An outdoor griddle is a flat sheet of steel over a few propane burners, and that simple build is why it cooks so much at once: a row of tortillas, a pile of fajita peppers and onions, smash burgers and breakfast for a crowd. The big four-burner stations get the attention, but a smaller flat top does most of the same cooking.
This guide is about value in propane outdoor griddles. It looks at the entry tier of each maker’s range from Blackstone, Coleman, Royal Gourmet and OUTLANE, from 22-inch tabletops to 28-inch carts. We do not quote prices, which change daily. Instead, each pick says what you get, what you give up compared with the griddles in our best outdoor griddle guide, and what the maker or listing says about burners, cooking area and warranty.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which value griddle to buy
For most backyards, the best value outdoor griddle is the Blackstone 28-inch Original Omnivore Griddle: two independently controlled zones over a 527-square-inch Omnivore plate, Blackstone’s rear grease system, a side shelf and wheels. If you want a hood on a full-size top, the Blackstone 28-inch Omnivore Griddle with Hood is the same two-zone griddle with a hood and two side shelves. If you want one griddle for the patio and the tailgate, the Royal Gourmet PD4001 lifts off its cart to work as a tabletop.
The table compares five standouts, one for each kind of cook. All seven griddles are reviewed in full below it.
Five value griddles compared
Five standout picks side by side, with the burners, cooking area and warranty each maker or listing states. All seven are reviewed in full below.
| Griddle | Best for | Burners and area | Warranty (as stated) | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Blackstone 28-inch Original Omnivore GriddleBest overall
|
A full-size backyard flat top | 2 zones, 527 sq in | Not stated on listing | View on Amazon |
Blackstone 28-inch Omnivore Griddle with HoodBest full size with a hood
|
A covered full-size top | 2 zones, 28-inch plate | Not stated on listing | View on Amazon |
Royal Gourmet PD4001 4-Burner Griddle with Removable CartCart or tabletop
|
Patio and tailgate | 4 burners, 389 sq in | 1 year limited, all parts | View on Amazon |
Coleman RoadTrip Griddle, 19-inchBest for camping
|
Folding legs, standing height | 14,000 BTU, 19-inch top | 3 years limited | View on Amazon |
Blackstone OTG 22-inch Tabletop GriddleBest tabletop
|
A table or tailgate | 2 zones, 22-inch plate | Not stated on listing | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Burners, cooking areas and warranties are as each maker or listing states them; “Not stated” means the listing does not say.
Our picks for the best value outdoor griddle
These seven are propane flat-top griddles for outdoor cooking: three full-size griddles on legs or carts, one wide station, one folding camp griddle and two tabletops. None is electric, built-in or a commercial countertop unit; for those, see our guides to the best XL electric griddle and the best commercial griddle. Each pick ends with an honest drawback, and every one was listed in stock on Amazon US when we wrote this.

1. Blackstone 28-inch Original Omnivore Griddle – Two Zones, Rear Grease Cup

The 28-inch Original is the smaller of Blackstone’s full-size, two-burner griddles, and this listing is for model 2206. It has two independently controlled cooking zones over a 527-square-inch cooking surface, a side shelf with tool hooks, and Blackstone’s rear grease management, which sends grease through an opening at the back into a cup hooked onto the griddle. Two wheels and a handle let you roll it into place.
Blackstone calls the plate its patented Omnivore Griddle Plate Technology, which it says is engineered to heat more evenly, resist warping and use less fuel while keeping high temperatures. Two zones are enough to keep tortillas warm at one end while you sear steak or char peppers and onions at the other, and 527 square inches feeds a family.
This is the current version of the 28-inch griddle; our Blackstone griddle guide reviews the earlier 1517 model, and we list the 2206 here because it is the entry full-size Blackstone in stock. What you give up against the 36-inch, four-burner Blackstones in our main guide is space and a hood: there is no lid, and the listing does not state the BTU output or a warranty term. Retailer listings give conflicting BTU figures, so we have not quoted one.
Why we like it
- Two independently controlled zones
- 527 square inches of cooking surface
- Rear grease management with a hanging cup
- Side shelf with tool hooks, wheels and handle
Key specifications
| Model | 2206 |
|---|---|
| Burners | 2 zones |
| Heat output | Not stated on listing |
| Cooking area | 527 sq in |
| Cooking surface | Omnivore griddle plate (steel) |
| Ignition | Not stated |
| Grease system | Rear opening to hanging cup |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a backyard cook who wants a full-size flat top with a simple grease system and enough space for a family meal.
Skip it if you want a lid to steam food or protect the top; this model has none, so budget for a cover.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Roomy two-zone top
- Easy rear grease cup
- Rolls on wheels
Cons
- No hood or lid
- BTU not stated
- Warranty not on listing
2. Blackstone 28-inch Omnivore Griddle with Hood – The Same Top, Covered

