A freezer that quietly fails takes a lot with it: a month of carnitas, bags of masa, the dozens of tamales from a Christmas tamalada. Most of the time nobody notices until the lid opens on soft packages and a puddle. A freezer alarm is a small sensor that watches the temperature for you and tells you, on a display, a buzzer or your phone, when it climbs.
This guide covers seven freezer alarms from MOCREO, GoveeLife, YoLink, AcuRite, La Crosse, CDN and Inkbird: Wi-Fi kits that text you at work, long-range sensors for a detached garage, and simple displays with no app at all. We give each maker’s stated range and accuracy, and nothing beyond it.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which freezer alarm to buy
For most homes, the best freezer alarm is the MOCREO Wi-Fi Freezer Alarm Kit: two sensors, alerts by app, email and an 80 dB buzzer, and a power outage alert within 25 minutes, per MOCREO. For several freezers or a detached garage, choose the YoLink Freezer Temperature Sensor Kit. If you want no app at all, the AcuRite Wireless Fridge and Freezer Thermometer watches both with a display alarm.
Below, the five standouts side by side, then all seven in full.
Five freezer alarms side by side
Our five standout picks, one for each kind of household. Connection and alert details are as each maker or listing states them. All seven alarms are reviewed below.
| Freezer alarm | Best for | Connection | Alerts | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Most homes, a garage freezer | Wi-Fi hub, plugs into an outlet | App, email, 80 dB buzzer, power-out alert | View on Amazon | |
GoveeLife Wi-Fi Freezer Thermometer with GatewayBest value Wi-Fi
|
App alerts on a smaller budget | Wi-Fi via gateway (2.4 GHz) | App alerts, adjustable delay | View on Amazon |
YoLink Freezer Temperature Sensor Kit, 3 Sensors and HubBest for several freezers
|
Detached garage, several freezers | LoRa to hub, up to 2,034 ft open air | App push, email, text | View on Amazon |
AcuRite Wireless Fridge and Freezer Thermometer with AlarmBest without Wi-Fi
|
Kitchen fridge and freezer, no app | 433 MHz to display, 75 ft | Alarm on the display | View on Amazon |
CDN Audio/Visual Refrigerator and Freezer AlarmBest wired alarm
|
Simple, reliable local alarm | Wired 39-inch sensor cable | Audible and visual alarm | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Range, accuracy and alert features are as stated by each maker; check the listing before you buy.

Our picks for the best freezer alarm
These seven cover the three ways people use a freezer alarm: remote alerts on a phone, a local alarm you hear in the house, and a log that shows what the freezer did overnight. If you are still choosing the freezer itself, start with our guide to the best chest freezer; this page is about watching it once it is full.
1. MOCREO Wi-Fi Freezer Alarm Kit with Hub and 2 Sensors – Phone, Email and Buzzer Alerts

This is the kit that covers the most ways a freezer can fail. Two battery sensors sit in the freezer and fridge, and a hub plugs into a wall outlet and talks to MOCREO’s app over Wi-Fi. When a reading leaves the range you set, the listing says three things happen at once: a push notification, an email and an 80 dB alarm on the hub itself.
The feature that matters most for a garage chest freezer is the power alert. MOCREO says the system sends an app and email alert within 25 minutes of a power outage and again when power returns, so you know how long the freezer was off. That is exactly the number you need when you decide what to keep.
The probe cable is 0.9 mm flat, so it runs under the door gasket without holding the lid open, and you can set a delay, for example five minutes, so a door left open while you dig out a bag of tamales does not set it off. The hub has a pass-through outlet, so it does not cost you a socket.
Why we like it
- Alerts by app, email and an 80 dB hub buzzer, per the listing
- Power outage alert within 25 minutes, plus a power-restored alert
- Flat 0.9 mm probe cable slides under a door seal
- Alert delay setting to skip door-opening false alarms
Key specifications
| Model | H3 Hub Kit (ST5D-H2) |
|---|---|
| Connection | Wi-Fi via plug-in hub |
| Alerts | App push, email, 80 dB hub buzzer; power outage |
| Sensors included | 2, with flat probe |
| Temperature range | -40°F to 221°F (probe) |
| Stated accuracy | ±0.9°F |
| Power | 3 AAA per sensor (up to 2 years); hub on mains |
| Warranty | 2 years free replacement (listing) |
Why we recommend it
It suits anyone with a freezer they can’t see from the house: a chest freezer in the garage, a second fridge in a utility room, or a freezer full of a weekend’s tamales and carnitas. Three alert channels mean one will reach you.
Skip it if your Wi-Fi does not reach the outlet near the freezer; the hub needs a network connection to send phone and email alerts.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Three independent alert channels
- Tells you when power went out and came back
- Two sensors cover a freezer and a fridge
- Free data export for two years, per MOCREO
Cons
- Needs Wi-Fi and a nearby outlet for the hub
- More setup than a stand-alone display
- Accuracy is the maker’s figure only
2. GoveeLife Wi-Fi Freezer Thermometer with Gateway – Simple Wi-Fi Alerts, Clear Screen

