Small Kitchen Appliances

Before You Buy: The Best Sous Vide Value for a Home Kitchen

The best sous vide value picks: seven immersion circulators judged on power, controls, warranty and what comes in the box. No price hype.

Slices of medium-rare steak beside the uncut piece on a dark granite surface
Sliced medium-rare steak on a granite counter.

Sous vide is one of the few cooking methods where the entry-level machine does nearly the same job as the flagship. A heater holds a pot of water at an exact temperature, and food sealed in a bag sits in that water until it matches. What changes as you move down a maker’s range is the power, the controls, how the unit clamps to the pot, the warranty and whether there is an app at all. Knowing which of those you can live without is how you find the best sous vide value for your kitchen.

This guide covers seven immersion circulators from Greater Goods, Inkbird, Yedi, Anova and Vesta Precision. All seven are stick-style cookers that clamp to a pot and circulate the water. We do not quote prices, because they change by the week, and we judge value on features instead: what each machine does, what comes in the box and how long the maker stands behind it. For each one we list the power, temperature range, timer and warranty as the maker or the Amazon listing gives them, and we say plainly what it leaves out. Where a figure is not published, we write “Not stated” rather than guess.

Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.

Quick verdict: which value sous vide to buy

For most kitchens the best sous vide value is the Greater Goods Sous Vide Cooker: 1,100 watts, one dial, built-in calibration and a five-year warranty, with no app to set up. If you want to start and check a cook from your phone, the Inkbird Wi-Fi Sous Vide Cooker ISV-200W adds Wi-Fi control. The Yedi Infinity Sous Vide Cooker Kit comes with a hand pump and reusable bags, so you can start without a vacuum sealer. If you want a proper seal from the first cook, the Inkbird ISV-100W Cooker and Vacuum Sealer Bundle puts a sealer in the box. For Anova’s app with controls on the unit, there is the Anova Precision Cooker 2.0.

The table compares the five we would point most cooks toward, one for each kind of buyer. All seven are reviewed in full after it.

Five entry-level sous vide cookers side by side

Type, power and controls for our five standout entry-level picks, as each maker or Amazon listing gives them.

Cooker Best for Type & power Controls Buy on Amazon
Greater Goods Sous Vide Cooker

Cooks who want no app at all Circulator, 1,100 W Single dial, calibration View on Amazon
Checking long cooks from a phone Circulator, 1,000 W Buttons plus 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi app View on Amazon
Starting without a vacuum sealer Circulator, 1,000 W On-unit; pump and 20 bags included View on Amazon
Sealing properly from the first cook Circulator, 1,000 W, plus sealer LCD touch plus 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi app View on Amazon
Anova’s app with controls on the unit Circulator, 1,000 W On-unit plus Wi-Fi app View on Amazon

Product images from Amazon. Specifications as stated by each maker or the Amazon listing; check the listing before you buy.

A sliced bone-in steak on a wooden cutting board with garlic, herbs and salt
Sliced bone-in steak on a wooden board.

Our picks for the best sous vide value

Every option here is an immersion circulator from a maker you can identify, and most are the entry model or close to it. Two overlap with our main sous vide guide, and each review says why: the Greater Goods, listed here in a different color, and the Inkbird bundle, which adds a vacuum sealer to the ISV-100W. Each review covers who it suits, what the listing and maker confirm, and one honest reason to pass on it.

1. Greater Goods Sous Vide Cooker – One Dial and a Five-Year Warranty

Best overall valueGreater Goods Sous Vide Cooker

Greater Goods is based in St. Louis, and the only sous vide circulator we found from it on Amazon is this one, sold in several colors. Its entry model is also its only model. That is why it appears in both guides: our main guide lists the black version, and here we point to the Stone Blue color of the same machine. It is the circulator on this page that gives up the least, and no other pick here comes close on warranty.

