An electric knife earns its drawer space a few times a year. At Navidad it carves a roast pernil into neat slices without shredding the crackling, at Thanksgiving it takes a turkey breast apart at the table, and for a torta party it can split a stack of bolillos or a tall sourdough loaf without squashing the crumb. Two serrated blades sliding back and forth do the sawing for you, which is why people with tired or arthritic hands often prefer one.
Our main best bread knife guide covers manual serrated knives, which are still the better everyday tool for a loaf or two. This page is for the cook who wants the motor: corded and cordless electric knives that handle both crusty bread and a holiday roast, with what each maker states and what independent reviewers found.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which electric knife to buy
For most kitchens, the best bread knife electric models offer comes from the Black+Decker ComfortGrip EK500B: America’s Test Kitchen’s top electric knife, with a safety lock, dishwasher-safe blades and a two-year limited warranty, per the listing. If you want a storage case and carving fork in the box, choose the Hamilton Beach 74251, which the same reviewers found performed very similarly. If you want no cord at all, the BUBBA Kitchen Series is cordless and includes a 9-inch bread blade.
The rest of this page explains why, and which of the other five suits a different kitchen.
Five electric knives compared
Our five standout picks side by side, one for each kind of cook, with the power source, blades and safety features each listing states. All eight knives are reviewed in full below.
| Electric knife | Best for | Power & blades | Safety lock (stated) | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Black+Decker ComfortGrip Electric KnifeBest overall
|
Most kitchens, bread and roasts | Corded, one pair of serrated blades | Yes | View on Amazon |
| A complete set with case and fork | Corded, 120 W, 5-foot cord | Not stated (none, per ATK) | View on Amazon | |
BUBBA Kitchen Series Cordless Electric KnifeBest cordless
|
Carving away from an outlet | Cordless, 7″ and 9″ carving, 9″ bread | Trigger with safety | View on Amazon |
NutriChef Electric Knife with Two Blades and Wood StandBest with a stand
|
Keeping blades on a tidy stand | Corded, bread and carving blades, wood stand | Yes | View on Amazon |
WORKPRO Cordless Electric KnifeBudget cordless
|
A light, budget cordless knife | Cordless, 7″ bread and 8″ meat blades | Yes, plus auto shut-off | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Features and warranties are listed as each maker or listing states them; check the listing before you buy.
Our picks for the best bread knife electric models
These eight knives cover corded and cordless designs, single-blade and two-blade sets, and kits with a case, fork or wooden stand. All come from brands that name a model number and a warranty on their listing, and all were in stock when we checked. Each review says what the knife suits, what its maker states, and one honest reason to skip it.
1. Black+Decker ComfortGrip Electric Knife – Quiet, Locked and Easy to Clean

This is the knife America’s Test Kitchen chose as its top electric knife, in the white EK500W version; the EK500B here is the same ComfortGrip model in black. The reviewers sliced challah, Japanese milk bread and Francese bread, carved rotisserie chicken and roast turkey, and measured noise, and wrote that “this model was the quietest in the lineup”.
Black+Decker’s listing describes stainless steel serrated blades that saw rapidly and evenly through meat and bread and never need sharpening, a comfort-grip handle, a blade release button, and removable blades that are dishwasher safe. The safety lock button stops the knife turning on while it is plugged in, and the maker’s instructions say to unplug and lock the knife before you handle the blades.
Black+Decker sells this model as its ComfortGrip 9-inch electric knife, while this Amazon listing’s title describes 7-inch blades, so check the blade length on the listing before you buy if size matters. For a loaf of pan de muerto, a stack of bolillos or a Christmas ham, either length is plenty. Black+Decker covers it with a two-year limited warranty, per the listing.
Why we like it
- America’s Test Kitchen’s top electric knife (EK500W version)
- Quietest knife in that review, per America’s Test Kitchen
- Safety lock button and one-touch blade release
- Dishwasher-safe blades, two-year limited warranty
Key specifications
| Model | EK500B |
|---|---|
| Power source | Corded |
| Motor (stated) | Not stated on listing |
| Blades included | One pair of serrated stainless blades |
| Safety lock | Yes |
| Cord / battery | Corded; length not stated on listing |
| Dishwasher-safe parts | Blades |
| Warranty | 2-year limited |
Why we recommend it
It suits most households: one knife for the holiday roast and the weekend loaf, with independent reviewers’ backing, a safety lock and easy cleanup.
Skip it if you want a storage case and carving fork in the box; this listing includes neither, so the Hamilton Beach set below is the better buy for that.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Top pick of America’s Test Kitchen
- Quiet in use
- Safety lock and dishwasher-safe blades
Cons
- No case or fork with this listing
- Listing and maker give different blade lengths
2. Hamilton Beach Electric Knife Set with Case and Fork – Everything in One Box

