A family-size microwave is about the dish, not the box. If the casserole of enchiladas, the platter of tamales or the big bowl of rice for six will not turn inside, a smaller microwave means reheating in two rounds while the first batch goes cold. Large countertop models, 1.6 to 2.2 cubic feet, are built around turntables of 13.6 to 16.5 inches, wide enough for a 13- to 16-inch pizza to lie flat, depending on the model, or for a family platter to turn without catching.
This guide covers only those big countertop models. For each one we give the turntable diameter as the maker lists it, because that number tells you what will actually fit, along with the wattage, sensor and inverter features and, where it is stated, the outside size. It narrows our broader best countertop microwave oven guide to the biggest boxes and repeats none of its picks.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: which large microwave to buy
The best large microwave oven for most families is the Sharp 2.2 Cu Ft Countertop Microwave: 1,200 watts, a 16.5-inch turntable, sensor cooking and inverter cooking that Sharp lists as new on this model. For Panasonic’s cyclonic inverter and a keep-warm setting, choose the Panasonic 2.2 cu ft NN-SD975S; if your counter cannot take a 2.2, the Sharp 1.6 cu ft still turns a 13.6-inch plate.
Five large microwaves at a glance
Our five standout picks for big dishes, with the capacity, power and turntable size each maker states. All seven are reviewed in full below.
| Microwave | Capacity | Output power | Turntable | Sensor or inverter | Buy on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Sharp 2.2 Cu Ft Countertop MicrowaveBest overall
|
2.2 cu ft | 1,200 W | 16.5 in | Sensor + inverter | View on Amazon |
| 2.2 cu ft | 1,250 W | Not stated | Sensor + inverter | View on Amazon | |
Toshiba 2.2 Cu Ft Countertop Microwave with Smart SensorBest for whole chickens
|
2.2 cu ft | 1,200 W | 16.5 in | Humidity sensor | View on Amazon |
Sharp 1.6 Cu Ft Countertop MicrowaveBest 1.6 cu ft
|
1.6 cu ft | 1,100 W | 13.6 in | Sensor | View on Amazon |
Magic Chef 1.6 Cu Ft Countertop MicrowaveCustom presets
|
1.6 cu ft | 1,100 W | Glass, size not stated | Neither | View on Amazon |
Product images from Amazon. Specifications are as stated by each maker or listing; check the listing before you buy.
Our picks for the best large microwave oven
Three are full 2.2 cubic foot family models; four are 1.6 cubic foot models for counters that cannot spare 24 inches. Every entry lists the same eight specifications so you can compare them, and “Not stated” means the listing leaves that figure out.
1. Sharp 2.2 Cu Ft Countertop Microwave – Big Turntable, Sensor Cook

Sharp’s SMC2266KS is the large microwave we would buy for most families. It is 2.2 cubic feet with 1,200 watts, and its 16.5-inch carousel turntable is the biggest size you will find on a countertop microwave here, tied with the Toshiba. That is room for a large dinner platter, a big covered bowl of rice and beans, or a casserole dish set on the diagonal.
Sharp lists sensor cooking for cooking and reheating, auto cook for popular items, defrost by weight or time, a melt/soften function that is handy for butter and cheese, a +30 seconds key and Express Cook for one-press starts up to six minutes. There are 10 power levels with two-stage cooking.
On this model Sharp also lists “new” inverter cooking technology, along with a gray interior, a white LED display and LED interior lighting. Sharp does not explain how its inverter works in the listing, and it does not give the outside dimensions or input power there, so measure your counter and check the box size before you order: 2.2 cubic foot microwaves are big appliances. Warranty is one year limited.
Why we like it
- 16.5-inch turntable
- Sensor cooking and reheating
- Inverter cooking listed by Sharp
- Melt/soften setting
Key specifications
| Model | Sharp SMC2266KS |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 2.2 cu ft |
| Output power | 1,200 W |
| Turntable | 16.5 in, removable |
| Sensor cooking | Yes |
| Inverter | Yes, per listing |
| Outside size (W x D x H) | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
Families who reheat and cook in big dishes and want a sensor to judge the time.
Skip it if you need the outside dimensions from the maker before you buy; the Amazon listing leaves them out.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Biggest turntable size here
- Sensor plus inverter
- Two-stage cooking
Cons
- Dimensions not in the listing
- Inverter details not explained
- Big footprint
2. Panasonic 2.2 Cu Ft Cyclonic Inverter Microwave with Keep Warm – Even Heat, Keep Warm