The listing gives it 1,100 watts for baths up to 15 liters, a temperature range of 68°F to 203°F in half-degree steps, and a timer from one minute to 99 hours. Everything is set with a single dial; there is no app, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or account. The display is angled toward you, a color status light shows when the water is heating, ready or done, and heating stops if the water drops below the minimum line.

Two details matter more than they sound. Built-in calibration lets you correct the reading against a thermometer you trust, which is the fix America’s Test Kitchen needed on another entry-level circulator. And the stainless steel housing comes off for the dishwasher, according to the listing. Greater Goods backs it with five years of coverage, the longest warranty on this page.

Why we like it

  • 1,100 watts for baths up to 15 liters, according to the listing.
  • Single-dial control with no app or account needed.
  • Built-in calibration against your own thermometer.
  • Five-year coverage and US-based support.

Key specifications

Model 0533 (Stone Blue)
Type Immersion circulator
Power 1,100 W
Temperature range 68–203°F
Timer 1 minute to 99 hours
Capacity Baths up to 15 L
Controls Single dial, no app
Warranty 5 years

Why we recommend it

It suits a cook who wants a full-power circulator that works the moment it comes out of the box, with no phone involved and a long warranty behind it.

Skip it if you want to start or watch a cook from your phone; there is no app at all.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Longest warranty on the page
  • Calibration and low-water cutoff
  • Dishwasher-safe stainless housing

Cons

  • No remote control or alerts away from the kitchen
  • Same machine as our main guide’s pick, in a different color

Check price on Amazon

2. Inkbird Wi-Fi Sous Vide Cooker ISV-200W – Phone Control at the Entry Level

Best app controlINKBIRD 2.4G Wifi Sous Vide Cooker ISV-200W 1000W Sous Vide w/APP Recipes

Inkbird makes temperature controllers and thermometers, and it sells several circulators. The ISV-100W is in our main guide; the ISV-200W reviewed here is a sibling model with the same 1,000-watt rating and Wi-Fi app control. We include it as the plainest way on this page to set and watch a cook from your phone: a free app, phone alerts and a low-water shutoff, with nothing else in the box to store.

The listing gives a temperature range of 32°F to 194°F, a timer of up to 100 hours and an accuracy of 1°F (0.1°C). The unit joins a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network through the free Inkbird app, which also holds recipes and lets you share monitoring with other people in the house. It stops heating and sounds an alarm when the water falls below the minimum line, and beeps when the bath reaches temperature.

What you give up is independent testing. America’s Test Kitchen reviewed the ISV-100W, not this model, and found it two degrees off out of the box until it was calibrated, and slow to heat. We have not found a review of the ISV-200W itself. The listing does not give a bath capacity or a warranty length, though Inkbird’s site lists one year, and it only connects to 2.4 GHz networks.

Why we like it

  • Wi-Fi control and notifications through the Inkbird app.
  • Timer up to 100 hours, according to the listing.
  • Low-water shutoff and alarm.
  • Stainless steel column, per the listing.

Key specifications

Model ISV-200W
Type Immersion circulator
Power 1,000 W
Temperature range 32–194°F
Timer Up to 100 hours
Capacity Not stated
Controls On-unit buttons, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi app
Warranty 1 year, per Inkbird’s site

Why we recommend it

It suits a cook who runs long cooks, such as a day-long pork shoulder, and wants to check the water temperature from another room or from work.

Skip it if your home network is 5 GHz only, or if you want a stated bath capacity before you buy.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Remote control and alerts
  • Long 100-hour timer
  • Low-water protection

Cons

  • No independent review of this exact model found
  • Bath capacity not stated
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only

Check price on Amazon

3. Yedi Infinity Sous Vide Cooker Kit – Bags and Pump in the Box

Best starter kitYedi Infinity Sous Vide Cooker Kit

The Yedi Infinity was named the Best Buy in America’s Test Kitchen’s sous vide review, which recommended it. This listing sells it as a kit, which is where the value comes from: along with the circulator you get a hand pump, 20 reusable bags, four container clips, two bag-sealing clips, a recipe book and cheat sheets. That covers the gear most people buy separately before their first cook.