If you want the knife, a carving fork and somewhere to keep them, this Hamilton Beach set is the one America’s Test Kitchen recommends alongside its winner, writing that it “performed and handled very similarly to our top choice”. The reviewers noted it was a little louder than the Black+Decker and has no safety lock.
Hamilton Beach’s listing describes a 120-watt motor driving reciprocating stainless steel blades with a serrated edge, a lightweight, hand-contoured grip for either hand and a simple trigger. The cord is 5 feet long, which Hamilton Beach points out makes it easy to carve large roasts at the table, and a compact case holds the knife, blades and fork together between holidays.
The listing names ham, turkey, roasts and artisan and homemade bread as its jobs. Hamilton Beach backs the set with a one-year warranty. Because there is no lock, unplug it before you change blades or set it down near children.
Why we like it
- Recommended by America’s Test Kitchen
- 120-watt motor, per Hamilton Beach
- Storage case and carving fork included
- Long 5-foot cord for carving at the table
Key specifications
| Model | 74251 |
|---|---|
| Power source | Corded |
| Motor (stated) | 120 W |
| Blades included | Reciprocating serrated stainless blades |
| Safety lock | Not stated (none, per America’s Test Kitchen) |
| Cord / battery | 5-foot cord |
| Dishwasher-safe parts | Not stated on listing |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
It suits the cook who carves at the table and wants a complete, tidy kit that comes out once or twice a year, from a model reviewers found almost as good as their winner.
Skip it if a safety lock matters to you, for example in a kitchen with young children; the Black+Decker and NutriChef knives have one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Case and fork in the box
- Long cord
- Close to the top pick in independent review
Cons
- No safety lock, per America’s Test Kitchen
- Louder than the Black+Decker in that review
- Shorter warranty than some rivals

3. BUBBA Kitchen Series Cordless Electric Knife – Three Blades and No Cord

BUBBA is best known for fishing knives, and its Kitchen Series brings the same cordless design indoors. The listing describes a lightweight handle with a lithium-ion battery, a brushless motor for long battery life, and an LED battery indicator so you know whether it will last through the roast.
It is also the only knife here with three blades: a 7-inch carving blade, a 9-inch carving blade and a 9-inch bread blade, all polished stainless steel with a dual-rivet design. The longer bread blade is the useful one for a wide sourdough boule or a long loaf of telera, where a 7-inch blade can run out of length. A 5-foot charging cord and a carrying case for storage and transport come with it.
Cordless means you can carve a pernil at a backyard table or slice bread at a picnic with no outlet nearby. The trade-off is a battery to keep charged before the holiday. BUBBA gives a one-year manufacturer’s warranty, per the listing, and describes an ergonomic trigger with a safety.
Why we like it
- Cordless with a lithium-ion battery and LED indicator
- Three blades, including a 9-inch bread blade
- Brushless motor, per BUBBA
- Carrying case included
Key specifications
| Model | 1135883 |
|---|---|
| Power source | Cordless, lithium-ion |
| Motor (stated) | Brushless (wattage not stated) |
| Blades included | 7″ carving, 9″ carving, 9″ bread |
| Safety lock | Trigger with safety, per listing |
| Cord / battery | Battery; 5-foot charging cord |
| Dishwasher-safe parts | Not stated on listing |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
It suits cooks who carve away from the counter, at a buffet, a patio table or a party, and anyone who wants a long bread blade for big loaves.
Skip it if you use an electric knife once a year and would rather not keep a battery charged; a corded knife is simpler.
Pros and cons
Pros
- No cord to trip over
- Long bread blade
- Battery indicator
Cons
- Battery must be charged ahead of time
- Not reviewed by America’s Test Kitchen
- Dishwasher suitability not stated
4. NutriChef Electric Knife with Two Blades and Wood Stand – Bread and Carving Blades in One Block