Our inverter guide picked Panasonic’s 2.2 cubic foot NN-SN97JS. This is a different model, the NN-SD975S, and we include it for a reason that matters on a large microwave: it adds a keep-warm feature that Panasonic says holds vegetables, sauces and bread warm until you serve, and you can work it with buttons or a dial.
It has Panasonic’s cyclonic inverter, which the maker says circulates heat in 3D waves for more even cooking, at 1,250 watts, the highest power in this guide. Sensor Cook and Reheat let you cook without setting a time, and Sensor Inverter Turbo Defrost thaws more evenly and quickly, according to Panasonic. There are 20 preset menu items and a quick 30-second button.
Panasonic says the 2.2 cubic foot interior sits in a compact exterior, and it can be built in with a trim kit sold separately (NN-TK922SS or NN-TK932SS). The child lock is switched on when it ships, as US rules require, so read the packaging to turn it off. The listing does not give the turntable diameter or outside dimensions. Warranty is one year from the manufacturer.
Why we like it
- 1,250 W, the most power here
- Cyclonic inverter for even heating, per Panasonic
- Keep-warm feature
- Optional built-in trim kit
Key specifications
| Model | Panasonic NN-SD975S |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 2.2 cu ft |
| Output power | 1,250 W |
| Turntable | Not stated |
| Sensor cooking | Yes, Sensor Cook and Reheat |
| Inverter | Yes, cyclonic inverter |
| Outside size (W x D x H) | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
Cooks who defrost meat and reheat dense dishes often and want food held warm while the rest of dinner finishes.
Skip it if you need to know the turntable size before buying; Panasonic’s listing does not give it.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Inverter plus sensor
- Keep warm
- Can be built in with a kit
Cons
- Turntable size not stated
- Dimensions not stated
- Child lock must be turned off at first use

3. Toshiba 2.2 Cu Ft Countertop Microwave with Smart Sensor – Fits a 16-Inch Pizza

Toshiba’s ML-EM62P(SS) has the most complete specifications of any large microwave here. Toshiba gives 1,200 watts of output, 1,700 watts of input, outside dimensions of 24.4 by 18.2 by 13.6 inches and a 16.5-inch glass turntable, and says the cavity fits a 16-inch pizza or a whole chicken.
Its humidity sensor adjusts cooking power and time automatically, and Toshiba lists custom defrost by weight or time with programs for meat, poultry and fish. There is a sound on/off option, a memory function, an energy-saving ECO mode and a child lock. The listing is inconsistent on presets: the title says six auto menus while a feature bullet says 23 menus, so treat the exact count with caution.
This is the non-inverter version; our inverter guide covers Toshiba’s 2.2 cubic foot inverter model. One note: in June 2026 Consumer Reports asked the CPSC to review reports of certain Toshiba countertop and combo microwaves turning on by themselves. The letter names specific models (ML2-EC10SA, ML2-EC09SA, EM131A5C and EM925A5A-SS), not this one, and there is no recall, but if that concerns you, the Sharp and Panasonic above are the alternatives. Warranty is one year limited.
Why we like it
- Outside size, input and output power all stated
- 16.5-inch turntable
- Fits a 16-inch pizza or a whole chicken, per Toshiba
- Humidity sensor
Key specifications
| Model | Toshiba ML-EM62P(SS) |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 2.2 cu ft |
| Output power | 1,200 W (1,700 W input) |
| Turntable | 16.5 in |
| Sensor cooking | Yes, humidity sensor |
| Inverter | No |
| Outside size (W x D x H) | 24.4 x 18.2 x 13.6 in |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
Big households that want the outside size in hand before they clear a spot on the counter.
Skip it if the Consumer Reports self-activation complaint worries you; see the Sharp or Panasonic instead.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Fully stated dimensions
- Big turntable
- ECO mode and mute
Cons
- No inverter
- Listing inconsistent on menu count
- 1,700 W input draw
4. Sharp 1.6 Cu Ft Countertop Microwave – Large Plate, Smaller Box

If a 2.2 cubic foot microwave will not fit, Sharp’s SMC1662KS is the 1.6 cubic foot model we would choose. Sharp calls it family-sized, for cooking and reheating larger portions, and its 13.6-inch carousel turntable takes a large dinner plate or a round casserole dish.
It runs at 1,100 watts and has Sensor Cook with six presets for cooking and reheating, auto defrost, one-touch buttons for popcorn and beverages and Express Cook for one-press starts up to six minutes. The display is blue LED and the finish is stainless steel.
Unlike the 2.2 Sharp, this model does not list inverter cooking. The listing also does not give outside dimensions or input power. Warranty is one year limited.
Why we like it
- 13.6-inch turntable
- Sensor Cook with six presets
- 1,100 W
- Express Cook up to six minutes
Key specifications
| Model | Sharp SMC1662KS |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 1.6 cu ft |
| Output power | 1,100 W |
| Turntable | 13.6 in, removable |
| Sensor cooking | Yes |
| Inverter | Not listed |
| Outside size (W x D x H) | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
Families of three or four whose dishes are big but whose counter is not.
Skip it if you regularly reheat 9-by-13 casseroles; a 16.5-inch turntable gives more room.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Sensor cooking
- Smaller than a 2.2
- Big enough turntable for most plates
Cons
- No inverter listed
- Dimensions not stated
5. Magic Chef 1.6 Cu Ft Countertop Microwave – Save Your Own Settings