The circulator itself is rated at 1,000 watts, with a range of 77°F to 203°F and a timer up to 99 hours and 59 minutes. It stands 14.5 inches tall and 2.6 inches wide, and a built-in clamp holds it to any heat-safe pot. Yedi describes an eight-sided body with 160 openings that pushes heated water around the container; that design claim is Yedi’s own.

The listing makes some claims we leave aside, including “Michelin restaurant level” results. The useful facts are the power, the range and the warranty: Yedi offers a one-year replacement warranty and a 90-day return policy. The listing does not give a bath capacity or describe the controls in detail, and there is no Wi-Fi.

Why we like it

  • America’s Test Kitchen’s Best Buy among sous vide machines.
  • Hand pump, 20 reusable bags and clips included.
  • Timer up to 99 hours 59 minutes.
  • One-year replacement warranty, per the listing.

Key specifications

Model GV024
Type Immersion circulator (kit)
Power 1,000 W
Temperature range 77–203°F
Timer Up to 99 h 59 min
Capacity Not stated
Controls On-unit, no app
Warranty 1-year replacement

Why we recommend it

It suits a first-time sous vide cook who does not own a vacuum sealer and wants everything needed for a first steak or batch of chicken thighs in one box.

Skip it if you already have a sealer and bags; then most of the kit will sit unused.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Independent Best Buy recommendation
  • Complete starter kit
  • Clamp fits common pots

Cons

  • No app or Wi-Fi
  • Bath capacity not stated

Check price on Amazon

4. Inkbird ISV-100W Cooker and Vacuum Sealer Bundle – The Sealer Comes in the Box

Best with a vacuum sealerINKBIRD WIFI Sous Vide Cooker Bundle with Vacuum Sealer Machine

Sous vide needs a sealed bag, and this is the only pick here with a vacuum sealer in the box. The listing pairs Inkbird’s ISV-100W Wi-Fi circulator with a sealer, a bag roll (8 by 79 inches), five 8 by 11.8-inch bags and an air suction hose. That is the feature case for it: a sealer gives a tighter seal than a hand pump, and it stays useful for freezer prep on days you are not cooking sous vide.

This is a different cooker from the ISV-200W above. Inkbird’s own Q&A gives the ISV-100W a range of 77°F to 210°F against 32°F to 194°F, a slightly longer body and no dry-burn protection, which Inkbird added on the 200W. It is, however, the same cooker model as the ISV-100W in our main guide. We list it here because the sealer changes what you are getting.

The cooker is rated at 1,000 watts, with a 99-hour timer, LCD touch controls and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi through the InkbirdPro app. The listing gives the sealer -80 kPa of suction, a built-in bag cutter and five modes, including dry, moist and jar sealing. America’s Test Kitchen rated this cooker Recommended with Reservations: it read two degrees off out of the box until calibrated, and it was slow to heat. Plan to check it against a thermometer on the first cook.

Why we like it

  • Vacuum sealer, bag roll and five bags included.
  • Wider top temperature than the ISV-200W: up to 210°F.
  • Wi-Fi control through the InkbirdPro app.
  • 99-hour timer, according to the listing.

Key specifications

Model ISV-100W with INK-VS01 sealer
Type Immersion circulator (bundle with vacuum sealer)
Power 1,000 W
Temperature range 77–210°F
Timer Up to 99 hours
Capacity Not stated
Controls LCD touch, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi app
Warranty 1 year on the cooker, per Inkbird’s site; sealer not stated

Why we recommend it

It suits a cook who plans to use sous vide often and wants a proper seal from the first steak, without choosing a sealer separately.