NutriChef’s PKELKN16 comes as a small set: a bread blade for bread, cheese, meat loaf and cake loaves, a carving blade for turkey, chicken, ham and roasts, and a hardwood block for storage. The listing says the block can lie flat in a drawer or be assembled to stand on the counter, so the blades do not rattle around loose.
The listing describes a safety lock, stainless steel blades and an ergonomic handle, and gives a one-year warranty. Retailer listings describe the knife as corded, with 100 watts of power and a cord of about 3.3 feet. That is short, so plan to carve close to an outlet.
One honest note: we found no independent test of this knife, so we report only what NutriChef and retailers state.
Why we like it
- Separate bread and carving blades
- Hardwood storage block
- Safety lock
- One-year warranty
Key specifications
| Model | PKELKN16 |
|---|---|
| Power source | Corded (retailer listings) |
| Motor (stated) | 100 W (retailer listings) |
| Blades included | Two: bread and carving |
| Safety lock | Yes |
| Cord / battery | Corded; about 3.3 ft (retailer listings) |
| Dishwasher-safe parts | Not stated on listing |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
It suits the cook who wants bread and carving blades in one tidy set, kept on a hardwood block instead of loose in a drawer.
Skip it if you want a model with independent test results behind it; the Black+Decker and Hamilton Beach have them.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Two blade styles
- Storage block included
- Safety lock
Cons
- Short cord, per retailers
- No independent test found
- Dishwasher use not stated
5. Proctor Silex Easy Slice Electric Knife – The Simple Corded Option

Proctor Silex and Hamilton Beach come from the same company, and America’s Test Kitchen notes that its recommended Hamilton Beach 74251 is identical to this Proctor Silex 74312. The listing confirms the same 120-watt motor, reciprocating serrated stainless blades, lightweight hand-contoured grip, trigger control and 5-foot cord.
The difference is what comes in the box. This listing does not mention a storage case or carving fork, so it is the plainer, simpler buy if you already own a carving fork or keep the knife in a drawer. Proctor Silex lists a three-year warranty, longer than the Hamilton Beach set’s.
Like the Hamilton Beach, it has no safety lock stated, so unplug it whenever you change blades or set it down.
Why we like it
- Same knife as a model America’s Test Kitchen recommends
- 120-watt motor and 5-foot cord, per the listing
- Three-year warranty
Key specifications
| Model | 74312 |
|---|---|
| Power source | Corded |
| Motor (stated) | 120 W |
| Blades included | Reciprocating serrated stainless blades |
| Safety lock | Not stated |
| Cord / battery | 5-foot cord |
| Dishwasher-safe parts | Not stated on listing |
| Warranty | 3 years |
Why we recommend it
It suits the cook who wants a reviewer-backed corded knife for the holidays and does not need a case or fork.
Skip it if you want everything in one box; the Hamilton Beach set adds a case and a fork.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Reviewer-backed design
- Long warranty
- Long cord
Cons
- No safety lock stated
- No case or fork mentioned