Model 2367 is Blackstone’s 28-inch, two-burner Omnivore griddle sold with a hood. The listing describes the same patented Omnivore Griddle Plate as our top pick, which Blackstone says heats more evenly, resists warping and uses less fuel, two independently controlled cooking zones, and the rear grease system that sends grease through an opening at the back into a cup hooked onto the griddle.
The differences are the hood and the shelves. A hood keeps rain, dust and leaves off the steel between cooks and lets you cover the top to melt cheese on smash burgers or steam peppers and onions. The listing describes side shelves on both sides, with hooks for tools, and includes a bottle of Blackstone’s griddle seasoning and conditioner.
We list it separately because the hood is the one thing our top pick lacks, not because it cooks differently. The listing does not state the cooking area, BTU output or a warranty term, so we have not quoted them; Blackstone gives 527 square inches for the 28-inch Original without a hood.
Why we like it
- Hood included on a full-size top
- Two independently controlled zones
- Rear grease cup
- Side shelves on both sides, seasoning included
Key specifications
| Model | 2367 |
|---|---|
| Burners | 2 zones |
| Heat output | Not stated |
| Cooking area | 28-inch plate; area not stated |
| Cooking surface | Omnivore griddle plate |
| Ignition | Not stated |
| Grease system | Rear opening to hanging cup |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who wants a full-size Blackstone that lives outside with its own cover.
Skip it if you already own a griddle cover, or want three or four heat zones; this is still a two-zone griddle.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Hood included
- Same grease system as our top pick
- Two side shelves
Cons
- Area, BTU and warranty not stated
- Two zones only
3. Royal Gourmet PD4001 4-Burner Griddle with Removable Cart – Cart or Tabletop

The PD4001 is a four-burner propane griddle that sits on a standing cart and lifts off to work as a tabletop. Royal Gourmet lists a 389-square-inch sanded steel cooking surface heated by four stainless steel burners with 34,000 BTU in total, side shelves on both sides with three tool hooks each, a black heat-resistant hood, and two wheels and two legs on the cart.
The removable cart is the value. You get a standing griddle on the patio and a tabletop for the tailgate or campsite without buying two. Four burners on a smaller top means fine control over heat from one end to the other.
Royal Gourmet is clear about the hood: it protects the top when the griddle is not in use, and during cooking it should stay open as a wind deflector. The listing says do not close it while cooking. What you give up against the bigger griddles in our main guide is space: 389 square inches is less than the 28-inch picks above. The listing gives a one-year limited warranty on all parts but does not describe the ignition or grease system.
Why we like it
- Lifts off its cart to become a tabletop
- Four stainless steel burners, 34,000 BTU total
- Hood protects the top in storage
- One-year limited warranty on all parts
Key specifications
| Model | PD4001 |
|---|---|
| Burners | 4, stainless steel |
| Heat output | 34,000 BTU |
| Cooking area | 389 sq in |
| Cooking surface | Sanded steel |
| Ignition | Not stated |
| Grease system | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1 year limited, all parts |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who wants one griddle for the backyard and the road.
Skip it if you cook for big groups at home; the cooking area is smaller than a 28-inch griddle’s.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Two setups in one
- Four heat zones
- Hood for storage
Cons
- Smaller cooking area
- Hood must stay open while cooking
- Grease system not described
4. Coleman RoadTrip Griddle, 19-inch – Folding Legs, Three-Year Warranty

