A pull-through sharpener and an electric sharpener work on the same idea. Each holds your knife in a V-shaped slot at a set angle while an abrasive grinds a new edge, so you don’t have to hold the angle yourself the way you do on a whetstone. The difference is what moves. In a pull-through, you supply the motion by drawing the blade across fixed abrasives. In an electric, a motor spins the abrasive wheels and you guide the blade through. That one difference decides speed, how much damage each can repair, how much steel comes off, and how much counter space and money you give up.
In a restaurant kitchen, knives get touched up constantly, and a dull edge on onions and tomatoes is slower and less safe. This guide compares the two kinds of guided sharpener on angle, metal removal, speed, repair, abrasives, size and care, then says who should buy which and names one example of each from the same maker.
Julia’s earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. Recommendations are based on what a restaurant kitchen looks for, product specifications and verified buyer reports.
Quick verdict: manual or electric sharpener?
Buy a pull-through if your knives are in fair shape and you want to keep them sharp with a quick touch-up: it is smaller, cheaper, needs no outlet and, with diamond stages, does a good job on a dull blade. Buy an electric if your knives are very dull or chipped, you have a lot of them, or you want the edge back with the least effort; America’s Test Kitchen found electric models faster and able to repair chips that manual models can’t. For most home cooks with a few decent knives, a good diamond pull-through is enough.
The table sums up the differences; the sections after it explain each one.
Pull through vs electric knife sharpener, side by side
| Pull-through (manual) | Electric | |
|---|---|---|
| What moves | You draw the blade over fixed abrasives | A motor spins abrasive wheels or belts |
| Who holds the angle | The slot; narrow, deep slots hold it best (ATK) | The slot, often with spring-loaded guides (ATK) |
| Speed | Slower (ATK) | Much faster (ATK) |
| Chips and heavy damage | Can’t repair deep damage such as chips (ATK) | Top models can repair chips (ATK) |
| Metal removed | Little per stroke; you control the passes | Fast; ATK says a good one removes no more than a whetstone if used as directed |
| Common abrasives | Diamond, ceramic or tungsten carbide | Diamond or ceramic wheels; some use belts |
| Size and power | Small, fits a drawer, no outlet | About the size of a loaf pan, needs an outlet (ATK) |
| Cost class | Lower (ATK) | Higher |
Angle: both guide it, so match it to your knives
The angle of the edge matters more than anything else about a sharpener, and here the two types are alike: both set it for you. America’s Test Kitchen’s electric review says V-shaped slots “help control the angle of the blade as it touches the abrasive,” and that narrow, spring-loaded slots did better than wide, loose guides. Its manual review found the same: the best pull-through models had narrow slots at least ¾ inch deep, while shallow slots let the blade wobble out of position and gave uneven edges.
Because the angle is fixed, the real question is whether it matches your knives. Most Western knives come with an edge of about 20 degrees per side, and many Japanese knives use 15 degrees or less, which ATK’s manual review also notes. ATK’s electric review adds that Asian makers have traditionally ground narrower bevels of about 10 to 15 degrees. Some sharpeners do one angle, some do two, and a few let you set it.
ATK advises against using a sharpener to convert a 20-degree knife to 15 degrees, because the thinner edge wears faster. Chef’sChoice takes the opposite view and markets its 15XV electric for exactly that conversion. Our view: if your knives are soft German-style blades you use hard, keep them at their factory angle; if you want a keener edge and don’t mind sharpening more often, a 15-degree machine is a reasonable choice. Either way, pick the sharpener to suit the knives, not the other way round. For Japanese knives, our best Japanese knife sharpener guide covers models made for narrow angles.

Metal removal: speed cuts both ways
Every sharpener removes steel; that is how it makes a new edge. The difference is how fast. A pull-through takes off a little with each stroke, and you decide how many strokes to make. An electric with a coarse diamond wheel takes off steel quickly, which is why it can rebuild an edge in a minute.
ATK’s electric review is reassuring on this point when the machine is used properly: a well-designed electric sharpener “removes no more metal than a whetstone and has no ill effect on the knife.” The catch is how you use it. ATK advises using only the finest slot for routine touch-ups and warns that sharpening too often eventually removes “more metal than necessary.” Some of the machines it reviewed “grabbed and chewed up” knives, leaving rough edges and damaged heels. Chef’sChoice’s own figures show the same pattern: its 15XV listing says a first sharpening takes about a minute and resharpening about ten seconds, so the coarse stage is for a truly dull edge, not every week.
With a pull-through, the main risk is a rough edge rather than lost steel. ATK found carbide pull-throughs fast but said they leave edges the pros call “toothy,” and recommended following them with a honing rod. Several manual sharpeners it reviewed also left light scratches on the sides of the blade, which ATK says do not affect performance. Our best honing steel guide covers rods for keeping an edge straight between sharpenings.
Speed and effort
This is the electric’s clearest win. ATK’s guide to choosing a sharpener says its favorite electric “sharpens much faster than a manual sharpener” and describes its favorite manual model as “slower than an electric sharpener.” Its manual review says the same: “Electric sharpeners sharpen faster than most manual sharpeners.”
In practice, a pull-through on a knife that is only a little dull is quick: a few strokes in the fine slot. The time grows with dullness. On a very dull blade you may need many passes through the coarse slot, and that is where an electric earns its place, particularly if you sharpen a whole block of knives at once.
Repair: only the electric fixes chips
If you have a chipped edge, a knife that has been used on a plate or a blade with a rolled tip, the choice is easy. ATK says its top electric “can repair a chipped knife, which manual models can’t do,” and that manual sharpeners “can’t repair deep damage such as chips in the blade.” Its guide to choosing says the manual winner “does a good job on a dull blade” but “can’t fix seriously damaged knives.” Repairing a chip means grinding back the edge until the chip is gone, which needs either a powered coarse wheel or a coarse whetstone and patience.