GoveeLife’s H5108 sensor has its own small LCD, so you can read the freezer temperature at a glance, and a probe on a slim cable that goes inside. The included H5151 gateway connects it to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, which is what turns it into a remote alarm: the listing is clear that app alerts away from home need the gateway.
Set a high and low limit in the app and you are told when the freezer drifts out of range. GoveeLife says it has tuned the software to stop false low-temperature alarms during normal compressor cycles, and its sensor listing describes an anti-false-alarm delay of 1 to 10 minutes. The gateway can take up to 10 sensors, so you can add the fridge later.
The honest limit is that the sensor itself does not sound an alarm; GoveeLife’s own listing for the sensor says so. Everything comes through your phone, so this is for people who keep notifications on.
Why we like it
- Probe rated -40°F to 158°F with ±0.9°F stated accuracy
- LCD on the sensor for a quick check
- Gateway takes up to 10 sensors
- Two years of data you can export, per GoveeLife
Key specifications
| Model | H5108 sensor + H5151 gateway |
|---|---|
| Connection | Wi-Fi via gateway (2.4 GHz only) |
| Alerts | App notifications; delay setting |
| Sensors included | 1, with probe |
| Temperature range | -40°F to 158°F |
| Stated accuracy | ±0.9°F |
| Power | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
Choose it if you want phone alerts from one freezer without paying for a bigger kit, and you like being able to read the number on the sensor when you walk past.
Skip it if you want a loud alarm in the house; the sensor does not beep, and alerts depend on the app and your Wi-Fi.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Remote alerts once the gateway is on Wi-Fi
- Readable LCD on the sensor
- Room to add more sensors
Cons
- No buzzer on the sensor, per GoveeLife
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Battery type and life not stated in the listing
3. YoLink Freezer Temperature Sensor Kit, 3 Sensors and Hub – Long Range for Garages and Sheds

YoLink sensors do not use your Wi-Fi at all. They talk to the YoLink hub over its LoRa-based radio, which the maker rates at up to 2,034 feet in open air. That is the reason to choose this kit: a freezer in a detached garage, a shed or a back room where a Wi-Fi sensor drops out.
This kit has three sensors and a hub, so one purchase can watch a chest freezer, an upright freezer and a fridge. Alerts arrive as push notifications, email or text, and Apple users can let them break through silent mode with Critical Alerts. YoLink limits free texts; the listing says a hub and one sensor gives 15 free texts a month.
Each sensor runs on two AA batteries, which YoLink says can last up to five years depending on use. Check one number first: YoLink rates the YS8017 from -4°F to 122°F on the listing and to 129°F on its own page. A home freezer set to 0°F sits inside that, but a deep freezer set below -4°F would be off the scale.
Why we like it
- Long-range LoRa radio that does not load your Wi-Fi
- Three sensors in the box for three appliances
- Push, email and text alerts, with iOS Critical Alerts
- Up to five years on two AA batteries, per YoLink
Key specifications
| Model | YS1603 hub + 3 × YS8017 |
|---|---|
| Connection | LoRa to YoLink hub |
| Alerts | App push, email, text (limited free texts) |
| Sensors included | 3 |
| Temperature range | -4°F to 122°F (listing) |
| Stated accuracy | ±0.72°F below 32°F; ±0.36°F above |
| Power | 2 AA per sensor |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a household with more than one freezer, or one far from the router. The long range and long battery life mean you place it and forget it until it alerts.
Skip it if your freezer runs colder than -4°F; the sensor’s stated range stops there.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Range well beyond typical Wi-Fi sensors
- Three sensors in one kit
- Long battery life claimed
Cons
- Lower limit of -4°F
- Free text alerts are capped
- Needs the YoLink hub and app