The RoadTrip Griddle is Coleman’s stand-up camp griddle. Steel scissor legs fold flat and two wheels let you pull it like a cart, and pushing on the “Step Here” graphic snaps it up to a 31.5-inch cooking height. The listing gives a 19-inch rolled carbon steel top with 14,000 BTU, room for up to 10 hamburgers, Instastart matchless ignition and a removable grease tray that stores under the side table.
Coleman says the heat is even over 85% of the cooking surface above 480°F, and it gives a three-year limited warranty, the longest on this page. For a campsite, that standing height saves bending over a low table, and the folding legs mean it packs into a car trunk with the legs and table attached.
What you give up against a full-size backyard griddle is space and heat: 19 inches and 14,000 BTU suit a family breakfast or tacos for four, not a party. The listing calls the lid optional, so check whether the version you buy includes one.
Why we like it
- Scissor legs and wheels, folds for transport
- 31.5-inch standing cooking height
- Instastart matchless ignition
- Three-year limited warranty
Key specifications
| Model | 2000038251 |
|---|---|
| Burners | Not stated |
| Heat output | 14,000 BTU |
| Cooking area | 19-inch top (up to 10 burgers) |
| Cooking surface | Rolled carbon steel |
| Ignition | Instastart |
| Grease system | Removable grease tray |
| Warranty | 3 years limited |
Why we recommend it
It suits campers and tailgaters who want a griddle at standing height that folds up to travel.
Skip it if you cook for crowds at home; the top and output are small for that.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Longest warranty here
- Standing height
- Folds with wheels
Cons
- Small 19-inch top
- Lower heat output
- Lid may be extra

5. Blackstone OTG 22-inch Tabletop Griddle – Two Zones on a Table

The OTG 22-inch tabletop, model 2221, is a compact Blackstone that sits on a table or tailgate. The listing gives a pre-seasoned 22-inch Omnivore Blackout griddle plate that is ready to use out of the box, two independent heating zones, battery-free piezo ignition and Blackstone’s rear grease management.
Two zones on a tabletop are the useful detail: you can warm tortillas on one side and cook fillings on the other, the way you would on a bigger griddle. It suits a patio table, a camping trip or a small balcony where a cart will not fit; check your building’s rules on propane before you cook on a balcony.
This is a different model from the 22-inch Blackstones with hoods and folding legs in our portable outdoor griddle guide. What you give up is published detail: the listing does not state the BTU output, cooking area, weight, hood or warranty term. You need a sturdy, heat-safe table to set it on.
Why we like it
- Two independent heat zones
- Pre-seasoned plate, ready to use
- Battery-free piezo ignition
- Rear grease management
Key specifications
| Model | 2221 |
|---|---|
| Burners | 2 zones |
| Heat output | Not stated on listing |
| Cooking area | 22-inch plate; area not stated |
| Cooking surface | Pre-seasoned Omnivore Blackout plate |
| Ignition | Piezo |
| Grease system | Rear grease management |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook with limited space who still wants two heat zones.
Skip it if you have no sturdy table outdoors; a griddle on its own legs is easier.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Compact
- Two zones
- Pre-seasoned
Cons
- Needs a table
- BTU and area not stated
- No hood listed
6. Royal Gourmet PD1502H 2-Burner Portable Griddle with Hood – Small Top, Hood Included