Abrasives: diamond is the safe choice in either type
ATK’s manual review found that diamond abrasives performed best, and that models with two diamond stages, one coarse and one fine, worked most effectively. Carbide wears faster and leaves a rougher edge, and ceramic can too, so if you buy a carbide model, look for reversible or replaceable parts. Its electric review likewise found that diamond abrasives in a coarse-to-fine series worked best, with the slots arranged so coarse stages reshape the edge and fine stages polish it.
So the abrasive matters as much as the motor. A two-stage diamond pull-through and a three-stage diamond electric are closer in result than a carbide pull-through and a diamond electric. Read the listing for the abrasive in each stage before you buy.
Serrated knives
ATK’s guide to choosing says both its favorite electric and its favorite manual model sharpen serrated knives. Its electric review warns that the peaks and valleys of serrated knives can be worn down by most sharpeners, so a machine needs a stage designed for them. The 15XV listing says its third stage uses a flexible abrasive to polish and prolong the life of serrated knives. If you own good bread and steak knives, check that the sharpener names serrated blades for a specific slot.
Size, power, noise and mess
A pull-through is small enough for a drawer and needs nothing but a counter to rest on. ATK describes its manual winner as small for easy storage. An electric is a small appliance: ATK puts its winner at “about the size of a loaf pan,” and it needs an outlet near where you work. Chef’sChoice lists the 15XV’s noise at 65 to 75 decibels.
Electric machines also make fine metal dust. ATK noted that some models left shavings on the counter and preferred those with a magnetic chamber to collect them, and it saw sparks when one machine was used on a carbon-steel blade, as its manual had warned. Wipe the counter after use and follow the maker’s cleaning steps. Keep fingers clear of the slots with either type, and on an electric, unplug the machine before cleaning it.

Choose a pull-through if… / Choose an electric if…
Choose a pull-through sharpener if…
- Your knives are in fair shape and you want quick touch-ups.
- You own a few knives, not a full block.
- You want something small that lives in a drawer and needs no outlet.
- You want to spend less, and you’ll pay for diamond stages over carbide.
Choose an electric sharpener if…
- Your knives are very dull, chipped or have rolled tips.
- You sharpen many knives at once and want speed.
- You have the counter or cupboard space and an outlet nearby.
- You’ll use the fine stage for routine touch-ups and save the coarse one for repairs.
Our pick on each side of the pull through vs electric knife sharpener question
One pick per side, both from Chef’sChoice, the maker of ATK’s favorite manual and electric sharpeners, and both with 100 percent diamond abrasives, so the main difference is the motor. Both were in stock when we checked. The manual listing appears on none of our other pages. The electric is the Trizor XV 15XV, ATK’s top electric pick, in its gray housing; the same listing appears in our best knife sharpener, best knife sharpener electric and knife sharpener vs whetstone guides, and we include it on purpose as the clearest example of the type. Note the angles differ: the manual pick is for 20-degree knives and the electric sets 15 degrees.
1. Chef’sChoice 2-Stage Diamond Manual Sharpener for 20-Degree Knives – Small, No Plug

