice store
- Big side tank
- Simple controls
Cons
- Size not stated
- Warranty not stated
- Less published detail

6. Antarctic Star 35 lb. Nugget Ice Maker – One-Click Ice With a Self-Clean Cycle

Antarctic Star’s stainless silver machine (model HZB-25NH/SC on the listing) is a one-click countertop nugget maker. The listing gives fresh ice in 5 to 8 minutes and up to 35 pounds a day, from a compact body with a carry handle.
Operation is meant to be simple: one-click ice and a one-touch self-cleaning function. The removable basket holds 1.1 pounds, which is small, so plan to move ice to the freezer if you want more than a few drinks at once. The listing does not state the water tank size or a warranty.
It is a sensible choice for a small kitchen, office or RV where you want chewable ice with as little fuss as possible, if you are comfortable buying from a smaller, Amazon-first brand.
Why we like it
- One-click operation
- Self-cleaning function
- Up to 35 lb a day (listing)
- Carry handle
Key specifications
| Model | Antarctic Star HZB-25NH/SC |
|---|---|
| Daily output | Up to 35 lb |
| First ice | 5 to 8 minutes |
| Bin | Removable basket, 1.1 lb |
| Water tank | Not stated |
| Controls | One-click operation |
| Self-clean | Yes, one-touch |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want the simplest nugget machine here and a built-in cleaning cycle.
Skip it if you want a known brand with a stated warranty; the listing does not give one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Very simple to run
- Self-cleaning function
- Portable handle
Cons
- Small 1.1 lb basket
- Lesser-known brand
- Warranty not stated
7. Euhomy Nugget Ice Maker with Handle – Portable With a Lift-Up Top

Euhomy is an Amazon-first brand, and this handled model (part IM002-12SXX) is one of its smaller nugget machines. The listing gives ice in as little as 6 minutes, up to 34 pounds a day, a 1.2-quart water tank and a removable 1.8-pound ice basket.
A built-in handle makes it easy to carry between the kitchen and a patio or RV. Add-water and ice-full alerts, a large viewing window and a one-touch self-cleaning cycle cover the basics, and the top lifts up for hand cleaning. Euhomy states under 45 dB and ETL certification.
The listing promises 1-year tech support but does not state a warranty, and the 1.2-quart tank is small for a 34-pound machine, so expect to refill often. America’s Test Kitchen did not review this model; the Euhomy it rated poorly was a square-cube machine, not a nugget maker.
Why we like it
- Carry handle
- Ice in about 6 minutes
- Lift-up top for cleaning
- One-touch self-clean
Key specifications
| Model | Euhomy IM002-12SXX |
|---|---|
| Daily output | Up to 34 lb |
| First ice | As little as 6 minutes |
| Bin | 1.8 lb |
| Water tank | 1.2 qt |
| Controls | Buttons with alerts |
| Self-clean | Yes, one touch |
| Warranty | Not stated (1-year tech support) |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want to move your nugget machine around and keep it easy to clean.
Skip it if you dislike refilling; the tank is small for the output.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Portable
- Quick first batch
- Easy access for cleaning
Cons
- Small tank
- Warranty not stated
- Mostly an Amazon brand
8. Silonn Nugget Ice Maker – A Plain Cleaning Routine and Status Lights

Silonn, another Amazon-first brand, offers several nugget machines; this 33-pound model (SLIM24B-US) is one of its simplest, and it is a different machine from the Silonn in our main guide. The listing gives ice in as little as 6 minutes and up to 33 pounds a day.
Its cleaning steps are the clearest of the smaller machines: hold the CLEAN button for about 5 seconds and it runs a 15-minute auto-clean, and the top cover comes off for manual descaling. A green light means the bin is full and a red light means add water, both visible from across the room. It has a carry handle and comes with a scoop and basket.
Silonn lists a one-year manufacturer warranty. Tank and bin sizes are not stated, so compare them with the manual before you buy if refills matter to you.
Why we like it
- 15-minute auto-clean on one button
- Removable top for descaling
- Lights readable from a distance
- 1-year manufacturer warranty
Key specifications
| Model | Silonn SLIM24B-US |
|---|---|
| Daily output | Up to 33 lb |
| First ice | As little as 6 minutes |
| Bin | Basket; size not stated |
| Water tank | Not stated |
| Controls | One button with colour lights |
| Self-clean | Yes, 15-minute cycle |
| Warranty | 1 year manufacturer |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want a simple machine whose cleaning routine is spelled out on the listing.
Skip it if you want tank and bin sizes before buying; they are not given.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Easy cleaning
- Clear status lights
- Warranty stated
Cons
- Tank and bin not stated
- Mostly an Amazon brand
How to judge value in a nugget ice maker
Every nugget machine uses an auger, a slowly turning screw that scrapes and presses ice, so they have more moving parts than bullet machines. That is part of why the big names cost more, and it is worth knowing what the cheaper machines leave out.
1. What you give up against the top machines
Compared with the GE Profile Opal 2.0 Ultra in our main guide, entry machines usually drop the side tank, the scale-inhibiting water filter and sometimes the app. They have smaller bins and tanks, so you refill and empty more often. Most still make between 26 and 40 pounds a day, which is plenty for a household; the difference shows up when guests arrive and the bin is small.
2. Bin and tank before output
Daily output is a 24-hour maximum. The bin decides how much ice is ready at once, from 1.8 pounds on the Euhomy to 5.5 on the Avalon, and the tank decides how often you refill. A large output with a small tank, like the Euhomy’s 1.2 quarts, means more trips to the sink.