Skip it if you already own a vacuum sealer. Then the ISV-200W or the Greater Goods gives you a cooker with nothing extra to store.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Only pick with a vacuum sealer included
  • Sealer works for freezer prep too
  • Wi-Fi control and alerts

Cons

  • America’s Test Kitchen found it read off until calibrated, and slow to heat
  • Bath capacity not stated
  • Same cooker as our main guide’s pick
  • Two machines to store

Check price on Amazon

5. Anova Precision Cooker 2.0 (Wi-Fi) – The Established Name, One Generation Back

Best-known brandAnova Culinary Sous Vide Precision Cooker 2.0 (WiFi)

Anova is the name most people know in home sous vide. The Precision Cooker 2.0 is the model before the current 3.0 in our main guide: a stick circulator that clamps to any stock pot or container with an adjustable clamp, circulates the water at 8 liters a minute and connects to the Anova app over Wi-Fi.

The listing title rates it at 1,000 watts, though one line of the same listing says 1,100; we use the title figure. You can set time and temperature on the cooker itself or in the free app, and the listing says the unit is water resistant. Anova backs it with a two-year manufacturer warranty, behind only the Greater Goods on this page and level with the Mini and the Vesta below.

Read the app terms closely. The basic app is free, and Anova sells an optional subscription for guided recipes and cook history. The listing does not give the temperature range or the maximum timer, so check Anova’s manual if you plan very long cooks.

Why we like it

  • Wi-Fi app control from a long-established sous vide brand.
  • Adjustable clamp fits any stock pot or container.
  • Two-year manufacturer warranty, per the listing.

Key specifications

Model AN500-US00
Type Immersion circulator
Power 1,000 W (listing title)
Temperature range Not stated on listing
Timer Not stated on listing
Capacity Any pot or container; 8 L/min flow
Controls On-unit controls, Wi-Fi app
Warranty 2-year manufacturer

Why we recommend it

It suits a cook who wants the Anova app and a two-year warranty and is happy with last generation’s hardware.

Skip it if you want no app at all; the Greater Goods does the same job with a dial and a longer warranty.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Well-known brand and app
  • Two-year warranty

Cons

  • Older model
  • Optional paid app subscription

Check price on Amazon

6. Anova Precision Cooker Mini – Anova’s Entry Model, Run From the App

Anova’s entry modelAnova Culinary Sous Vide Precision Cooker Mini

The Mini is the entry model in Anova’s range and the lowest-powered cooker on this page, at 850 watts against 900 to 1,100 for the others. It is still a true circulator: Anova gives it a flow of 6 liters a minute and a range of 32°F to 197°F, with accuracy of 0.2°F, and it clamps to any vessel tall enough to take the clamp, with the water between 62 and 153 millimeters deep on the unit.

The feature trade is the controls. Neither the listing nor Anova’s page describes a screen or buttons on the unit; you set time and temperature in the app. The free app works over Bluetooth only, and Anova says connecting over Wi-Fi requires a subscription. That makes the Mini a poor choice if you want to leave the phone out of it, and the Greater Goods is the opposite answer. The listing makes no mention of a timer limit or a bath volume.

What you keep is Anova’s support and app recipes, and a two-year warranty, per Anova, which matches the Precision Cooker 2.0 above. For a large bath, look at the more powerful machines here.

Why we like it

  • Anova’s app and two-year warranty, per Anova.
  • Range of 32°F to 197°F, according to Anova.
  • Clamps to any vessel tall enough, per Anova.
  • 6 liters a minute of circulation.

Key specifications

Model AN300-US00
Type Immersion circulator
Power 850 W
Temperature range 32–197°F, per Anova
Timer Not stated
Capacity Not stated; water depth 62–153 mm
Controls App: Bluetooth free, Wi-Fi by subscription
Warranty 2 years, per Anova

Why we recommend it

It suits a cook who is happy working from the phone, cooks small batches, and wants the Anova app and warranty.