Magic Chef’s MCM1611ST is a straightforward 1.6 cubic foot microwave with one feature the others lack: besides its auto cook buttons, you can program three preset settings of your own. For a household that reheats the same things every week (a plate of rice and beans, a bowl of soup, a stack of tortillas), that saves punching in the same time and power every night.
It runs at 1,100 watts with 10 power levels. The auto cook menu covers popcorn, potatoes, pizza, beverages, frozen vegetables and reheating, and there is a glass turntable and a stainless steel exterior.
The listing is thin on numbers: it does not give the turntable diameter, outside dimensions or input power, and the warranty field reads “No warranty applicable”, so check the warranty terms in the box. Magic Chef says it has been making affordable products for the US for over 90 years and stands behind them.
Why we like it
- Three programmable custom presets
- 1,100 W with 10 power levels
- Reheat among the auto cook buttons
- Stainless exterior
Key specifications
| Model | Magic Chef MCM1611ST |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 1.6 cu ft |
| Output power | 1,100 W |
| Turntable | Glass; diameter not stated |
| Sensor cooking | Not listed |
| Inverter | No |
| Outside size (W x D x H) | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
Why we recommend it
Households that reheat the same few dishes and want one-press custom settings.
Skip it if you want a sensor to judge the time; this model does not list one.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Custom presets
- Simple controls
- 1,100 W
Cons
- No sensor listed
- Turntable size not stated
- Warranty not stated in listing

6. Toshiba 1.6 Cu Ft Countertop Microwave with Smart Sensor – Stated Inside and Out

Our countertop guide picked Toshiba’s 1.6 cubic foot inverter model. This is its non-inverter sibling, the ML-EM45P(BS), and we include it because it gives the clearest sizes of any 1.6 here: outside 21.77 by 17.91 by 12.87 inches and inside 15.51 by 17.05 by 10.24 inches, with a 13.6-inch turntable that Toshiba says fits a 13-inch pizza.
It runs at 1,200 watts, more than the other 1.6 cubic foot models, with 10 power levels and a sensor menu for pizza, potato, vegetables and more. The position-memory turntable returns to where it started when cooking ends, which Toshiba says makes it more convenient and safer to use. You can mute the buzzer by holding the 8 key for three to five seconds.
The finish is black stainless steel. The same Consumer Reports note we gave for the 2.2 Toshiba applies here: CR has asked the CPSC to review self-activation reports on certain Toshiba microwaves. This model is not one of the four the letter names, and there is no recall. Warranty is one year limited.
Why we like it
- Inside and outside dimensions stated
- 1,200 W, the most of the 1.6 cu ft picks
- Position-memory 13.6-inch turntable
- Mute option
Key specifications
| Model | Toshiba ML-EM45P(BS) |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 1.6 cu ft |
| Output power | 1,200 W |
| Turntable | 13.6 in, position memory |
| Sensor cooking | Yes, sensor menu |
| Inverter | No |
| Outside size (W x D x H) | 21.77 x 17.91 x 12.87 in |
| Warranty | 1 year limited |
Why we recommend it
Kitchens that need exact dimensions to fit a 1.6 cubic foot microwave into a measured space.
Skip it if you would rather avoid Toshiba until the CPSC review is resolved.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Exact dimensions
- 1,200 W
- Turntable returns to start
Cons
- No inverter
- Input power not stated
7. Commercial Chef 1.6 Cu Ft Countertop Microwave – Simple Touch Controls