6. WORKPRO Cordless Electric Knife – Light, With an Auto Shut-Off

WORKPRO, a tool brand, makes a cordless electric knife that costs less than the BUBBA and weighs, per the listing, only 0.77 lb. It comes with two removable serrated stainless blades, a 7-inch blade for bread and an 8-inch blade for meat, turkey and fish, plus a carving fork, a USB Type-C charging cable and a storage case.
WORKPRO lists two safety features: a lock system and a three-minute automatic shut-off, which turns the knife off if it is left idle. Both blades are dishwasher safe, per the listing. WORKPRO also advises taking a short break every 10 minutes during extended use, which is fine for a holiday roast or a few loaves but rules it out for big batch slicing.
The listing does not state the battery capacity, motor power or warranty terms, so we have marked them not stated. Charge it fully the day before you need it.
Why we like it
- Cordless and light at 0.77 lb, per WORKPRO
- Separate bread and meat blades
- Lock system and three-minute auto shut-off
- Dishwasher-safe blades, case and fork included
Key specifications
| Model | W125399AE |
|---|---|
| Power source | Cordless, rechargeable |
| Motor (stated) | Not stated |
| Blades included | 7″ bread, 8″ meat |
| Safety lock | Yes, plus 3-minute auto shut-off |
| Cord / battery | USB Type-C charging |
| Dishwasher-safe parts | Blades |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who wants a cordless knife with separate bread and meat blades and an automatic shut-off, at a lower price than the BUBBA.
Skip it if you slice in long sessions; WORKPRO advises a break every 10 minutes.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Light and cordless
- Two blade styles
- Auto shut-off
Cons
- Rest needed every 10 minutes
- Warranty and battery details not stated
7. OVENTE Electric Knife Set with Two Blades – Bread and Meat Blades in a Box

Most corded knives come with one pair of blades for everything. OVENTE’s EK0813B set includes two interchangeable stainless steel blades, one for meat and one for bread, plus a stainless carving fork and a fitted storage box, per the listing. A dedicated bread blade is the better tool for a crusty bolillo or a sourdough crust than an all-purpose carving blade.
The listing describes a 120-watt motor, a lightweight, hand-contoured, non-slip handle for either hand, a built-in safety lock that prevents accidental starts, and a blade ejection button. OVENTE lists ham, turkey, roasts and artisan bread among its jobs.
OVENTE warrants the knife against defects in material and workmanship for one year from purchase. The listing does not say whether the blades are dishwasher safe, so wash them by hand.
Why we like it
- Separate meat and bread blades
- 120-watt motor, per OVENTE
- Safety lock and blade ejection button
- Carving fork and storage box included
Key specifications
| Model | EK0813B |
|---|---|
| Power source | Corded |
| Motor (stated) | 120 W |
| Blades included | One meat blade, one bread blade |
| Safety lock | Yes |
| Cord / battery | Corded; length not stated |
| Dishwasher-safe parts | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who wants a corded knife with a separate bread blade and a safety lock, and likes having everything in one box.
Skip it if you want a model with independent test results; we found none for this knife.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Dedicated bread blade
- Safety lock
- Complete set
Cons
- No independent review found
- Dishwasher suitability not stated
8. Cuisinart Electric Knife with One Blade – Compact and Fuss-Free

Cuisinart’s CEK-30 is the simplest knife here: one stainless steel blade, a one-touch on/off switch and an ergonomic handle that Cuisinart says suits right- and left-handed cooks. The blade removes for cleaning and is dishwasher safe, per the listing.
Its cord is 36 inches, shorter than most here, which keeps it tidy in a drawer but means carving close to an outlet. It is a sensible choice for a small kitchen that wants an electric knife for the occasional loaf of bread or a roast chicken without a box of accessories.
The listing does not state motor power, a safety lock or warranty terms, so we have marked them not stated. Unplug it before you remove the blade.
Why we like it
- One-touch operation
- Removable, dishwasher-safe blade
- Handle for either hand, per Cuisinart
Key specifications
| Model | CEK-30 |
|---|---|
| Power source | Corded |
| Motor (stated) | Not stated |
| Blades included | One stainless blade |
| Safety lock | Not stated |
| Cord / battery | 36-inch cord |
| Dishwasher-safe parts | Blade |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a small kitchen or an occasional user who wants a plain electric knife with nothing extra to store.
Skip it if you carve at the table or want a safety lock; the short cord and lack of a stated lock count against it.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Compact and simple
- Dishwasher-safe blade
Cons
- Short 36-inch cord
- No safety lock stated
- Few specifications listed
Electric knife or manual bread knife?
For one loaf a day, a good manual bread knife is quicker to grab, quieter and easier to clean. Our best bread knife guide covers those. An electric knife makes sense when you slice a lot at once, a stack of bolillos for tortas, several loaves for a party, or a holiday roast, or when gripping and sawing is hard on your hands.
For sourdough specifically, look for a long blade (9 inches is comfortable across a boule) and a dedicated bread blade if the set has one. Let the blades do the work: rest the knife on the crust and guide it down with light pressure rather than pushing.