The PD1502H is Royal Gourmet’s small two-burner tabletop griddle. The listing gives a 3.5 mm thick griddle top with 211 square inches of cooking area, enough for up to six burgers, two independently controlled stainless steel burners with 17,000 BTU in total, and a piezo igniter on the control panel that needs no batteries.
A hood with a stainless steel handle is included. Royal Gourmet says it protects the griddle from dust in storage and stays open during cooking for airflow. Grease runs through a drain hole into a removable cup on the right side.
What you give up is size. At 211 square inches this is the smallest griddle on the page, right for two to four people or a side station next to a grill. The listing gives a one-year limited warranty for all parts but does not state the top’s material beyond calling it food-grade.
Why we like it
- Hood included for storage
- Two stainless steel burners, 17,000 BTU total
- 3.5 mm thick griddle top
- One-year limited warranty on all parts
Key specifications
| Model | PD1502H |
|---|---|
| Burners | 2, stainless steel |
| Heat output | 17,000 BTU |
| Cooking area | 211 sq in |
| Cooking surface | 3.5 mm griddle top; material not stated |
| Ignition | Piezo |
| Grease system | Drain hole to removable side cup |
| Warranty | 1 year limited, all parts |
Why we recommend it
It suits a small household, a balcony where propane is allowed, or a side griddle next to an existing grill.
Skip it if you cook for more than four; the top is small.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Hood included
- Two zones
- Stated warranty
Cons
- Smallest top here
- Top material not stated
- Needs a table
7. OUTLANE 36-inch 4-Burner Griddle Station – Most Space, Shortest Warranty

OUTLANE is a brand that sells mainly on Amazon, and this is its 36-inch, four-burner griddle station. The listing gives a 712-square-inch cast iron cooking surface pre-treated with a vegetable oil coating, four independently controlled stainless steel burners with up to 60,000 BTU, two fold-down side shelves, a pull-out grease cup, a bottom shelf for the propane tank and four wheels, two of them locking.
It is the only 36-inch griddle on this page, with four zones and space the listing says fits more than 20 burgers. If you cook for big groups, that is the size of the four-burner stations in our main guide.
The trade-off is the maker. The listing gives a 30-day manufacturer warranty, which is short for a griddle, and the model number on the listing is a code rather than a name. The station measures 74.7 by 20.3 by 35.7 inches per the listing, so measure your patio. OUTLANE says to season the cast iron after each use.
Why we like it
- 712 square inches, the largest here
- Four independent burners, up to 60,000 BTU
- Pull-out grease cup and bottom shelf
- Four wheels, two locking
Key specifications
| Model | Not stated (listing code) |
|---|---|
| Burners | 4, stainless steel |
| Heat output | Up to 60,000 BTU |
| Cooking area | 712 sq in |
| Cooking surface | Cast iron, vegetable oil pre-treated |
| Ignition | Not stated |
| Grease system | Pull-out grease cup |
| Warranty | 30 days |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook who needs a 36-inch top for big gatherings and accepts a lesser-known maker.
Skip it if warranty and parts support matter to you; 30 days is the shortest cover on this page.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Largest cooking area
- Four heat zones
- Locking wheels
Cons
- 30-day warranty
- Amazon-first brand
- Large footprint
How to judge value in an outdoor griddle
A lower-priced griddle cooks the same food as a premium one. What changes is how much it cooks at once, how evenly, how easy it is to clean and how long the maker stands behind it. These are the points to check on any listing.
1. Heat zones, not just BTU
Each burner is a zone you can set on its own. Two zones let you cook on one side and hold food warm on the other; three or four give finer control. Total BTU matters less than how many zones you have and how big the top is, and several listings here do not state BTU at all.
2. Cooking area for the people you feed
Around 200 to 400 square inches suits two to four people. Around 500 square inches and up suits a family or a small party. Buy for your usual cookout, not the biggest one of the year.
3. The grease system
Grease is the daily chore. Rear or side cups that pull off for emptying are easier than trays you reach under for. Check where the grease goes before you buy, and empty it after every cook.
4. Legs, cart or tabletop
A griddle on its own legs or cart is easiest to cook on. A tabletop needs a sturdy, heat-safe table. Folding legs, like the Coleman RoadTrip’s, or a removable cart, like the Royal Gourmet PD4001’s, give you both.
5. Warranty and parts
Warranties on this page run from 30 days to three years. Before you buy, check the warranty term and whether the maker sells replacement parts such as burners, regulators and grease cups for your model. A griddle that can be repaired is better value than one that cannot.