Despite the name, Commercial Chef’s CHM16MS6 is a household countertop microwave, not a restaurant unit; for those, see our commercial microwave guide. It is 1.6 cubic feet with 1,100 watts, a 13.6-inch turntable and outside dimensions of 21.8 by 19.5 by 12.9 inches, and the listing gives its weight as 39.7 pounds, which is useful if it is going on a shelf.
Controls are touch keys with a digital LED display: 10 power levels, defrost by weight or by time, Express Cook and six preset menus, with cook times from 30 seconds to 99 minutes. There is a child lock.
The listing is a little inconsistent about the door: the title says push-button door while a feature bullet mentions a pull handle. It does not list sensor cooking or an inverter. Warranty is one year from the manufacturer.
Why we like it
- Outside size and weight stated
- 13.6-inch turntable
- 1,100 W with 10 power levels
- Defrost by weight or time
Key specifications
| Model | Commercial Chef CHM16MS6 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 1.6 cu ft |
| Output power | 1,100 W |
| Turntable | 13.6 in |
| Sensor cooking | Not listed |
| Inverter | No |
| Outside size (W x D x H) | 21.8 x 19.5 x 12.9 in |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Why we recommend it
Families who want a plain large microwave with stated dimensions and no extras.
Skip it if you want sensor reheating; this model does not list it.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Dimensions and weight stated
- Big turntable
- Simple controls
Cons
- No sensor listed
- Listing unclear about the door type
- Deepest stated box among the 1.6 models
How to choose a large microwave oven
1. Start with the turntable
Capacity in cubic feet describes the box; the turntable tells you what fits and still turns. A 13.6-inch turntable takes a large dinner plate or a 13-inch pizza (Toshiba’s figure). A 16.5-inch turntable takes a 16-inch pizza or a whole chicken (also Toshiba’s figure) and gives a rectangular casserole more room. Measure the biggest dish you reheat, including handles, before you choose.

2. Measure the counter, and the depth
Family-size microwaves are big appliances. Toshiba lists its 2.2 at 24.4 inches wide and 18.2 deep, and Commercial Chef lists its 1.6 at 19.5 inches deep. Check that the depth leaves room in front of your backsplash and that upper cabinets clear the height. Where a listing gives no dimensions, check the maker’s spec sheet or the shipping size before you order.
3. Power and the circuit
Large models run at 1,100 to 1,250 watts of output here. Input power is higher: Toshiba lists 1,700 watts for its 2.2. If the microwave shares a circuit with a coffee maker or a toaster oven, that draw adds up, so check the rating plate.
4. Sensor and inverter
A sensor reads the steam coming off food and stops when it is done, which takes the guessing out of reheating a full plate. An inverter delivers steady low power instead of cycling full power on and off, which makers say defrosts and reheats dense food more evenly. The Sharp 2.2 and the Panasonic have both; our inverter microwave guide covers more.

5. Built-in options
Some large countertop models can be built into a cabinet with a trim kit. Panasonic lists two for the NN-SD975S. If you may build it in later, check which kits fit before you buy.
How we picked these seven big microwaves
We did not test these microwaves. We compared what each maker states on its Amazon listing: capacity, output and input power, turntable size, sensor and inverter features, outside dimensions and warranty, and we point out where a listing contradicts itself or leaves a number out. Every pick was in stock on Amazon when we wrote this. We left out over-the-range models, which need installation, and several large models that were listed as scarce, including 2.2 cubic foot models from Frigidaire and Farberware, Samsung’s 1.9 and LG’s 2.0.
We searched the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall listings for microwave recalls by Sharp, Panasonic, Toshiba, Magic Chef and Commercial Chef and found no recall of these brands’ countertop microwaves; the only Magic Chef recall we found covers air fryers sold by Newair in 2018 to 2020, not microwaves. We note the June 2026 Consumer Reports letter about Toshiba under both Toshiba picks. Combination ovens that air fry and bake are in our convection microwave guide.
Large microwave questions, answered
What counts as a large microwave?
In this guide, 1.6 cubic feet and up; Sharp calls its 1.6 cubic foot model family-sized. The biggest countertop models here are 2.2 cubic feet. Turntables on these models run from 13.6 to 16.5 inches.
Will a 9-by-13 casserole dish fit?
A 9-by-13 dish measures nearly 16 inches corner to corner before you add handles, so on a 13.6-inch turntable it will not turn freely. On a 16.5-inch turntable it has a better chance; measure your dish, handles included, and check the cavity width where the maker lists it.
Is a 2.2 cu ft microwave worth it over 1.6?
If you reheat family platters, whole dishes or big bowls, yes: the jump from a 13.6- to a 16.5-inch turntable is the main gain. If you mostly reheat plates, a 1.6 takes less counter.
How many watts should a large microwave have?
The large models here run from 1,100 to 1,250 watts. More power heats a full dish faster, and package directions are written for a stated wattage.
Do large microwaves use more electricity?
They draw more power while running; Toshiba lists 1,700 watts of input for its 2.2. Total use depends on how long you run it, and ECO modes on models like the Toshiba reduce standby draw.
Our pick for big family dishes
Buy the Sharp 2.2 cubic foot model for most families: a 16.5-inch turntable, sensor cooking and inverter cooking listed by Sharp. Choose the Panasonic NN-SD975S for cyclonic inverter heating and keep warm, the Toshiba 2.2 if you want every dimension stated, and the Sharp 1.6 if your counter cannot take a 2.2.
For the full range of sizes, see our countertop microwave guide, and for big pans of leftovers, our guide to reheating Mexican leftovers covers enchiladas, tamales and rice. Feeding a crowd tonight? See the menu and call to order.