How to choose an electric knife
1. Corded or cordless
Corded knives are lighter, cheaper and always ready. Cordless knives such as the BUBBA and WORKPRO let you carve at a buffet or outdoor table, but you need to charge them ahead of time and some need rest breaks.
2. Blades
One pair of all-purpose blades handles most jobs. A separate bread blade (BUBBA, WORKPRO, OVENTE) is better for crusty loaves, and a 9-inch blade reaches across a large boule or a whole ham.
3. Safety lock
A lock that stops the knife starting by accident is worth having, especially with children around. The Black+Decker, NutriChef, WORKPRO and OVENTE list one; the Hamilton Beach and Proctor Silex do not. Whatever you buy, unplug a corded knife before changing blades.
4. Noise and comfort
Electric knives are noisy. America’s Test Kitchen measured its winning Black+Decker as the quietest of the knives it tried. A grip that fits either hand and a trigger you can hold comfortably matter more than motor wattage for a few minutes of carving.
5. Cleaning and storage
Dishwasher-safe blades (Black+Decker, Cuisinart, WORKPRO) save time after a big meal. A case keeps sharp blades together and away from fingers in a drawer.
Safety and recall check
We searched the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall notices for each brand and for electric knives in general before publishing. We found no recall for any knife on this page. The one electric-knife recall that came up was for the American Angler electric fillet knife (model 32300), whose trigger could stick in the on position; it is not included here. Recalls can be announced at any time, so check the CPSC site if you already own an electric knife.

How we chose these eight electric knives
We started from the jobs an electric knife does in a Mexican home kitchen at holiday time: carving a pernil, ham or turkey, slicing bolillos and teleras for tortas, and cutting tall loaves cleanly. We then looked for electric knives from brands that publish a model number and warranty, sold on Amazon in the United States and in stock when we checked. Specifications come from each brand’s Amazon listing, and each review says what is stated and what is not. We read America’s Test Kitchen’s electric knife review for how the Black+Decker, Hamilton Beach, Proctor Silex and an earlier Cuisinart perform, and quote it where we use it. We left out marketplace brands without a clear maker or warranty, Black+Decker’s white 9-inch listing (scarce when we checked), Cuisinart’s CEK-41 board set (back-ordered when we last checked) and fishing fillet knives. We have not used these knives ourselves; where we describe performance, we say whose findings they are.
Electric knife questions, answered
What is the best electric bread knife for sourdough?
One with a long or dedicated bread blade. The BUBBA’s 9-inch bread blade reaches across a large boule, and the OVENTE and WORKPRO sets include a separate bread blade. If you want the reviewers’ top all-round electric knife, the Black+Decker ComfortGrip handles crusty bread as well as roasts.
Is an electric knife good for slicing bread?
Yes, especially soft or tall loaves that a manual knife can squash, and when you have a lot to slice. For one loaf a day, a manual bread knife is simpler.
Are electric knives safe?
Used as directed, yes, but they are sharp, powered tools. Choose one with a safety lock, unplug or lock it before changing blades, keep fingers behind the blade and store the blades in a case. We found no CPSC recall for any knife on this page.
Do electric knife blades need sharpening?
Black+Decker says its serrated blades never need sharpening. In general, serrated electric knife blades are replaced rather than sharpened when they wear.
Can you cut meat and bread with the same electric knife?
Yes. All eight knives here are listed for both. Sets with separate bread and meat blades give a cleaner cut on crusty bread.
Our pick for holiday carving and bread
Buy the Black+Decker ComfortGrip for the reviewers’ top electric knife with a safety lock and dishwasher-safe blades, the Hamilton Beach set if you want a case and fork included, or the BUBBA if you want to carve with no cord. For the roast itself, see our guides to the best roasting pan with rack and the best meat thermometer, and to keep a loaf fresh between slicings, the best bread box.
For what goes on the Christmas table, see our guide to Mexican Christmas food. And if you would rather someone else did the cooking tonight, see the menu or call to order.