What you give up compared with our top griddles
The griddles in our main best outdoor griddle guide, such as the 36-inch Blackstone stations and the Camp Chef Gridiron Pro, add bigger tops, hoods, more storage and more published detail. Our Blackstone griddle guide covers the full Blackstone range.
Spend more if you cook for a crowd every weekend or want a hood, cabinet storage and the longest support. If you cook outside a few times a month for a family, a 28-inch two or three-burner griddle or a good tabletop will cook the same fajitas, breakfasts and smash burgers. Add a cover from our griddle cover guide to protect the top, and see our griddle seasoning guide for keeping steel from rusting.
Propane safety for a new griddle
The National Fire Protection Association’s grilling safety guidance is written for propane grills, and the same rules apply just as well to a propane griddle:
- Outdoors only. NFPA says propane grills should only be used outdoors, well away from the home, deck railings and out from under eaves and overhanging branches.
- Check for leaks. NFPA advises checking the tank hose for leaks before the first use each year with a soap and water solution; bubbles mean a leak.
- Keep it clean. NFPA says to remove grease or fat buildup from grills and the trays below them.
- Never leave it unattended, and keep children and pets at least three feet away, as NFPA advises.
Follow the maker’s manual too. Royal Gourmet, for example, says to keep the PD4001’s hood open while cooking.

How we chose these seven griddles
We started with the entry propane griddle in each identifiable maker’s range that is sold and listed in stock on Amazon US. For large items we did not consider listings marked scarce, and several entry models from Pit Boss, Char-Griller, Camp Chef and Cuisinart were scarce or unavailable when we wrote this. We left out every griddle already reviewed in our other griddle guides. The Blackstone 2206 is a close relative of a griddle in our Blackstone guide, and the Blackstone 2367 is the same 28-inch griddle with a hood; we explain why above. A Coleman 28-inch three-burner we listed earlier was out of stock when we last checked. No more than two brands on the page sell mainly on Amazon, and we left out two otherwise suitable griddles because their cooking surfaces are enamel or ceramic-coated and we could not find a maker lead-free statement.
Specifications come from the Amazon listings, named in our research notes. We checked the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall listings for these brands and did not find a recall of any griddle here. Royal Gourmet recalled some deluxe gas grills sold at Wayfair in 2020, which are not griddles on this page. We have not used these griddles at the restaurant; recommendations are based on specifications, maker information and what a kitchen that cooks on a flat top every day looks for. We do not quote prices, which change daily.
Value griddle questions, answered
What is the best outdoor griddle on a budget?
For most backyards, the Blackstone 28-inch Original Omnivore Griddle: two zones, 527 square inches and a rear grease cup. For the same top with a hood, the Blackstone 28-inch with hood. For camping, the Coleman RoadTrip.
Is a cheaper outdoor griddle worth it?
It can be, if you season the top, keep it covered and dry, and buy from a maker with a stated warranty. What you usually give up is cooking space, a hood and storage, not cooking quality.
How many burners does an outdoor griddle need?
Two is enough for a family: one hot zone and one warm zone. Three or four give more control and suit bigger tops and bigger groups.
Do I need a hood or lid?
Not to cook, but a hood protects the top from rain and dust and helps melt cheese or steam vegetables. Of the picks here, the Blackstone 2367 and the Royal Gourmet models include hoods; for the others, add a cover.
Can I cook tortillas and fajitas on an outdoor griddle?
Yes. A flat top warms tortillas and chars peppers and onions at the same time, which is why it suits taco and fajita nights. See our guide to how to eat fajitas for the rest of the meal.
Our final pick for a value outdoor griddle
Buy the Blackstone 28-inch Original if you want a full-size flat top with an easy grease cup. Choose the Blackstone 28-inch with hood for the same top with a cover, the Royal Gourmet PD4001 for a griddle that works on a cart or a table, the Coleman RoadTrip for camping, the Blackstone OTG 22-inch for a tabletop with two zones, the Royal Gourmet PD1502H for a small griddle with a hood, and the OUTLANE 36-inch if you need the most space and accept a short warranty. For bigger griddles, see our best outdoor griddle guide.
And if you would rather let someone else work the flat top, see Julia’s menu or call to order.