Skip it if you want controls on the unit, Wi-Fi without a subscription, or more power for a big pot.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Long-established sous vide brand
  • Two-year warranty
  • Wide temperature range

Cons

  • Lowest power on this page
  • No on-unit controls described
  • Wi-Fi needs a subscription

Check price on Amazon

7. Vesta Precision Imersa Elite – A Flip-Up Screen and a Short Body

Best for shallow potsVesta Precision Sous Vide Cooker

Vesta Precision is a Seattle company that makes sous vide gear, and the Imersa Elite is the smaller of its Imersa sticks; retailers list the Imersa Pro for 30 liters. The feature case is the shape. The listing describes a display that flips up, away from the steam, and a shorter body than most stick circulators, so it works in shallower containers and is easier to store.

Vesta’s own page rates it at 900 watts for up to 20 liters, with a range of 68°F to 203°F, accuracy of 0.2°F and a pump that moves 4.5 liters a minute. Read the Amazon listing with care, because it does not match: its title says 30 liters, and it gives a range starting at 5°C. We use Vesta’s figures, so plan on 20 liters. The listing adds a timer up to 99 hours 59 minutes, overheat protection, calibration and scheduling through the Vesta app.

This is not the plainest machine here. It has less power than the Greater Goods and the slowest stated flow on this page. The listing calls it IPX7 waterproof, while the Vesta specifications we saw say only that its components resist dust and water, so do not count on washing it under water. Vesta gives a two-year limited warranty, level with both Anovas. We found no America’s Test Kitchen result for this model.

Why we like it

  • Display flips up, away from the steam (listing).
  • Short body for shallow containers (listing).
  • Two-year limited warranty, per Vesta.
  • App scheduling and calibration (listing).

Key specifications

Model SV81-BK
Type Immersion circulator
Power 900 W, per Vesta
Temperature range 68–203°F, per Vesta
Timer Up to 99 h 59 min (listing)
Capacity Up to 20 L, per Vesta (listing title says 30 L)
Controls Flip-up display, Vesta app
Warranty 2-year limited, per Vesta

Why we recommend it

It suits a cook who works in shallow pots or is short on storage, wants app scheduling, and values a two-year warranty from a maker with US support.

Skip it if you want maximum power for a big bath, or a listing whose figures match the maker’s.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Short body fits shallower pots
  • Flip-up display
  • Two-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Listing and maker disagree on capacity
  • Lowest stated flow on this page
  • Waterproof rating not confirmed by Vesta’s specifications

Check price on Amazon

A thick seasoned steak resting on a red cutting board
A seasoned steak on a red cutting board.

How to judge value in an entry-level sous vide cooker

With sous vide, a simpler machine usually means fewer conveniences rather than worse cooking, as long as it holds its temperature. These are the points worth weighing.

What you give up against the premium picks

The circulators in our main best sous vide guide, such as the Anova Precision Cooker 3.0 and Pro, add more power for big baths, sturdier builds and better apps. At the entry level you usually lose some of that: less power and so slower heating, a simpler display, a thinner clamp and a shorter warranty. The two Anovas on this page show the trade: the older Precision Cooker 2.0 keeps controls on the unit, and the Mini drops to 850 watts and runs from the app.

Accuracy and calibration

America’s Test Kitchen puts accuracy first in its sous vide criteria, because holding an exact temperature is the whole point. A calibration setting, like the one on the Greater Goods, lets you correct a unit that reads off. Whatever you buy, check the water against a good thermometer on the first cook; our guide to the best meat thermometer covers one worth trusting.

Why slow cookers are left out

Every pick here is a stick circulator, because a circulator moves the water around the bath, clips onto any tall pot and stores in a drawer. Slow cookers and multicookers with a sous vide setting heat the crock instead, and the listings we read did not mention circulation or state a sous vide temperature range, so we leave them out. If you want a slow cooker in its own right, see our guide to the best slow cooker.

Warranty and parts

The warranty is the one promise a maker gives you about how long a machine should last. On this page it runs from five years (Greater Goods) to two years (both Anovas and the Vesta) to one year (Yedi, Inkbird). A brand with US support and a published warranty is worth more than a slightly higher wattage from a seller you cannot reach.

Close-up of a thick steak cooking on a hot grill
A steak cooking on a hot grill.