This is a two-stage pull-through for ordinary Western knives. According to the listing, it has separate sharpening and honing stages, both with 100 percent diamond abrasives, set for 20-degree straight-edge knives: kitchen knives as well as hunting, fillet and pocket knives. Diamond in both stages is exactly what ATK’s manual review found works best.
The listing says it sharpens the full blade length, from tip to handle, works right- or left-handed and is safe to use on quality knives. Rubber feet hold it to the counter, and the handle is shaped to fit any hand. Chef’sChoice says it is designed, engineered and assembled in the USA.
Use it for upkeep: a few strokes in the honing stage when a knife starts to drag, and the sharpening stage only when the honing stage no longer brings the edge back. It won’t fix a chipped blade, which is true of every manual sharpener ATK reviewed. The listing doesn’t say it handles serrated knives, so don’t assume it does.
Why we like it
- Diamond abrasives in both stages (listing)
- Set angle for 20-degree Western knives
- Small, with no cord and nothing to plug in
- Assembled in the USA (listing)
Key specifications
| Model | 4450105 |
|---|---|
| Type | Manual pull-through |
| Power | None |
| Stages | 2 (sharpen, hone) |
| Abrasive | 100% diamond |
| Edge angle | 20 degrees |
| Serrated knives | Not stated |
| Made in | Assembled in the USA |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook with a few Western knives in fair condition who wants a simple diamond sharpener in a drawer.
Skip it if your knives are Japanese or 15 degrees; our best Japanese knife sharpener guide covers 15-degree pull-throughs.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Diamond in both stages
- Compact and quiet
- Works for either hand
Cons
- One angle only, 20 degrees
- Can’t repair chips
- Serrated use not stated
2. Chef’sChoice Trizor XV 15XV Electric Sharpener, Gray – Fast Edges and Chip Repair

The 15XV is the electric sharpener ATK names as its winner, saying it “makes it quick and easy to restore good-as-new cutting edges on blades” and that it can fix chipped knives. It has three stages, according to the listing: stages 1 and 2 are plated with 100 percent diamond abrasives to sharpen and hone, and stage 3 uses a flexible abrasive to polish the edge and help prolong the life of serrated knives.
The machine sets a 15-degree edge. Chef’sChoice says it is ideal for converting 20-degree factory edges to 15 degrees, and its flexible spring guides adjust automatically to control the angle. The listing gives about one minute for a first sharpening and about ten seconds for resharpening, a 3-year limited warranty and a size of about 10 by 4.25 by 4.25 inches.
Use the coarse first stage only when a knife is really dull or damaged, and the finer stages for routine upkeep, as ATK advises for any electric. Wipe up the metal dust afterwards, and unplug it before cleaning.
Why we like it
- ATK’s top electric sharpener
- Repairs chips, which manual models can’t (ATK)
- Diamond stages plus a stropping stage (listing)
- Handles straight and serrated blades (listing)
Key specifications
| Model | 15XV (Trizor XV) |
|---|---|
| Type | Electric |
| Power | Plug-in; wattage not stated |
| Stages | 3 (sharpen, hone, strop) |
| Abrasive | 100% diamond in stages 1 and 2; flexible stropping disks in stage 3 |
| Edge angle | 15 degrees |
| Serrated knives | Yes (listing) |
| Made in | Not stated |
Why we recommend it
It suits a cook with a full block of knives, some of them very dull or chipped, who wants them sharp quickly and is happy with a 15-degree edge.
Skip it if you want to keep your German knives at 20 degrees; ATK recommends a 20-degree model such as Chef’sChoice’s Model 130 for those, covered in our best knife sharpener electric guide.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Fast, about ten seconds to resharpen
- Can rebuild a damaged edge
- Strong independent review
Cons
- Converts every knife to 15 degrees
- Takes counter or cupboard space and an outlet
- Same machine as a pick on three of our other pages

Manual and electric sharpener questions, answered
Is an electric knife sharpener better than a pull-through?
It is faster and it can repair chips, according to ATK. For keeping knives that are already in fair shape sharp, a good diamond pull-through does the job and costs less. Better depends on how dull your knives get.
Do electric sharpeners ruin knives?
A well-designed one used as directed does not; ATK says it removes no more metal than a whetstone. Running a knife through the coarse stage every time, or using a poorly guided machine, can take off more steel than needed and damage the edge.
Are pull-through sharpeners bad for good knives?
Not if you choose well. ATK’s best manual models had two diamond stages and narrow, deep slots. Carbide models are fast but leave a rougher edge, so hone the knife afterwards.
Which is better for Japanese knives?
Either, as long as the angle matches. Many Japanese knives use 15 degrees or less, so look for a 15-degree pull-through or electric, and check the knife maker’s instructions first.
Can either one sharpen serrated knives?
Some can. ATK says its favorite manual and electric models both handle serrated blades, but most sharpeners wear down the points, so use only a stage the maker names for serrated knives.
Which sharpener to keep in your kitchen
For most home cooks with a handful of knives, a diamond pull-through is the sensible first buy: small, quick for upkeep and easy to use. Move to an electric if your knives are badly dull or chipped, or if you sharpen a lot of them. If you want full control of the angle instead, our knife sharpener vs whetstone comparison explains the trade-off. For more options on each side, see our best knife sharpener guide, our best knife sharpener electric guide and our best cheap knife sharpener guide.
And when you would rather someone else did the knife work, see the menu or call to order.