4. AcuRite Wireless Fridge and Freezer Thermometer with Alarm – No App, No Wi-Fi Needed

Not everyone wants another app. AcuRite’s 00523M is a display and two wireless sensors, one for the fridge and one for the freezer, and that is all. The display sticks to the fridge door with a magnet, hangs on a keyhole or stands on the counter, and shows both temperatures with 24-hour and all-time highs and lows.
You set minimum and maximum alarms for each sensor. AcuRite’s support page says the alarm only goes off when a reading stays out of range for more than five minutes, which stops false alarms when the door is open, and gives a default freezer window of -20°F to 32°F that you can tighten.
AcuRite gives the sensors a range of -40°F to 99°F with ±2°F accuracy, and a wireless range of 75 feet. For a freezer that can get very cold, AcuRite’s support pages recommend lithium batteries in the sensors.
Why we like it
- Fridge and freezer sensor in the box
- Highs and lows for 24 hours and all time
- Five-minute alarm delay to skip door openings, per AcuRite
- Magnet, keyhole or stand for the display
Key specifications
| Model | 00523M |
|---|---|
| Connection | 433 MHz wireless to display |
| Alerts | Alarm on display; min/max per sensor |
| Sensors included | 2 (fridge, freezer) |
| Temperature range | -40°F to 99°F (sensors) |
| Stated accuracy | ±2°F |
| Power | Display 3 AA; sensors 4 AA total |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a kitchen fridge and freezer you walk past every day, or anyone who wants a check on both without accounts, passwords or phone notifications.
Skip it if the freezer is out in the garage; the alarm sounds at the display, so you only hear it if you are near.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Nothing to install or pair with a phone
- Watches fridge and freezer together
- Records highs and lows
Cons
- No remote alerts
- 75 ft range is shorter than the hub-based kits
- Wider ±2°F accuracy than the app sensors
5. La Crosse Technology Wireless Refrigerator and Freezer Thermometer – Alert History on the Display

La Crosse’s 308-04747 is another app-free display with two sensors, and its point of difference is record-keeping. La Crosse lists high and low alerts for both sensors, with audible and visual alerts, plus an alert history and high/low records stamped with the time and date. If the freezer warmed up while you slept, you can see when.
The display also shows the time and date, has signal-strength icons, and can show temperatures with or without decimals. It mounts with a magnetic back, a keyhole or a kickstand, and each sensor has a movable wall bracket.
Batteries are not included: the display takes two AAA and each sensor two AA. La Crosse rates the TX146 sensors from -40°F to 99°F, while the display itself works from 32°F to 99°F, so keep the display outside the freezer.
Why we like it
- Audible and visual alerts for each sensor, per La Crosse
- Alert history and time-stamped highs and lows
- Two sensors included
- Two-year limited parts and labor warranty (listing)
Key specifications
| Model | 308-04747-INT |
|---|---|
| Connection | Wireless to display |
| Alerts | Audible and visual high/low alerts; alert history |
| Sensors included | 2 (TX146) |
| Temperature range | -40°F to 99°F (sensors) |
| Stated accuracy | Not stated |
| Power | Display 2 AAA; sensors 2 AA each (not included) |
| Warranty | 2-year limited parts and labor |
Why we recommend it
Pick it if you want to know not just that the freezer warmed up but when, without handing anything to an app.
Skip it if you need alerts on your phone; this one only reports to its own display.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Time-stamped records and alert history
- Two sensors for fridge and freezer
- Longer warranty than most here
Cons
- Wireless range not stated
- Accuracy not stated
- Batteries not included
6. CDN Audio/Visual Refrigerator and Freezer Alarm – Wired Probe, Nothing to Pair