Bags and sealing

Food goes into a sealed bag so the water can reach it evenly. A hand pump and reusable bags, like those in the Yedi kit, are enough to start. For long cooks and freezer prep a vacuum sealer gives a tighter seal, and the Inkbird bundle includes one; our guides to the best budget vacuum sealer and reusable vacuum seal bags cover both routes. Use bags their maker says are suitable for sous vide cooking.

Time, temperature and food safety

Sous vide often cooks at lower temperatures than a stove, so the numbers matter more than the machine. North Carolina State Extension advises never cooking below 131°F, because that is not hot enough to kill pathogens, and says the proper time and temperature combinations are essential for safe sous vide cooking. It recommends following instructions tested with research-based methods by a reputable university, chef or company, and warns that this is not the place to experiment. It also notes that sous vide chicken can look and feel undercooked even when it has been cooked safely, so trust a tested recipe and a thermometer rather than the color.

Recalls

We searched the US Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall database for every brand on this page and for “sous vide”. We found no recall of any product reviewed here. The one we did find was for another product: Greater Goods digital kitchen scales in 2025.

How we picked these seven sous vide cookers

We started from what a restaurant kitchen asks of a water bath: a temperature that holds, a timer long enough for tough cuts, controls you can read with wet hands and a maker you can reach. We then looked at immersion circulators from identifiable brands sold on Amazon in the United States, kept only those showing as in stock when we checked, and left out unbranded sellers, slow cookers and multicookers. We also avoided the machines already reviewed in our main guide, with the two overlaps explained above.

Specifications come from the Amazon listings and, where named, the makers. The Yedi recommendation and the notes on Inkbird’s ISV-100W come from America’s Test Kitchen’s review of sous vide machines. Food-safety guidance comes from North Carolina State Extension. We have not used these products ourselves; everything here comes from the makers, the listings, those sources and our kitchen’s view of what a sous vide setup needs to do.

Sliced steak on a wooden board with tomatoes, lemon and parsley on a dark table
Sliced steak with tomatoes and lemon.

Budget sous vide questions, answered

What is the best sous vide on a budget?

For most people, the Greater Goods Sous Vide Cooker, because it pairs full power and calibration with a five-year warranty and no app to manage. If you want phone control, look at the Inkbird ISV-200W; if you need bags and a pump too, the Yedi Infinity kit.

Is an entry-level sous vide cooker accurate enough?

It can be, but check it. Fill a pot, set a temperature and compare the reading with a trusted thermometer. A unit with calibration, like the Greater Goods, can be corrected if it reads off.

Is the Inkbird bundle the same cooker as the ISV-200W?

No. The bundle uses the ISV-100W, which Inkbird rates up to 210°F; the ISV-200W stops at 194°F but reaches lower and adds dry-burn protection. The reason to buy the bundle is the vacuum sealer.

Do I need a vacuum sealer to start?

No. A hand pump with reusable bags, or zipper bags lowered into water to push the air out, will do for most cooks. A sealer helps with long cooks and freezer prep, and the Inkbird bundle includes one if you want it from the start.

What temperature is too low for sous vide?

North Carolina State Extension says never to cook below 131°F, and to follow time and temperature combinations from tested, research-based recipes.

Our final pick for sous vide on a budget

Buy the Greater Goods Sous Vide Cooker for full power, calibration and a five-year warranty without an app. Choose the Inkbird ISV-200W for phone control, the Yedi Infinity kit if you are starting from nothing, the Inkbird bundle if you want a vacuum sealer in the box, the Anova 2.0 for a well-known brand with controls on the unit, the Anova Mini if you are happy to run everything from your phone, and the Vesta Imersa Elite for a flip-up display and a short body that suits shallow pots.

If you need a stronger circulator or a bigger bath, our main best sous vide guide covers the step up, and our best vacuum sealer guide covers the sealing side. For a slow-cooked dish that rewards patience, read about barbacoa. Or let us do the cooking: see the menu or call to order.

Call Menu Directions