3. A cleaning cycle you will actually use
Any appliance that holds standing water needs regular cleaning to keep mold and mineral scale away. America’s Test Kitchen suggests cleaning ice makers about once a month, more often in hard-water areas. A one-button cycle, a removable top and a reachable drain make that job easier; two of our picks do not state a cleaning cycle at all.
4. Warranty, parts and the brand behind it
Most of these machines carry a one-year warranty at best, and several listings do not state one. A maker with a long history in appliances, such as Frigidaire, GE or Chefman, is easier to reach for service and parts. Amazon-first brands can be good value, but read the warranty terms and the seller details before you buy.
5. Check the recall database
The one countertop ice maker recall we found on the CPSC database was a nugget machine: Gevi’s GIMN-1102, recalled in October 2023 because the auger blades could break and leave metal pieces in the ice basket, according to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. None of our picks is that model, and we found no recall for any of them. Before buying any nugget machine, search its brand and model on cpsc.gov.
How we chose these eight budget machines
We started from each maker’s range and looked for its smallest or simplest nugget machine that was in stock on Amazon, then read each listing in full for output, bin, tank, controls, cleaning and warranty. Where a listing leaves a figure out, we say “Not stated” rather than guess. We read America’s Test Kitchen’s review of countertop ice makers for its buying advice and its note that these machines do not freeze stored ice; of our picks, only the Opal Mini’s family was part of that review, through the larger Opal machines.
We limited Amazon-first brands to two, skipped near-identical listings, and avoided repeating the machines in our main nugget guide except for the Opal Mini in a different colour, which we explain above. We checked every brand against the CPSC recall listing. We have not used these machines ourselves.

Budget nugget ice questions, answered
What is the best inexpensive nugget ice maker?
For most homes, the Frigidaire Compact Nugget Ice Maker, because it pairs a 3-pound bin and up to 33 pounds a day with a known brand and a one-year warranty.
Is a budget nugget ice maker worth it compared with the GE Opal?
If you drink nugget ice a few times a day, yes. You give up the side tank, filter and larger bin of the full-size Opal, and you refill and clean more often. If you want the Opal design for less, the Opal Mini is GE’s entry model.
Can I find a good nugget ice maker on a tight budget?
Yes, if you accept a smaller bin and tank. Look for a stated warranty, a cleaning cycle and a maker you can reach for parts, and check the model on the CPSC recall database.
Which budget nugget ice maker makes the most ice?
Among these picks, the Kenmore front-load machine is rated for up to 40 pounds a day and the Avalon for 38, with the Avalon’s 5.5-pound drawer holding the most ice at once.
Do cheaper nugget ice makers keep the ice frozen?
No. Like the expensive machines, they let stored ice melt slowly and recycle the water. Move ice to the freezer or an insulated ice bucket if you want to keep it.
Our final pick for nugget ice on a budget
Buy the Frigidaire Compact Nugget Ice Maker for the best balance of bin size, output and brand support. Choose the GE Profile Opal Mini for Opal ice at the start of GE’s range, the Iceman by Chefman for a small household, or the Kenmore front-load machine if it has to sit under cabinets.
Nugget ice is at its best in a cold drink: read our guide to aguas frescas or make a pitcher with a horchata mix. For bullet-ice machines, see the best countertop ice maker. When you would rather someone else made the horchata, see our drinks or call to order.