CDN is a kitchen thermometer maker, and the TA20 is the plainest tool here: a unit that sits outside the appliance with a sensor on a 39-inch cable that goes inside. There is no radio link to lose, nothing to pair, and no app. When the temperature leaves your range it sounds and flashes, per the listing.
It shows two readings, the room and the fridge or freezer, which helps when a hot garage is the reason a freezer is struggling. CDN states a range of -58°F to 158°F and accuracy of ±2°F for the refrigerator and ±4°F for the freezer.
That ±4°F at freezer temperatures is the trade-off. It is fine as an alarm that something is wrong, but it is a looser reading than the app sensors above. The warranty is a limited five years, the longest on this page.
Why we like it
- Wired sensor, so no wireless dropouts
- Audible and visual alarm
- Shows room and appliance temperature
- Limited five-year warranty, per the listing
Key specifications
| Model | TA20 |
|---|---|
| Connection | Wired, 39-inch sensor cable |
| Alerts | Audible and visual alarm |
| Sensors included | 1 wired probe + room reading |
| Temperature range | -58°F to 158°F |
| Stated accuracy | ±2°F fridge, ±4°F freezer |
| Power | Not stated |
| Warranty | Limited 5-year |
Why we recommend it
It suits someone who wants a dependable local alarm and nothing else, especially next to a freezer in a room you are often in.
Skip it if you want readings to the nearest degree in the freezer; CDN’s stated freezer accuracy is ±4°F.
Pros and cons
Pros
- No pairing, no Wi-Fi
- Longest warranty on this page
- Room temperature reading too
Cons
- Looser stated freezer accuracy
- Cable has to pass the door seal
- No remote alerts
7. Inkbird IBS-TH2 Bluetooth Temperature and Humidity Sensor – A Data Log in the Freezer

The IBS-TH2 is a small sensor that goes straight into the freezer. Inkbird rates it IPX4 and from -40°F to 140°F, with a built-in magnet to stick it to a metal wall. It stores up to 30,000 readings on the device, and the app draws a graph, lets you calibrate it and exports the data.
High and low temperature alarms come through the app over Bluetooth, which Inkbird rates at up to 98 feet without obstacles. That is the catch: on its own, it alerts your phone only while you are in range. Inkbird says it works with its IBS-M1 and IBS-M2 gateways if you want remote alerts later.
This version also reads humidity, which is not something a freezer needs, but it is the in-stock version from a maker of temperature controllers. Think of it as the cheapest way to see a freezer’s history, not as a stand-alone alarm.
Why we like it
- Stores up to 30,000 readings on the sensor
- Rated IPX4, with a magnet for mounting
- Calibration, graphs and export in the app
- Gateway-ready for remote alerts later
Key specifications
| Model | IBS-TH2 |
|---|---|
| Connection | Bluetooth (about 98 ft, no obstacles) |
| Alerts | App high/low alarm in Bluetooth range |
| Sensors included | 1 |
| Temperature range | -40°F to 140°F |
| Stated accuracy | Not stated |
| Power | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who wants to see how steady a freezer really holds, for example after loading it with fresh tamales, and who is usually home.
Skip it if you need to be told when you are away; without an Inkbird gateway the alert only reaches a phone in Bluetooth range.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Long on-device log
- Small enough to sit anywhere in the freezer
- Can add a gateway later
Cons
- No remote alerts without a gateway
- No buzzer on the sensor
- Accuracy and battery not stated in the listing
How to choose a freezer alarm
Start with where the freezer is and who will hear the alarm. Then look at these points.
Local alarm or phone alerts
A display with a beeper, like the AcuRite, La Crosse or CDN, works when the freezer is in the kitchen. A garage or utility-room freezer needs alerts that reach you elsewhere, which means a hub or gateway on your network: the MOCREO, GoveeLife and YoLink kits. The MOCREO does both, with a buzzer on its hub as well as app and email alerts.
Power outage alerts
When the power goes out, a battery sensor keeps reading, but a hub on the same circuit may go silent. MOCREO is the only maker here that states a specific power outage alert, within 25 minutes, plus a power-restored alert. Knowing how long the freezer was off is what tells you what to keep.
Range and the door seal
Freezers are metal boxes, and they block radio signals. Check the stated range against the distance to the display or hub: 75 feet for the AcuRite, about 98 feet over Bluetooth for the Inkbird, and up to 2,034 feet in open air for YoLink’s LoRa radio. Probes on a cable need a flat lead that passes the gasket without breaking the seal; MOCREO’s is 0.9 mm.

Temperature range and accuracy
The FDA says a freezer should be at or below 0°F and a refrigerator at or below 40°F. Any sensor here covers that, but read the low end: YoLink’s stops at -4°F. Stated accuracy runs from ±0.36°F to ±4°F, and only the makers state these figures; we could not check them.
False alarms
Every door opening sends warm air past the sensor. Look for an alert delay: MOCREO lets you set one, GoveeLife describes a 1 to 10 minute delay, and AcuRite waits five minutes out of range before it sounds. Without one, you will learn to ignore the alarm, which defeats the point.
How we chose these seven freezer alarms
We started with the makers buyers know for home temperature sensors, then checked every listing with Amazon’s product data for stock, model numbers and stated features, and kept only items that were in stock when we wrote this. Range, accuracy, battery and warranty details come from each maker’s listing or support pages, and we write “Not stated” where they are silent. We did not handle or run these alarms ourselves, and nothing here is a measured result.
We left out stand-alone fridge thermometers without an alarm, such as dial thermometers, and freezer sensors from sellers with no identifiable maker. We also searched the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall database for each brand. We found no recall for any of the seven alarms on this page. Govee has recalled GoveeLife and Govee smart space heaters for fire and burn hazards; that recall does not cover these thermometers.

Freezer alarm questions, answered
What temperature should a freezer alarm be set to?
The FDA says a freezer should be at or below 0°F and a refrigerator at or below 40°F. Set the freezer alarm a few degrees above 0°F so it catches a rise early, and use the alert delay so a door opening does not trip it.
How long will food stay frozen if the power goes out?
According to the FDA’s power outage guidance, a full freezer holds its temperature for about 48 hours, or 24 hours if half full, as long as the door stays closed. A closed refrigerator keeps food cold for about four hours. USDA FSIS gives the same figures.
Can I refreeze food after the freezer warmed up?
The FDA says food that still contains ice crystals or is at 40°F or below is safe to refreeze or cook. That is where a sensor with a history earns its keep, because it shows how warm the freezer got. When in doubt, check individual packages with a meat thermometer.
Do Wi-Fi freezer alarms work during a power outage?
The battery sensors keep reading, but a hub or router without power cannot send alerts. MOCREO says its system alerts you within 25 minutes of an outage and again when power returns; for the others, check how the hub behaves before you rely on it.
Is a freezer alarm worth it for a garage freezer?
Yes, more than anywhere else. A garage freezer works hardest in summer and is the one you see least. A long-range sensor such as YoLink, or a Wi-Fi kit with a buzzer such as MOCREO, is the right match.
Our final pick for keeping a freezer safe
Buy the MOCREO kit if you want one alarm that covers a freezer and a fridge, reaches your phone and email, and tells you when the power failed. Choose the YoLink kit for several freezers or a distant garage, the GoveeLife for app alerts on a smaller budget, and the AcuRite if you would rather have no app at all.
A good alarm protects what you pack well. Organize what is inside with freezer organizers, seal portions in food freezer bags or with a vacuum sealer, and when the tamales come out, see how to reheat Mexican leftovers. If you would rather someone else did the cooking, see the menu and call to order.